Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ40 Review

5.0
March 26, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

117 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Ugo

Ciao Ho comprato questa macchina fotografica in Asia, ma l’unica lingua che posso settare รจ quella inglese o quelle asiatiche.
qualcuno riesce a trovare il modo di cambiare anche con lingua italiana. grazie

10:50 pm - Sunday, April 20, 2014

#102 Ron

Vivien asked if there is a solution to not having a viewfinder and the screen is too dim in sunlight. There is no solution, because the problem is in the eye, not the camera. In bright light, your eye’s pupil closes because it sees more brightness than the screen, making the camera’s screen look darker. Little shades around the screen don’t help. When looking through a viewfinder, your pupil opens because the viewfinder is dark to your eye, so you can see through it. Point and shoot cameras badly need an optical viewfinder for shooting in daylight. I’m a veteran photojournalist and am familiar with the problem.

2:56 am - Monday, April 21, 2014

#103 Grandad Bob

My PC name is 2 words with a space. Where is the space when adding text on my TZ40.

2:59 pm - Friday, May 2, 2014

#104 helen

I cannot down load full interal memory to my computer. The booklet is of no help. Switched to play back mode and nothing happens. Now I have no camera to take on vacation. Panasonic leaves you in mid air.

6:44 pm - Friday, May 2, 2014

#105 Leighton Davies

Helen. I am not sure what you are not able to download from the camera, I have had no trouble after loading the panasonic software onto my laptop.
Do you have a laptop then it is possible for you to remove the memory card from the camera and insert it into the card slot in of the Laptop. This way you can download all the photos so you can re use the memory card for more. If you find this is not possible then another way to ensure you do not run out of storage memory is to get another card. I have a 16Gb card which gives me losts of photos.
Good luck and have a great holiday

12:19 am - Saturday, May 3, 2014

#106 Leighton Davies

Helen I see that it is from the camera memory your having trouble sorry I missunderstood you question. I will see if I can find out anything to help you.

12:30 am - Saturday, May 3, 2014

#107 Craig

I was trying to find the menu option for turning on and off the anti-shake when shooting still images.  Is there a setting or is it always active? 

Also I wanted to remove the Zoom/Tele icons from the screen when I’m shooting.  They suddenly appeared and I can’t get rid of them.

Thanks.

2:03 am - Thursday, June 12, 2014

#108 Luca

I have purchased a tz-40 camera afger a very happy experience with a tz-10.
I am using this camera for both photos and videos.
I have to say that I used not so much but I clearly could see that when filming the tz-40 loses the focus so often expecially when zooming.
This was not definitely happening with my previous version.
Does anyone had the same issue and eventually can you suggest me a workaround please?
I am basically filming in iA mode (usually at music concerts): I tried with P mode which allows me more zoom but cant see much difference in the losing focus issue and on top of that i can see the video is darker.
Any suggestion is so welcome
Thank you so much in advance
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
Ciao
Luca

10:11 pm - Saturday, June 14, 2014

#109 engid87

Reading the various comments, I understand this camera is not the best you can find. But do you think it would be a significant improvement over my actual Sony WX1? (I can have the tz37, which is identical to the tz40 but without GPS, at a great price)

9:40 pm - Tuesday, July 8, 2014

#110 Kay

Have a DMC-TZ40 camera.Supplied with the camera is software PhotofunStudio. This should enable you to transfer info to your computer. e.g. When taking photos on the Baby Scene that you have pre programmed the Name, Age etc you should be able to view this on your computer.This is not happening. The message I get when trying to open program is-Object reference not set to an instance of an object.I am using Windows 7. Panasonic are no help. I sent the software into them and it was returned with no note.This is a useless programme.I have made numerous phone calls to Panasonic with no result. Obviously the software and camera data are not compatiable.

11:51 pm - Tuesday, July 15, 2014

#111 Camper

Is it worth buying? I would like to know this. But, how long is the battery life!!!

3:55 pm - Wednesday, August 27, 2014

#112 Just Me

This camera takes extremely poor photos in my opinion (noisy, squiggled details, oversaturated colours).  The images are much worse than my older Canon (ixus 230HS).  The burst mode slows to a near halt after about 7 seconds - using a class 10 sd card.  It shoots reasonable video, but that’s not why I bought it.  I’m stunned by sheer number of positive reviews about this camera when it should be regarded (at best) as an alternative to a smartphone.
Luckily I purchased it at a greatly reduced price, so it was slightly less painful than RRP I nearly paid.

12:10 am - Monday, September 29, 2014

#113 Ric

I agree with just me that that the photo quality of this camera (DMZ-TC40) is much poorer than the earlier DMZ-TC30.  The TC30 shoots clearer pics on auto setting with truer color.  Thought I was buying and upgrade when I purchased the TC40 especially because of the GPS capabilities but the picture quality is not the same.

10:57 am - Thursday, October 2, 2014

#114 Just Me

Re: Ric

I thought I was buying an upgrade too.  Stick with Canon compacts for image quality - especially those which can run CHDK.  You can then get RAW images and correct the photos to your liking.  The TZ has a lot of features, but falls flat on the most important feature of all.  The video quality is probably the only redeeming feature of the TZ40, so its at least useful in that regard.

12:00 pm - Thursday, October 2, 2014

#115 Phillip

My wife is an artist- oils. She needs to take high quality photographs of her work for her website and for publishing. I want to buy her a new camera. Would this camera be a good buy? Thanks

3:24 pm - Sunday, October 26, 2014

#116 Gijs Nebbeling

It’s a nice camera but I would prefer the succesor, TZ 60. Ir’even better and has a stronger zoom lens. Good luck!

5:09 pm - Sunday, October 26, 2014

#117 Terry

I recently purchased a ZS-40 to replace an aging ZS-3.  It seemed to offer several features I had missed in the ZS-3 - zoom range, manual control, &  optical viewfinder.  Unfortunately, I’m pretty disappointed with its images so far.  Almost all shots seem washed out with little color saturation/vibrancy.  It also doesn’t seem to offer the same sharp focus/resolution of the ZS-3 in macro mode.  What am I missing?  Are there setting adjustments that will improve the ZS-40’s images.  Thanks for any advice you can offer!

5:53 am - Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, wi-fi, manual, travel-zoom, travel, lumix, touch screen, 24mm, 10fps, touch, nfc, 18 megapixel, wi fi, 20x zoom, gps, PASM, dmc-tz40, tz40, zs30, dmc-zs30, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ40 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry