Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60 Review

4.5
January 31, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

73 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 moeskoetie

bad, such as the most pana’s

7:03 pm - Friday, January 31, 2014

#2 Eddie

Pity there is no touch screen, but waiting to get my hands on this camera, to see how the viewfinder is, as it has some refinements on the LF1.

8:53 pm - Friday, January 31, 2014

#3 Eddie

Hi

Ralfs Foto-Bude gives a good review of this camera his reviews are very good on a whole range of cameras.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIwdw2CuVNY
Link

9:13 pm - Friday, January 31, 2014

#4 Eddie

Ralfs Photo-Bude gives a good review of this camera and he gives excellent reviews of many cameras.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIwdw2CuVNY

Link

9:15 pm - Friday, January 31, 2014

#5 Mike Taylor

In response to moeskoeties’ silly comment, I’d just like to let him know that I have had a succession of Panasonic cameras over the years and have been delighted with all of them, from compacts to micro-four-thirds. The quality of results from all have consistently been exceptional in terms of exposure and resolution. If you need further proof go to http://www.lumixgexperiance.co.uk.
Cheers.

10:41 am - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#6 Angela Williams

A very good review appreciate this. Photos helps us to preserve our memories and share our life through photographs. I am very passionate on taking photos. These are very cool cameras. There is another one I came across which I am sure you all will never wana miss- https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/830540667/original-pin-made-from-wood-cut-by-lasers-built-to.

10:49 am - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#7 Mike Taylor

Sorry, that URL should have been:
http://www.lumixgexperience.co.uk

3:46 pm - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#8 Panoramabob

I’m glad to see the touch screen gone.

5:24 pm - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#9 cynic

@Mike Taylor
Your comment reads like something a shill would say.

10:48 am - Sunday, February 2, 2014

#10 Joe Prete

With Japan outsourcing to china, what’s comes next?

10:52 am - Monday, February 3, 2014

#11 Ed trerotola

Where can I buy one???

8:18 pm - Tuesday, February 4, 2014

#12 Marcus

Pitiful image quality for a Panasonic.
They used to be great consumer level cameras, but now…just awful.

12:00 pm - Tuesday, February 18, 2014

#13 BobB

Does the DMC-TZ60 can be set to keep polling GPS coordinates periodically while off?

The older DMC versions I’ve had were able to do this and it was the best GPS implementation I have seen in a camera - it allowed virtually all photos to be tagged, even if the the camera was turned on for a single shot, then off.

7:34 pm - Wednesday, February 19, 2014

#14 Dave

Thanks for the review! Have been waiting for a decent review of the TZ60 after the announcement. As far as some of the comments about pitiful image quality, I disagree if you take into the consideration what these pocketzooms are for. They’re small enough to fit in your pocket, feature 30x zoom and other gimmicks, plus they’re cheap. When you want to combine all these features into 1 package, naturally there will be compromizes. Have been looking for a small camera like this to take onto hikes and bike rides whenever I don’t want to drag my large dSLR with me, just for some nice snapshots. From what I’ve seen from these sample photo’s and compare those to similar camera’s (for example the Sony DSC-HX50/60, Nikon S9500 or Canon SX280, this TZ60 beats them as far as IQ. Yes, when you look at the images on pixel level, it doesn’t come close to the dSLR’s, system camera’s or compacts like the RX100. But all in all that’s comparing apples and oranges in my opinion, they have a totally different audience. So for the people Panasonic targets this little camera at, it’s probably one of the best at the moment.

Am interested though what the people complaining about image quality would think is a better alternative?

1:19 pm - Thursday, February 20, 2014

#15 Steve

Great review. At last they’ve added RAW and a view finder. Should give the TZ60 the edge over the new Sony HX60

2:00 pm - Tuesday, March 11, 2014

#16 TZ photographer

I strongly disagree that the non-touch screen is a step backwards.
Touchscreens are ways overrated. As(now former) TZ40 owner I hated it because I often hit it accidentally sometimes even hindering me taking images. In one situation I wanted to take pics of an arriving vehicle but instead of shooting the camera reacted to an accidental tap on the screen, so I missed the shot.
Other times the focus point was set somewhere I don´t wanted it.
Overall I don´t see a big use ouf a touch screen, especially with Panasonics UI.
I sold my TZ40 and will order the TZ60 now.
With VF, RAW and more wide-angle for video there are good improvements beside the larger zoom.

3:03 am - Tuesday, March 18, 2014

#17 Nancy

I received my ZS40/TZ60 on St. Patty’s Day (had pre-ordered on Adorama - black appears to still be on backorder, but silver is available.  I’m having fun experimenting with it, but definitely not a fan of the 329 page manual.  This camera has so many features I feel like I need a comprehensive tutorial on how/when to use the features/settings.
The last time I read a photography book was when I got my old SLR camera.  Since then I’ve had a couple compact cameras (original Canon Elph and a Pentax Optio S4i), but they had a fraction of the features of this.  Of course I can use the intelligent auto mode - takes great pics compared to what I’m used to - but I sure wish someone would either make a tutorial or publish a “Dummies” book on this!

5:37 am - Thursday, March 20, 2014

#18 Reader

RAW but no SILKYPIX? Nup.

RTFM. Free download of SilkyPix: p287. Simple.

8:34 pm - Sunday, March 30, 2014

#19 John Swan

A missing essential is a lens cap. Used what I thought to be a strong bag to port about until the shutter would not work. Seemingly, part of the shutter guard (when closed) became depressed against something and was catching on the shutter
blades as they tried to open to take a shot. Fortunately, managed to correct the problem and now have a lens cap held on by an elastic band when the camera is not in use. Unable to find a lens cap that will fit properly.

2:29 pm - Monday, March 31, 2014

#20 Jim

This looked to be a great option for my new camera, but I am now put off it by two major issue THAT ARE NOT EVEN HINTED AT IN THE REVIEW. 
I’ve spoken to Panasonic.

The battery MUST be charged in the camera.  How long does that take? On my previous Panasonic, I could have one in the camera, one in the case, and one charging.

OK, so that might not be so bad as it uses usb, which my phone and tablet do and I have a 4 port charger. BUT the usb connector is not standard - it is a usb to panasonic specific cable, so I cannot use any of my other cables when I go on holiday.  According to the manual I MUST use the Panasonic charger and cable or void the warranty.

Have any users got around this or got useful hints please?

9:24 am - Friday, April 11, 2014

#21 Joe Prete

Jim,
As you already noted, USB chargers are becoming more common lately, and some manufacturers claim to be able to tell when a non OEM battery or device was used, but I have not yet heard of this actually happening. The Manufacturers have made these claims before, but if they really wanted to stop people from using third party options, they should lower the cost of their own components so they are at a competitive level with non OEM brands. I think you know that the best solution here, is to “wait and see” because the manufacturers themselves are obtaining components from third parties or Sub Contractors, so it won’t take long to know for sure.
Just a little irony here, but doesn’t this camera resemble Pinocchio, while telling a lie? 
… Joe Prete

1:48 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#22 StartedWithABrownie127

Joe
thanks for responding. The manufacturers are indeed frustrating but I hold no hope for wait and see. Panasonic have, it seems, used this battery for several recent camera without ever producing a charger or reducing the price of a spare. 
Jim

10:09 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#23 Chris

I was concerned about only being able to charge the battery in camera so I emailed Panasonic and got the following response: “The battery for the DMC-TZ60 Camera can be charged outside of the unit. For that you will need to purchase the additional charger and its AC cable:
- BATTERY CHARGER - VSK0806
- AC CORD - K2CT3YY00034
You can find these items on Panasonic’s Accessory Shop at http://www.pas-europe.com”

May not endorse third party solutions, but at least there seems to be a sanctioned out-of-camera solution

11:36 am - Wednesday, April 16, 2014

#24 StartedWithABrownie127

You’ve done better than me,  Chris. When I rang they just said I could only charge a battery in the camera. No options offered even when I pushed the issue.

7:52 pm - Wednesday, April 16, 2014

#25 Tom MacFarlane

RAW software should have been on the supplied disc.

Yes, I know it’s available, but previously - LF1, for example - it’s been on the disc.

5:21 am - Friday, April 18, 2014

#26 Joe Prete

Who ever wrote to me today, regarding the software, please post your question here, the email reply will not go through to you.
...  Joe

5:37 am - Friday, April 18, 2014

#27 Paolo

LA Qualità DELLE IMMAGINI è DRAMMATICA :(

8:01 am - Wednesday, April 23, 2014

#28 Nancy

Here’s the best solution I found to the battery charger.  The unit sold by Panasonic is about $25 and doesn’t include a cord!  Go to bestbatt.com and search for VSK0800 Charger Kit.  For $15.50 plus $2.99 shipping, you can get the same charger with the cord and a car charger cord as well.  It has rave reviews from people who have bought it.  This is a very legitimate company in New Jersey that’s backed by Google.com’s buyer protection plan, and which has real customer service.  I have no connection with them whatsoever - just a consumer who was happy to find them.

7:46 pm - Friday, April 25, 2014

#29 Nancy

p.s. If you sign up for their newsletter there’s a 6% discount for new customers - not much but still something!

7:48 pm - Friday, April 25, 2014

#30 moeskoetie

@ Mike Taylor, look at this picture…this is big shit   https://www.flickr.com/photos/cameralabs/12322579183/sizes/o/

5:10 pm - Sunday, April 27, 2014

#31 Jim

@#30 moeskoetie what do you expect? Indoors, Handheld, f4, 1/30, 3200ASA.

7:05 pm - Sunday, April 27, 2014

#32 Damien

Review photos of forced flash on image quality page. Wide angle is brown - Telephoto is grey. What is going on there, have not seen this before, Sony HX60 review both are white. I’ve had a fuji camera before with a bad flash and was extremely disappointed. Even the picture testing red eye looks dark. If the flash is no good it will be a deal breaker for me. Can anybody with who has used this camera share their experience of using the flash?

12:26 pm - Monday, May 5, 2014

#33 Chris

Bad, bad Cam, because of too much MP. I cannot believe it, Picture Quality of this camera is 4.5??? Have you been paid for this Review?

4:58 pm - Sunday, May 18, 2014

#34 KEL

Can someone please answer Damien’s query [ #32 ] as I am on the fence with buying the sony or lumix.The reviews seem to pick the lumix but those terrible forced flash shots really have me wondering!!!!

10:14 am - Tuesday, May 27, 2014

#35 Joe Prete

Kel,
It took forever for your post to show up. I had the copy before, but not your name. The TZ60 is basically the same as last years model, with a few improvements, however there have been complaints.
Obviously, you want to get this right, on the first try, so why don’t we put this model aside for now, and have you make a list of your wants, your needs, what you must have, and what you can live without. Also, an idea of your location, and your budget. Do not forget the extras, Memory cards, a case and any others that you don’t already have. A decent Rocket Blower, lens brush & Microfibre cloth can be 15. bucks, a case can be 25. Keep this in mind, post your list here, and we will make a list. As we shorten the list, see if this model is even in there. Keep in mind, if are you planning on carrying it always? Is a Fast Lens important? A long Zoom? There is no perfect camera, but we can try to get as close as possible to what you need. The Moderation is slow today, it should be better as the day goes on. So you get started, and we’ll check back later and see what we can come up with. Panasonic’s prices are at just about list right now, but they will come back down, don’t be discouraged. 
We’ll get you up and running soon enough, okay? Think Positive!
… Joe Prete

11:18 am - Tuesday, May 27, 2014

#36 Alan Perks

I started with a TZ30, still have it as a spare. Tz40 was great, but developed a fault, so given a refund.
Tz60 was used for a brief time, developed a system error fault several days into a holiday in China, so I missed many photo opportunities.
Other than that, I am glad the touch screen has been ditched, the viewfinder will be more useful in bright sunlight, so not used it yet, other than play. The main thing is the ring thing and control dial. If we must have them, then they do the job. The stepped zoom using the ring is sort of helpful, would be better if variable without steps.
Picture quality and ease of use is all I will ever need. People who have seen my pics cannot believe the results are so good from a point and shoot.
One interesting experiment was to shoot the moon. The 30 and 40 always ended up with a blurred blob, not so for the 60. Perfect detail with full zoom and auto setting.

3:25 pm - Friday, May 30, 2014

#37 Old Geezer Mike

I just wanted to second what “TZ photographer, Alan Perks, and Panoramabob” said. I am ecstatic that they got rid of the touch screen. I will never buy another camera with a touch screen for the same reasons “TZ photographer” said. I really wanted RAW and a viewfinder and got both. Along with that I got an almost unbelievably good image stabilization system, some extra zoom, a control ring around the lens, focus peaking and decent image quality, especially when processing the Raw files. And NO TOUCH SCREEN - WHOOPEE!!!!!!

6:04 pm - Saturday, May 31, 2014

#38 Joe Prete

Mike,
You understood that post? What camera is he using now, aside from the TZ30 that he has “as a spare” (A compact camera IS a spare!)
TZ40 Developed a fault- given a refund,
TZ60 Used for a brief time, developed “System error fault several days into holiday in China”  I was going to look up the Step Zoom, because they can be turned off in most Panasonic compacts, but he never actually said what camera he is currently using! Sounds like he has bad luck with cameras…
Btw, the TZ60 is known as the ZS40 in the USA
… Joe

7:28 pm - Saturday, May 31, 2014

#39 Alan Perks

As my post indicated, the tz60 was my latest camera and is faulty. Until it is replaced with a new one, I only have the old tz30. I hope that is clear.
I have observed that people either buy a point & shoot or a big, professional style camera. The larger size synonymous with bigger must be better. It is unlikely the big brigade would want the point & shoot, even as a spare.
I have wone photo competitions with the tz30 against the big brigade, so I believe picture quality is more dependent on the user than the camera.
I started off with a nikon p&s, cant remember the model, but it was expensive. It was decidedly poor in terms of picture quality compared with my very outdated exlim. That is why I bought the tz30.
Enlargements to A1 look stunning with the tz30, with a clarity in some shots having an almost 3d look. On that basis, I expect thetz60 will be as good, if it stays working.
As a Happy Snapper, I want a camera that is pocketable, point & shoot, or when conditions require it, a good range of manual settings. The tz30, 40 & 60 do the job perfectly.
The nearfield function is nice to have, though the time taken trying to get the tablet or smart phone to work with it is frustrating, because they have to be reset for their original wifi function. The app for tablet or phone also works very well. Having said that, apart from play, I doubt I will ever use the feature, in practice. Life and photo oportunities are to short.
I still find chip from camera to pc is quicker and easier than lead or wifi.
I notice the tz30 displays a very detailed map when using gps. Satnav level of detail. The 40 & 60 do not appear to have that feature. Again, not a worthwhile feature in my case, because battery life is more important to me than tagging pics. Often the gps failed to keep pace in practice. This applies to all three cameras.
I was most impressed with the image stability feature. Hand held night shots were practical when the use of a tripod is not convenient, during on the move, group tours.
The 2 second timer feature is remembered on the 60, a boon when using a tripod and repeating shots. It saves a lot of button fiddling.
The better zoom on the 60 was most useful, but there was a noticeable loss of sharpness to less well lit scenes. Perhaps I need more practice.

10:18 pm - Saturday, May 31, 2014

#40 Old Geezer Mike

Joe,

I was only agreeing with Alan Perks comment about the touch screen. And yes, his post was not that clear about some things. As for the step zoom function using the control ring, it is select-able along with many other functions through the Setup/Ring/Dialset menu.

BTW, I’m in Canada and we also call it the ZS40. To be honest, TZ for “travel zoom” always made more sense to me for this king of camera but Panasonic is notorious for its weird naming conventions.

Mike

10:29 pm - Saturday, May 31, 2014

#41 Harvey

I’ve just read the reviews and watched the Utube video by Raifi foto-Bude. Really good, very informative. I really don’t see people’s reasons for griping about the fact of no touch screen and the small view finder - ‘too small to be affective’. My first digital was a Casio, bought about 10 years ago and it had an optical view finder, absolutely fantastic in bright sunlight and I have always been at a loss to understand why a viewfinder was dropped off the list of extras for these types of cameras. Now one has been added and I can’t wait to get my hands on it to see how well it performs.
I’ve seen the video presentations and from what I can see it shows the view finder, although small, having a great lot of detail and giving a clear picture. I never did like the touch screen as on the TZ20 as it was always shooting unwanted pictures. I now have a TZ25 with no touch screen and it’s great. I’ve had 4 Tz’s the first one being a TZ5.
So to me these two major disadvantages so many have written about appear to me as advantages. Anything that lets you see what you are taking in bright sunlight can only be a plus.

1:29 pm - Sunday, June 1, 2014

#42 jazzist

This or something like the Fuji XQ1?
Hard to decide!?
Or the RX100..
All similar price except the Fuji which is much cheaper.

9:29 pm - Wednesday, June 18, 2014

#43 Jim

If GPS is vital to you, be aware that this camera records bad data for GPS coordinates until it has a good lock. FOr example:
GPS information: -
GPSVersionID - 2.3.0.0
GPSLatitudeRef - N
GPSLatitude - 17056881 51 12.15 (17056881.853375)
GPSLongitudeRef - E
GPSLongitude - 17056881 51 12.15 (17056881.853375)
GPSTimeStamp - 0 0 0
GPSDateStamp - 0000:00:00

It crashes iMatch.

Also, the camera records badly formed MakersNotes in EXIF, which have unknown symbols in them
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/31011761/iMatch/P1010126 original ExifToolGUI output.jpg

10:23 pm - Wednesday, June 18, 2014

#44 rahul sinclair jrr

Tz60 is a great mid-end camera, but here in mumbai india people prefer using sony alpha 5000. As a big-time microstocker, i have my own studio “rahuls images studio” located in new delhi 706 gujarrat Rd and sometimes i work in my second studio located in singapore 1404 orchard Rd. One day…a senior microstock agency staff named sammuel told me that one of my images that was taken using tz60 titled “blurry mumbai” is the best photograph he’s ever viewed.

8:33 am - Wednesday, June 25, 2014

#45 Ovidiu Suciu

hey just my curiosity: does anyone know why do they have two names for the same camera in US and Europe???

This is the same camera, right?

http://www.panasonic.com/uk/consumer/cameras-camcorders/lumix-digital-cameras—-point-and-shoot/superzoom-cameras/dmc-tz60eb.html

http://shop.panasonic.com/shop/model/DMC-ZS40K

is this the same camera?

3:01 pm - Wednesday, June 25, 2014

#46 StartedWithABrownie127

@Ovidiu Suciu
Did you read the review?
PAGE 1: Introduction

The Lumix DMC-TZ60 (also known as the DMC-ZS40 in the USA)

8:48 pm - Thursday, June 26, 2014

#47 StartedWithABrownie127

Please can anyone who has a TZ60 look at the GPS data and see if it records impossible coordinates until it gets a good lock?
eg GPS information: -
GPSVersionID - 2.3.0.0
GPSLatitudeRef - N
GPSLatitude - 17056881 51 12.15 (17056881.853375)
GPSLongitudeRef - E
GPSLongitude - 17056881 51 12.15 (17056881.853375)
GPSTimeStamp - 0 0 0
GPSDateStamp - 0000:00:00

Panasonic are trying to claim it is just my camera.

8:50 pm - Thursday, June 26, 2014

#48 Chris

Don’t claim to fully understand what I’m seeing, but viewing lat-long in Picasa some of my positioning is spot on, but many have the same numerical value for lat and long. In the instances I have checked, it reads: longitude 1.67772e +007 1.67772e + 007\‘167772” N latitude 1.67772e +007 1.67772e + 007\‘167772” E. Over 50% of my pictures have this reading.

9:48 pm - Thursday, June 26, 2014

#49 Chris

... And these are shots in the open air, so no constraints on access to satellites. I leave my GPS set on and live with the battery life issues, so presumably it is not waking up quickly enough?

Other oddities that may or may not be connected with this issue are that the camera sometimes takes ages to write an image to card, and sometimes just plain refuses to take a picture when I press the shutter. I have switched off RAW recording but this has made no difference.

10:07 pm - Thursday, June 26, 2014

#50 Chris

This may duplicate a comment that I think has got lost, but over 50% of my pictures have 1.67772e +007 1.67772e + 007\‘167772” N and 1.67772e +007 1.67772e + 007\‘167772” E as the lat / long. I keep my GPS switched on and live with the impact on battery life. I guess it’s losing the GPS fix none the less

10:22 pm - Thursday, June 26, 2014

#51 StartedWithABrownie127

Chris - thanks for replying. I am in correspondence with Panasonic trying to get them to tell me if this is the design or a fault. THey skirt round it. I tried switching my camera on with a new battery, so that it was from cold. I had a good view of the sky. The very first photo had no GPS recorded, as expected. From then until the camera got a lock, it recorded the impossible information in my previous post - yours reads very similar but in mathematical notation.  Once located, it then works OK, MOSTLY.

PROBLEM 2, it loses the GPS data from time to time, so when taking a series of photos (outside, good sky view) it will have good GPS, then a few seconds later the above garbage, and another few seconds later, good GPS again. Panasonic think my camera is at fault, and want me to send my 2 month old camera away for repair.

I think there is a serious issue with the firmware of the camera in recording GPS on the TZ60 (ZS40) and from what I’ve read on the net, also with the former TZ40.

12:27 pm - Friday, June 27, 2014

#52 Harvey

You know, I have never used the GPS as in all the reports it talks about the battery drain.  I use my memory to know where the photos were taken. I haven’t found it a useful extra.

7:26 pm - Friday, June 27, 2014

#53 StartedWithABrownie127

Well Harvey,  either you take very few photos or you have the most incredible memory.  When I get back and check through my photos, I can’t remember precisely where Iwas when iI took them.  Perhaps that evening or the next day,  but a week later,  a yearlater? 
Had they been of landmarks,  probably I’d recognise the location ,  but of a bird,  a flower,  a dragonfly?

9:23 pm - Friday, June 27, 2014

#54 mikhail devlond

My puppy says : “a good photographer doesn’t need a good camera to create a good photograph” And the pittbull next door says : “a bad photographer always complains and blames his/her equipment if his/her photographs are ugly”. Long story short…every camera is cool.

1:19 pm - Sunday, June 29, 2014

#55 Harvey

I usually take about 2 x 8GB cards or more on a two or three week trip and really I have no problem rembering all the shots, even the ones of bugs and butterflies.

5:26 pm - Sunday, June 29, 2014

#56 Ovidiu Suciu

@ StartedWithABrownie127 thanks, so it’s the same camera

but why do they use two different names for the same product??? Do they sell better in a country if they call the camera ZS instead of TZ? I’m intrigued to find the answer to this…

11:33 pm - Sunday, June 29, 2014

#57 jeroen

I’m twisting my mind to buy a fuji x20 or this camera.I read a lot different stuf about image quality, heard the fuji x20 gives very good ones, i never tried the camera but gives me good impression, but it has any zoom (only 4x). 30x zoom is also not nessecery and gps also not.
there are only a lttle of all functions like on this camera but it looks more quality. I’m I right? has sombody some buying tips n this prise and no big machine…

11:57 pm - Sunday, June 29, 2014

#58 Joe Prete

Jeroen,
The Fujifilm X20 is more of a Traditionalist’s camera. Yes, inside it is very electronic, but the users feel of it is more of an older style Rangefinder camera. If you’ve shot with that type of camera, you   may just find yourself looking for the film advance lever. It has a very Bright and easy to use Optical Viewfinder, and the Fujinon lens is a close variable, Fast F2~2.8 It has Manual Zoom capability of 4X (That is 28-112mm equiv.) *This is much shorter than the TZ60
It’s large 2/3 inch sensor, is the X Trans CMOS II. The Magnesium Alloy body is solid. This camera is very we’ll built, and you’ll feel it in the precision dials. ... But,

I can’t help but wonder why you are looking at two very different cameras! The TZ60 (ZS40) has a 30X Zoom lens and it’s extremely electronic in it’s design. You will be using an LCD rather than an Optical Viewfinder. You will no doubt be spending much time trying to read it’s 200+ page manual from the disk, Panasonic now claims to be completely “Green” and they don’t even sell any of their   manuals (I believe that this may be governed by Country laws, and not Panasonic, but in the USA, we only get the disc!)  It’s one of Panasonic’s Travel Zoom cameras, it’s Aperture is a slow F3.3~6.4

With the X20, I think the only decision is Black or Silver, but I think you should consider your needs. If you are just learning, the 4X Zoom would be much more appropriate, and you will not have any trouble getting 90% of your money back if you sell it, but if you are an advanced user, and you need that Zoom, there is no comparison.

There have been many questions about the Panasonic, not about why it has two names, but if you don’t know how a Panasonic Menu works, you will no doubt be baffled by a complex camera like the DMC-TZ60 (DMC-ZS40) There are many easier to learn Panasonic cameras, but I think you have some other decisions to make first.
… JP

2:41 am - Monday, June 30, 2014

#59 StartedWithABrownie127

Response from Panasonic is disappointing in that it says the rubbish GPS data is as designed!

QUOTE: Thank you for your reply.

In response, I would like to mention that, in the period before acquiring the complete GPS location information, the unit will record partial information, not yet decrypted by the camera completely, reaching the results you have described in our previous correspondence.

In order to get no GPS info on files whatsoever, keep the GPS off. In order to get complete GPS info, the unit must synchronise with the satellites and update the location information data (which, as you already know takes about 2-5 minutes).

Kind Regards,

1:29 pm - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#60 Joe Prete

Brownie 127,
I know I’m coming into this at the tail end, but all GPS units work that way. A better unit may synchronize with the Satellites faster, but without that communication it can not record the location.

I’ve always kept a small notebook, a log, recording the location, the Subject, the date and time. It may be archaic but it always works. (unless I break my pencil point, in that case I just make up the info)
The Kodak “Signature” cameras had a small sharp instrument that slid into the camera for storage. It was to scribe the information right on the film, which was accessed by opening a small door on the back of the camera. In it’s day, it was very advanced technology, as the scribe could also be used as a weapon, in case someone else claimed the rights to your image. Mark (the Editor) was just a kid back then! … JP

2:43 pm - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#61 StartedWithABrownie127

Hi Joe.
Yes, I’m from that era as well, but back then I only took a few photos and they were printed on paper or stored in boxes so the book with them made sense.
I used to write on the slide edges what they were and when and where, and put exposure details on them.
Photo information was recorded on their reverse.
All done in faint pencil so it did not show through.
I bought my second GPS camera to overcome having to do this.  The previous Canon 280 worked very well, recording nothing or proper GPS that seemed more accurate than this new Panasonic. Sadly the lens coating is scratched, so a new up to date camera was sought.
My issue is that it records impossible data when it should record nothing at all.
I’m also pretty upset that it can have a lock, lose it and regain it all within seconds, all the time being switched on with a clear view of the sky out on the Farne Islands on Monday.
Also the DOP varied from 0.6 to 3.1 and photos taken within 3 seconds moved 20 metres.
Jim

6:35 pm - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#62 StartedWithABrownie127

Well, I am delighted to say that iMatch has already made sure that his program will not be affected by the bad GPS data from the Panasonic cameras. Well done Mario.

7:16 pm - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#63 Joe Prete

Hi Jim,
I haven’t followed the whole story, but if it’s too late for a return, and you have a genuine need for the GPS feature, I hate to say that Panasonic may not be the brand camera for you. I’ve received both, complaints about the TZ60, and other model Panasonic cameras.
Since it’s not something that I know a great deal about, I have sent the people to others, that do know all about it. I think the first thing you should do is go to http://www.dpreview.com and look for the Forum called “Panasonic compact Camera Talk” but before you post, scroll through to gather some information. You will quickly find that you are not alone. I’m sure that seeing what others in the same situation did, should help you to decide what your options are.  If you need to post, asking for advice, I am sure that you will receive several replies within a few hours.  You sound like you’re the kind of person that takes care of his gear, so you should be able to recover a good part of your investment, but I would be clear about why the camera is not right for you (I don’t like to pass problems off on people that are into the same Hobby or Trade) but there will be others that like the camera and don’t really care much about the GPS, so this should be fast and easy. In the meantime, do some research, to decide on your next camera. If you’re not a member at dpr yet, it won’t take 5 minutes to join. I’ll watch for your post, based on your question, so choose an easy to use screen name. I’ll find you, and see that you reach the right people. I think that you’ll find that there is a Sony model to match each Panasonic model, so you might begin there.
Sony vs. Panasonic is much like Canon vs. Nikon. Not that I’m partial to any one brand, but some are clearly stronger in certain areas.
… JP

8:05 pm - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#64 StartedWithABrownie127

Thanks for the thoughts Joe. 
Prior to getting a GPS enabled camera I was adding location data to all my photos using GeoSetter as part of my routine when importing the photos into iMatch for cataloguing, so GPS in a camera is pretty important to me.  As it happens I am already one of those posters in the thread you mention at dpreview.  I’m Fellwalker there, which was not available here.
I had looked at the Sony before I bought the Panasonic.  I’d had an earlier model panasonic without GPS and it had always been reliable, and the TZ60 has a built in viewfinder (wonderful!) and can shoot in RAW, so it won out big time.  The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V is now a year and a quarter old, and possibly in line for a replacement.
Since my first Panasonic I had a Canon SX260HS which I felt left a bit to be desired in image quality. OK filling my 24inch screen but not so good at 100% which I would do to view bird and flower photos.  A shame as my earlier 400D had been excellent, but I no longer wanted to carry the bulk of an SLR around, and it needed many (heavy) lenses to get the zoom I wanted, let alone the 30x I’ve now got.  Very useful for bird and other wildlife photography. I think the small sensor and aggressive compression were a step too far. 
Now I am at a loss as to where to go next in terms of what to get.  What we need is for one of the companies to bring the Nokia 40MP oversampling into the world of superzoom cameras.  Until then maybe I have to look at a bridge camera, but am put off by the size and the fact that they still use the small sensor.  Large sensor cameras are no use for my style of photography. Jim

10:12 am - Friday, July 4, 2014

#65 Alex

Hi,

I’m willing to buy a compact with super zoom. I already own a Sony Nex5 with 18-55mm, 19mm and 30mm lens, but I’m willing to have one to carry away on my trips and around for urban city and getting some far or tall objecs or buildings etc to get the closest the better.
Also, to get some “pretty decnt night shots” I know that not as good as the next, but at least a good ones.

Which one would yoy recomend me? Sony HX50v or panasonic Lumix tz60/ZS40.

I’m really dubting between this too… and it is really difficult to choose. Both of them have a good reviews but panasonic seems to have lower light and aperture and bad function at nigh, vene though it has a EVF…..

Thank you for your help!

10:24 am - Monday, July 7, 2014

#66 jan vdc

The viewfinder is terribel,lot of noise in the pictures..i want a smaller camera next to my fz200,the fz200 is a far better camera,tz60 is one to forget..

1:32 pm - Sunday, August 17, 2014

#67 Harvey

I have bought a TZ60 from a local shop cheaper than on line. The view finder talked about is good but bot as good as a proper optical one. It is just a smaller version of the big screen BUT in strong sunlight it does give you a better picture of your subject and you are able to aline you photo much better. Although as I said it is not as good as an optical view finder. I had an optical view finder and a screen on my fist digital, a Casio Exilim and it was fantastic, and coupled to the zoom. Why don’t they go back to that design as it was really the best.

1:59 pm - Sunday, August 17, 2014

#68 Joe Prete

Harvey,
I’ll bet I have a worse situation than yours. I have a Canon G1 X, it is the first version, still available from Canon for $649 The viewfinder is partially blocked by the lens. At wide angle, it blocks out about all of the lower left quarter at wide angle, and as you zoom, it gets to be a little less. I bought the lens hood, but that makes it worse. At the time, it was it’s Sensor that I needed, so I was willing to put up with it and it does record fine images. The G1 X II has an optional Finder, and it’s an expensive rig. It is, of course an Optical Finder, I think the G series all are. Luckily I have a few other compacts, but to tell you the truth, the Panasonic LX7 with it’s much smaller sensor gives surprisingly good images, very close to the G1 X, and the LX7 turned out to be my favorite compact. Very comfortable to use, it inspires me to keep shooting. At times I can’t put it down, and the biggest surprise, I adapted to the LCD and never bought the optional EVF, or the OVF that I assumed I would need right from the start. It is a 24-90mm f1.4~2.3 lens. A bit shorter than the others, but 24-70mm is the most used range. I think 12-24mm may be the second most valuable range. As for your camera Harvey, I answered many complaints, but very few for the previous model. If you’ve just bought it, try every shooting situation, so you can exchange it if you are not satisfied. Especially, if this is your only, or main camera.
Good Luck. … Joe Prete

11:35 pm - Sunday, August 17, 2014

#69 Karen Sandler

I have now had my TZ60 for 2 weeks, having ditched the Sony HS50 as truly unusable. I am loving this camera! It is a piece of technical wizardry! They have managed to condense the number of options and have a revolving lens holder to use all of the modes. Very impressive.
This is my third Lumix. It is outstanding! I love NOT having a touch screen. It saves a lot of hassle. I am not bothered about having a view finder. You get used to using a 3 inch screen. You can always crop the shots if you need to. However, can anyone tell me how to date stamp the photos? I am used to doing this and it helps with the diary of the photos taken. I can easily take over 1000 on a 2 week holiday.
Hint - I bought a super-fast 16Gb SD card for this camera. It has paid dividends. The camera will automatically take multiple shots for backlit views. It consolidates these so quickly.

6:03 pm - Sunday, September 21, 2014

#70 Harvey

I bought a TZ60 here in Las Palmas for €315 from a major depth store on a special. It is fantastic and very easy to use. Takes great photo band one good improvement is the panoramic shot is now on the dial and not in the special scene effects. The viewfinder is great and it is easy to see in every type of lighting except when the sun is directly behind. It does loose a bit of its brilliance but you can still make the edges of the photo to pose your shot. Much better than using the screen. I did find the flash shots I took outdoors in the early evening were not as good as I thought they would be. A lot were blurred which I have never had the likes of on my other Lumix cameras. I’ve had the TZ 5,  TZ 60, TZ 20 touch screen (horrible) and a TZ 25. Perhaps I just need to use manual at times like that. Another small critism is the iA marking on the wheel is not red anymore and it is not so easy to check if your camera is on that setting.

12:27 pm - Monday, September 22, 2014

#71 Adriana

Hi,
I am tossing up between the Sony HX60 and this Panasonic and I need some advice.

I am travelling to the UK over the winter and I just need something that is good in low light, takes photos with a more natural colouring, and has a good zoom.

I’m not a highly experienced photographer, but I understand enough to take recognise a decent quality photo.

I swore off Panasonic after my last camera, it was shocking, but this one appears to be more image quality focused.

Thanks for your time :)

2:08 pm - Monday, September 22, 2014

#72 Karen Sandler

Adriana,
DON’T go for the Sony. The HS60 and HS50 are virtually the same camera. It was the low light pictures that were the problem with the Sony - they tooks literally 7 seconds to process. The photos were good, but it was just an awful camera.
The Panasonic is coping with all light conditions. There is a slight tendency to overexpose in bright light, but you can alter the exposure to compensate. I am not talking technical here - it has an exposure dial and you can just turn it to whatever level you want. I am not a technical photographer and the Panasonic is easy to use once you get used to it. It takes superb pictures. I have previously owned the TZ5 and TZ20. Both were great. This one seems to have cleaned up some of the problems.
As mentioned below, it has a panoramic setting too, which is now so much easier and takes amazing views.
I am probably one of the only people who has had both cameras and I would not have the Sony under any circumstances.

2:42 pm - Monday, September 22, 2014

#73 Ovidiu

TZ60/ZS40 it is the best selling camera from Panasonic at the moment. has raw so you can use software to edit images if you wish. Good for travel.

11:36 pm - Monday, September 22, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, wi-fi, manual, travel-zoom, travel, touch screen, lumix, 24mm, 10fps, touch, raw, 18 megapixel, nfc, wi fi, evf, gps, viewfinder, 30x zoom, electronic viewfinder, PASM, focus peaking, dmc-tz60, tz60, dmc-zs40, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60 Review, zs40, control ring

Tracker Pixel for Entry