Panasonic Lumix G5 Review

4.5
July 24, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

34 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Andrew cresswell

What a great little camera :)

9:13 pm - Tuesday, July 24, 2012

#2 JS

Yes it is!

10:34 pm - Tuesday, July 24, 2012

#3 Martin Cohen

How does this compare with the Olympus E-M5?

2:41 am - Wednesday, July 25, 2012

#5 kustom48

Is it that much of an improvement over the G3 ?

Are the new features worth the expense of an upgrade ?

9:59 am - Wednesday, July 25, 2012

#6 Jeffreyeo

what Phyllis said I am inspired that a single mom able to profit $7553 in one month on the computer. have you read this web page(Click on menu Home more information)    http://goo.gl/LGcjM

3:26 pm - Wednesday, July 25, 2012

#7 Peter de Tolly

How is it that the G3 was awarded an Éssential’ and the G5 with its improvements only rates a ‘Highly Recommended’ and has a lower points aggregate?

7:41 am - Thursday, July 26, 2012

#8 Peter de Tolly

Why is the G5 only rated as Highly Recommended when it is superior in specification to the G3, which was rated as Essential?

8:59 am - Thursday, July 26, 2012

#9 kustom48

To Jeffreyeo post #6,

What has this got to do with an article/ blog comment on a panasonic G5 ?

5:46 pm - Thursday, July 26, 2012

#10 Warren Lyons

Peter, IMHO, Mark Goldstein who reviewed both the G3 and G5 probably felt that the incremental improvements of the newer model didn’t warrant such a price increase. In fact, if you notice, there was no G4 model in between, probably a marketing ploy by Panasonic to make the buyer think there more more changes than there actually were.  Whatever the case, if you, or anyone else on PB is interested in Micro 4/3, expect some sweet deals on leftover G3 models, once the new G5 hits the shelves

8:26 pm - Thursday, July 26, 2012

#11 Sharp

Panasonic always jumps over the number 4 when naming cameras as it is considered bad luck in Japan.

11:31 pm - Thursday, July 26, 2012

#12 Warren Lyons

Didn’t know that, Sharp.  However, Canon is coming out with a Rebel T4i DSLR, so maybe I am right

12:01 am - Friday, July 27, 2012

#13 Chris Chin

Actually “4” and “deadth” pronounce the same in Japanese and Chinese so they don’t like this number.

4:05 am - Friday, July 27, 2012

#14 zebarnabe

It’s not only in cameras, number 4 is skipped in lots of product numbers, like it was said, 4 sounds like death thus giving it a bad omen.

However, it is more of a superstition, so you still see number 4 in lots of Japanese products.

Number 7 is a lucky number in Japanese and other cultures, LX series jumped to 7 as a way of saying (as in a market ploy if you may look at it that way) that the camera is really innovative.

This camera is great, but there are two points that make it less great: it is a bit over priced (but being just released that is to be expected) and it doesn’t represent a remarkable step over the G3 (but it’s a better and more refined camera).

With that said, should my GH1 one die (knocks on the wood), and I would look at G5 as a proper replacement (or maybe GH2, depending on price). E-M5 is just too expensive.

I’m still waiting to see how FZ200 fares… those f/2.8 lens look promising, but some of the pre-production low-res image samples that were released were quite blurry at ISO400, if it was just a mis-calibrated NR algorithm and it performs in a similar fashion to FZ150 it will be the ‘king’ of the bridge segment for quite a while.

And in the wait is also GH3 ... though, my guess is that the price of GH3 will be close to the one of E-M5.

9:16 am - Saturday, July 28, 2012

#15 matt

What lens was used for the sample pics? The raw files look very sharp compared to the JPG’s - I guess the NR process is quite aggressive for some reason?

1:17 pm - Sunday, July 29, 2012

#16 Phil

1. Is it a pre-production camera?
2. If the sample pics are taken using the 14-42 X lens, does the G5 suffer from the infamous degrade of IQ when using shutter speed of 1/60-1/160 at 42mm?

7:34 am - Monday, August 6, 2012

#17 dongle

The review states the remote port can be used as a REMOTE/MIC. I was led to believe there were no option for a MIC input for the G5 model, only for the GH series. Is the review correct or wrong about the REMOTE/MIC input?

3:12 am - Wednesday, August 15, 2012

#18 Thurin

Is the function/zoom lever two step like on the lens, or one step like in compact cameras?

8:11 pm - Tuesday, September 4, 2012

#19 Pierre

This is a great camera. I think it deserves to be rated essential. Very good review though.

8:07 am - Friday, September 7, 2012

#20 Milton

I got the oppilas wireless remote and a panisonic lumix g5 and I don’t know how to get them to work please help me.

2:45 am - Saturday, October 27, 2012

#21 Milton

I got a oppilas wireless remote and a panisonic g5 camera and I can get them to work together. Help me please..

2:51 am - Saturday, October 27, 2012

#22 G Houghton

This report is incorrect, the G% does not support external microphone. The socket ( on the rhs) is for remote control only no audio.

12:06 pm - Sunday, November 4, 2012

#23 Paul Gill

I am told that there was no G4 as the number 4 is unlucky in Japan.  Thanks

8:33 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#24 Mike Ranson

In your review you state: “On the left of the G5 is the MIC / Remote socket for use with the optional remote shutter release and external microphone”

Are you sure that it is possible to connect a remote microphone via this socket???
This seems to be at odds with other reviews.

8:22 pm - Friday, December 28, 2012

#25 Paul Gill

The reason for no G4 is that the number 4 in Japan is deemed unlucky, it sounds like the Japanese word for death. Thanks

8:39 pm - Friday, December 28, 2012

#26 Ed Schwartz

According to the manufacturer the Oppilas wireless does not work with the G5.

1:59 am - Friday, January 4, 2013

#27 G5 newcomer

NO one of the main bad points of G5 is that it does not have a mic input but the built in mic can be customized with filters etc. The non X lenses apparently are better than the X series. I own it for a few days now and I am really happy, got it under 500 here in the UK. Touch screen is not the most sensitive but the new viewfinder is amazing. Picture quality is amazing especially in low light. Took already a few gigs of images

9:17 am - Sunday, February 3, 2013

#28 Don

I have purchased the G5 with both the kit 14-42 and the 45-200 and also purchased a Sigma 19mm F2.8 just to have a super-closeup lens (on the cheap) and couldn’t be a happier camper with one exception. The feel and smoothness of the cheaply made, non-motorized (manual zoom lenses from Panasonic are a real disappointment to this first-time 4/3 interchangeable lens camera buyer…not the results- just the feel and lack of smoothness when zooming.  The camera itself far exceeds my expectations and it will take me a while to master the array of on-camera functions.  Wow!  You won’t be disappointed with the camera.  Now all I want to know, now, is: Can I install an older, long-zoom like a 500mm with some type of adapter?

Too bad this site can’t “report” posts like Jefferyeo’s.  Don’t bother giving him the satisfaction of clicking on his link…I didn’t.

Milton, I have the same remote shutter brand. My advice is to turn the patch cord around and use the angled end at the receiver jack on the “receiver” and patch the straight end into the receiver jack on the camera.  Also, once you have is hooked up and turned on (in that order), press and hold the smaller button on the “receiver” until the red light starts to blink. I think that this “pairs” them. You’ll love what you can do with a remote. I do.

5:23 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#29 Barnabas

The only snag I can se with the G5 is it’s non-compatibility with Adobe photoshop 7.0 which is vital for shooting Raw files.

1:06 pm - Friday, March 15, 2013

#30 Don

I use Corel Paint Shop Pro Photo XI and it’s very comprehesive for the cost and IT does RAW files for a lot less.

1:06 am - Saturday, March 16, 2013

#31 Don

I was mistaken regarding Corel’s ability to edit RAW Camera Images.  The following is from their manual:

Raw camera data images contain unprocessed sensor data captured by high-end digital cameras from Canon, Fuji, Kodak, Minolta, Nikon, Olympus, and Pentax. The data from these images in no way resembles or responds like RAW graphics image data.
RAW graphics images are basic raster data format images with no compression, and may include an optional non-standard header which is not supported by Corel Paint Shop Pro Photo. These graphics images are used primarily by game developers and by the scientific community. Game developers use RAW graphics images for custom image texturing, bumpmapping, and shading. The scientific community uses these images for custom application-based image analysis.
Corel Paint Shop Pro Photo can create and edit RAW graphics images as well as provide conversion from standard formats (such as TIF, JPEG, or TGA) into the RAW graphics format.
You can correct the tint, or color cast, certain types of lighting may cause. For example, if the photo was shot indoors in fluorescent lighting, and the camera was set for outdoor lighting conditions, the photo may have a green color cast. In this case, you can choose an option that applies correction for a photo taken in fluorescent light.

To set General image preferences

6:02 pm - Saturday, March 16, 2013

#32 Gene Denzel

It is a really great camera for the weight.  I’m mostly shooting wildlife with the 100-300 lens, but I can’t seem to make it get into the AF+MF mode, which should allow me to touch up the focus on a bird, e.g., with a little tweak with the manual focus ring.  This would be especially handy when the bird is surrounded by tree branches which grab the AF.
Any suggestions?

10:32 pm - Tuesday, June 25, 2013

#33 jon

I don’t think there is a connection for an external mic.  There is no mention of it in the manual, and the connection identified above as a MIC / Remote socket, is labeled simply “remote.”  I’m not sure where the author got this from.

5:07 am - Sunday, August 4, 2013

#34 Bruce Myers

Just bought this camera on clearance.  Wow.. I like it so far.  Question…  when I am scrolling though the difference picture options (ie.. black/white, toy effect, vivid, ect… ) and I take a picture with that one… how do I go and scroll though the list again ?  Only way I can see so far is to rotate the dial on top to another spot, then rotate it back to the “effect” spot.  From there I can go through the list.  Is there an easier way ?

10:39 am - Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, manual, touch-screen, lumix, touchscreen, micro four thirds, panasonic, EVF, 6fps, AVCHD, swivel, articulating, rotating, g5, Panasonic Lumix DMC-G5 Review, dmc g5, dmc-g5

Tracker Pixel for Entry