Pentax K-5 IIs Review

4.5
April 3, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Toni

I like your review and I like Pentax.Please I would like to change my old Pentax KX with semi-professional K5 or K5II or K5IIs and please I need your suggestion on what is better to buy without spent a lot of money.I am confused and undecided.Many thanks.

1:20 pm - Wednesday, April 3, 2013

#2 Chris

Were the second pair of images in the section on the anti-shake inter-changed? Your commetary suggests the image was sharper with anti-shake on (as one would expect), but the second set would seem to show a MUCH worse result with anti-shake on.

5:05 pm - Wednesday, April 3, 2013

#3 Ben

Toni, take a look at the K30, its not as well built, but it’s cheaper, weather sealed, better live view and takes fantastic pictures. Other then that the K5IIs is the best followed by the K5II.

9:28 pm - Wednesday, April 3, 2013

#4 Toni

Ben, many thanks for your reply.I think that is better to wait and will buy the k5IIs that is a fantastic camera but too expensive in Italy.
Regards

10:40 pm - Wednesday, April 3, 2013

#5 Hans Benndorf

I bought the K5 IIs a week ago, together with 3 ‘Limited’ Pentax prime lenses (21mm F/3.2, 40mm f/2.8, 70mm F/2.4). It’s a compact and high quality kit. I’ll use it with a small bag for street photography and travel. The image quality with those tiny lenses is stunning. I think it rivals full frame systems which are much bigger, heavier and 2-3 times more expensive. I also shoot with Nikon’s. They are relegated for different duties now (action, sport and wildlife). I am glad I chose Pentax. it rocks. Cheers, Hans

1:10 am - Thursday, April 4, 2013

#6 Steve

Add the improved Live View and Focus Peaking of the K30 on the next version, and you’d have a killer combo that I might just jump on.

6:19 pm - Wednesday, April 10, 2013

#7 microstudio

Vivid colors,Great color saturation,produces very sharp images and the AF is very quick and on target.the built quality is second to none.with the DA* lenses it producing pro images.

9:16 am - Saturday, April 13, 2013

#8 Eivind

Toni: I would have bought the K5, and if you want to save money, buy a used one :) I don’t think the differences between K5 and K5 II/IIs is worth the price when you see how cheap a used K5 is (I’ve seen K5 used here in Norway for 550$!).

The image quality is awesome, and I’ve never experienced trouble with autofocus in low light. How fast it is, depends on the lens although, if it’s screw drive or not etc.

K5 is still better than K-30 in my opinion.

1:24 pm - Saturday, April 13, 2013

#9 microstudio

I found this review for this camera “I have owned several professional cameras, more recently the Hasselblad H2 with P30 back and the Canon 5DMKII. Hasselblad makes some of the best medium format cameras available. I wish I could say Canon makes some of the best 35mm cameras but hey… the millions they spend each year on marketing and sales promotions doesn’t equal the quality of image their camera’s can produce. I only bought the 5DII with 50mm 1.4 and 24mm TS-E II (allegedly some of Canon’s “BEST GLASS”) because other friends in the business prompted me to buy Canon. “It’s great, you’ll love it”, they told me. They were wrong… DEAD wrong! I hated Canon after owning a medium format camera with a Phase One back. The Canon was lighter sure and much cheaper but I also learned why… it’s designed and built to a much cheaper standard! Canon and Nikon (Pre-Nikon 800 / 800E owners that is) don’t think there’s anything wrong with their cameras because quite simply they don’t know any different. Harsh… not really, just the truth! Until you’ve owned the best you don’t know what GOOD/BETTER/BEST is. I’ve heard so many “experts” and “semi-pro’s” go on and on about Canon and Nikon and the proof is simply in the image quality and with Canon (all current models) and Nikon (except for the new 800/800E) quality simply isn’t there.Then comes along a new Pentax camera, offering a model with no Anti-Aliasing filter. Funny thing about that, medium format cameras… have no anti-aliasing filter… never have! That’s why MF is so much more crisp and vibrant. It isn’t just the extra sensor size and more megapixels (though believe me that makes a BIG difference). The AA filter accounts for a HUGE part of the final image quality. Nikon realized this and removed it from the 800E model and amazingly now…. Peter Lik is starting to shoot with an 800E… funny how people take notice of no AA filter.Pentax hit a home-run with the K-5 IIs. This camera is my ultimate walk-around. Does it replace my MF film equipment for landscapes… no, but then, few cameras truly can (Hasselblads H4D60 maybe, but not many). What the IIs does is make things much harder on Canon and Nikon now because Pentax has mastered the art of squeezing every last ounce of dynamic range, sharpness and overall image quality out of this 16.1MP sensor. Just check out DXO… the lab results don’t lie. This camera blows my old Canon 5DII TO THE WEEDS!!!!Just wait until Pentax unleashes the K-3 (said to be a FF 24MP follow-up to the K-5 II/IIs release of this year). The K-3 is supposed to come in 2013 and I believe these two cameras combined will shake up the DSLR world in a way few cameras ever have!If you want an AWESOME DSLR, buy the K-5IIs and don’t look back. You’ll be glad you did.”

7:52 pm - Saturday, April 13, 2013

#10 Daemonius

I would be happier if D7100 review contained at least that few RAW samples as K-5 IIs. Seriously is it that big issues to go out, take same snaps and upload them? Shot of library is near useless..

3:04 pm - Sunday, April 28, 2013

#11 Bryan

The sample RAW files of the books are all serverly underexposed!!! Kinda makes the ISO testing useless! The ISO 6400 shot is 2 stops underexposed. At least if your giving us RAW files to play with, get the exposure close.

11:46 pm - Friday, June 13, 2014

#12 Josee

I am concerned with the moiré problem. Some reviewers are saying that the Pentax K-5 IIs does produce moiré on repetitive patterns. As the Pentax K-5 and K-5 II, which do have the AA filter, do not have as sharp pictures. I am tossed with the moiré idea. Can anyone comment on the 5IIs pictures?

1:16 am - Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, full hd, DSLR, prosumer, dustproof, pentax, freezeproof, digital SLR, 7fps, filter, anti-alias, k5 IIs review, k5 IIs, k-5 IIs, Pentax K-5 IIs Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry