Pentax Optio RZ10 Review

3.5
November 5, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 kelsci

I think the pictures taken with this camera look better than a rating of 3.  I would give it a 4.

10:55 am - Friday, November 5, 2010

#2 sisi

another piece of junk point and shoot pentax camera

5:23 pm - Friday, November 5, 2010

#3 insolito

why do these pentax p&s keep getting a 4.5 value for money rating if their pics suck??? and the price is so high..Give me a cheap fuji any given day!

8:13 pm - Monday, November 8, 2010

#4 Nehemoth

Ok here’s the deal, I used to had a Panasonic 8MP and 5x optical soon camera, I like the quality of the pictures but are too slow, then I wish thinking in get this camera as replacement now I read this review, so now I wonder, which P&S for this money and with nice optical soon should I get?.

Regards

3:55 am - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#5 fj

get a fuji

6:26 am - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#6 Nehemoth

But which model, Fuji usually use AA batteries, I would like Ni-Cad (or other format) rechargable battery.

Thank you

11:39 am - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#7 fj

Depends on your budget!  I bought two F70exr their images are sharp. I also own a s1500 (same as s1600, s1800) and it is a fun camera but you have to work for the photos if you are on manual mode. A F70exr, 80exr and 300exr automatically makes crisp photos. That is my opinion but then again, I am a big fuji fan as you can see.. I owned a Panasonic and their images are very good but the cameras lack that manual ability that fuji puts in their cameras.

11:56 pm - Wednesday, November 10, 2010

#8 Gianni

I am looking for a new compact superzoom camera. I saw Ricoh’s cx-series and the new Pentax RZ 10 in a shop and first wanted to compare test-shots. So I downloaded all the testshots of this URL and compared it. Pentaxes testshots with 80 ISO speed (despite of the bad weather and the relatively long exposure) are all sharp from corner to corner. Many of Ricoh’s test shots are blurry in the corners. I wonder what the testers are testing here! They set the ISO-speed to high settings and are testing the noise. In fact, most of the point-and-shoot users let the ISO speed at 80 - 200, and with this, the photos of the Pentax are outstanding in colour and sharpness from corner to corner.

2:47 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#9 GK

So far , very good little camera for my kid at a reasonable price .

12:51 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#10 Martini

Hi, I can’t find information about the capability of RZ10 to use optical zoom during video recording. That’s a major advantage, if you can do that.

10:55 pm - Friday, January 7, 2011

#11 Look better!

I would say that your samples images taken w this camera looks sharp. Should you give higher score for images quality or your main considerations based on high ISO performance in low light situation? What can such kind small sensor 1/2.3” perform? Pls, give samples test from other brand as rivals.

6:25 am - Tuesday, June 21, 2011

#12 MaryEm

Yesterday, I purchased a Sony WX9 - tonight, I’m returning it (awful controls and absurd menu arrangements) - This camera body looks wonderful in comparison, as do the menu items shown.  There is a lot to be said for proper housing design and simple, logical menus.  Also, closeups at 1/2 inch - wow !  I’m going to try out the Pentax RZ10 - I can always enhance images in my paint program if needed.  Also, despite this wonderful review, I would like to see added a “learning curve” category for evaluation.  Truly, yesterday’s camera was an overly-complicated programming mess which was complicated by bad dials and overall bad design - and a manual that was really a bad joke!  Wish me luck with my forthcoming RZ10. For the money, I don’t think I’ll go wrong this time.

10:55 pm - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#13 Vadim

Hi, it is not possible to use optical zoom during video recording.

2:28 pm - Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 720p, 14 megapixel, 2.7 inch LCD, travel-zoom, travel, 10x zoom, pentax, RZ10 review, Pentax RZ10 Review, Pentax Optio RZ10 Review, rz10

Tracker Pixel for Entry