Pentax Optio VS20 Review

3.5
January 24, 2013 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Joe Prete

If this is the beginning of Pentax-Ricoh, I think they’re off to a very good start. Both Vertical and Horizontal Shutter releases with zoom and tripod mounts are very innovative. Vertical crops with compact cameras have always been awkward, (Sorry Gavin) and this Camera tackles it head on. If it’s priced at $225.00 US it seems like a very good buy. I like the way it’s built and I like the specs. Gavin did a decent review too. I do hope that the colorful stickers (shown on the product images) are not stuck on the cameras that are released. It looks like a very comfortable grip and seems well constructed. A merger assured us that we’ll still have both great companies. I agree with Gavin’s rating!
... Joe Prete

4:36 am - Friday, January 25, 2013

#2 Magazine Cover Photography

This is one of the best camera from pentax that i have ever used, completely worth it.

9:00 am - Friday, January 25, 2013

#3 Joe Prete

You can find it at Walmart for $164.40 in Black $164.72 in white
One review says there is Focus problems, but he loves it anyway!
I think maybe it was a random issue
... Joe

11:06 am - Friday, January 25, 2013

#4 Robin

*lol*

Both of you guys clearly seem to have missed the sample images!?

1:59 am - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#5 Joe Prete

Robin,
Of course I saw the pictures, a good variety of Subjects, ISO, Shutter Speeds, Apertures, Distance and Colours. What else Robin? If you’re talking about quality, this camera sells for $165.00 What do you expect, Leica Quality? I love these people that don’t even identify themselves, they always have something to say. Maybe Robin whoever would like to do a review of his/her own, then we can all nit- pick his/her review, and we’ll see what kind of pictures she/he takes. Leave Gavin alone, he did a good review, probably better than this camera deserves for $165.00   lol=like or leave!
... Joe Prete

3:23 am - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#6 Joe Prete

By the way Robin,
The other commenter #2 that you had referenced, when you said
“both of you guys”  didn’t exactly give a name, but if you notice he’s identified as “Magazine Cover Photography” and that is underlined which means that it is a link. If you click on the link, you will be brought to the home page of the Magazine. So obviously his comment carries some weight. If he’s a Photographer or Editor of this magazine, I would think that his comment is a valid one!
... Joe Prete

5:19 am - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#7 Jungle Jim

@Robin #4 lol - “like or leave” I gotta admit, it is time for a change.
 
Joe Prete is right!

7:05 am - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#8 andyclad

Hmm, available for £96 in the UK with lithium battery and mains charger (Pixmania). 
Love the idea of double shutter buttons. So simple ?
Only multi segment metering, but does have exposure compensation. CCD sensor though, so a humongous file size for HD. Still, a lot of camera for under 100 quid.

11:17 am - Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 720p, 16 megapixel, hdmi, manual, travel-zoom, travel, 28mm, travel zoom, 20x zoom, optio, vs20, pentax vs20, Pentax Optio VS20 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry