Pentax Optio WG-1 GPS Review

4.0
August 4, 2011 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 ed g.

The introduction/ease of use section is quite detailed, but leaves out some things that are normally in your reviews, such as startup time, shutter lag, and AF performance.  I see that startup and lag times are in the specifications section, but how fast (and how well) does it focus?

3:28 pm - Thursday, August 4, 2011

#2 Spiros

Image quality 3,5 ?!
Not even 0,5 .

Anyway,thanks for the review and for the whole job.
Keep going !!!

7:14 pm - Thursday, August 4, 2011

#3 Avi

I hope purchasers of the WG1 have better luck with it than I had with its predecessor, the W90.  The first time I went to use mine it flooded.

Sent it back to Pentax.  They received it on June 13th and on June 22nd decided it should be replaced (w/ a WG1 because they no longer produce the W90).

Eight weeks later I’m still waiting. Pentax USA say they have trouble getting a replacement “from the manufacturer”.

9:45 am - Monday, August 8, 2011

#4 Bahamas Photographer

It sure wins for style. I’m more of a Canon point n shoot guy. But the styling on this caught my eye

1:13 am - Monday, August 29, 2011

#5 Peteris

Image quality- 0.5 from 5. Battery life- 0.5 from 5. I’m really sorry I’ve spent money for this camera.

5:44 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#6 fortunato

first time that i used this camera in not even 3 feet of water flodded not mentioning that you cannot take a good pic at night even thought has 16 different set-up.  I will give -3 stars to this piece of garbage….and we spent a fortune for it.

10:31 pm - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#7 liam

ive used this little camera extensivly in the red sea at depth and its always performed great, ive dropped it on rocks and been up mountains with it and it never lets me down, ok the gps function is rubbish and it can be a little slow to focus but on a whole for the price its a very good camera.

11:54 am - Monday, June 18, 2012

#8 Lee K. "The Big American"

Have to wonder what’s going on! The negative reviews above are almost verbatim to ones on Amazon.com!!! Beware of possible dissing by the competition! Just bought this camera online from TARGET for $169 to serve as a travel back-up and snorkeling camera-video! Will let you know later how I make out!!!

10:24 pm - Sunday, July 15, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 720p, camera, 5x zoom, 2.7 inch LCD, 14 megapixel, waterproof, pentax, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, sports, action, optio, pentax wg-1 gps, Pentax Optio WG-1 GPS Review, wg-1 gps

Tracker Pixel for Entry