Ricoh CX2 Review

4.5
November 5, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

23 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Matt

Another great, but sadly overlooked (by many) camera from Ricoh.

12:19 am - Friday, November 6, 2009

#2 Vitamins

Great. another camera for me to look at. Though, have to admit I have yet to see the first one anywhere yet, and I’ve been looking too.

7:07 am - Friday, November 6, 2009

#3 Freddie

Are the sample images shot with HDR mode? Most of them seem to be very soft not to say blurred. Any comment to IQ at the tele end? This seems to be a weak point.

10:02 am - Friday, November 6, 2009

#4 Tim Driver

This looks like a really well put together little camera - I think I will pick one up

11:35 am - Friday, November 6, 2009

#5 Peter Harris

I htink the problem with the hdr mode is that the images are taken sequentially - not simultaneously - so any movement results in blur.  Not too smart really. 

The fuji 200ex takes them at the same time.

5:53 am - Wednesday, November 11, 2009

#6 mihaitzateo

To me the sample images seems that lacks details and blurry in some areas.
Look at these full size images:
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/ricoh_cx2/sample_images/ricoh_cx2_20.jpg
Look at the contours of the leafs here:
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/ricoh_cx2/sample_images/ricoh_cx2_26.jpg
And the colours reproduction to me it not seems so accurate.The colors look strange.
In the corner from the right part (more visibile at the bottom) the image get also pretty unclear.
This is my opinion and could be wrong.

12:17 pm - Wednesday, November 11, 2009

#7 Steve B

@mihaitzateo
The colours look fine to me. People see colours differently sometimes.
The ‘problem’ in the lower right of sample 26 is likely due to the buildings glass being at an angle. The reflections of the interior lights look weird because of this as well.
Shooting against buildings with so much glass is not easy because of all the reflections and refractions going on.

11:20 pm - Wednesday, November 11, 2009

#8 nk

I have been using this camera for 2 weeks and so far very happy with the image quality. Few good things about this camera:
- vibrant colors and great micro photos(amazing 1cm micro
- Micro zoom mode
- Great scene mode(contrast, miniature) modes
- Big and great LCD
- Manual focus
- High speed continuos shooting mode(probably fastest among its competitors)
- in-camera edit for white balance/exposure.

Few minus things
- No HD for video recording(Do you care if you are interested in photography)
- DR mode is not simultaneous makes it mostly useless


However, I think it is a great camera because of great image quality and sharpness. Also anti-shake feature works really well for sports mode. I initially bought F70EXR but I was not happy with quality of image so I exchanged it with CX2 and so far really thrilled with image quality.

5:22 pm - Friday, November 20, 2009

#9 Pete

I am considering buying one for the great looks and feel. The retailer allowed me to test shoot a number of images. First impressions:
- Pleasant suturations of colors
- Great white balance and contrast
- Slight hesitation in sharpness: probably due to the DR option which takes two consecutive pictures. I have one sample shot where you can literally see this effect on the moving subjects in the picture, while the stationary objects benefit tremendously from this feature. In the non DR setting, sharpness is great.
- When camera is held still in DR setting, i.e. in limited tele range sharpness is very good
- hand shootinmg in 300 mm setting is amazingly acceptable, considering the fact that with a SLR you would use a tripod
-Macro shooting in DR should be avoided, here the same effect is visible
- A lot of nice features like a five shot consecutive mode which can capture the best moment

Further I like the ‘traditional’ look and feel of the black version.

Overall I think I am going to opt for the Ricoh CX2, in favor of the Panasonic Lumix and paradoxically because of the virtues and despite the shortcomings of the DR option.

10:45 am - Saturday, November 28, 2009

#10 Peter Harris

Have you looked at the fuji 200ex.  It has a dynamic range node too but it shoots both images simultaneously.  I’d think it’s worth a look.

Ricoh’s made some great stuff though.  I don’t think they’re distributed in the U.S. if that’s a concern.

10:59 am - Saturday, November 28, 2009

#11 Pete

Thanks, Peter, for your suggestion. I have read about the Fuji 200ex but I can’t find one in my town. I did test shoot a Panasonic Lumix and although I am impressed with its sharpness and versatality it offers, I think the color balance in the Lumix is a bit hard, making the colors overly pronounced. Comparing the CX2 frames, I am still impressed with it’s very impressive color contrast and pleasant vividness. I also test shot the CX2 against a Leica D-Lux 4 (triple the price) and although the Leica’s optics offer supreme sharpness , it is harsher in color spectrum, compared with CX2’s more serene color blends. I also shot against the Canon DIGITAL IXUS 110 IS, but in sharpness, noise and color balance, the Canon (in my opinion) was no match for the CX2. So I have made up my mind for the Ricoh.

9:43 pm - Saturday, November 28, 2009

#12 Cesare

reading the comments the CX2 it seems a great camera but without a memo clip to add information to the pics specially in travel.  This is in my opinion a big big big omissions.

11:34 am - Sunday, November 29, 2009

#13 Adam

Had one 7 days. Great build, handling and spec but,picture quality average to poor.  Soft blurred noisy pictures. Noise at low iso. Average image stabilazation. Hunts badly in low light (if it focuses at all) Wasted my money.

8:17 am - Friday, December 11, 2009

#14 Peter Harris

@adam:  That sucks but I think you’ll get a country song out of it.

8:26 am - Friday, December 11, 2009

#15 Adam

@Peter Harris
No doubt a country one Peter!
Even so, I really wanted this camera to have good image quality as the build and spec are great.  I can only comment on what I experienced.  The retailer says that mine may have a faulty focusing problem. I dont think so, sent it back, buying canon s90 or Ricoh gx200 instead.

8:05 am - Saturday, December 12, 2009

#16 Pete

I have one for a week now and it certainly matches my earlier trial expectations. I DO recognize, Adam, it’s lowlight limitations, although I don’t have the focusing problems. In low light conditions, it shoots - in auto ISO mode, with surprisingly low shutterspeeds. Also I miss a ‘sports’-mode with a lock on high shutterspeeds, but perhaps I have not discovered this. After a week I feel this is a ‘photographer’s camera. For a day at the baseball field, I would use my old ragged Casio Exilim which shoots at high speed with no problems at moderate image quality.

However, I LOVE CX2’s picture quality with -for me- very satisfying sharpness and very attractive color balance and saturation. This a camera that needs time to get acquainted with but the more I get a handle on it, the more I love the pictures!

3:58 pm - Sunday, December 13, 2009

#17 Adam

@Pete
Im glad it works for you Pete. As I said the build quality and spec’ is amazing. The camera shop believe that mine could be faulty and,are now testing it. It just would not focus properly, auto focus asist light only came on now and then also, if I took a picture of someones head the green focus light would confrim focus on the head but the head would be blurry and the wall behind in focus. Im gutted as I really liked the camera and its spec.

7:34 am - Tuesday, December 15, 2009

#18 Pete

@Adam
Thanks Adam. Too bad your’s is not working. Let’s hope it can be fixed, or replaced. I just shot a couple of random pictures and it should focus, even when the picture in the viewer is still blurred. Under lowlight conditions it may take half a second but the pictures should come out sharp. Perhaps -but you probably have tested this - there is the setting of AF. Press the ‘yoy-stick’for Ok: then you see five icons at the righthand top corner. Go to the most right (the four pointed star) and in the left corner you see a menu of AE/AF, Af, etc. Perhaps the AF function is ‘off’? Another check is perhaps: go to menu > focus and you have various focus modes. Perhaps it is locked on manual or infinity focus?

Hope it helps.

10:38 am - Tuesday, December 15, 2009

#19 Adam

@Pete
Thanks Pete

8:08 am - Tuesday, December 22, 2009

#20 Pete

@Adam
You’re welcome, Adam. Hope it works out for you. In the meantime I’ve found the ‘sports’ mode. Under the mode dial ‘Scene’ , press menu and there you find it as part of twelve different shooting modes. I have bought a miniature 5"tripod with three flexible legs. Ideal for shooting in lowlight conditions. Made some great winter shots! In daylight snowconditions my CX2 is struggling with the white balance. I have experimented with exposure modes to get convincing ‘white’ snow.

8:35 am - Tuesday, December 22, 2009

#21 Pete

I own and shot with the CX2 now for four months and here is an interim report:

Plus:
+ excellent picture quality in terms of color contrast, saturation and vividness
+ handling, feel and battery life (far better than 200 frames)
+ low light capabilities, also when using no flash

negative:
-focusing speed, when shooting fast frames, it simply takes too long to go “back and forth” and finding its focus.
- sports mode: doesn’t satisfy,takes too long to focus. No camera for the track field

4:03 pm - Tuesday, April 6, 2010

#22 Ali Gee

I manage a plant nursery, and make labels for plants, with a descriptioon and photo. I have had great difficulty photographing blue and purple flowers, which usually end up shades of electric blue. I have been using a Nikon Coolpix P6000 - Nikon most unhelpful, and gave me lame excuses. Took purple plant into London Camera Exchange in Salisbury - very helpful staff were amazed at colour difference! We worked through every camera in the shop including top of the range Nikon and Canon SLRs and this is the only camera that does the job - all others too far out to even Photoshop to a close proximity.

10:27 pm - Monday, August 2, 2010

#23 Will

Been a cx user for 3 years. Had cx1 and then upgraded to a cx 2. Been VERY HAPPY with the line, it takes a bit of practice to get out the best shots from my cx’s but it really pays off when you’ve got the hang of it. EXCELLENT, excellent outputs! Very useful especially when i want to be discreet and don’t wanna be seen lugging around a bulky slr. I LOVE MY LITTLE CX :)

9:16 am - Monday, September 19, 2011

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, wide-angle, beginner, prosumer, 10x zoom, ricoh, 9 megapixel, ricoh cx2, Ricoh CX2 Review, cx2

Tracker Pixel for Entry