Ricoh CX5 Review

4.0
February 4, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

10 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Michael

I’m really impressed that you have published this review this fast !
wow !
Thanks a lot, good on you

6:39 pm - Friday, February 4, 2011

#2 Arthur

You wish Ricoh would have learnt from previous reviews. Smaller movie files, stereo sound and the CX5 would have been a great upgrade…..

9:17 pm - Friday, February 4, 2011

#3 EffSztop

Another overhyped, overpriced, has been Chinese made camera brand. Thanks, but NO thanks.

12:47 am - Saturday, February 5, 2011

#4 HW

Ricoh seems to make haste slowly and consistently improves on a good design. In my opinion Ricoh cameras are not overhyped, but much liked for their character, performance and natural color reproduction.

Ricoh makes understated, rather serious looking camera’s. Like Leica in the old days they stick to a dependable platform and introduce new or improved features. If you’re into flashy chrome, sculptured bodywork or eye catching lettering look elsewhere.

While I don’t quite understand the corporate strategy behind Ricoh’s 6 months lifecycle of each CX model, I find the CX series one of the most enjoyable camera’s to be used in real life. I compared them to many others, but Ricoh’s UI and performance are outstanding and do make the camera’s stand out from the competition.

CX features are usable and much appreciated when you’re out taking pictures. Agreed, other brands offer more gimmicks and a higher ‘wow-factor’ when shown to friends, but as a pocket photo machine, my CX3 has been very very good. It is often said and I believe it’s true that Ricoh cameras are designed by people who actually take pictures. Take some time to learn to use the features well, put in a little extra effort and this camera outperforms many higher specified and more expensive alternatives.

Thanks to the quick UI, 5 f/s, manual focus and good zoom, and with a bit of practice, most sports photo’s from my sons soccer games come out really great and are (much) preferred over the ones taken with a Panasonic FZ35.

The CX5 features a few sensible improvements such as better shake reduction (from CX4) and faster AF. I forgive Ricoh for the gimmicky golf swing mode, which must have added after a wild personnel outing at the golf course.

After carefully checking the competition, I just ordered a new black CX5 without a doubt in my mind. I’m looking foreward to many great pictures with a very enjoyable camera. Whishes for an upcoming CX6 are a lager sensor and a faster lens.

12:22 am - Sunday, February 6, 2011

#5 Slava

Would be great camera. Obvious flaws:

When lateral chromatic aberrations are not fixed in software i always think they’re intentionally cr@pping on their product. Geometric distortions are also fixable to some extent same way. Both major flaws of cheap lens typical on such cameras can be substantially fixed at zero cost.

Then in high dynamic range making 2 (two!) shots is also kind of mental bzip. Absurd. It has to be at 3 as a minimum, so at least one shot will be taken at potentially optimal shutter parameters

Also, was it hard for them to make Aperture and Shutter priority mode options?

All that does not require a single additional cent in materials while the camera will be considered as a prosumer too. No, they need to cr@p themselves up the the ears and enjoy flowing in all of that.

3:31 am - Sunday, February 6, 2011

#6 Nigel

Love the size of this. Thinking about getting another point-and-shoot but I think I may have to go with the Canon s95 - the reviews are too damn good. My current point and shoot is a Leica d-lux 4.

5:37 am - Sunday, February 6, 2011

#7 Norman

I love Ricoh! I own a Ricoh CX4. It is a really fine camera. Most of all it is a joy to use it. So don’t hesitate to get a CX5 if you want to buy a camera. I will wait for a CX6 (hopefully with a larger sensor or a better aperture)... :-)

5:22 pm - Monday, February 7, 2011

#8 Peter

I am a long term Ricoh user, I owned the R6, R8, R10, then the CX1, CX2, CX3 and the GR2.
I loved the R6 for the image quality, the R8 & R10 a little less. Then I got the CX2 and was really content with it’s performance especially in Macro. The GR2 I am using with the wide angle adapter for architecture and regarding the size it comes really close to SLR. I will buy the CX5 but also the Nikon P300 and the Sony HX9 to compare and see which will serve me most. What I did not like is the change of the Power source in the CX3, it is smaller and less longlasting and on top unnecessary. But all in all a very good camera.

9:37 pm - Wednesday, February 23, 2011

#9 jezza

used to like using ricoh, but they dont survive well (lens on my 4 different ricoh’s have all jammed) and i think now its time to change to a more reliable brand. Luckily i only ever paid for one and the rest were off warranties/insurances so not a big loss.

But dissapointing tho as the ricoh’s i had were a pleasure to use, and the 1cm macro was great. Well, see ya later ricoh… time to look for another brand…

11:39 pm - Wednesday, March 2, 2011

#10 PM

Agree with #5.

PASM would be nice too!

1:11 am - Sunday, June 19, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 10 megapixel, 10x zoom, CMOS, ricoh, sensor, back illuminated, Ricoh CX5 Review, cx 5, cx5