Ricoh CX6 Review

4.0
January 17, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mad Hungarian

Can somebody please explain to me why these Chinese Ricoh cameras get this much press?

10:25 pm - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#2 HW

You’ve got a point. Ricoh camera’s are a market niche with a loyal following. They’re different. Each new model is just a slight improvement over the previous one. No fundamental changes, same sensor, lens etc. Intuitive to use, very customizable, great results. Ricoh’s are an acquired tast. That’s all.

11:47 am - Wednesday, January 18, 2012

#3 Bee Jay

Like most Ricohs, I can’t see any redeeming features. Why would anyone buy one?

6:36 pm - Thursday, January 19, 2012

#4 HW

Try one, you’ll like it. Clever design and well built. Most are a joy to use, unless many other compacts. BTW Ricoh is a Japanese company, the fact that the camera’s are made in China doesn’t change that. All major brands have their compacts made in China, Phillipines, Singapore etc. IPhones come from China. Doesn’t make quality any less. It’s the hard and software design that makes the quality of the product.

12:08 pm - Friday, January 20, 2012

#5 Evolet Pearl

its cool but the battery comsumption is too much.250 pics are v less to consume the battery.

9:27 am - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#6 Pavel

looking at this camera and its 6th generation with almost same appearence, I would expect after all these years that the camera should just have reached the point of perfection, but having red the review above with pictures, looks like it is still missing that little extra, and getting just not enough high score to convince the potential buying crowd

1:09 pm - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#7 OnTheWeb

@Mad - Ricoh cameras are different, but they excel with macros, have a very fast full resolution burst rate which is killer for action shots.  In good light they are formidable cameras.  Quite customizable with beautiful viewscreen.  The focus bracketing and other bracketing modes are helpful.

You should try one.  Might not be your only camera, but quite useful as an all-arounder.

12:09 am - Monday, February 6, 2012

#8 Shirley Bridges

My 1st digital was Ricoh RDC-5300 loved it ! Best color af all digitals looking for Ricoh replacement

5:30 pm - Tuesday, February 21, 2012

#9 blup

Excellent appareil photo en macro. Je ne connais pas d’√©quivalent.

9:40 am - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#10 Peter

One VERY good reason to get a CX-6. It is SUPERB if you do a lot of outdoor macro-zoom work - insects, flowers, and other details where you can frame the target against a dark background and rely on the bokeh effect to highlight your subject in lovely saturated colors. Shoot in the shade whenever possible, the tonal range and rendition is excellent, but in daytime sunlight it all burns to a crisp! Wait till dusk, or get up at dawn. Rainy days even better if you do flowers - you capture those water drops with great focusing ability. For any other purpose, I find the CX cameras mediocre, and that long retracting lens and lens cover have a tendency to jam or stall in the cold. Not even the official Ricoh repair shop in the Ginza will help you get it fixed. Foggedaboudit, get anoddah one, they tell you. Lens fog a pain when you take it out of a pocket in cold conditions. But wonderful for the lovely details in macro zoom.

8:37 am - Monday, September 24, 2012

#11 Floyd

Ricoh cx 6 has a great zoom 10.7 x
when you use tele zoom it very stable ! Especially Marco mode I can use one hand to control , it very sharp and fast focusing.

4:35 pm - Saturday, November 10, 2012

#12 simon conran

Had a Caplio R4 for many years. Out on deck of ship with me many times, and it never let me down. Up ladders, down tanks, everywhere,it was brilliant. Great photos too. Eventually dropped it, and looking to buy cx6.
Also, one of few cameras to have time lapse photography. Essential when attached to model aeroplane for aerial shots. Could set it to shoot every 5 seconds or longer. (It’s done that too!!)

9:31 pm - Thursday, January 10, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 10 megapixel, 10x zoom, CMOS, 5fps, ricoh, sensor, back illuminated, 3fps, cx6, Ricoh CX6 Review, shutter priority, aperture priority, cx 6

Tracker Pixel for Entry