Ricoh GXR A12 28mm Review

4.0
December 17, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jacks

I’ve noticed a few sites ‘moaning’ about the lack of a fast aperture and comparing it to faster lenses of other cameras. Correct me if I’m wrong, but if you need a fast 28mm lens then you have to buy a full frame camera which raises the cost to a much higher level, more so than the Ricoh.

Is it possible for anyone to produce a ‘fast’ 28mm prime for an EVIL camera?

2:39 pm - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#2 Remko

Fast aperture is not right.

As far I know there’s no APS-C DSLR lenses faster than F/2.8 with 28mm equivalent. Sony NEX 16mm is F/2.8; Panasonic Micro 4/3 14mm is F/2.8. Pentax 15mm is F/4.0. Sigma DP is F/4.0

Yes when you go full frame then there are faster lenses with 28mm (Canon 24mm F/1.8) but not cheap and more expensive combinations. Let alone the portability.

At this price and size Ricoh sets the bar for fast 28mm equivalent. (The other alternative would be the Ricoh GRD-3 28mm F/1.9, but with a much smaller sensor of course).

Remko

5:59 pm - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#3 Remko

Forgot to say, thanks for the review.

With this fine lens I think the Ricoh GXR system is getting more and more of interest.

Remko

6:04 pm - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#4 Will

Thanks for the Remko. Ricoh certainly seem to have upped their game recently. Give me a telephoto (100mm?) and I might have to give it a go!

4:13 am - Monday, December 20, 2010

#5 Low Budget Dave

I am just not sure how to compare this to other cameras.  It seems a little bigger and more expensive than the GF1, but the bigger sensor should justify that.  More expensive and less stabilized than the D3100, but not really in the same target audience as a DSLR either..

It is like comparing apples and chocolates.  There is no place locally where I can hold one of these to see if it feels right to me.  I am waiting to see how the new Fuji camera looks, but after that I will be waiting for something else.

8:06 pm - Wednesday, December 22, 2010

#6 Alan Ranch

The gxr +28mm kit is a joy to use. The best mixed lighting cam that delivers accurate result with a certain character to it. At this price point it’s the best compact camera I have ever used.

5:40 am - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#7 RowRaggy

@Low Budget Dave

When comparing this camera to anything else on the market you run into a huge obstacle. There’s nothing else like it on the market. The idea of the interchangeable lens/sensor units seems like a good idea, but it makes the whole thing so much more expensive than the competition. Not just more expensive to buy your initial camera, but more expensive to add lenses too. The advantages of keeping the dust away from your sensor and having the option to change sensor size leave it in a very, very specialized market when compared to the EVIL competition. If you have a real need for those features then it may be worth the expense, if not then go elsewhere.

5:13 pm - Friday, March 18, 2011

#8 stanis

I side with Jacks. Ricoh, please make 18mm with manual aperture and focus ring in M-mount for my M-module. PLEASE!

12:58 pm - Tuesday, May 1, 2012

#9 DrTebi

“[...] previous units have either replicated current Ricoh compacts or been too specialist (the A12 50mm macro unit springs to mind).”

I do not understand what the reviewer finds “too specialist” about a 50mm macro lens? If you look back at decades of cameras, 50mm was the most prominent focal length in fixed-lens cameras, and the standard focal length lens for SLR cameras.

The A12 50mm macro unit was the obvious choice for me; 50mm is a great general focal length, and the macro capability has proven to be very useful and a lot of fun at the same time.

I also agree with the previous comments that the 28mm module at 2.8 is in fact not slow when compared to other offerings for APS-C or smaller sensor cameras. Today that we have the APC-C sensor Fuji XPro-1, one could compare the A12 28mm to the lens offering by Fuji—their 18mm lens (27mm equivalent) costs $599.00, and is just one stop faster.

Personally I find the Ricoh GXR to be the best compact digital camera I have every used. Excellent image quality (A12 module), superb built quality, and a user interface that makes sense and becomes second nature to use after just a few days.

12:00 pm - Friday, June 1, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, manual, RAW, 28mm, APS-C, ricoh, 4fps, gxr, Ricoh GXR A12 Review, a12

Tracker Pixel for Entry