Samsung EX2F Review

4.0
September 3, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

17 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Guillaume

There’s something about the way you guys do review I don’t fully grasp.

The LX7, at 499$, got an overall 4.5/5 and value rating of 3.5/5

Then we have the EX2, also with a sugg. retail price of 499$, to which you concluded with the following:
So far it seems that the Samsung EX2F is something of a let-down, but that’s definitely only relative to a few key competitors.[...]Unfortunately it just isn’t quite as refined in terms of handling, performance or image quality as recent cameras like the Sony Cyber-shot RX100 or the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7.


What to me doesn’t make sense is that it received a 5/5 for an overall rating and a 4/5 for value rating.

Please help me understand the logic behind your review system.

Cheers!

9:00 pm - Monday, September 3, 2012

#2 Spearhead

#1: i don’t see where you are getting the 5/5 as an overall rating, it states “Recommended” with 4 stars, so a 4/5?

9:53 pm - Monday, September 3, 2012

#3 JS

The problem is, every time a new camera is launched, we expect much better performance than the previous model. The 1.7 sensor is at the end of its capabilities…bigger sensors is the only way to achieve higher standards.

2:24 pm - Tuesday, September 4, 2012

#4 Surseb

@JS

Amen, between the LX7 and this (which is a BSI for crying out loud) 1/1.7 is dead as a doorknob. The writing was on the wall with the return of 2/3” on the X10(orbs or not but it did output better than the S95/100/LX/EX), but with the RX100 the door is blown open for good.

If 1/1.7 has any place, its taking over for the old standard of 1/2.3 as there is a need if manufacturers don’t want those cameras completely demolished by mobiles.

11:33 pm - Tuesday, September 4, 2012

#5 MC

Thanks for the informative review.  I would have liked to know how you think this fairs to last years cameras; like the S100.  I was not a fan of many of the sample photos.  The lighting was too harsh or too bright of a time of day.  There are few good samples.  In the conclusion part of the review states that there are not controls for video exposure.  I guessing you mean full manual controls over video.  You should have added there is exposure compensation in video.  I saw it on a video review.

8:57 am - Wednesday, September 5, 2012

#6 Ralf S

How does the manual focus work? Is it easy to use? The EX1 was not good for manual focussing as I heared.

1:27 pm - Friday, September 7, 2012

#7 Kitt

Does the manual focus work on video mode?

4:29 pm - Tuesday, September 18, 2012

#8 Shirish

Uhhhhhh! Overall, I find Panasonic Lumix LX7 as best among the breeds of ‘COMPACTS’! Mind the word Compact! LX7 gives U a choice of using a good viewfinder plus multiple aspect ratios! By the way,how can anyone expect ‘REAL SLR STUFF’ in a COMPACT…..handling, feel, IQ, etc….! Just go casual regarding compacts! I have tested that much-hyped Fuji x10….along with Nonsense called Canon G1x! DISAPPOINTED! Any, means literally ANY, including entry level SLR camera with a good enough lens is better than the BEST COMPACT CAMERA on the Planet!

9:31 am - Friday, September 28, 2012

#9 Alexey

Unfortunatelly this camera has CMOS sensor, not CCD like in review specifications.

1:58 pm - Thursday, October 4, 2012

#10 Loring von Palleske

Price point on G1X and RX100?

Don’t think they belong in the same category…

BSI CMOS in the EX2F not CCD!

4:21 am - Monday, October 15, 2012

#11 Steve

God, I wish review sites would stop saying this this class is ‘pocketable’.  They are not!!!!  Not unless you wear cargo pants or wear a jacket - which unless you live/travel somewhere cold you won’t

The lens on these types of camears is huge.  They simply don’t fit in trouser pockets.  There’s a reason they come with neck straps rather than wrist straps.

3:16 am - Friday, November 30, 2012

#12 Safaa

Image quality of EX2 (CMOS) is not really good in comparing with the predecessor EX1 (CCD) which was very good!
Is this because Samsung change the lens sensor from CCD to CMOS?
I wish I can get an answer.

3:31 am - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#13 Tom

Great review but “sensor for the optional remote control”?
I cannot see where this is or any reference to it in the EX2F User Manual. Page 15 shows an optional shutter release but again there is no camera connection for it.
There is, of course the wireless remote, setup with your cell phone. Not much use out in the wilderness, unless the camera or phone can function as a WLAN hotspot.
Can anyone clarify?  Thanks, Tom (Sydney)

6:01 am - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#14 dan yin

I also find that the video exposure is way out, very glary in normal sunny scenes. Is there a manual control for video?

10:46 am - Sunday, May 19, 2013

#15 Tom

Has anyone experienced the 15 second start-up delay?  It is extremely annoying. Power on the camera.  The green LED comes on and after a second it freezes for between 10-15 seconds.

Using Smart mode, Capture a single photo. Same with other settings.

Yes, I have installed the latest firmware (EX2-FW-SR-301144.bin) which, btw, seems to have disappeared from the Samsung support page (http://www.samsung.com/au/support/model/EC-EX2FZZBPBAU.  Why Samsung??

Can anyone clarify?  Thanks, Tom (Sydney)

6:32 am - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#16 Rafal

I found that some samples images are same in diferent cameras reviews on this site.who can tell why???

1:20 pm - Thursday, June 20, 2013

#17 Tom

Solved - the 15 second start-up delay.  It is the memory card.  As the 32GB mem card filled up, the delay became longer. It must count the number of photos or something. I was up to 28GB full then one day re-formatted the card.  Bang!! Back to instant start-up.

Firmware updates now come via the iLauncher app.  Hmmm.

3:43 pm - Thursday, June 20, 2013

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, 12 megapixel, manual, RAW, cmos, 24mm, 10fps, samsung, AMOLED, advanced, ex2f, 3.3x lens, ex2f review, Samsung EX2F Review