Samsung NX100 Review

4.0
November 10, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

32 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Andrew Lowery

Are the ON and OFF sample images reversed in the Smart Range section of the review?

2:39 pm - Wednesday, November 10, 2010

#2 Mark Goldstein

Well spotted!

I’ve changed them around.

4:37 pm - Wednesday, November 10, 2010

#3 Josef Salon

The same story as with Olympus…few months later there will be a version with built in flash. Is it me or someone getting too smart…What the heck are they thinking about!

9:38 pm - Wednesday, November 10, 2010

#4 robenroute

Page 2, Noise section: I reckon the last set should read 6400 ISO?

Interesting review and ditto camera. Personally, I’d be looking at the EX1/TL500 for a capable quality camera. Yes, missing out on interchangeable lenses… ;-)

10:37 am - Thursday, November 11, 2010

#5 Smith

Samsung NX100 is an excellent camera, but unfortunately very expensive for me.

2:09 pm - Thursday, November 11, 2010

#6 zebarnabe

Top view on product images is a bit stretched ;]

No real evolution over NX10 ... those ISO6400 (that are written as 3200 ... mistake there?) are not exactly awesome when compared with an underexposed ISO3200 shot :/

Samsung mirrorless system is not going very well :/

11:35 pm - Thursday, November 11, 2010

#7 John Kelly

I’m surprised your review failed to mention anything about the incredible burst shot option of 10-30fps. No other competitors can match this. What is the quality of these shots? Doe the camera lock focus when shooting at these speeds or is able to continuously autofocus?

12:07 pm - Friday, November 12, 2010

#8 james

what constitutes for the lesser image quality rating compared to the NX10? the NX10’s IQ is rated as 5 but the NX100’s is rated at 4.5

12:01 am - Saturday, November 27, 2010

#9 killo

Tt seems that the easy of use comes from the i-Function button which can be used conveniently when changing the modes.

11:18 am - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#10 maple

NX100 has awarded “Entry Compact System Camera of the Year” by Amateur Photographer.It sounds very interesting.. right? you may refer to http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk/news/AP_Awards_2011_news_305140.html

12:52 pm - Sunday, January 30, 2011

#11 bill

I’m starting to feel that the NX100 is the official punching bag of the mirrorless world. Depending on which review you read, it’s too slippery (ever hold a GF1?), too big, too small, lacking flash (but folks loved the E-P1 and P2), too slow, bad color accuracy, bad DR, limited lens selection, poor high ISO, too gimmicky, not sufficiently gimmicky, not enough of an evolution over the NX10, ugly and all style with no function. Seriously?

As someone who owned eight compacts, four DSLRs and three m4/3s and found something to dislike about all those other cameras, I am now awaiting my discounted $399 NX100.  Based on forum chatter and reviews like these, I’m half expecting it to explode, take blurry, grainy images that lack DR and are both under AND over exposed… And immediately slip out of my fingers onto the ground while waiting for the sluggish system to process my shots. 

The reality is likely to be that it’s a competent, effective camera with compromises and advantages compared to other mirrorless models. And the world will not be torn asunder by lack of IBIS, gimmicky i-Function or the fact that the available pancake 20mm is ‘merely’ 2.8 and not as bright as the more expensive Panasonic 20mm for m4/3 (which I also owned).

4:29 am - Friday, March 18, 2011

#12 robenroute

@Bill: it would be interesting to read your findings within the next few weeks. Thanks in advance!

7:24 am - Friday, March 18, 2011

#13 cooldude

I found the NX100 for 399 and the 30mm F2 for 200. Simply a great combo.  I also have a Canon 5D and 50 F1.4 combo that I consider to be my Batman system.  But even Batman needs a Robin.  The Canon G12 looked promising as well as Rebel T2.  However, the NX100 with pancake 30mm F2 was too good to pass up.  I have not used the Canon 5D since the purchase of the NX100.  I guess Robin is growing up….

4:59 pm - Sunday, April 10, 2011

#14 Barb

I’m with Bill,  I am awaiting my discounted NX100 (tomorrow) @ dare I say it, $325 AU. I can’t wait. Betcha it takes darn good shots.  All the reviews I have read have been quite harsh.  I think it’s a bit like playing the stock market, picking up a good bargain when the “dead cat bounces”. Lugged my 7D and LX5 around India recently and found I couldn’t tell the difference between the 2 shots in the end, except I used my husband as the mule to lug the 7D around (they do come in handy).

10:26 am - Sunday, April 17, 2011

#15 Carlo

I’ve had my NX100 for 2 weeks now.  I am very happy with it.  Image quality is superb and ISO up to 1600 is very good.  At 1250 there is still little noise.  Images clean up nicely with ACR 6.3, not loosing too much detail.  Auto focus is generally fast.  All important shooting parameters are very easy to access.  The user menu is simply the best I have used (take note Olympus).  There is not much to dislike with this camera.  Sure, on-board flash should have been included.  The camera is not slippery despite what others may claim.  It fits my hand nicely without any risk of slipping.  I am looking forward to what Samsung has to offer with the NX200.

6:59 pm - Sunday, April 17, 2011

#16 sheldon cwinn

What a wonderous camera. I have 2 DSLRs, a bridge camera, a high end compact, but the Samsung is just quirky enough to fall in love with. It takes damn good pics, its affordable, and it is cute. What more can I ask for?

9:39 pm - Tuesday, June 14, 2011

#17 Tim

I bought the NX100 2 months ago for 299 Swiss francs with the kit 20-50mm. It’s a great value and fun camera but really could do with an IS lens. With adaptors I can use my old Canon FD lenses again (I had forgotten how good some of them are). I have the 5D, 400D, S90 and G9 and the Samsung has been getting the most use recently (whenever I can get it away from my wife who loves it).

12:09 pm - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#18 Greynerd

Just bought one for £249. Most likeable camera I have ever had. Nice feel and balance, takes great pictures without those flat, clunky images you get with overpixelled small sensors. The actual detail in the Samsung is in the picture right down to pixel level. This is helped by the super fine compression which you need to allow detail through from these high pixel sensors. Every other compact camera I have had apart from Samsungs is smeared out or has text and regular shapes artificially enhanced by processing. Shot to shot time is very quick as well. The high ISO performance is way better than you would expect from the reviews. With an APS-C camera being this compact it is difficult to see the point of using a 2X factor sensor in mirrorless cameras. If they were never considered large enough for DSLR cameras why use them just because the mirror is removed.

12:00 am - Thursday, June 30, 2011

#19 sammas

relax, the nx100 and nx10 are sammsungs first two csc cameras. i have the nx100 myself as i bought it at a very god price to use with my 8 minolta md lenses. the crop factor of 1.5x is a hell of alot better than olympus or panasonics stuff. having said that there are of course weaknesses with he camera. the sony nex5 can shoot 5 frames per second but if i was shooting sports, i wouldnt be using the nex5.i dont use flash at all so the lack of flash doesnt put me off. i also chose the nx100 because of the lenses out for it now. 3 zooms and 3 pancake lenses all at affordable prices. sony still doesnt have more than 3 lenses still. besides sony, the sammy is the only other csc camera with an aps-c sensor. in conclusion, the sammy does have its weaknesses, but so does ever other camera. it’s how you work around them and what kind of photos you like to take.i had a canon 20d and i havent touched it since i got my nx100. i cant for the life of me go back to carrying a brick anymore. i found the nx100 very liberating in its size. sometimes or many times i find that a camera that’s not at the top of the heap makes you take better pictures than if you were to have the top of the line.i wonder how some people who have a 10 thousand dollar leica m9 setup around their neck go out and shoot all the while worrying about damaging the camera or always watching out for someone looking to rob them. if i lose or break the nx100, i wont sweat too much..ill just buy another one.

8:38 am - Thursday, July 7, 2011

#20 marnix

Thank you for the review.
Thanks to you i boucht this camera.
And I am happy with it.

8:34 pm - Friday, November 18, 2011

#21 gary

Although retired from doing company photography one of my hobbies in retirement is photography and I bought one of these 5 months ago. It is a tremendously frustrating camera which simply cannot be relied on to take a picture in either poor lighting conditions of in strong light with high contrast such as winter scenes with bright areas and dark shadows. The red ‘can’t focus’ squares regularly come up and the shutter button simply doesn’t work. I have to fall back on one or the other of my pocket cameras a Fuji F200EXR or even a little £70 Kodak M320 which have no problems focussing and taking acceptable shots in the same situation were this sad example of a product fails time after time. Samsung should be ashamed of selling such a defficient product.

11:09 pm - Tuesday, January 3, 2012

#22 systema

great camera. feels solid in your hands.

all the important settings are accessible easily and quickly with dials and buttons.

very discreet and pleasing shutter sound.

great value for the money.

11:44 pm - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#23 rick mcintyre

Just picked mine up at Best Buy, came in the box, nothing appeared to have been opened, everything appeared as brand new, and was able to get it for $185.  So far am pleased, I like the size, clarity of the pictures, and am looking forward to purchasing a zoom for it soon. I have had it two weeks and am pleased so far.

6:18 pm - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#24 Graham Sumner

Looking at the sample images, the thing that strikes me is the incredible quality of the lens. No sign of CA or any other faults corner to corner and edge to edge. This must be the best compact zoom on the market and seems to rival Nikon’s pro lenses in quality. Will be buying one of these shortly.

11:28 am - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#25 Gary Heiss

I love the NX 100. I bought it with two pancake lenses, 20m and 30mm and an EVF. It’s obviously a beginning of a line of cameras that will evolve (the NX200 has a better sensor but no EVF!!). The menu’s are easy and logical, the camera feels good in my hands and its quick to use. Images are good at reasonable ISO. All good. Little bad. Fantastic value and I’m waiting for the NX 300 to arrive this year.
Its a camera I carry everywhere unlike my D3s!!

2:17 pm - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#26 Teg_j

Mostly very nice - but a shame about the poor CA on that lens - which apparently has gone largely unnoticed. Check it out on sample image 29 - the alley with the big overhead Kings Walk sign. Now look at the heavy dark line at the bottom of that sign. At the left and right where it is framed by buildings it is clearly black.  But in the middle where it is silhouetted against the sky it is obviously blue. You don’t even need to look at the 1:1 to see it! Now THAT is CA. Shame, ‘cos the general sharpness and lack of noise look great - especially now Argos are flogging these off for less than £180.

11:41 am - Monday, April 30, 2012

#27 Paul

During my white water canoeing trip in canada my samsung nx100 went for a swim for about 7 seconds. It actually fell from my boat with my tripot to the bottom of the rapid river. I was able to fish out my camera and tripot after 7 or so seconds.

Guess what, i was shooting my whitewater trip images with the camera the next day. Weeks later it works great no issues.

I am impressed!!!

9:09 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#28 wong

I faced a problem, the camera unable to switch on even with battery in full condition. Camera does not fall or knock anyway. Anybody can help me?

12:50 pm - Monday, July 30, 2012

#29 OnlyMe

In reply to Teg_j
“Now THAT is CA”

No, it may be flare, worsened by over-exposure, but it’s not an edge-effect.

12:36 am - Tuesday, September 4, 2012

#30 gary harvey

I take back my negative comment above, the camera went back to Samsung for a software upgrade and now has no problems focussing. It is now producing the very sharp shots I wanted all along.

6:37 am - Tuesday, September 4, 2012

#31 Paul

Bought my nx100 at the bargain price of £149 inc 20-50mm lens, flash, sd card and carry bag. Too good a price to resist and so far very happy, have been leaving my Canon 7d at home as the small size (to me!) of the nx is easier to utilise when out with my family. Updated firmware as soon as I received camera and have no issues at all with operation and experimenting with picture styles interesting. As someone has previously stated I also do not miss the flash being built in as I rarely use anyway, but have one for “illuminating” portrait style photo’s in daylight. Image quality is very good in raw, but have not tried jpeg yet, also using with class 10 sd card and camera is responsive and quickly recovers even shooting in raw format as I do. Am very pleased with my purchase and I have ordered the 30mm f2 lens, reviews very positive for this and should make the nx more “pocketable”. Excellent purchase for price

1:11 pm - Sunday, November 11, 2012

#32 Paul

Just an update on the 30mm f2 lens, very compact and easily pocketable and image quality excellent. Still using this camera over my Canon 7d and I have to say I really love using it, but for my family portraits for printing I use the Canon. Have thought about the Samsung nx1000 on the basis of how much I enjoy the nx100,but how much would I really gain for the purposes I use it for?, and the increased pixel count means larger files to store so staying with the nx100 until it breaks!!

10:08 pm - Friday, December 21, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 720p, 14 megapixel, csc, dslr, micro four thirds, samsung, APS-C, compact system, AMOLED, nx100, nx 100, nx-100, Samsung NX100 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry