Samsung NX11 Review

4.5
April 13, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

36 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mark

I like the out of camera images. They have a nice 3d effect.

4:20 pm - Wednesday, April 13, 2011

#2 Frank Stanton

The photos looked sharp and very detailed on my large LCD monitor, but I am wondering if the large circular smudge in the upper right portion of the pictures was on the lens or sensor?

8:32 pm - Wednesday, April 13, 2011

#3 Mark Goldstein

It’s dirt on the sensor, which we noticed only after we’d shot all the test pictures. Doing an in-camera sensor clean didn’t remove it.

7:48 am - Thursday, April 14, 2011

#4 Hans

A question: Does anybody know if the sensor in this camera is the same as in the Samsung WB700? If so, then the WB700 may take the crown among some of the newer P&S cameras….

1:10 pm - Thursday, April 14, 2011

#5 Hans

Ooops…. sorry, just ignore my last comment!

1:11 pm - Thursday, April 14, 2011

#6 Ray Hopper

I can’t see any mention of the video performance, which I understand Samsung hasn’t quite sorted out on it’s stills cameras yet.

Ray

12:03 am - Friday, April 15, 2011

#7 GRACY

somehow i feel that there is a profound difference between the images produced by a Schneider-Kreuznach lens-equipped Samsung camera than the NX-series models like this one . Images from S-K lenses appear to be more brilliant and sharper .

I just wonder why Samsung did not employ S-K on its NX-series cameras .

5:08 am - Saturday, April 16, 2011

#8 Topperking99

Amazing camera - I am not a professional by any means, but the camera is easy to use - it takes the best pictures I have seen in a DSLR - fast, intuitive & simple to use - I highly recommend it!

4:18 pm - Friday, May 6, 2011

#9 sheldon cwinn

Want to know a secret? If you purchase a Samsung NX10 (which is currently on liquidation sale just about everywhere) and you upgrade the firmware, you get all the same features as the new camera and can save 100 bucks.

I have had the NX10 for a while now. I am selling my DSLR! This camera is light, small, responsive and has an amazing sensor (the same as a Pentax K-R) Image quality is amazing. In short Samsung seems to be a camera manufacturer to be reckoned with in the future.

Beautiful well-built and a solid value.

6:56 pm - Monday, July 11, 2011

#10 ronald mcphoto

Have to agree with the review on this camera. The Samsung nx10 and 11 are seriously under-rated cameras imho. Yes, the higher iso could be better, the video could be better, but there are no deal-breakers for me. what surprised me about the 10 and 11 ia the smallish grip which really feels well in the hand. Normally small grips feel awkward and the larger ones just take up too much room. i hope samsung doesnt change the overall look and feel of the camera when they make the nx20. the only problem for me now is whether to get the 10 or 11 as the 10’s are getting harder to find in my area.

1:59 pm - Friday, July 15, 2011

#11 sheldon cwinn

I always see people complaining about the high ISO image quality of the NX series. I find that with some in camera tweaks, the image quality can be rather spectacular even at high ISO and in low light. For me, Samsung will be my camera manufacturer of record for the foreseeable future. I have an Olympus e620 DSLR and my NX10 has become my main camera these days. Its a great product at an attractive price.

2:51 pm - Friday, July 15, 2011

#12 amanda

i am converting from a digital camera to a dslr and im considering whether i should get the canon EOS 1100D or this. price is not really a major issue as long as its reasonalble but would it be a risk to go with samsung because canon is the more established brand and i would be sticking with this camera for a while.

1:23 pm - Saturday, September 3, 2011

#13 Sheldon

You are comparing apples and oranges. The Cannon is a DSLR. It will be heavier and bulkier. But it will focus faster and better and has much more accessory and lens availability. I love my Samsung NX10 but I also have a DSLR. If you want to study photography and turn it into a big time hobby get the Cannon. If you are more casual about photography and want a great fun camera that can also be a great learning tool, buy the Samsung.

2:16 pm - Saturday, September 3, 2011

#14 amanda

@sheldon. thanks for the feedback, it was a big help. i will be getting the samsung nx11 then.

12:55 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#15 amanda

@sheldon. hey thanks for the feedback . it was a big help. i will be getting the smaung then.

12:56 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#16 sheldon

@Amanda. Enjoy your new camera. Its a great tool and very easy to use. Check out my blog and feel free to ask me questions if you want. I can help you learn to use the NX11.

3:30 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#17 Alexandru Stoian

I just ordered one of these cameras. Didn’t find it in stock here(Romania). They will bring it in around a week. Hopefully I made the right choice. I’m looking for something lighter then a DSLR but offering me the same amount of control and great image quality.

4:42 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#18 Kelly

Hi! Im an amateur but I love the quality of these cameras. I just have some questions: Why don’t these cameras (reflex) have timers? Do all of them (in particular the Canon EOS 1100D and the Nikon D3110) can use remote controls? Which is the diference? Thanks for your time :)

6:30 am - Friday, September 23, 2011

#19 Wayne

Thanks, very in depth review, pretty much sold it for me, especially with Amazon selling this for £389, about time I moved up from mobile phone photography :)

7:04 pm - Friday, September 30, 2011

#20 Gustav

I am amateur photografer…using many brand of camera from canon,nikon,sony,olympus,pentax,minolta,leica,fuji, kodak and now samsung for many2x years.
from my experiences…NX 11 is not good camera at all…interm of speed quality,build quality,image quality,handling quality,..all of them has number 3 from 10.
get real SLR…you will be please to enjoy it….trust me…all samsung camera I have tasted being sold after 3 days…..do not buy samsung camera at all series…you just west your money.
only samsung TV has good product in the world…
the rest of their product is just a toy.
NX 11 is very2x slow in good light and low light…try it first do not buy it if you don.t believe me….I am telling you the truth.

12:16 am - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#21 Lee Bradbury

My wife uses a Canon G12, or at times my FujiFilm X100 but is now looking to up a level. My Pentax K5 (even without the battery grip) is too much for her to handle (old arm injury). We tried some of the other M4/3 cameras, which we were impressed with, but the NX11 was outstanding for what it is.
She isn’t a profesional photographer, although she does back-up for me at events I cover for my local Council and the NX11 has been absolutly fine; after all she’s not out to win prizes and just wanted something more than she currently uses.
As always, read the reviews take them on board and then go out and try before you buy.

4:41 pm - Sunday, November 6, 2011

#22 Walter

... Any ideas why it’s so hard to find the Samsung 50-200 lens. For the NX11? ( in Europe at least) ... a hot item or a lemon soon to be replaced?

10:11 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#23 simon

I sold my K5 and bought one of these and am delighted with it. Colour reproduction is superb - the best I tested (I worked in camera shop so had access to all DSLR’s to compare). Not as good at high iso’s as the Pentax, but not an issue for me. It is so easy to use that I get more shots with the effects I want - I really like the button on the face of the camera that I have designated for manual white balance. And it’s light too!

12:49 am - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#24 Eline Hollevoet

I bought myself a new samsung NX11 with a standard lens.

I still have a question about the pancake lenzes.

In some reviews i read the are no good, other say it’s fun to photograph with, do you guys have some experiences with it? do you prefer the 16mm / 20mm or 30mm?

2:29 pm - Wednesday, January 11, 2012

#25 Sandra Oliver

I am in search of a compact camera to take out when im wearing my walking gear and carrying a backpack,needs to be a size that will fit in my pocket….and here is the biggest criteria, I want sharp images with good colour saturation and apeture priority if possible. I currently use canon eos 50d which I love, but it tends to be heavy and bulky when out walking. I also use my ixus 900ti, small enough to carry in my pocket, great for portraites but not landscapes cityscapes etc. This Samsung reads very well and seems to get good positive feedback.Is this the one for me? Advice please.Thanks in advance
Sandra

8:50 pm - Wednesday, February 1, 2012

#26 bent toe

Ok, novice aswell as pro’s listen carefully.

This camera will blow your mind, no matter what you have used before. The Koreans know their stuff.
First of is the Sensor, which is the same as in Nikon D7000 (23,4 x 15,6) together with Cmos technology gives superb, rich and detailed images.
The house/body might feel small but it’s not, Samsung came up with a perfect grip and feel, the camera is small but still has some good weight to it.
Secondly.. the iFn button on the objectives is beyond clever, imagine holding your camera ready to shoot and without moving any of your hands or removing your eye from the eyepiece, just pushing the button on the objective and with the focusring scroll through WB, ISO, Apertue, Shutter and much more.
That is pretty awesome.

The Amoled screen on the back is another great feature, not many camera developers use this technology due to the high cost, but Samsung does and the difference between LCD and AMOLED is miles apart.

Shutterlag, AF are close to none.. as fast as any other DSLR (faster than the entrylevel cameras from Canon and Nikon), it does struggle in lowlight but it’s just a few 0. more.
ISO ise absolutly no problem up to 800, or even higher.. and seriously.. who cares about high ISO? Up the shutter or fix some lights damn it :)

Other stuff is the menusystem, layout of the buttons on the house/body, perfectly placed.
The look and feel of the entire camera will blow your mind.

Here is two images i took with the NX 11 and kitlens (18-55mm): http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-2Gsm1U0v4Vk/Ty651PG4m6I/AAAAAAAADVE/3xTrPgrvNM8/s1600/SAM_7873.jpg
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-ArV48mHzBe0/Ty67Mq7cvLI/AAAAAAAADVs/tvUuTlhe6mw/s1600/SAM_7920.jpg

I’m gonna order the 50-200mm and 30mm lenses soon.
NX11 supports other lenses (Pentax and i think i heard Tamron) with an adapter but i suggest sticking to their iFn lenses since you get all the features.

Don’t knock it til you tried it… this little camera is a masterpiece.

For reference, i got 3 friends who are photographers for many years, one uses the D7000, one use the Canon 40D and one uses the 600D. I tried alot of cameras (Nikon D60, D90, D5000, D7000, Hasselblad, Pentax, Canon and so on) and this camera is right up there with any of the above.. and even outperformes some of them.

8:27 pm - Monday, February 6, 2012

#27 Wicaksono

I have been using NX11 for a while. Perfect little machinery. Images are really really stunning.

My fav is NX11 + 30mm, all-rounder companion and pocket-able too in my front pants pocket.

10:40 am - Monday, March 5, 2012

#28 Wicaksono

Question: How to set EVF always turn on (to save battery), i.e. turn off the AMOLED screen?

5:56 am - Friday, March 9, 2012

#29 giuseppe

@Simon OMG YOU HAVE SOLD THE K5 FOR THIS????? YOU ARE CRAZY!!! OMG…I HAVE SOLD THE SAMSUNG NX100 (LIKE NX10-11) FOR A CANON 500D…AND I AM VERY HAPPY OF THIS!!!

3:06 pm - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#30 hamsteyr

I’m currently a Fujifilm HS10 User, and I’m actually looking for an upgrade. I looked at the X-S1, and was actually considered it, then I stumbled upon this guy.

At nearly half the price, I’m seriously considering which would be a better camera.

Can someone with decent camera knowledge give me some clarity on this? I would love to know the advantages/ disadvantages of each and the final verdict :D

10:59 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#31 bent toe

@hamsteyr.. i sold my HS20 for the NX11, it’s like night and day.
Buy it, come back here and let us know how much you love it.
I dont miss my HS20 at all.. sure it had better zoom, slowmo filming, stereo recording and folded screen.. but the NX11 is a beauty.

7:40 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#32 Mont

i am currently using nx11 and all my friend using canon and Nikon however if u compare the photo nx11 are very much better and easy to use. try the 50-200mm zoom lens, i assure you will happy with the photo quality. Samsung NX lens are not easy to find in the market. NX11 is a new product not many information you could get on line.

1:37 pm - Tuesday, July 17, 2012

#33 Bob

I love the build quality, size, design and general features of my NX11. However, I prefer to use my Olympus EPL - 2 day to day for its picture quality, which is outstanding. The only let-down of the Olympus is its lack of an electronic view finder (and these are really expensive to buy) which makes it useless out of doors on a bright day. This is when I turn to the Samsung.

1:54 pm - Friday, July 19, 2013

#34 paul

Bob, a while ago I know, but NX11 is much better to my eyes looking at photographybog’s sample pictures - but if you prefer it, then sell the NX11 and buy the Olympus EVF with it! Am I missing something?

And Photographyblog - love the reviews (this is the only site I come to now) but why not show the alleyway shot with the bike on the wall in every camera review for direct comparison as it looks like you always take one as on this review, for example, I can see a thumbnail of it in your image quality section?

8:56 am - Sunday, February 23, 2014

#35 Bob

Thanks for your comment, Paul. I’ve put the Olympus aside for some time now. It’s still a fine camera but I have re-discovered the great qualities of the NX11 and it’s now my preferred option, especially with the 20mm f2.8 prime lens fitted. I use it mainly for landscapes but also for documenting my paintings.

When I first bought it I was unhappy with the JPEG results straight out of camera. They were too cool for my liking. I hadn’t then found the menu option for adjusting the colour temperature. When I did it changed everything!

Other than that, why I prefer the Samsung to the OLympus is for the superb amoled live screen, the electronic viewfinder and, most of all, the Fn button on the control ring - which gives me easy control of many shooting options. Finally, I just like the feel of the camera in my hand and its solid build quality.

I also carry a Samsung WB150F around in my bag or pocket so I don’t miss the unexpected shot. For such a cheap compact camera it does a pretty good job in place of my Canon S95, which I carelessly dropped a while back.

For nature shots and for surfing sequences I still use my old Pentax DSLR with a long lens. With only a 6MP sensor it might not seem up to the job but the results are often surprisingly good. When it comes time to pension it off I’ll most likely buy a Pentax K30. Drool.

1:44 pm - Sunday, February 23, 2014

#36 Paul

Same here! I just bought one thanks to Photographyblog’s review and initially thought it was great but a little weak on colour. I will look into the menu system today for a little tweak to save me doing it in Photoshop.

I don’t know why it would be, but I find the NX10 and 11’s samples better than later models. Pixels over quality perhaps?

4:09 pm - Sunday, February 23, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, compact, 720p, compact system camera, 14 megapixel, dslr, micro four thirds, samsung, APS-C, AMOLED, ifunction, i-function, nx-11, nx11, Samsung NX11 Review, nx 11

Tracker Pixel for Entry