Samsung NX300 Review

4.5
May 13, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

25 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Pedro

In page 1 (Ease of use) there’s a paragraph that refers to G6.

3:40 pm - Monday, May 13, 2013

#2 Vladimir

Is it true that the external viewfinder can be used on NX300?

4:58 pm - Monday, May 13, 2013

#3 Jay

Vladimir:


No. Unless you want to use something optical which matches the lens’ view.

11:51 am - Tuesday, May 14, 2013

#4 Steven Baker

This is another excellent review and gives would be purchasers a really good look at what they can expect from this camera - Well done!

11:32 pm - Tuesday, May 14, 2013

#5 kevin

Do you know if this camera can take advantage of synch to other Samsung devices?
Am I able to use my SIII or samsung ph as a remote control?

7:48 pm - Thursday, May 16, 2013

#6 j batchelor

Hi,does anyone know how to get raw on the samsung nx300,I cant find it on the menus!!thanks JB.

8:42 am - Saturday, May 18, 2013

#7 guest

Right side: http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/samsung_nx300/photos/samsung_nx300_05.jpg

You’re shaking the camera?

8:17 pm - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#8 Laser Tek

I love the screen and controls this Samsung NX300 has to offer. The best face mode perfect for group pictorials are also included in the feature so it comes handy not just for pro but as well as plain goer.

2:29 pm - Friday, May 31, 2013

#9 Frank Logan

With your use of the camera, do you know if it can upload you pictures over wifi, to a network attached storage device like the Seagate Central? Or can you only upload to a powered on computer with Samsung software installed?

1:17 am - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#10 AlpCns

Excellent and balanced review, thank you. I am very impressed with the optical qualities of the Samsung lens line up as well. Many renowned professionals are also looking very favorable upon this rather underrated system.

12:58 pm - Wednesday, June 12, 2013

#11 Kenny Chew

Great review from Photography Blog!
Indeed, Samsung lenses are better than those from Sony NEX series. Now even the autofocus system and image quality are up there with other great APC-S sensor. Think give Samsung more time, it will on-par those image and lenses quality from Canon & Nikon great APS-C sensor cameras.

3:07 am - Saturday, June 15, 2013

#12 Kuturgan

Samsung did a very good job with NX300 and new lenses roadmap. Sure this system will be more popular than Sony in near future as they proved with their TVs. But there is only one problem - the price tag. It is a little bit overpriced so far.

2:19 pm - Saturday, June 15, 2013

#13 DanTHEME

Vladimir:

You can use a third-party OVF, such as a Voigtländer, the NX hotshoe is not proprietary.

3:32 am - Wednesday, June 19, 2013

#14 Vladimir

Thank you, DanTHEME!

But why we need to invent something looking in envy at folks from Sony, Olympus and Panasonic.

5:26 am - Wednesday, June 19, 2013

#15 Vladimir

P.S. It’s not harder to make than Samsung Galaxy 4, is it?

5:28 am - Wednesday, June 19, 2013

#16 pixelsquare

Nice review of the Samsung Nx!
We want also to share our website! We are great user of Samsung Nx System and you can see our photos from sunny Florence!
http://pixelsquare.it/samsung-nx-300-prime-fotografie-firenze/

11:42 am - Monday, July 1, 2013

#17 Asrul

You can sync the image files and use external view finder with any Android or IOS device. Even my old HTC Desire HD can communicate with this camera.

6:53 am - Thursday, July 4, 2013

#18 Tom bell

Great review. Just to say as a DSLR and TLR person I think there is much advantage to the screens that tilt. It means the screen is in line with the camera and is comfortable to shoot from waist level. It is also more discrete than the flip out screen. For me it is better except that the flip outs can reverse and thus protect the screen.

9:17 am - Friday, July 19, 2013

#19 james denoil

It is our owner to have your views. I appreciate your views for this.

2:22 pm - Saturday, September 21, 2013

#20 james denoil

I am very thankful to you for sharing your views with us. It is very useful for me.

2:24 pm - Saturday, September 21, 2013

#21 Naresh

Fantastic review. The most in-depth I’ve found for this camera. Thank you so much.

Is the 18-55mm lens the one to go for then over the 20-50mm if size isn’t an issue?

9:37 pm - Tuesday, September 24, 2013

#22 Daniel

I’ve owned the NX300 for about 3 months and found it to be in most ways excellent and enjoyable. I traded in the 20-50mm kit lens for the 30mm f2 and 50-200mm f4 and found these a very worthwhile, and still relatively compact, upgrade. The only significant downsides are the lack of an EVF (either built in or as a Samsung accessory), Samsung’s often inadequate support (both online and via phone), and questionable warranty practices. If you’re eligible for a good after market warranty, I recommend you consider spending the extra money; my repeated experiences with Samsung have been mostly unrewarding.

9:32 pm - Friday, September 27, 2013

#23 miles

bought one last week, and a 20mm lens yesterday, works great, like the retro design. As good as my
Canon EOS450D.

6:36 am - Tuesday, October 22, 2013

#24 Eileen

This camera sucks. Pictures are blurry. Poor quality in dim light. Couldn’t shoot in a action setting. Images were blurry even in auto mode. Very disappointed.

3:30 am - Saturday, December 21, 2013

#25 Nelson

Bought this camera about 4 days ago and have been lightly playing with it.
Im a weeding photographer, and I shoot with Nikon D600 and D7000, and top Nikon lenses. I got to say day after analyzing a few jpegs on my pc, im quite happy except for a few things. The noise level is actually well controlled. I shot at 2500 ISO and its definitely usable (if exposed properly). Unfortunately I noticed several really small white dots specially on darker parts of the images. These white spots amplify when you try to increase the exposure in post production. Im afraid these are dead pixels. I will do further tests.
The image quality is very good. I wouldn’t say it matches the Nikon D7000 (also an APS-C sensor)but its close. I would definitely not hesitate on using it over my D7000. Its definitely not a DSLR but its portability, easy to use, easy to share photos definitely makes it a great toy with serious performance capability!

2:17 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, review, 1080p, csc, wi-fi, touch-screen, wireless, RAW, dslr, micro four thirds, touchscreen, tilting, touch, samsung, 20 megapixel, APS-C, wi fi, compact system, nfc, AMOLED, i-Fn, i-Function, 8.6fps, nx300, nx 300, nx-300, Samsung NX300 Review, 3.3 inch LCD

Tracker Pixel for Entry