Samsung NX30 Review

February 24, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Michael Pfau

Mark, your site is the #1 place to find the earliest, most informative and helpful reviews of the latest digital cameras. Thank you,
Mike Pfau
Ct., USA

4:27 pm - Monday, February 24, 2014

#2 Dan

It’s interesting when I talk to people about Samsung cameras they always say ‘I don’t want an android camera’! A lot of people just associate Samsung with android. They may have done more harm than good releasing that Galaxy NX! 

4:29 pm - Monday, February 24, 2014

#3 wzw

Thanks for testing the camera. I am very pleased with the results it achieved and your positive commentary. It looks like NX30 stand its ground against competitors. I have few pancake lenses from Samsung that I like a lot so the time for upgrade is coming soon.

11:33 am - Tuesday, February 25, 2014

#4 Lawrence Reid

fantastic review, always a good read

9:24 am - Saturday, March 15, 2014

#5 Kabee

Ooooo….this is what the NX20 should have been ?

Nice chunky handgrip, with great looking ergonomics,
though that tilting EVF would be of little use in composing an upright format shot !

Image quality straight out of the top draw, though the studio shots (book shelf) show a bit of fall-off at the outer edges @ f3.5 !!...with the sweet spot between f5.6 & f11 when looking at the outside shots of the brickwork in the buildings ?

I’d love this camera, it’d be a good upgrade from my NX11….but I’ll wait & see if the price drops a bit from the advertised £900 (whince !!)

7:53 pm - Monday, March 24, 2014

#6 moeskoetie

look at this picure and say again this camera is a 5.0 worded.
its a very bad quality picture

https://s3.amazonaws.com/masters.galleries.dpreview.com/2873786.jpg?X-Amz-Expires=3600&X-Amz-Algorithm=AWS4-HMAC-SHA256&X-Amz-Credential=AKIAJ7ICBHXPIPPMTNCQ/20140501/us-east-1/s3/aws4_request&X-Amz-Date=20140501T144452Z&X-Amz-SignedHeaders=host&X-Amz-Signature=3aef6da4e2ab671a3da319211e4e71f2ebd74d445722fe870c86d42542ee79c1

2:48 pm - Thursday, May 1, 2014

#7 Andre

Most rivals http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/samsung_nx30_review/rivals/ are more expense, sometimes 2x more… and you call that a rival.. well on quality it means the NX30 has good company..
On price.. it seems to me a too large difference to compare to be honest.

On a Dutch big famous forum http://gathering.tweakers.net/forum/list_messages/1604247/ the NX is situated as for “demanding people”..
For me, a non pro, being a beta guy, liking something more than a comact camera, currently there is quite some choice, like the NX30. It was quite positively tested in the buyers guide (NL-consumers union), the NX300 seemed some what better (as it is also cheaper, so better Q/price ratio), but I did not like the grip of the body and the free flash (just when you need it unexpectedly… you first have to dig it up.. when it was not on the body)...
Well ... current prices are very nice… comapre in NL the introduction price at ~1000 euros, that went down to 679 euro (28/12) when I bought it with an additional cash back action of 100 euro, so net 579 euro… more than 40% down in less than 1 yr…
Can imagine that such prices bring these camera closer to a broader public (incl me…)

6:27 pm - Friday, January 23, 2015

#8 Robert Wynne

Marks comments on build quality are slightly inaccurate. The NX30 has a metal alloy frame.

9:13 am - Sunday, April 5, 2015

#9 Andre

Correct.. and to be even more precise.. it has polycarbonate shell over a metal alloy frame.
Polycarbonates are generally most impact/scratch resistant than a polyester type. This layered structure likely reduces the weight considerably, while still having a quite stiff/form stable body.
After 3 months of use… I’m very satisfied with the NX30 (I’m not a pro, but I can do more than just pushing..).  Also the free/complete Lightroom 5 with is extremely nice.
It helps me to geo tag the photo’s in no time ... (I use my runners Garmin 910XT watch to make the GPS (gpx) file.
And the quality for: I like it, also in the dark in a city (without flash) it is better than I expected as read from reviews. With flash the photos are too cold and the edges are not covered enough wrt the light (so uneven flash intensity using its own flash).
The wifi is not that fast, but for the rest the tranfers into data map is very easy.

10:49 am - Sunday, April 5, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 3 inch LCD, compact, samples, 1080p, test, jpeg, compact system camera, sample images, mirrorless, csc, jpg, dslr, micro four thirds, raw, 20 megapixel, samsung, APS-C, i-function, ifunction, nx30, nx 30, nx-30, Samsung NX30 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry