Samsung NX mini Review

June 5, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

10 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Giklab

Another “smallest” camera, yet still larger than the Panasonic GM1 and the entire Pentax Q range.

That aside, it seems to be a pretty cool device.

7:26 am - Friday, June 6, 2014

#2 Jay

Giklab:

The Samsung has a much bigger sensor than the Pentax Q—a big image quality advantage.

The Panasonic’s kit zoom is physically bigger than the Samsung’s. The Panasonic’s body is significantly thicker than this Samsung’s. The Pentax’s body is also much thicker.

So your statement has big errors.

The only thing bigger about the Samsung is the rectangle when looked at from the front in elevation.

12:34 pm - Friday, June 6, 2014

#3 dan

It’s a nice looking camera and very thin. If they can produce more tiny pancake lenses for it, it might make a nice street/party camera.

3:05 pm - Friday, June 6, 2014

#4 Joe Prete

Samsung is doing a pretty good job, considering they are playing “catch up” to the big 4 (or 5), not to mention the dozen or so others
The NX Mini w/9mm Pancake lens is on the Samsung.com/us site for $449.99 and with the 9-27mm lens it’s $549.99 They come in an assortment of Crayola colors too. I think some faster lenses will be here soon. We knew it would only be a matter of time for them. I like the idea of more competition, it keeps the prices down, and the quality level up!
… Joe

3:51 am - Monday, June 9, 2014

#5 jojo

Now Mark, what is that word?…it eludes me. Oh yes, that’s it…. Elusive.

1:48 pm - Monday, June 9, 2014

#6 jjh

9mm lens = 24mm at 35mm equiv? Did I miss this central info in the review?

1:35 am - Tuesday, June 10, 2014

#7 Joe Prete

The 35mm equivalent would be approximately 24-73mm
… JP

1:51 am - Tuesday, June 10, 2014

#8 m25

Judging by the sample pictures, the quality really looks sub-par for a 1” sensor, looks more the IQ you see in a 1/1.7” lumix or 2/3” fuji, plus those cameras give you a lot more physical controls.
Anyway, what more to expect from a brand that also wants to make your washing machine and refrigerator :P

12:31 pm - Friday, February 27, 2015

#9 jk94

Can anyone advise me on how good the zoom is on this camera? I’ve previously relied on the camera on my iphone for taking all my pictures even when travelling and sightseeing, but I’m going to Paris in a few weeks and want something that’s going to give me some great quality pictures.

4:11 pm - Thursday, March 5, 2015

#10 Mike P

The 9-27mm. is sharp and produces terrific photos.

MP

3:33 am - Sunday, March 29, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, samples, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, test, sample images, jpeg, compact system camera, wi-fi, mirrorless, csc, jpg, wireless, wifi, dslr, touchscreen, raw, tilting, touch, cmos, 20 megapixel, nfc, samsung, tilt, tiltable, selfie, 1 inch, touch-sensitive, nx mini, 645 d, nx- mini, Samsung NX mini Review, nx mini

Tracker Pixel for Entry