Samsung PL150 Review

4.5
June 2, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

37 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 zebarnabe

Taking price in consideration, image quality specially once you go above ISO 200 is really the ‘only’ bad thing…

It packs quite some features… but i can’t stop to think how bad it is that screen on front…

11:24 am - Wednesday, June 2, 2010

#2 TSK

.


Wrong conclusion at the end.

ST 550 model has 3.5 inch screen , so you should consider 3 inch screen ST 500 (TL 210) in terms of price when used in comparison.

Plus, ST 500 uses Schneider-Kreuznach lens which delivers higher image quality compared to PL 150 with Samsung lens.

.

3:28 pm - Thursday, June 3, 2010

#3 Dave

I really appreciate this review.  I believe I’m going to give this camera a shot (no pun intended).

10:10 pm - Monday, June 21, 2010

#4 Chathura

I like dis one bcz there are lot of features..and it can use for many purposes.so its my choice..

4:51 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#5 hybridave

the auto focus is a bit annoying when trying to do a claymation as the lights varies with the focused point, thus you get a really bad effect in your movie.

1:11 pm - Wednesday, October 20, 2010

#6 Rose

my boyfriend gave me an advance bday gift and he gave me pl150 this is such awesome with reasonable price. I do believe that no digital camera would do a magic to your picture. No matter what brand it was it depends on how you handle the cam to capture the best shot you’ll be satisfied.I recommend this to all if you are looking and planning to buy a digital camera you will enjoy the samsung pl150 with an amazing dual screen that don’t have to ask anyone to take photos with you.this really rockzzzz

11:11 am - Sunday, October 31, 2010

#7 karleigh

Hello. I just purchased this camera but find the focus is pretty awful. The night mode is also really bad. Does anyone have any advice?

7:20 pm - Wednesday, November 3, 2010

#8 zebarnabe

karleigh,

I don’t know about focus, but image quality drops quite fast after ISO200 ...

If the focus is in the wrong place, then it is mis-focusing, it could be a faulty unit, but if there is bluriness where it should be sharp and there is no sharp area on the photo, this could be to different factors… one, at high ISOs bluriness and lack of detail and saturation will happen, other the over compression of image or an way too agressive noise reduction…

Some cameras focus really bad when details are not vertical, usually contrast focus of the compacts doesn’t suffer from this… but you never know….

Other thing… are you focusing stuff very close? Usually cameras like this have a ‘macro’ mode that allows quite close focusing…

My suggestion:
First, Read the manual that comes with the camera…
Second, In a well lit area (and i don’t mean indoors with a 60W incandescent lamp - way more than that), set ISO to 100 or so, put the camera on a resting place, and try to shoot a detail filled subject at different distances… It should focus correctly, except for the closer distances where you go over lens limits…

As for night mode…. you need a tripod… i didn’t read the manual, but if possible:
- put the camera is a resting place/tripod
- set the ISO as low as you can
- put the exposure time accordingly to get a well exposed image (it may look dark on the screen) you can go up to 16secs so if you can set this but not the ISO, set it at 16s (if over-exposes set it lower)

If the camera does not move during the time of exposure you should get relatively good images… the only issue would be that focusing might be troublesome on the dark, you can use a light torch if needed to aid focusing:
- half press to focus with the torch on
- turn the torch off while holding the half press
- full press the shutter button, avoiding camera shake as much as possible…

Hope it helps… as a personal note, i wouldn’t buy this camera, while it packs quite some consumer features, it’s just over-priced for the job of taking photos with the quality it gives…

1:18 am - Thursday, November 4, 2010

#9 Rose

karleigh,

most of the camera when auto focus do have a bad image quality but so far i did not tried it. I went out for a night party i did not use the night mode since i really don’t like the image quality of it in capturing a picture there would be a tendency to become blurry if you have a shaky hands. i always turn on the the auto flash when it was in dim light (yellow effect light) and i can say the pictures i got was so really satisfying why don’t you try it. that night was full of fun with the pl 150 and i don’t have regret in choosing this brand since i had battling what brand to choose between ixus 105 vs. samsung pl150 with the help of my bf also we come up to this pl 150 and so far i really enjoying this. Actually that would depend on how you handle the camera if you know how to caught the best shot, the right angle i am sure you can have the picture you ever wanted.

1:47 am - Thursday, November 4, 2010

#10 hybridave

hI again, i have bought a tripod for my pl150, but the same problem arise when i try to take several shots of a same subject….that is every shot have a different light effect on it….what to do?? help please..

4:02 pm - Monday, November 8, 2010

#11 Rose

hybridave,

I enjoyed my samsung pl150 i got tripod also but i don’t have a problem the same as yours. I think if you want a professional looking photos you may take consideration in having dslr camera so you can get a great photo. but for me this pl150 works good and i don’t have regret to have this stuff. I compared the shots i got to a dslr nikkon camera you can never tell which one captured by a dslr since the quality of if the first glance you will tell it has good quality image. my friends loves the photos by my cam. It depends how you handle your camera, no brand of camera would do a magic to your photos. have some time to study the camera so you will know what is really nice features to use ;)

2:45 am - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#12 hybridave

Rose,
i know it has a great ability to take very good shots and thats why i have bought one…but my only problem is that i’m gonna do a clay animation movie, so several shots of the same light intensity must be taken. The Pl150 has an auto-focus relatively sensible…i am looking for someone who can give me a good setup for the camera’s options…

1:35 pm - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#13 ANGELA

hi!  I just got some real good pics with my new pl150.  Night pics crap but note abovecomments.
Great for video BUT forever re-charging it - even when showing pics to people.  I’m noting all
comments as I’m thinking of buying our son one
for Xmas - hope I’m doing the right thing as he’s a techy.  But the price is about what I want to
spend and I’m not a camera expert.    There are
pros and cons on any item so aslong as the former outweighs the latter, I’ll be happy.

8:22 pm - Tuesday, November 9, 2010

#14 Rose

hybridave,
 
  that’s what i don’t know, did you try to read online? you might get possible answers or you can email the Samsung website maybe they can assist you with that via customer support.

5:14 am - Wednesday, November 10, 2010

#15 Rose

ANGELA,
hello there i am happy to hear that you got good pics, me too. as of night shot for me works fine all the pics i got was good. try not to use the night mode it really produce a crap quality. when night i always turn it into auto flash even if i am inside the mall with a very dim light it really works well..

i think your son will like it, it is really great for a digicam :)

5:19 am - Wednesday, November 10, 2010

#16 Pavel

major drawbacks:

- truly average image quality (good at normal daytime condition and low ISO w/o zooming, but really UNACCEPTABLE when using full zoom, just too noisy, that’s shame, have to say even the older/simplier PL60 has better image quality)

- camera keeps freezing for some reason (hopefully it’s not an issue for the entire serie)

- poor battery life, be prepare to charge more often than the competition (when using front screen it gets even worse)

there is more to talk about, but these ones rise above the others, on the other hand it is packed with useful features and very suitable for basic family/social photography

12:44 pm - Sunday, November 14, 2010

#17 angel

hello i accidentally fell down my pl 150 when i put it to my desk not to high from the ground,i am not sure how long it is from fall. i heard a noise normal for a thing when it fell down. i checked it and it is still working as it used to be the screen is good no damage no scratches.

i still afraid if it would cos bad effects. does anyone of you here experienced the pl150 fell down?advice pls.

8:22 am - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#18 pavel

If it still works properly what else you wanna be sure of ? just keep using and enjoying :-)

PS: I remember my old fuji f30 crash-landing and surviving with no damage at all ... falls make you stronger ... :-)

4:01 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#19 angel

hi pavel,

i wanna be sure if it wont get bad effects on the parts inside like for example it would cause damage on image quality, features malfunction.. like that.

so far i’ve used it works well thanks yeahhh you are right it made me stronger :)

6:30 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#20 ariel

Has anyones experiencied delay between photos? it’s not happening all the time, but it’s really anoying when you are taking photos of several people, etc.
This delay can vary, but it can last for about 20 seconds.
No more cons against the camera. The rest is ok

3:38 pm - Wednesday, November 24, 2010

#21 Niamh

Hey, im seriously thinking about buying this camera but I am a serious all rounder. Previously before this camera I had a Kodak m381 which i loved,and was great for everything i used it for but unfortunately water damage. So I’m just wondering and asking for advice from people who already have it, as i would use it for everything,especially night life and going out, is it worth it?And is it good quality pictures at night time/going out which is my main concern?
Please and thanking you,
Niamh

1:36 am - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#22 ariel

Hi Niamh. I’ve already got this camera and I think is fantastic. I don’t know if anyone got the only issue that I found, was that anyhow eventually take some time between a photo and the next one. Like it’s kind of processing. Not always happening, only maybe when making photos without good light. For the rest, you’ll found this camera really atractive by it’s price and all the functions.
Good luck and smile

3:17 am - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#23 Niamh

Thanks a million Ariel, you have just made my mind up for me. Im hoping to have some great shots to show you all :)
thanks again,
Niamh

1:07 pm - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#24 Pavel

Niamh

no rush mate, don’t wanna confuse you and frustrate your Xmas shopping but make up your mind again or at least choose a shop where they’ll be willing to give you money back (just in a case)... had this camera for a week at home but returned afterwards ... if your priority is low light shooting you might end up disappointed by its performance, low light focusing and higher ISO performance are a real struggle so many of your pictures will probably come out blurry and noisy (that’s my experience unfortunately, also see my comment above, good luck)

8:28 pm - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#25 andrew

hey, i am thinking of buying this camera for my girlfriend for xmas, just want a good funky looking camera and wondered if this is any good???

3:28 am - Wednesday, December 1, 2010

#26 rose

Hi Andrew,

you are so sweet for sure your gf would be so happy to have this camera if you buy.

Yes this camera is very great and handy very friendly user.

btw my bf gave me this camera as a birthday gift and im loving it.

1:23 am - Monday, December 6, 2010

#27 Mike

Hey guys

I am thinking of buying this camera.Is it a bad idea?
is the images quality too bad to overlook?
I just think it looks really cool and seems to have great features…HELP!

12:47 am - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#28 Dan

I have to agree with TSK that the wrong conclusion was reached here. If you compare the images from the PL150 vs the ST550, the ST550 clearly wins. Compare the ISO samples for both cameras and the PL150 has more noise than the ST550 at every ISO level, most obviously at 400 and above. Look at the real world images and compare the picture of the two red phone booths (one of the few common pictures between the two cameras) and look close up at the booths. The PL150 is much noisier at ISO 200 than the ST550 at ISO 240. If you factor in the superior optics (in theory) of the ST550 and then better yet check out the ST500 which has the same imaging system as the ST550, a more comparable feature set to the PL150, and is now cheaper than the PL150 (at least in Canada), then to me the ST500 is the better deal than the PL150. Get it while you can.

BTW, love your site, but if I could suggest an improvement it would be handy to have a few standard shots that you always take in the same way with every camera. That would make comparisons much easier.

7:00 pm - Friday, December 10, 2010

#29 Pavel

Dan

taking some colourful pictures in local weather conditions must be easy & heaps of fun for them most of the time…just don’t forget bring your own sunshine :-)

also agree with you on the website…guys are doing a good job

7:05 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#30 jammy

absolutely love the camera, very sleek with the red highlighted gloss black, and almost invisible (although average) front LCD.

smart auto does what it says on the tin, macro to landscape. just wait for the bleep and click, 1/2 a second wait, and a lovely picture ok maybe not an astounding picture, but a nice clean decent image.

all other features similar to the competition although, noting a slightly higher 5x optical zoom, as opposed to the general 4x zoom in this class of camera.

the slim, but firm polished body with, albeit the most generic (but at least now intuitive) button placements takes ‘snaps’ that’s what it’s for, that’s why there’s a front screen, so you and you’re mates can get yourselves all into that picture first time. the baby function may look like an afterthought with it’s limited loops of video and sound, but i have a 6 month old nephew, and, beleive it or not, it works brilliantly.

all in all, a good camera for ‘snaps’, don’t expect a perfect, SLR definition picture, because that’s not what this camera is about.

use the front screen, don’t fret about the battery (USB chanrging) don’t fret about the micro-SD, it’s the way forward, and it means it is ridiculously easy to put the micro into your phone while out and upload to .....insert image hosting/social networking site here.

plus, almost as an offshoot, there is a lovely 720p high def video recoreder, with not too shabby an output, but the best feature, is you can still use that cracking 5x optical zoom while recording and pause and rerecord on the fly.

just my thoughts anyways
jammy

2:08 am - Friday, January 7, 2011

#31 nakamura

.


ihave the camera. sometimes when i take pics and upload to pc and zoom it i see 1 tiny green dot somewhere in pic and 1 blue dot somewhere else in same pic . it also happened in different photos and sometimes not.  i checked the objective and lens look clean. what is the reason ? is it malfunction? shall i take it back to service?

tanks
.

12:34 am - Friday, January 14, 2011

#32 zebarnabe

nakamura,

Similarly to screens, camera can have dead/stuck pixels ... however, due to interpolation of the Bayer layer (color filters above photo sites) this tends to be less noticeable, also cameras usually employ algorithms that take that into account.

New sensors sometimes give some stuck pixels, that usually go away after some usage. Expose the camera to some noisy texture with bright light (beach sand for example) to try to ‘unstuck’ them usually works (but I don’t think this is your problem)

I doubt it’s an issue at photo sites level… but could the the whole sensor that has some issue, for example, if that happens at some sensitivity, or when a given area is lit more than a certain threshold… you can try to find that out, it will be useful for support service to track some problem if you know when it occurs.

It could be a problem that goes away, but in any case it would be best to expose the problem to support service…

Good luck :]

10:39 am - Friday, January 14, 2011

#33 Niamh

Hey guys, just to let ye know I got the camera, think its absolutely brilliant. You just have to mess around with it for a while to find out which setting suits which. But its great otherwise. I have one problem though, and I’m just wondering can anybody help me with it, when I video something it saves it fast forwarded. And I dont know how to change it.

But otherwise great,if anyone can help it would be great.

Please and thanks.

Niamh

6:12 pm - Monday, January 17, 2011

#34 Lisa

I have this camera, and I have to say i am quite disappointed. It freezes regularly, there is often a huge time delay between taking photos so you cannot just keep clicking away continuously one shot after the other. It turns itself on and off for no reason. the battery life is terrible, i am lucky to get 20-30 photos tops before it says low battery and turns itself off mid-shot. My previous camera was afujifilm and I got about 200 photos before battery went dead. The colour is weird - especially when using the flash - it makes everything look like a cartoon (eg, tanned people look yellow, blonde hair looks yellow). Also within 2 weeks of getting the camera the Zoom button stopped working so now I have no zoom function. Definitely regretting my decison!

5:15 am - Monday, July 18, 2011

#35 buzz

Lisa,

you’ve just described my miserable time with this camera,..it’s very slow saving the photos,reminds me with the old FLOPPY A,...!!!

Battery is dead after a max of 20 - 30 shots,..WHYYY

it’s another mistake of my life,..it’s not comparable with any piece from SONY,..!!!

3:55 pm - Wednesday, August 17, 2011

#36 phot

If you are experiencing a long time between saving the photos, the problem is most likely with your SD card. They come in different speeds (different classes), make sure you get the best one (class 6 I think). It will be more expensive, but worth it.
The problem is NOT with the camera.

9:59 pm - Sunday, September 11, 2011

#37 ChopTheSuey

I was so excited to buy this camera as I thought the specs were satisfactory and I just loved the design especially the purple groove on the side and the dual screen factor but another review I read was quite bias towards the ST550 so I think this review was less prejudiced. Still going to buy it but just gotta figure out image quality and Micro SD problem. SUPER PSYCHED!!!

9:35 pm - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, hdmi, beginner, 5x zoom, dualview, Samsung PL150 Review, tl210, pl150, Samsung TL210 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry