Samsung PL70 Review

3.5
December 8, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

20 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Michael

on page 1 you somehow call the camera “Samsung WB550” (which is a different model) - is this some kind of “copy&paste;” error or did you mix up the camera/reviews?

12:45 am - Wednesday, December 9, 2009

#2 Debt Management

I’ve came across a Samsung PL70 12.2 mp, 5x optical zoom and to me it looks good, plus its in my budget.

4:17 am - Wednesday, December 9, 2009

#3 ginseng

I really have to say that all these point and shoot, high megapixel, super cheap cameras that keep popping up really make me wonder if I should have paid 3x the price for a much more expensive fujifilm finepix more than 3 years ago…then I remember it actually takes good pictures, unlike the ones listed above…

8:12 am - Wednesday, December 9, 2009

#4 Michael

I think the camera produces quite good pictures - sure there is some noise above iso 200, but given the very low price tag the picture quality is great. Natural colors, good white balance, nearly no CAs and a very impressive hd-movie capability. Yes, other cameras like the Canon S90 take better pictures, but then again: they often cost at least 2-3x as much!

3:41 pm - Wednesday, December 9, 2009

#5 DT

I purchased this camera and it has a lot of nice features. If you can shoot in manual mode and keep the iso below 200 then it takes really nice pictures. The video is great! I only paid $119 shipped from Vanns and that’s a steal! I’m not sure if it’s possible, but I would have liked it better if you can change the iso setting in modes other than manual (Auto, Landscape, Portait,,etc.

10:11 pm - Wednesday, December 9, 2009

#6 Dave

I took a bit of the gamble with the PL70 (no reviews were available at the time of purchase), & I paid £129.

As a p&s compact it does exactly what it’s supposed to do; produce great photo’s with ease and very little fuss,I bought this to replace an ageing Panasonic TZ3, supposedly one of the best camera’s when it first came out, well the PL70 walks all over it, keep it In P mode (where you can control the iso) and you can’t go wrong.

Dual mode does work (depending on the light), Smart mode is exactly that, the flash is powerful for such a small camera (far brighter than my poxy Tz3’s), the AF Lamp/assist is fantastic, locking onto everything you point it at, in pitch darkness.  Movie mode’s not great and hampered by the fact that Samsung don’t provide the HDMI adaptor, duh !!!. 

Overall a cracking camera, a x5 wide angle camera with hdmi and “above” average IQ sums this camera up.

8:43 pm - Monday, December 14, 2009

#7 Gabor Gorcsos

I have bought this camera just recently and to be honest it’s a great deal for the buck…

As a digital camera it’s pretty decent, I have NO complains here.

Concerning to the 720 video recording… However the picture quality is pretty alright, and even the optical zoom during the video is a great feature, there is one thing what is really disappointing, it’s the quality of the recorded sound. There is some kind of low voice repetitive humming what can be heard even in the following recording and it is not from the optical zoom…
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4nsdIo1Ttc)

That’s the reason why I have returned it.

I would not mind to spend another $50 extra to have a bit better camera (better sound) and I’m looking forward to the newer version of this camera.

Gabor

9:48 am - Monday, January 4, 2010

#8 sago

I too have concerns over sound quality.As a point and shoot it’s fine and the price is good.I paid £130.

10:32 pm - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#9 Dave

To be honest, If i’d wanted a camera with good video I’d have got a camcorder, the PL70’s great at what it’s meant to be; a p&s compact, the fact that it’s got hd video is a bonus.

I also have a d-slr and the that fact that it does’nt have a movie mode says it all, i like taking photo’s not video’s.

11:55 pm - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#10 Fabian

Hmm, whilst I don’t have the camera (yet), it makes me wonder how the quality of the video-sound actually is in crowded rooms. I’ve seen all the of youtube vids, looked around on several websites.

But afterall, it’s just a wingman from my SLR. I don’t like to take my SLR with every occassion (bad ass big thingie). So this camera should be perfect, considering the point&shoot; and it’s being compact.

What I still find weird, that here, in the Netherlands, the silver coloured version is 30 euro’s cheaper than the black coloured version. I wonder how that can be :O… Anyone?

12:21 pm - Monday, January 18, 2010

#11 Goel

i v just got this Pl 70 and it s a decent camera, but i find it hard to copy the picture to my laptop, the image is not abled to be recognized by the laptop, furthermore when i connect the usbcable to computer, camera appear automatically as NIkon 90 (folder in my laptop window) and the folder is empty although i have taken many pictures which i able to view in the camera only, any solution…..??? thanx

1:49 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#12 Ian

If anyone’s wondering this camera will work fine with a 16gd SDHC card as well (I used a class 4 speed card) they can be had pretty cheap.

Overall the camera does what it is supposed to but you can tell it’s done to a very tight budget. Good things are the HD video resolution, you can zoom while filming, can take 16gb cards for a resaonable amount of footage, daylght pictures are good, the zoom is quite good and the screen is large. Also you only need 1 little cable and plug when travelling to both recharge and transfer pictures (all supplied).

The bad points for me are - the directional control is difficult to press left the raised screen gets in the way - this is just poor design. The controls feel cheap (which they are), the sound quality during video recording is terrible, very quiet and you get a mechanical humming noise, the screen although 3” could be a better resolution, the menus are fiddly - I find it hard to get the set-up I want to take a picture and stuff like changing resolution size seems to take too many menu steps. Finally indoor pictures and filming indoors gives grainy images which is a reflection on the small and low cost sensor.
Despite all the bad I can’t fault it because of the price and you get what you pay for (of course!)
For Goel I suggest checking you are recording images to the SD Card - there is a ‘copy all to card’ option somewhere, plus maybe buy a SD to USB converter for a couple of quid to access the card without going through the camera to see if that is the problem.

12:17 am - Saturday, March 6, 2010

#13 Tracy

Why cannot I play the videos ive taken on this PL70 camera on my laptop, any ideas anyone….PLEASE

10:59 am - Saturday, March 20, 2010

#14 gabe

Bought the pl70, made it to 48 pics and the lens is jammed. will not focus or close when powered off. Sometimes will not turn on at all. I am extra careful with my camera. stays clean and in the case. I am also deployed, no more pics or videos :( piece of shit, waste of money!

7:29 pm - Monday, March 22, 2010

#15 Nadim

The Samsung PL70 is just one of those brilliant point and shoot cameras. Before I bought it, I researched a lot about it and also other rivals. I found that this was the best for its price. The camera does exactly what it says in the box. The resolution is very good for the screen. I love the buttons. The camera is not plastic like most cheap cameras and is very reliable. The optical zoom is very good. The reason why I got this camera was firstly of the specifications including the High Definition 720p video recording and also that it can be charged.

The only Cons I have are that the sound is very low when viewing videos in the camera itself and that when zooming the sound cuts of. But this is not a problem because most cameras actually make a load noise when zooming, so this is not a bad idea.

In conclusion, I would have to say this camera is a definite buy, and I would recommend it to all shutter bugs. Thank you and I hope you Found this Information useful.

11:08 pm - Saturday, July 17, 2010

#16 Silas

Samsung did not do a good job on the PL70. They have a defective focusing mechanism. The camera is unable to focus properly every time. I sent it for repair, but unfortunately, it came back, and after 20 pictures, the Focus mechanism went bad. To reinitialize the focusing software, you have to turn it Off and then On again. Very frustrating.
So the camera deserves 1 out of 5 stars.

8:18 pm - Monday, August 9, 2010

#17 Dave

The still pictures from this camera are rubbish unless taken on a nice bright day. The video is excellent but the sound is a waste of time. Mine also sometimes will not turn off, so I have to remove the battery to reset it. Not a very good camera.

9:44 pm - Sunday, August 29, 2010

#18 Townie

I too suffered the jammed lens problem, not once but twice. Sent for repair twice, the third time the lens jammed I got a replacement. When this replacement camera’s lens jammed after two weeks I lost all faith in it and got a refund.
In use the pictures were ok if a little noisy sometimes. The night shots in particular though were excellent, much better than I expected. Video was good, crisp and clear although sound wasn’t great. Overall I liked the camera a lot, it has lot’s of features for the price. It’s just a shame it didn’t work very often.

12:05 am - Monday, September 6, 2010

#19 Katie

Hello, does anyone know if this camera (PL70) can shoot in black & white, sepia etc. Thank you

3:49 pm - Wednesday, September 22, 2010

#20 luccio

Samsung PL70 camera is a piece of shit !!!

3:48 pm - Saturday, July 20, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 720p, 12 megapixel, 5x zoom, samsung, 28mm lens, sl720, pl70, Samsung PL70 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry