Samsung ST550 Review

4.0
December 10, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

15 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 kbtimages

Hi Mark,

Not sure why you have given this camera 4 stars as you said its iso performance even in daylight is dreadful every shot is full of noise and the flash is so slow that you miss moments when shooting indoors.

I actually won this camera otherwise I would return it immediately my 3 year old casio does a far better job.

10:58 am - Saturday, December 12, 2009

#2 Mya

It’s actually very convenient to have a dual screen camera such as this… Thus far the image quality, to me, is very satisfying… amazing camera!

8:22 am - Sunday, December 20, 2009

#3 nintendo dsi r4

I got this camera after seeing the adverts on TV after a brilliant innovative product from samsung. The purpose of this camera is for taking photos of yourself whilst you hold the camera, which i must imagine is going to attract a massive camera market.

6:55 am - Monday, December 21, 2009

#4 jessica

No one could ever think about DUAL LCD camera! yeah it was possible with the cell phone but the pixels….was a bit bad… i guess,, So many ppl including me wanted something like cellphone but better than cell phone’s camera. And finally Samsung did it yay! ST550 is so popular now and all of my friends want to try mine haha:) i became so popular too :p I hope it becomes more more popular:D

4:24 am - Tuesday, December 22, 2009

#5 repo

I GOT THIS CAMERA FOR XMAS AND SO FAR I FIND THIS TO BE THE BEST CAMERA I HAVE EVER OWNED.THE PICTURES
ARE SOME OF THE BEST. I OWNED 4 KODAK CAMERAS IN THE PAST AND NOTHING BUT JUNK TO HARD TO USE AND THE SETTINGS WERE JUST TERRIBLE TO USE

8:21 pm - Saturday, January 2, 2010

#6 e-shah

I don’t think all the photos by this camera come out with lotsa noise… I’ve seen a number of them which were taken beautifully….  great camera!

3:49 pm - Monday, January 18, 2010

#7 salvador

I don’t think the average user of this camera should be at all disappointed with the picture quality of this camera, judging from your sample photos. Even the one taken at ISO 400 looked perfectly acceptable reduced to 1200 x 800, while the detail in the full size photo of the church at ISO 80 was difficult to fault. Perhaps a little sharpening and adjusting of the light and shade in a photo editor might be advisable with some of the images but this could apply to many cameras.  Pity about the high price.

2:36 am - Monday, March 1, 2010

#8 Mtcw

Got this camera due to it’s easy to use menu + video quality..but picture quality is slightly at the down side compare to other camera in the same range!

However i just hate that motor sound whenever I use “Smart Auto”, each time the camera move - the readjusting of the scene causes the soft but can be irritating motor sound. I decided to shoot using Program Mode instead, reduce the sound except during focusing!

But in all, compare the function + screen + extra features with other camera in these same range.. is a lot better!

10:15 am - Tuesday, April 20, 2010

#9 Miss_BB

I just bought this camera and was wondering if its possible to use the front LCD screen while making a video…???

6:22 am - Sunday, May 9, 2010

#10 bronwyn

I recieved the ST550 as a birthday gift in late February, and am still biased on my opinion as of it. The pros, are definetly the possibility of stunning image quality, and the unique and new “touch screen double screen” feature, definetly useful for taking pictures of yourself. Although I find the lens barrel offers WAY TOO MUCH lateral play, and I’m an equine photographer so I find myself in a dusty barn half of the time. Due to the lens barrel’s free movement dust gets into the CCD unit and onto the sensor, and creates gray spots in my pictures, taking them off focus. I’ve had to send it in 3 times for a CCD unit cleaning and still it keeps happening. I’m not very pleased and am considering just popping up a level to a DSLR next year. The images and videos are stunning as always with samsung, but the build of the camera itself lacks. Plus i’ve dropped it only twice and since the body is plastic, not metal, it has some unnatractive white scrape marks on it now. -_-

A great camera indeed but in total the put-together process was poorly done

5:59 pm - Tuesday, August 17, 2010

#11 nakamura

.

.


ihave the camera. sometimes when i take pics and upload to pc and zoom it i see 1 tiny green dot somewhere in pic and 1 blue dot somewhere else in same pic . it also happened in different photos and sometimes not.  i checked the objective and lens look clean. what is the reason ? is it malfunction? shall i take it back to service?

tanks
.

.

12:40 am - Friday, January 14, 2011

#12 Erin Ablitt

I was given this camera for Christmas last year. Front LCD is fun for per so shots but possibly the worst camera I have ever owned. Flash is unbearably slow and often turned off when it shouldn’t have missing half of my pictures. Front LCD was slow to turn on when it even did after tapping it 10 times. Program modes would shift if you tilted the camera to improper setting. Screen would sometimes have black lines come across it and finally dirt got into the extendable lens jamming it and needed to replace it. Swaped for the same camera and again 3 weeks later the same disfunction got a canon ixus 210 instead way better. Don’t waste your money here

12:13 am - Friday, January 28, 2011

#13 gakiis 47

@ Erin Ablitt

I had a similar problem with the ST550. It was fine for a few months, but “dead pixel” on the LCD appeared. Initially it was a tiny black speck on the LCD but grew larger each time I used it.  It was annoying every time I view the pictures I took. I recently had it repaired at a Samsung service center and had the LCD replaced. In less than a month, the LCD just went blank altogether. As of this writing, I’m still having it repaired again. I won’t recommend this to my friends, in fact I’m considering trading it to some lesser, but more dependable brand. I must say, the overall product and service quality aren’t just that great after all.

7:50 am - Friday, January 28, 2011

#14 Ismail Nasir

I bought an ST-550 for my wife when it first came out and she hasn’t had any problems with it - she loves it. I usually shoot with a DSLR and didn’t expect much from the ST550 but was very impressed with the shots straight out of the camera - it’s not for magazine prints but is very good for what it is supposed to be. I wanted a small compact for myself and bought the much more expensive Olympus XZ-1 which is a complete piece of rubbish. On the video side - the ST550 is very easy to use in comparison to DSLR video because of the large depth of field - no focusing issues.
For those commenting on issues with dust - DSLR’s suffer exponentially more from this problem.

8:37 am - Saturday, December 24, 2011

#15 Mike Hunt

Hello,

I’ve bought this camera recently. Out of the blue, this one time i turned it back on and the left hand side of the camera (where the lens is) stopped working. Every other part of the camera works, but just not the left side of the touch screen. So i can’t delete and set up the self portrait button etc. Anyone have advice for me?

3:34 am - Saturday, July 7, 2012

Entry Tags

review, 12 megapixel, touch-screen, samsung, 3.5 inch LCD, 4.6x zoom, self-portrait, haptic, tl225, st500, Samsung ST550 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry