Samsung WB2000 Review

4.5
September 17, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

59 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 World Cup Soccer Jerseys

Of all the brands of digital cameras I believe Samsung has the most innovative features. For people who are still saving for a DLSR camera this point and shoot from Samsung is a good option for now.

9:11 am - Friday, September 17, 2010

#2 kelsci

I looked at the sample movie clip. IMHO it was drop dead gorgeous, sharp and almost 3 dimensional in its looks.  What I am not sure about is the recorded sound.  The camera is supposed to record in stereo but I could not discern any stereo imaging on the clip.  I also looked at the sample jpeg pics and they looked better than average.  I could not find in the specs whether the camera had a external microphone input jack that could take external microphones.

10:46 am - Friday, September 17, 2010

#3 Zigster

Wow, very impressive, this one flew under my radar screen.  I wish there were more indoor and outdoor sample images at higher ISO speeds to compare, but the 800 and 1600 ISO photos of the sconces show good sharpness and low noise.  Video looks great too, especially in the harsh morning light conditions.

11:20 am - Friday, September 17, 2010

#4 nemo6666

I agree in most aspects with this review.
Owning the EX1, WB2000 and the S90 think i can for sure write the same. Samsung did a good job with latest bunch of cameras and for sure they will get the right attention from more and more photographers around the world. Good build quality, lots of features not only on paper but also that work and finally the good IQ, most important thing, all this makes this little gem a real keeper.

11:47 am - Friday, September 17, 2010

#5 liquidboy

Samsung WB2000 better, then Panasonic FX70\FX700?
I really need answering on that question!

11:56 am - Friday, September 17, 2010

#6 Alex

Looks like a very good pocket camera. Does anyone know if it can shoot movies in manual mode?

If not, does anyone know of a small P&S which can shoot HD (720p is fine) in manual mode? Thanks.

1:18 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#7 latam

if this had the articulated screen it would be pretty much perfect

1:54 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#8 Chris

Samsung seems to have a winner there. Anybody who can comment on WB2000 vs. S95?

2:04 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#9 Yianni

What a camera. Excellent features and image quality to boot.

The video sample is probably the best I have seen out of a compact. It’s so clean and sharp! wow!

@ photographyblog.com, is optical zoom and auto focus functional during HD video recording?

Cheers

4:54 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#10 rj74210

I’ve had the Panasonic ZS3 (TZ7) for a year, and just received both the Canon S95 and Samsung TL350 (WB2000).
Angle of view: the Panasonic is widest, the Samsung a bit narrower field of view, the Canon most narrow.
In terms of lens reach, the Panasonic is the winner, going 12x.
Sensitivity: The Panasonic is noisiest, showing shadow noise even at low ISOs; the Samsung and Canon are both better, and appear quite comparable to each other: quite good to ISO 400, with higher ISOs increasingly noisy and grainy, but much better than the Panasonic in any case. Photos taken with the Canon and Samsung are virtually indistinguishable.
Video: the Samsung wins, hands down. Much smoother video, much much better detail than either the Panasonic or Canon, which are 720p.
Pocketability: pretty much a three-way tie.
Color rendition: Canon and Panasonic are better, the Samsung’s colours are a bit washed out unless you select the “vivid” setting.
Detail: pretty much a 3-way tie at low ISOs. At 400 ISO and higher, the Canon and Samsung are superior to the Panasonic.
I’m still playing with, testing all three. The Panasonic is soon going to be given away; I’ll likely use the Samsung and Canon, with preference to the Samsung when I’m going to be shooting video.
All in all, the Samsung is a winner, totally overshadowed by its bigger brother and by the better-known Canon.
I do prefer the menus and functionality of the Canon, even though the Samsung’s are very pretty; I suppose that, with practice, I’ll get used to the Samsung’s less traditional approach to menus.

5:57 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#11 Bernd

A great Camera good video low noise, only i miss is a 10* zoom.hopefully the successor of the WB650 get this new sensor because the WB650 picture quality is really worse.

7:18 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#12 Luc

This camera is it!
Seems to be good all around and has image pre-capture.  This will help me a lot in taking snaps of our toddler.

7:34 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#13 DJ

hey kelsci - 

no external microphone jack on the WB2000


Yianni -

it does auto focus (you will need to do a firmware upgrade for it to work properly).
it also allows optical zoom but the zoom motor can be heard on the voice recorded. Samsung worked around this by having a setting (this is the default) that mutes the mics while zooming when taking video…

I love the camera…. - see more about it on http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/forum.asp?forum=1001

- dodicsi

7:43 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#14 Thoppa

I got this camera a few weeks ago.
Faults:
At first the menus drove me nuts but I’ve got used to them and learned which options can be used together in which modes. I also had a problem with the camera locking up for no reason just after turning on. I updated to the latest firmware and the lock up has only happened once since then. The battery life is less than amazing so a spare battery is essential. It uses a d-type hdmi cable which are US$10 on Ebay. The 1,000fps video is useless cos the quality is terrible. There’s no af for 10fps shooting either so you need to set things up so you have lots of depth of field if your subject is moving. Auto WB isn’t that great, and it’s awful in video, but the WB2000 has a great range of WB options so that’s no real problem.
The Good Stuff
I won’t repeat the review above so I’ll just say it is an excellent camera (the closest I’ve found to having the functionality and control of a dslr in a compact, but without the speed and image quality of course) and I completely agree with Photographyblog - it is the best kept secret of compact cameras. My friend has an S90 and I also compared it to a Fuji F200EXR. Both have slightly cleaner images than the WB2000 and the Canon is a bit snappier in use, but the full HD video and the great screen mean I much prefer this camera. The included raw software is great for making jpegs just how you want.
I also can say “Highly Recommended” !

2:11 am - Saturday, September 18, 2010

#15 Alex

Can you shoot video in manual mode with the Samsung?

10:06 pm - Saturday, September 18, 2010

#16 Thoppa

Hi,
In M mode, you can set the aperture and shutter speed and iso, and the camera gives you a scale on the bottom to show exposure and up to 2 stops under and over the meter. If you then press the one touch video record button, the camera starts video recording after a short blackout. If you have deliberately over/underexposed, the camera does not correct this.
cheers

2:00 am - Sunday, September 19, 2010

#17 Johannes Müller

Hi,
I have two questions:
1- Can I zoom while recording a video?
2- As a MAC user, how can I concert the camera´s -swr files? (Don´t have the camera yet, just downloaded some raw samples).
Thanks for your response
Johannes

6:14 pm - Monday, September 20, 2010

#18 Claus

Hi
does anybody know how to activate ISO auto in Manual mode - my WB2000 has this option grayed out.
Proberly is some other adjustment somewhere in the menu - but I cant find it.
So - have you come across this (no ISO auto in M mode)
Thanz, Claus

6:31 am - Tuesday, September 21, 2010

#19 Thoppa

Yes, u can zoom, and the zoom noise can be suppressed if you choose, and the included software processes the RAW files the but I dunno about Mac compatibility.

M is manual - of course no auto exposure/iso possible.

1:58 am - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#20 John

I have a Lumix camera and one of the drawbacks it has is slow focus. Can anyone comment on how quickly this camera can achieve a focus lock?

2:23 pm - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#21 Claus

@Thoppa
Thanx for answer - but all of my Canon Cameras can ISO auto be set ALSO in M mode. (S5, SX1, A590, G6)
I use this feature to control everything but the ISO value.
Claus

5:45 pm - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#22 Cesare

@ rj74210 - It sound me strange that you wrote ....the 24mm of the Samsung is narrower that the 25mm of the TZ7/ZS3 .  Typo ?

3:50 pm - Saturday, September 25, 2010

#23 Markac

I’m looking at a WB2000 for an upgrade to my NV24HD.  I looked at the WB1000 previously but apart from a longer lens, it offered little over the earlier camera.  The WB2000 however seems like a very worthwhile upgrade. This one has a longer lens, better noise performance and a bigger 3” AMOLED over my old Samsung NV24HD’s 2.5"AMOLED. I only wish it used Adobe DNG for RAW instead of SRW, but I guess you can’t have everything.

8:54 am - Tuesday, September 28, 2010

#24 jASON

How do you think this camera compare to casio’s FH100? Both have similar specs and high speed shooting, only the casio has a longer lens…

5:04 am - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#25 Markac

@ jASON.  The Samsung might not have such a long lens, but at F2.4 it’s a bit faster.  Anyway Samsung provides a big lens with the WB650.  I think the biggest plus with the Samsung WB2000 is noise.  Anything over ISO100 seems to suffer with the Casio, but the Samsung seems quite good up to ISO800.

5:24 am - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#26 liquidboy

There is no sensor of vertical\horizontal state?
Why accumulator so quick = zero?

5:42 am - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#27 nEurope

Brand new WB2000 updated with f/w .008261 will NOT save RAW in high speed burst mode (10 fps etc). Camera automatically switches to Superfine JPG.
Note that this is consistent with what the manual states.

12:36 pm - Saturday, October 9, 2010

#28 wyoming

i’m looking for a compat good quality camera, the samsung ex1 is big and s95 costs too much. so i noticed this wb2000, what would you choose between this and the fuji f200exr?
which has the best manual controls?

6:03 pm - Saturday, October 9, 2010

#29 jASON

@Markac Thanks for you opinion! I have been looking for a compact point and shoot for some time now. Sometimes I still can’t make out my mind whether I should buy something with a longer lens, or something with better low light shooting. I always wanted a LX3/LX5 or a S95 like camera, but they cost too much. So something like this WB2000 fit the bill pretty nicely. And of course, the raw is a plus for me. Hmm… Maybe I should put away the long lens for better low light shooting.

1:51 pm - Sunday, October 10, 2010

#30 Daniel

Anyone knows if the image stabilization works for video mode as well? 

Beside little under saturated colour, I read all good things about this camera.  How about “vivid mode” - will it completely solve the problem?

8:29 pm - Monday, October 18, 2010

#31 Man Utd Shirts

I’ll be getting a digital SLR camera soon as a Christmas gift for myself and I was choosing between Samsung and Nikon yet your review is giving me reasons to choose Samsung. Thanks.

3:24 am - Thursday, November 4, 2010

#32 gorpalm

Very strong review - I’m seeing this as a premium compact rather than a LX5/S95 rival (the EX1 takes that honour I assume), but That current price of 299 or so really throws it out of consideration for me - Looking around at what hardware you can get for your ££, it probably needs to drop at least £50+ w the online retailers just to get onto more people’s shortlists - I wonder how many people have this unit on their watch-lists?

2:54 pm - Thursday, November 4, 2010

#33 Josh

Hi, I’m still deciding whether to purchase the Samsung WB2000. Could someone please let me know the length of time I would be able to record full HD video (on a 1 Sd card for instance)?

10:13 pm - Saturday, November 6, 2010

#34 Markac

@Josh.  At full HQ 1080p quality, the camera can record approximately 6.5 minutes per gigabyte.  The maximum video clip length is 20 minutes.  This would require at least a 4GB SD card.

3:27 am - Sunday, November 7, 2010

#35 Pkwsze

The lowest price of this camera indicated in this review is US$109.99. Is this real? It is listed over HK$3,000, which is about US$400.

4:19 pm - Sunday, December 12, 2010

#36 Markac

@Pkwsze.  The WB2000 is available for around $A345 (about $US340) in Australia at the moment.  Amazon in the US had the TL350 (US designation) for $US299 for a while, but it seems to have gone up to $349 now. Probably $US300 is the cheapest you’ll find one anywhere I’m guessing?

I’m selling my NV24HD at the moment and hope to buy the WB2000 before Christmas.  I was originally going to buy the WB1000 but I wasn’t happy with some aspects of it, so I bought a used NV24HD as a stop gap.  Probably as soon as I buy the WB2000, Samsung will announce a WB3000!

1:32 am - Monday, December 13, 2010

#37 SAM

There are plenty of better cameras in the same class just put little more and you’ll get better camera.
In the latest group test 1. Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX5 2.Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZX3 3.Canon Ixus 300 HS 4.Samsung WB2000

Samsung: There is lack of automatic focus during HD video recording (not sharp videos) and the video isn’t smooth Sony, Canon and Panasonic does this better, much better. Also color rendering is the problem. These are facts! But Samsung has brushed up with this model Past models have been terrible like Samsung camcorders are still…

8:26 am - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#38 Al

from the review ” The WB2000 is also one of the few cameras that let you capture a still image during movie recording - simply press the shutter button to take a full resolution still image - pretty advanced functionality for a mid-range compact.”
Is there a gap in the video when a still image is captured during video recording? Thanks

11:07 am - Thursday, December 16, 2010

#39 craig

after two malfunctioning cameras I wen’t with the fuji finepiz EXR F300.. it doesn’t feel as good or have all the gadgets.. but it does consistently work for me and takes a lot better photo’s.

1:27 am - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#40 Markac

@Al, You can take up to six still shots during a video segment.  It doesn’t interrupt the video.  You can us the still shots as cue points.

I bought a WB2000 last week.  In just about every way it’s a big improvement on my NV24HD which I sold a month ago, although I was fairly happy with that camera.  I have to say I’m glad I waited for the WB2000 and didn’t buy the WB1000 as I’d originally planned.  I’m guessing that Samsung will announce a WB3000 in February or March?

10:20 am - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#41 Fon

Hello, I am undecided betweem the S95 and the wb2000, I am basically looking at taking sports pictures… Thanks!

4:41 am - Friday, January 14, 2011

#42 Cesare

Me too I have the question but probably the new Samsung help to solve this matter

9:15 am - Friday, January 14, 2011

#43 ron

The thing that appeals to me is the size of it with all the bells
and whistles.The s95 I do not douwt is a good camera
but it is not a shirt pocket job. And that what i want this time
round.

9:05 pm - Monday, January 31, 2011

#44 Johnson

Can anyone please provide some information on *colour* reproduction (not talking about noise etc).

Some reviews said colours were very flat but others said they can be great?

Any help really, appreciated!

5:13 pm - Wednesday, February 2, 2011

#45 ron

i have Bought it now,got it yesterday.done a lot of testing
I am very pleased with it.I also have a G9 so i will be doing head to
head testing.The reason i got this WB2000 was its dinky size.
I was at a party last night and it handled the flash shots very well
no problem with the focus locking on in the low light.

Disappointments   None yet.

4:40 pm - Sunday, February 6, 2011

#46 Justin

Had this camera 2 months and I love it. My main demands were for fast focusing especially at night to capture those candid moments at parties and in the pub etc and this camera excels at this taking nice sharp pics in low light and small enough to fit nicely in the pocket.  I have at times taken this camera out in place of my slr for convience and it has done the job, of course it would be unfair to compare image quality to the SLR. Image quality is good.  Video quality is excellent.  Screen is great and easy to see even in bright light.  It is great for the casual point and shoot crowd to the more advanced photographer that want more control, eg manual settings and also a good companion compact for SLR users.  If there was a downside, the colours are not as vivid as say a sony.  The menu takes a bit of time to get used to.  I would highly recommend this excellent camera.

5:03 am - Tuesday, February 8, 2011

#47 stefanos

dear friends i finally buy it after a lot thought.i also own nikon d3000(dslr).this little camera have a little beast cmos censor!jpegs are super and with lot in camera udjastments.lens is super only noticable barrel in raw in wide angle.but dont bother.gpeg engine is superb and give essential results in printing 10x15 or 13x17!

10:12 pm - Saturday, March 19, 2011

#48 sunny

Noe that you can buy refurbished units currently for $184.99 including shipping on ebay )no sales tax) from a Samsung Camera dealer in Lakeland,Fl.

12:14 am - Tuesday, July 12, 2011

#49 Johan Trung

I am very happy with this camera,I have appreciated most of the qualities mentioned in your review,the HD movies are a great feature from a pocket camera.
What has impressed me most is the toughness of the camera,I dropped it on a hard floor as I opened the packaging and was surprised that no damage wea apparent.Yesterday I was in a motorcycle crash and the camera was thrown out of my pocket onto the road.The only damage is some scratches on the screen side but to my amazement no screen damage.There you go a durable camera indeed.

6:55 am - Saturday, July 23, 2011

#50 Johan Trung

I love this camera,wide angle,burst modes,and the video all in a pocket camera.
Main value;toughness,I had a motorcycle accident and the samsung hit the road hard,only damage a few scratches on the rear,luckily no screen damage.
The camera is working fine.

7:03 am - Saturday, July 23, 2011

#51 Markac

The WB2000/TL350 is now discontinued with no replacement in sight.  I’m told it didn’t sell as well as was hoped?  It’s surely a better camera than it’s predecessors the WB1000 and NV24HD, so I find this rather odd.  Samsung only seems to have rather lacklustre offerings like the WB700 this year.  Not even a WB750 yet.  Hopefully Samsung will be a bit more immaginative for 2012.  A WB3000 with a 6x zoom, a SuperAMOLED pro screen, an even better sensor and Adobe DNG raw would be very nice.  Here’s hoping!  Anyway I’m still happy with my WB2000.  If you can find one on clearance or ebay, buy it.

8:32 am - Saturday, July 23, 2011

#52 Marcg60

I have the wb2000 now for two weeks. I have also a Sony SLT-A55 dslr. I’ve upgraded the wb2000 to the latest firmware. At almost every setting I get from time to time a dark vignetting in the corners. Sometimes the setting are lost and have to adjust them again. Does anyone have also this problem ?

2:30 pm - Saturday, August 20, 2011

#53 alex

HI,from the sample images i saw on this little camera the IQ it at least good at g12.i like that samsung didn’t have a strong noise reduction which result in oil painting photos like i saw at many cameras(hx9v,hx100v,nikon s9100,etc).i hate canncelled totally the noise…it also cancelled the details…i’m convinced that this wb2000 have a good sensor and all i want is the wb750 with the same sensor,i think it will be what i want from a point and shoot camera!

6:23 pm - Sunday, September 4, 2011

#54 Markac

@alex.  The WB750 (just announced) does have a similar sensor (a 12.5-megapixel backside-illuminated CMOS type) to the WB2000.  It just seems to lack the AMOLED screen used on the WB2000 and the WB650.  Maybe it’s just cost cutting?  It would be nice if Samsung decided to use some of it’s later SuperAMOLED screens, like it uses on it’s premium phones.

9:21 am - Monday, September 5, 2011

#55 Boka

This excellent camera needs to be discovered by more people that’s taking photo as their biggest hobby.
I have in my collection several cameras,DLSR,longzoom compact,and others.

This little pearl can replace them all,the image quality is nice,the handling is easy,or you can take your photos in manual adjustment.

It’s small,seems very durable,and gives the impression of high quality,in every way.

Do I have to say that I love this little camera,which has become my permanent follower.

Buy one,that’s my advice.

1:19 pm - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

#56 marcg60

Is it it normal when I set in A the aperture to 2,4 and zoom in or out, the aperture still changes ?

1:11 pm - Monday, October 17, 2011

#57 marcg60

@Boka; sorry, but when I compare the wb2000 camera to my sony a55, it’s way behind. Overall I’m dissapointed about this camera.

2:53 pm - Monday, October 17, 2011

#58 Markac

@marcg60.  The lens is only f2.4 at it’s widest position 4.3mm.  At maximum zoom (21.5mm) it will have a maximum aperture of f5.8.  This is marked on the lens and is common for most zoom lenses, even those used on a DSLR.  Of course the WB2000 can’t match your Sony dslr a55 which has an APS-C sensor.  The sensor in the WB2000 is quite tiny in comparison.  I like my WB2000, but it is no substitute for my DSLR.  However it is good to use when I don’t want to carry a bigger camera.

11:38 pm - Monday, October 17, 2011

#59 jPhotonica

John: I had the same focus problems with the Lumix (and with other digicams, but, the Olympus, Nikon and Lumix were the worst I’ve owned). With WB2000, I must say, it’s pretty responsive, it locks right in and ready to capture the shoot very quickly, even in low light. That was my number one annoyance with these digicams as they kept hunting for the focus and then would kind of stall before being able to capture the shot. No, not talking about shutter lag, just the delay between focus lock and camera’s ability to process the next command. Before the WB2000, I was about to give up with these point and shoots, always missing my people shots, it kind of defeated the purpose of leaving my pro stuff in my hard case while keeping a pocket camera nearby. Anyway, for a point and shoot, it’s very responsive.

9:59 pm - Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, hdmi, full hd, manual, RAW, cmos, 24mm, 10fps, 10 megapixel, samsung, AMOLED, advanced, 5x lens, Samsung WB2000 Review, tl35, wb2000, Samsung TL350 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry