Samsung WB550 Review

4.0
June 29, 2009 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

40 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Ivan

Why is the Canon SX200 IS not listed in “main rivals”???

12:41 pm - Monday, June 29, 2009

#2 Mark Goldstein

We’ve added that review now.

1:34 pm - Monday, June 29, 2009

#3 wato

can we see some high iso samples? recently all the reviews only got iso 80-200 samples :(

11:29 am - Tuesday, June 30, 2009

#4 Ivan

@ Mark Goldstein
  Thanks! I am a satisfied SX200 user, so I was surprised it wasn’t listed in ‘main rivals’. Very nice review again. Keep up this good work.
@ wato
  There are always high iso samples, aren’t there? Take a look at ‘image quality’.

3:00 pm - Tuesday, June 30, 2009

#5 Ivan

@ wato
  Sorry I understand now, you’re right. There are no full resolution high ISO samples. Only the small crops…

3:02 pm - Tuesday, June 30, 2009

#6 Mario

I had my WB550 for one week and it’s a great camera.
I used to be a Canon fan, however, the Samsung is faster to shoot between shots and you can use the zoom in video mode. Yes you can use the zoom in video mode which the canon still does not do. The 720p videos are great and the pictures too. Very easy to use.
Mario

2:55 am - Sunday, July 12, 2009

#7 Evelyn

I was just wondering if anybody can tell me if the dates displayed on thd LCD screen shows up when you PRINT the pictures? I currently own a Pentax camera and the date is displayed on my LCD screen, but not when I print my photos.

Thanks

Evelyn

3:52 am - Monday, July 20, 2009

#8 markus

I just got this camera before eurotrip one month ago and after taking about 25 gig of photos and vid can say quality is very good. I didn’t notice the purple fringing but agree the zoom can be slow to start moving and require moving the lever several time to get action and the flash can be uneven (i took most with flash off). The wide angle is incredible and night shots even with out tripod were good. video recording is great and sound is very good (mics on either side of camera help but keep hand away from right side mic. battery life is good but more like 200 shoots (I had extra battery and used it most days). I looked at dmc-tz7 first but in a value for money comparision the wm550 wins hands down.

3:12 pm - Tuesday, July 28, 2009

#9 Shawn

I just got the WB550- Great camera. One problem, How do you prevent the motor sound when you zoom during video? When I playback a video I just took, all i can hear is that motor zoom sound. If there is a way to prevent that noise while you zoom during video, please tell me! Zoom during video is a feature that i need to have in my camera- without an annoying zooming sound!

Thanks

-Shawn

3:35 pm - Saturday, August 1, 2009

#10 Markus

Yes there is,in the menu there is an option to mute sound during zoom.

8:30 am - Monday, August 3, 2009

#11 Shawn

True, but then it mutes all of the sound. Is there a way of just getting rid of the zooming sound and not all of the sound? If not, this is very disapointing.

7:32 pm - Wednesday, August 5, 2009

#12 moira

Just bought this camera and can’t get it to charge - am awaiting a new charger form Samsung to see if that is the problem. Anyon else with this fault?

11:13 pm - Sunday, August 9, 2009

#13 cinek

I am about to buy this camera, but have just two questions, in manual mode, is it possible to use different aperture than boundary 3.3 and 7.1? and what are your feelings about low light shots. Thanks in advance. Marcin

7:53 am - Tuesday, August 11, 2009

#14 Barbara

I’ve got this camera for 3 month now and took about 1500 photo’s. I get a lot of dark pictures in auto mode and it flashes when not necesary ( a picture without flash also taken to see the difference),taking time to reload the flash and resulting in not so nice pictures. I just wonder if this might be a fault of the camera or thoes anyone els have this problem? And another question, is there a reset button to put the camera back to “factory mode”? I could not find that in the manual or on the camera.

8:21 am - Sunday, August 23, 2009

#15 Dave

Anyone know for certain the Samsung (or its competitors) are materially faster in 1) focusing, 2) cycle-time to shoot next picture then 7Mp cameras introduced about 2 years ago ? These are the two problem areas driving me to upgrade. All the other new features are gravy.

5:56 pm - Sunday, August 30, 2009

#16 Barbara

I find the camera not very fast in cycle time. If flash is used it takes about 2 seconds to reload.

6:03 pm - Sunday, August 30, 2009

#17 hugh

Its strange that canon have slipped down the scale with this type of cameras. My canon tx1 can zoom while on movie mode. It also has some manual controls, face recognition, 10x zoom, swivel lcd screen and its over two years old and smaller than the cameras out there today….

9:38 am - Wednesday, September 2, 2009

#18 jppt20

can these cameras do bokeh pictures… (more for SLR types) similar to subject with blurry background? what settings do you do in manual mode (or auto) to achieve this? thanks

9:47 am - Tuesday, September 22, 2009

#19 alan

is it possible to change the aspect ratios of this camera to 16.9 or 3.2?

4:12 pm - Thursday, September 24, 2009

#20 Victor

That’s a great camera but I’m still with a lot of doubts, I don’t know if I buy this one or the Panasonic TZ7, can you help me please, wich one is the best? Not considerating price, just the quality and advantages! Thank you very much!

And if is possible could you review the new ST550 from Samsung and WB1000 as well, both seem very nice!

Thanks.

8:36 pm - Thursday, October 1, 2009

#21 Jonh

I agree with you,and I have the same problem ...
I prefer the Samsung, but everyone tells me to buy the Panasonic,they say it is the better one..

4:15 pm - Saturday, November 7, 2009

#22 Jarno

As for the wide angle 24mm flash test image I guess the photographer had his/her finger on the flash.

10:40 pm - Monday, November 9, 2009

#23 dave

while in video recording mode, to mute the zoom go to “voice” in the recording menu and the is an option for “zoom mute”

5:54 am - Sunday, November 29, 2009

#24 martin moodie

I have major problems with the Samsung WB550. I just bought it and it keeps getting stuck on zoom. Even when i power off and on it still automatically zooms in and then won’t take photos at all. Sometimes if I leave it a long time charging it is ok again for a while but the problem later reoccurs. Is my camera faulty or does someone know how to fix this please?

Thanks.

7:16 am - Saturday, December 26, 2009

#25 Chris

Happy with WB550 still shots but video suffers from jerky movements when panning or moving objects cross its path i.e. cars. U tube samples vary, some are smooth, others jerky.Tried all different settings-only one thats smooth is changing output from PAL to NTSC (American) but then unable to record direct to VCR or DVD recorder. Also can’t find software for video files H.264/MPEG4 to burn video’s to DVD using computer. Anyone help???? Cheers.

5:49 pm - Friday, January 15, 2010

#26 alan

For Chris
Have a look on one of the torrent sites and download a programme called convert x or easy avi to dvd converter.
You could alos do it with nero, but getting a good copy is difficult and its expensive to buy

6:58 pm - Friday, January 15, 2010

#27 Chris

Thanks Alan. Tried Stoik converter site - didn’t work.Will give your suggestion a try. Chris

7:41 pm - Friday, January 15, 2010

#28 Tom

#11- Shawn, the microphone is going to pick up any sound, especially one that is so close, like a zoom motor.  All video cameras suffer from this, that is why in the movies they have a guy holding the microphone on a pole close to the actors and far from unwanted noise.  Some cameras are better at insulating this sound, but generally a good rule is, “if you can hear it, so can the microphone”
#13- Cinek, I have bought this camera and can only seem to adjust the aperature between 2 different settings, f3.3 and f7.5
As for adjusting the shutter speed, I haven’t been able to figure this out yet.  Does anyone know anything about this?
Despite having a broken flash when it came out of the box, this camera seems to work pretty good and if I could figure out how to work it better (the menus are difficult to navigate and understand) it would be a lot more fun.  I’m just glad I didn’t buy the WB1000 with the fancy dials on the top.

8:21 pm - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#29 Tom

OK, I’m figured it out, but I don’t think it’s because I’m an idiot :) It’s a bit complicated, but like I said, the settings are saved, so it’s just a matter of tweaking them a little bit and not setting everything up again like you have to do with some cameras.  I guess the only other thing I would say to people thinking about buying this camera is that it’s a bit too big to fit in your pocket (jeans pocket, not jacket pocket) That was something I liked about my last camera, it was cell phone size and fit easily in my pocket, but it didn’t have the features that this one does.  The wide angle lens is pretty nice!

10:40 am - Friday, March 5, 2010

#30 acer coupon

a good camera with excellent HD video capability. Wanted a small camera with wide angle lense and this fitted the bill. no lens to carry about and for myself as an amateur this is ideal put it in pouch on your belt and you don,t even notice its there. good quality only thing no printed manual otherwise ideal for me.

8:11 am - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#31 Nicola

I have been looking at three cameras…
this, the IXUS 200 IS and Canon Powershot SX120 IS

I want the camera for travelling photos, landscapes, skylines…

Also want to be able to take good macro photos and concert photos…

anyone know which would be the best?

Thanks.

5:47 pm - Saturday, March 13, 2010

#32 Lynn

I bought this camera because I was told that it can take photos in quick succession but I cannot find how it works. Can anyone help? Thanks

5:38 pm - Tuesday, April 27, 2010

#33 baDboyzs

I have tested the new Samsung WB650 ( 12mp 15X zoom ) and it appears that the problems raised by some of you in this superseded model WM550 have been solved. Watch out for the new Samsung WB650, a far better camera, probably the best in the compact superzoom category to date.

12:46 pm - Saturday, May 8, 2010

#34 steve

does anybody know how to operate the remote for the wb550? I have an i/r light on the remote but the camera does not respond in any mode. Is there a function i need to set on the camera?
wld appreciate some help
steve 07766 600500
thanks

2:15 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#35 andy

Agree that a printed handbook would be good. Answering Evelyn, if not too late, disc advises that date can be printed on pics.

Bought WB550 yesterday for AU$197. Great value.

7:41 am - Saturday, June 26, 2010

#36 Taher Dhorajiwala

I bought one for $197 (AUD) as well!

Great Value for money.

Cheers, Taher

5:21 am - Tuesday, July 6, 2010

#37 dandymac

does anyone know how to change the aspect ratio on a samsung wb550 camera

7:55 pm - Monday, August 2, 2010

#38 unkfg

Seriously disappointed by the Samsung WB650, especially regarding the noise in the video sound. I’m not talking about the zoom sound, I’m talking about the wind. To me, living, on the cost, the inability to filter out the wind results in jhust noise in the video, and is a deal breaker.

Would hope Samsung WB550/650 videos posted on youtube out there would be a little more from real people, not from Samsunk marketing.

1:45 pm - Tuesday, August 10, 2010

#39 ivaylo

I have a message saying ““Card Locked!”, not allowing me to take pictures. Can you help me?

9:48 pm - Monday, December 24, 2012

#40 Ivan

@ivaylo: unlock your SD card—> http://www.ehow.com/how_4918797_unlock-sd-card.html

Next time, google it.

10:12 am - Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, compact, 720p, wide-angle, 12 megapixel, 10x zoom, Samsung HZ15W, Samsung WB550

Tracker Pixel for Entry