Samsung WB650 Review

4.5
June 23, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

26 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Gordon Sanderson

Those must be some of the worst iso 80 pics at full size I’ve ever seen. They look like water colour paintings.

1:01 pm - Thursday, June 24, 2010

#2 Phil

I’ve had my WB650 for a couple of months now - images mainly excellent, occassionally oversaturated (slightly) - image stabilisation fantastic - GPS usually acquires within 30 sec. It does more than my D60 with 18-200mm does almost as well and barrel distortion is superior to the Nikon lens (admittedly done by in camera post processing but who cares?) - this is a great travel zoom.

8:28 pm - Thursday, June 24, 2010

#3 Debt

I think that the? quality of the sound recording with Samsung phone is a different issue. Camcorders, cameras and audio products should provide better audio quality which measns they would be better than the phone’s sound recording quality.

6:01 am - Friday, June 25, 2010

#4 Fiqqer

I’m not expert and don’t have the experience of a wide range of cameras but I have to agree with poor quality of the photos at the lower ISO ratings. 

I deliberately looked at the ones with the best lighting conditions and have not seen so much noise AND so much noise reduction at ISO 80 before.  I have seen better images at ISO 200 than from this camera.

The spec is pretty amazing but the photos are rubbish even looking at them on screen (not 100% crop versions)

2:16 pm - Friday, June 25, 2010

#5 Debt Consolidation

I think the quality of recordings with Samsung is another matter. Camcorders, I deliberately looked the best lighting conditions and have not seen much noise and therefore noise reduction to ISO 80 before. I've seen better pictures at ISO 200 by this device.

7:42 am - Saturday, June 26, 2010

#6 John

Hello

I’ve been looking around on the web for a compact digital camera. One that I can use mainly for work, but one that’s also good to use out and about and for family photos and videos.

I’m willing to spend £350

I need one that’s got (In order of importance)
1) Good - Excellent picture quality.
2) Great HD video quality.
3) Does good in low light - For a compact digital camera.
4) Long optical zoom - 8x minimum.
5) (Not vital) Some sort of panorama feature.

I’m really not that bothered about fancy GPS features, I’ll probably turn it off anyway because it drains your battery. I’m still open but so far I’ve narrowed it down to the SONY CYBERSHOT-H55, PANASONIC TZ10 AND THE SAMSUNG WB650.

Which camera would you recommend? Thank you.

5:59 pm - Saturday, June 26, 2010

#7 Roger

None of the above are great in low light high ISO conditions.
And the ones that are better are pretty poor at video so you are going to have some choices to make depending on what you need.

Agree the smearing of details even at low ISO is worrying

1:22 pm - Sunday, June 27, 2010

#8 payment protection insurance

I have been using this camera ( WB 650, Malaysia ) for 2 months now and find it very competent and easy to use. I have no issues with the image quality as I shoot mostly in daylight. The 15X zoom & HD video are superior to the TZ7 which I had previously. It is a much better camera than TZ7 tho I have not compared it to the TZ10

7:55 am - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#9 austo

if this is basically the same camera as the wb500, then i would say ” forget it”..my wb500 has overall taken mainly woefull photos..and the smart auto takes worse photos than the manual setting photos( some have been rather good on manual) )..anyway i am returning this camera tomorrow..great features for sure but ” PICTURE QUALITY” is what really counts huh..sorry samsung, but just get the picture quality right please and i will buy another one…

2:52 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#10 Henry

To load the maps to the SD card seems to be more complicated than built the camera. I gave up after 12 hours!!
I don’t wont to have a camera which make me crazy!

12:03 am - Wednesday, July 21, 2010

#11 SteveB

I’ve had my WB650 for several weeks now and have to say it’s a very capable pocket long zoom camera.  As far as image quality is concerned, surely the main issue with a camera, the WB650 has very positive points and minor negative points.  The minor point is the one that gets picked up in reviews, it has noise reduction issues at low ISO of a minor nature.  It’s only there at 100% viewing at 12MP, and as NO camera’s images are worth looking at at 100%, I’ve dismissed this as irrelevant, it’s only a P&S and screen size or printed results look fine.  The major plus point is the lens, it’s quality far surpasses all the competition IMHO, there’s no lens induced mess which I see in all the others on a huge scale, not tiny pixel level stuff.  Backlit objects retain their colour, there’s no purple or blue fringing, basically the lens is nigh perfect.  8MP, P mode, -0.7EV, sharpness +1 gives best results.

9:06 am - Saturday, September 4, 2010

#12 uzi navot

I can not download the images from the camera Samsung WB650
No camera transfer cable package purchase.
Computer does not recognize the SD card when inserted it.
What should I do to download images from camera to PC?
uzi navot

4:23 pm - Saturday, September 18, 2010

#13 Leo

I like this camera very much. ts very handy and versatile in different shooting conditions. here ther are my sample pictures that you can check the quality of this nice digital camera:

http://samsungwb650.blogspot.com/

11:47 am - Saturday, September 25, 2010

#14 Terry

The GPS valid time can be set from 15 secs up to 60 mins so if you lose the GPS signal in a building the photos taken inside will still be Geotagged at the point you entered the building.

Also the camera case is metal not plastic as stated in the review. At least that is what it feels like to me, very cool to the touch.

I am vey much enjoying using this camera and learning the best settings to get great pictures. A well done to Samsung

12:03 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#15 IVAN

Dear all:

I need to install the GPS Aplictaion in my Samsung WB 650, I don’t know how load and where I can find this software.

Thanks.

9:20 pm - Friday, December 24, 2010

#16 Eddy

Just bought this camera last week to replace a defect Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ7 and I am very dissapointed in this camera.  Very low quality photo’s with lots of noise, shutter lag is inacceptable, burst mode is too slow etc. I’m gonna try to trade it in for a Panasonic TZ8 for 100 € more.

10:14 pm - Monday, December 27, 2010

#17 Jinno

Dear Ivan,
Don’t bother to install anything for the GPS. Just turn it on and shoot when it’s ready. Google Picasa recognizes and places your pics quite accurately and most of all, AUTOomatically.

2:03 pm - Wednesday, January 5, 2011

#18 Ayman

hi guys,

Do you recommend this thing to me ?

The reviews are controversial , some say it’s 9/10, while others say it’s a piece of Junk.
And what other , same features, model do you recommend ?
My budget is 160 USD
No SLRs


Thank you very much

7:43 pm - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#19 Ayman

It’s obvious that LR are the same people of EZ, no matter what they say,

I just don’t understand why they get so bored with providing this service !

They get a lot of traffic to Exchangezone, If they put some ads their , they will cover the host fees, and get some $$.

EZ is a great service, but it will lose its reputition by this continuous falling

7:45 pm - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#20 Ayman

sorry , please admin delete my last comment

i’m Mobile
*_*

7:47 pm - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#21 Dave

My WB650 camera on light is on all the time but the camera will not load up, Can anyone help.

7:51 pm - Saturday, July 16, 2011

#22 Nick (Romania)

Salve, oameni buni !
Hi, everybody !

I am from Romania and I have a big problem with reviewv of WB650 or WB600 - no one says that this camera’s don’t have the posibilities to take photo in panorama. This is incredible and intolerable for Samsung because on the market is plenty of compact camera, much-much cheapier, but who offer Panorama Mode. Dont’t you think ???
On the other hand, I appreciate on WB 650/600 the Mode A-S-M, wich don’t exist on Sony DSC-HX 5v or 7v. I want to buy one compact camera with good burst mode, panorama, A-S-M and an onorable zoom, maximum 300 euro and I am in a very big problem because I don’t know wich is better. Anyone can help me ?...

3:55 pm - Sunday, August 14, 2011

#23 Nela

Molim vas da mi kazete da li ova kamera ima funkciju podesavanja da uslikam sama sebe
Unapred hvala

11:16 am - Sunday, October 16, 2011

#24 Ramy

Dears
am a little bit confused to buy Samsung WB650 or Canon IXUS 115 HS please help me which is better.

12:31 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#25 Ramy

Dears
which is better Samsung WB650 or Canon IXUS 115 HS.
Please help me

12:33 pm - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#26 Samuel Murray

“The full extent of the 15x optical zoom is accessible when shooting movies - since that is one of the camera’s key selling points, it would have been a travesty if it hadn’t.”

—Not entirely true.  When the zoom is at maximum, and you’re taking a video, the camera has trouble focusing.  In fact, anything over half of its maximum zoom can often make the camera unable to focus while shooting a video.

“To the right ... is a familiar bottle top style dial for the shooting modes. ... the user can’t accidentally slip from one setting to the other.”

—Absolutely not true.  When I put the camera in my trouser pocket and take it out again, the dial has often shifted to something else.  Even if I put the camera in my bag (not a tight pocket), the dial moves to some other setting while bumping against other objects.

9:00 pm - Saturday, August 10, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 12 megapixel, hdmi, manual, travel-zoom, travel, 24mm, GPS, AMOLED, 15x, 15x zoom, geotag, WB650, Samsung HZ35W Review, Samsung WB650 Review, HZ35W