Samsung WB850F Review

4.0
August 16, 2012 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

23 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dion

Image quality like oil painting. even at base iso!
on paper, the spec look impressive. but overall performance not so good.

3:12 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#2 Maesstro

Another Just Enough camera. Sad.

3:25 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#3 jose kerginaldo de paula

I think Samsung has a great future ahead, in the sector of photography. As is now the number one mobile phone, outpacing the iPhone (with the Samsung Galaxy S3). I want it to be on the podium along with Canon, Nikon, Fuji and others.I believe money is not the problem.

5:50 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#4 JS

Not bad at all! Better than Nikon compacts!

7:49 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#5 Maesstro

True. But not better than Panasonic, Sony and Canon p&s.

8:53 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#6 FB

IQ not great but not as bad as some I’ve seen - just wondering what the last camera was that PB gave less than 3 stars to for IQ? It seems to me that the range is being restricted to 3 to 5 stars by the reviewers which is too narrow.

1:35 pm - Monday, August 20, 2012

#7 John Foggitt

I bought mine 4 days ago and have not had the chance to fully evaluate picture quality although I can’t say I’ve found any serious flaws in that area. The feature that most impresses me and will be an absolute must for wildlife photographers is the remote control available on any smartphone, iPod touch, iPad, etc. and this includes a remote viewfinder. Yes, you can see what the camera’s looking at, adjust the zoom and various other parameters and take photos while some distance from the camera if you have a smartphone or similar. This also has benefit when the camera screen is in bright sunlight making it difficult to see (although the AMOLED screen should be much better than LCD in this regard) as you can hold your smartphone such that the sun doesn’t impair image viewing and see what the camera sees. Another feature not mentioned is slow motion video; you can record at 240 or 480 frames per second and play back at 30. A gimmick or a useful research tool? It’s up to you to decide. As for styling, I give it 100%. It’s plain and simple and gives no idea of what’s inside which means it’s unlikely to attract muggers or others of evil intent. So if you want a pose accessory, forget it. My one complaint so far is that the panorama seems to be limited in resolution which means a true high resolution panorama involves taking several separate stills and stitching them together on a computer.

7:07 pm - Sunday, September 16, 2012

#8 David76

bought this to replace our old panasonic tz6, and i’m happy with my decision.

their is a definite improvement on the image quality

the only moan about this camera is that when sharing photos by email, picasa the image is compressed to ~500KB

12:54 pm - Monday, October 15, 2012

#9 kmstxb

The photos are great, but they never upload to my computer correctly. Several pictures don’t show up at all and several have a gray box covering all or part of the photo. This is extremely frustrating as these are wedding and honeymoon photos that I cannot get back. Not happy with it.

7:12 pm - Sunday, November 18, 2012

#10 Al Burt

It is well nigh impossible to compare image quality produced by different cameras with a random collection of “Sample Images”. Why not put together a set of reference subjects (indoors, outdoors, flash, night time,...) and settings (f stop, shutter speed,...) for ALL cameras?

3:38 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#11 John Foggitt

Further to my previous comment, I returned the camera because of its very slow operation. e.g. after taking a photo, it seemed that I couldn’t do anything until the image had been written to the memory card which took a couple of seconds. Also there were many occasions when the shutter button didn’t do anything. I used the camera while travelling, taking photos from a moving car, which meant I missed many photos I could have taken with a faster camera. The zoom range is excellent as is the AMOLED screen which is visible even in bright California sunshine. I was also very impressed with the remote viewfinder as mentioned in my previous comment. Picture quality was noticeably inferior to that the of my Canon SX1 despite the Samsung being of higher resolution. Using a 32GB memory card, I deleted some of the photos with which I was unhappy but later when I switched the camera on to view recent photos, the first picture was the latest but clicking the “previous” button took me over 1000 photos back. Pressing the “forward” button did not return me to the latest photo but to the one following the previous one. I couldn’t find any way of viewing recent photos other than the last one which didn’t take a significant time and effort. My verdict is that if your interest does not need a fast camera, i.e. not taking action shots, the WB850F has enough seriously good points to be worth considering but I would avoid deleting photos in the camera to avoid the weird behaviour during playback. A final note: My comments relate to the particular camera/memory card I bought. I cannot say that all WB850Fs have the same problems. I would also like to mention that all previous Samsung products I have used have been excellent.

9:50 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#12 DONTANTEDDY

HAD THE CAMERA TWO MONTHS NOW. . I JUST CANNOT FAULT IT..

9:40 pm - Saturday, January 12, 2013

#13 milesafbrunskill

Bought it a few weeks ago,has it’s faults but good points as well. Slow to download pics,focus gets confused sometimes,good points easy to use,great zoom 21x, wiFi,GPS,AMOLED. 4 OUT OF 5?

3:22 am - Friday, April 19, 2013

#14 miles

perhaps the photography geeks don’t like smart cameras?

8:13 am - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#15 Mike

I battle to use flash to my liking. Even when you pop open the flash doesn’t mean it will flash to your choice. I must say very strange feature.

4:12 am - Wednesday, July 24, 2013

#16 miles

yes,  got the same problem, my canon has a pop
up flash,  and why isn’t there a touch screen as all other WB cameras have it.  But it takes great pics,  love the music on the slide show especially the Canon in D.  A very good compact.

8:57 am - Friday, August 9, 2013

#17 miles

got the new fujix20,  but I really don’t know it works, the wb850f takes great pics, a great camera for those who aren’t photo geeks

11:28 am - Saturday, August 10, 2013

#18 Nut Magnet

Purchased this camera to replace a Canon IXUS 1000HS and so far it’s giving great results over the Canon. One thing which is very noticeable is the HD video…. The Canon IXUS 1000HS would drift in and out of focus and was totally unreliable for taking any video. The Samsung WB850F is just a delight to switch on and not have that fear of taking any movie shots and missing great videos of those important times.

8:02 am - Tuesday, November 12, 2013

#19 Jo-Anna

I bought this camera for christmas.  We went to disneyland and I found that the cameras battery decided to die just as I really needed it the most.  Replacement battery way to expensive.  Then took the camera to The Dominican Republic where it did not seem to like humidity.  It decided to not work properly on more that one occasion.  The LCD screen went into some sort of freakout and would not show the pictures I was taking and then most of the pictures would not save to the memory card unless I removed the battery and then put it back in and restart it.  Then the camera worked well for me while I was around my home town taking pictures but then we decided to go to Vegas and on the day we went to The Pawn stars pawn shop the camera again would not save the pictures I was taking.  Also when I wanted to look back at the pictures I was taking it would go back to pictures I had taken 6 months prior to the newest ones.  Also I could not get the camera to take a simple picture of standing at night under the Vegas sign.  It took a great picture of the sign and then we were all black under it.  I thought I just didn’t pick the right setting but my sisters camera on the same basik setting took a wonderful picture.  I have not been very happy with this camera at all . I am just really happy I bought the extended warranty and I am able to get a whole new camera.

9:29 pm - Monday, February 10, 2014

#20 Jo-Anna

Also forgot that in the beginning I was able to put my pictures on to facebook straight from the camera which is one of the features and I though that was a wonderful feature however it just stopped downloading altogether and I was not able to put any picture on line.  Sadly looking for a new camera now.

9:31 pm - Monday, February 10, 2014

#21 Bobhardy

I have had and still have a problem with the lens cover.  Not functioning properly.  When I sent it to a camera shop they said it would have to be sent off to the lens maker and could cost around £100.  To repair   What should I do.  Scrap it and get another make with similar features as my wf850f ?

1:43 pm - Thursday, May 8, 2014

#22 mohamed

Couple weeks ago i used wb850f to shoot japanese mob called yakuza. One of them named kozimo said ” please dont take my picture, but…if you’re a contributor for micro or macro-stock and need some amazing photographs to sell…you can shoot our tattoos”. And…finally i took pictures of their tattoos and uploaded them to micro n macro stock and they’ve been downloaded 476x. Thanx Mr.kozimo

8:42 am - Friday, May 23, 2014

#23 Nut Magnet

Battery issues.. Update your cameras firmware.

I had really bad issues with battery life, I’d charge the camera for a days outing and when I got to where I was spending the day the camera would be dead. The firmware updates are available on the Samsung website. Fairly easy to do with good instructions.

My camera now works just great and no issues with battery life and I now know it will work when I need it.

12:33 pm - Thursday, June 5, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, hdmi, wi-fi, wireless, manual, travel-zoom, travel, 10fps, travel zoom, GPS, wi fi, CMOS, bsi, AMOLED, 21x zoom, 23mm, 21x, 16.2 megapixel, compass, Samsung WB850 Review, WB850

Tracker Pixel for Entry