Samyang 35mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC Review

4.5
November 26, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

Excellent lens,too big and heavy for me…

8:17 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#2 Mike G

Main rivals should include the Zeiss Distagon 35/1.4, the Canon 35L and omit zoom lenses.

9:50 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#3 Ben

Guys I love your reviews, but is there any chance you could add some more bokeh examples that aren’t so cropped! Just to save me from mooching through the sample photos.
Dont know if I am the only one but cant stand them…...sorry…........

As for the lens, I really like Samyang, but just have never got into manual focusing. tried it, but it just wasn’t for me,

10:46 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#4 Teus Renes

How can you “not” mention the new sigma 35 f/1.4 as a main rival? Because that will fit nicely between the choice between the samyang and the canikon versions whilst providing autofocus.

1:02 am - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#5 Jure

The lack of auto-focusing is no tragerdy for Pentax & Samsung owners. When I use Samyang i leave the AF/MF camera-swich on AF (!! no mistake !!). Camera do not allow shooting if focus is not perfect.  Then I hold (permanently by taking a photo) the trigger and turn the focus ring. When the focus is right, camera automaticly takes a photo - one or more photos. So ... there is no mistakes. If you want to take photos out of focus just turn AF/MF camera swich on MF.

The internet is full of bokeh photos made with this lens - f.ex.: Flickr

7:32 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#6 rob

The review refers to the 35mm lens as “ultra wide-angle” a couple of times. That is an obvious mistake. 35mm is a “moderate wide-angle” - even with full-frame bodies. Used with so-called “crop-format” cameras, that lens is more like a standard angle.

1:18 am - Friday, November 30, 2012

#7 Alex

This is one of the very few lenses that easily fill up a cropped sensor full resolution. That’s a very important point, and even more - NONE of the “big brand” lenses actually do it. I’ve tried some Canon and Sigma 35mm equivalents and all of them are left behind in terms of resolution on APS-C sensors! This is a very important point for product, nature and landscape shooters!

11:58 am - Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Entry Tags

wide-angle, lens, wide angle, prime, landscape, 35mm, f1.4, photojournalist, architecture, journalism, journalists, wide, samyang, manual focus, mf, 35 mm, Samyang 35mm f1.4 ED AS UMC Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry