Sigma DP1s Review

3.5
February 19, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

16 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Antony Shepherd

I have to admit that the only reason I’ve hung on to my DP1 is that while it has its problems, I really love the unique image quality from that Foveon sensor.

1:19 pm - Friday, February 19, 2010

#2 Ole

here in Germany the DP1s was sold out for 180 Euro at ebay. It was an ebay promoted deal of the weak. That’s a price ;-)

3:33 pm - Friday, February 19, 2010

#3 Ole

I mean deal of the “week” ;-)

3:34 pm - Friday, February 19, 2010

#4 Ole

I don’t know if links are allowed at this page. I have looked at ebay and they have the offer again. You can go at ebay.de and search for sigma dp1s. They were sold for 180 Euro (240$) i don’t know if they send it outside germany, but it’s a groundbreaking price.

3:39 pm - Friday, February 19, 2010

#5 fashion bug coupon codes

It is a niche camera. People who use it and develop the patience and skill required to use it well get really terrific photos out of it. Everyone else should probably look at something else.

1:49 pm - Saturday, February 20, 2010

#6 Roger

I would get interested if Sigma would produce a version with a 25-120 zoom 2.0-2.8 lens @ $399 or less, and improve on the ease of use.

6:05 pm - Saturday, February 27, 2010

#7 seo services

Get the DP1s if you are looking at it as a new camera. If you have a DP1, don’t feel badly, these updates are useful but not huge. It appears that the DP1s will be the DP1 replacement, so there might be a good price on a DP1 at some point soon…

8:04 am - Friday, March 5, 2010

#8 MarK

http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/sigma_dp1s/sample_images/sigma_dp1s_01.avi

404 - Not Found

Fix this.

2:46 pm - Wednesday, March 24, 2010

#9 Mike

Saved by the FOVEON X3. I sell cameras and always have lots of time to play around with them so first off I’d have to say I agree 100% with your test. If I wanted a small camera to carry everywhere for those moments when the light and the landscape are just right, I’d buy one. If you only shoot some landscape, seascape or townscape shots and if you have a limited budget I’d buy one of these while acepting it’s short commings.

10:07 am - Friday, April 9, 2010

#10 Peter

The fantastic DP1s is now sold at 180 Euros in Germany ($ 220,-)! Get it now!

11:34 am - Saturday, June 19, 2010

#11 Jean Valjean

I have both the Sigma DP1S and the Canon s95. I have spent a whole week-end taking identical shots with the two cameras (same place, iso, speed, focal opening). I was amazed to see that the image quality is nearly the same. 90% of the time, the image quality of the S95 is better. I am really surprized, given that the sensor size of the DP1S is much bigger. Also, accuracy of distance focussing is a real problem with the DP1s. In fact, I am now selling the DP1S and keeping the S95.

6:09 pm - Friday, October 29, 2010

#12 Jean Valjean

I mean :
I was amazed to see that the image quality is nearly the same. 90% of the time, the image quality of the S95 is A LITTLE better.

6:11 pm - Friday, October 29, 2010

#13 Boomer

Having compared 100’s of photos of different cameras I can only conclude that the Sigma DP series is on a par with Canon EOS or Leica.

Compare here:http://www.flickr.com/cameras/brands/

11:34 pm - Monday, November 29, 2010

#14 Peter

To get the most out of the DP1s you need to shoot RAW. JPEG looks like garbage when compared to RAW. Even if you just process all the raw shots using the ‘auto’ setting, they will still look amazing.

When I first started using the dp1s I shot jpeg, and thought “nothing special”, and wondered what all the fuss was about. When I started shooting raw, I was amazed. It was like night and day. Not only was the image sharper, with more detail, but the dynamic range was where most of the improvement was.

I’m yet to find a compact camera with better IQ than the DP1s. Sure it’s slow, clunky, out dated, and not very versatile. But when it comes down to it, image quality will always come first, and this is where the DP1s stands above the rest.

I’ve tested and owned dozens of cameras. If you want the best image quality from a camera that can still fit in your pocket, the dp1s is your only choice. 

In my opinion:

PROS:
1.Image Detail/Sharpness
2.Image Dynamic Range
3.LOTS of room for tweaking using Sigma Photo Pro
4.Size

CONS:
1.Slow focusing
2.Poor movie mode (it’s hard to go back from having HD on my LX3)
3.VERY POOR JPEG
4.Low Resolution LCD
5.Build quality/design does not feel premium
6.Poor in camera white balance

8:54 pm - Monday, December 27, 2010

#15 Marius

#### you, what do you know about photography?

12:26 pm - Wednesday, February 9, 2011

#16 Marius

And your site is rubbish, look I say #### you and it doesn’t display it so I have to write F U C K you!

12:27 pm - Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Entry Tags

wide-angle, 14 megapixel, RAW, 28mm, prime, sigma, 2.5 inch LCD, Foveon, dp2, dp1, dp1s, Sigma DP1s Review, dp 1s

Tracker Pixel for Entry