Sony A33 Review

4.5
December 6, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

20 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Arthur

What is the most recommended tele photo lens for this camera?

2:03 am - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#2 Alexandre

It of course depends on what you want (fast? versatile range?), Sony 70-200/300/400 are all really good but the Sony 70-300 SSM -that I use with the A55 and A850- is to me the most obvious option (high optical quality and very fast autofocus) according to the size and price tag of this camera.The two others might be a tad better optically but much more expansive and frankly too big for the A33/55.
You might also take a look at the new Tamron 70-300 which got some really good reviews.

8:01 pm - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#3 Arthur

Thanks Alexandre

8:08 pm - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#4 Lynx

The new Tamron 18-270 might fit this camera very nicely in its Sony version.

11:30 am - Friday, December 10, 2010

#5 Sala

as Sigma announced that, their A-mount lenses have problems with Sony A33 (aperture control),can you please recommend some lenses for it,,specially prime lenses

2:02 pm - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#6 Tushar Gohil

When this camera will be available in INDIA I want to purchase it. From where I can get this camera in INDIA.

9:13 am - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#7 TKooijmans

I like to mention that 1080i for video isn’t true.
I have bougth this camera and all videomodes are
progresive, so even with the highest videoquality of full HD 1080i25 the result is progresive! not
true interlaced.
1080P25 instead of 1080i25!
So smooth pan and tilts as done with a true HD1080i25 videocamera can not be done with the A33.
This not conform as mentioned in the specs
by Sony!

9:19 pm - Thursday, January 6, 2011

#8 ExRNsnapper

There has been a lot in the press about this camera and it’s bigger brother the A55. This is a pity because it has over-shadowed the launch at the same time of the A580 the best DSLR non professionl camera that Sony have ever launched by a country mile. Selling for around £600 in the UK with a CMOS sensor, 16.2 m/pxls and more features than I thought existed(you’ll have to read the review)I don’t think there is anything on the market to touch it at it’s price. Better still if you can put up with “only” 14.2 m/pxls the A360 will be launched in the U.K. in March for the same price differential as between the A55 & A33, that is about £100+, which will make it
I would guess about £490 with kit lense.

1:31 am - Tuesday, February 15, 2011

#9 Johanne

I have an A-33 and it overheat after only 30 mins of pictures. Not good for weddings and more.

7:40 pm - Tuesday, August 30, 2011

#10 MedsRx

I have had the A33 since Sept of 2011 and done some extensive photo and video shoots with it. I have never had an overheat problem and have achieved some phenomenal results. ISO past 1600 does display some noise but its hardly an issue for most uses. . .even uses that border on professional (which I have used it for). All things considered I am glad to have joined the Sony family and I feel great things are ahead. The a77 is on my radar. BTW turn off stabilization if you plan to do extended work without overheat issues.
Blessing.

9:51 am - Saturday, January 28, 2012

#11 Marina

I have had the A33 for a little over a year now. Its by far an amazing camera. Ive used it for weddings, photo shoots of all kinds, and just regular use. Its clear and just amazing. Over heating has only once been a problem. It was really hot out. Battery charging does take a long time, but other than that, its great. I highly recommend giving Sony a try. Totally worth it. :)

1:03 am - Tuesday, February 7, 2012

#12 Cindy Jones

I have the a33 and overheating has been a real problem for me. Mostly it has occurred outside. Yesterday was using it inside to photograph a cheer-leading exhibition and it overheated.Had not been using it 20 minutes. It really causes some frustration. I am unable to use mine when this happens.
Wish there was a fix for the problem.

9:00 pm - Saturday, June 16, 2012

#13 Cindy Jones

I have the a33 and have had numerous problems with overheating.Most of the time it has been while outside shooting sporting events. Yesterday it happened inside while shooting a cheer-leading exhibition. It is very frustrating! I have been unable to take pictures because of this problem. Wish there was a fix for the problem.
Other than that I really like the camera.

9:06 pm - Saturday, June 16, 2012

#14 Angelica

I have the A33 and I too have had a few issues with it overheating. I love my Camera and would love to see what moments I could capture but I am interested in the ones stating they use the A33 for Weddings, What lens are you shooting with? What lens would be best in Soccer Game?

10:59 pm - Wednesday, September 12, 2012

#15 Angelica

A33? Soccer? Lens?

11:01 pm - Wednesday, September 12, 2012

#16 Cindy Jones

I have two different lens that I use. I have the Tamron 70-200 f2.8 that I use for baseball and love it. Also I have a Sony 55-200 that I have used for football games. With the Tamron depending on what time of day I use a ND filters. I really like both. I shoot in manual with a fast shutter.

3:25 pm - Thursday, September 13, 2012

#17 Cindy Jones

Sorry the Tamron is 70- 300. I hit the wrong button.

3:26 pm - Thursday, September 13, 2012

#18 angelica

Thank you for this information Cindy.

1:44 am - Friday, September 14, 2012

#19 angelica

Thank you Cindy.

2:15 am - Friday, September 14, 2012

#20 SANTOS Henri

Je ne comprend pas pourquoi lorsque je suis allé au Carnaval de Venise, il me fallait plus de 2 batteries par jour, c’est effarant!

1:27 pm - Friday, April 4, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, hdmi, sony, 14 megapixel, DSLR, tilting, 1080i, alpha, 7fps, slt, a33, Sony A33, slt-a33

Tracker Pixel for Entry