Sony A35 Review

4.5
August 31, 2011 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

30 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Tom

Of course you can mass convert from RAW to JPG! In IDC save RAW adjustments in XML file(s). That file(s) can be applied to collections in PMB. Both tools are part of software suite that comes with every Alpha.

2:49 pm - Wednesday, August 31, 2011

#2 Low Budget Dave

The review makes it sound like this is a low budget camera.  At $700, it is hardly the cheapest camera on the market with these specs.  It has a lot of pixels, but it seems to me that you need a really good lens to take advantage of anything more than about 12MP. 

Sony makes great electronics, but it is time for their glass to catch up with the microchips.

5:05 pm - Wednesday, August 31, 2011

#3 Good Camera

Sony A35 This make cool picture

5:22 am - Thursday, September 1, 2011

#4 mattgrayson

I see what your saying Tom, but isn’t that a bit of a long way round. My point was - and maybe I should’ve made this clearer - was that there’s no batch process straight to JPEG or TIFF. THis is an entry level model and I’m not confident that people buying the camera will understand or want to convert to xml first…

7:19 am - Saturday, September 3, 2011

#5 JesperMP

“The mirror has to be kept as clean as possible as well because unlike a DSLR, any dust on the mirror will affect the end result.”
No no no.

Dust on the sensor is a serious problem because it is in the focal plane.
Dust on the mirror has the same effect as dust on the rear-most element of the lens. In other words, it is not a big deal.

Dust on the sensor that cannot be removed by the automatic dust-removal must be painstakingly removed with the correct tools.
Dust on the mirror just have to be kept at acceptable levels. Just use a soft air blower.

11:11 am - Saturday, September 3, 2011

#6 mattgrayson

So what you’re saying is it has to be kept as clean as possible? ;O)
It can be a big deal, in the past I’ve had dust on a rear element and had blurry spots on the image. It depends on how much is there. I tried to remain slightly ambiguous about it but I was mainly highlighting that anyone that’s used to a DSLR may forget that the mirror doesn’t move and forget to take care of it. :O)

1:26 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#7 Photo-David

Thanks for the review Matt.
The colours of the sample photos do not look correct to me, they have a brown cast to them. Is there a colour profile embedded into the samples? My web browser and screen are set up properly and other samples from other cameras on this site look OK. I find it odd that these look so dull and off on my screen considering that the review says that colours are punchy.

8:08 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#8 Lynx

The only thing I dislike about this camera is its size. It’s too small!!!! I tried the camera the other day and I was holding the grip with two fingers! All other dslrs are bigger, including the D3100 and the Eos 1100d. For the price it has some people might rather go for the Pentax KR, or even the D3100. The KR is just as fast, and the d3100 has the same video quality(but bigger files).

What can I say, I like them all.

12:02 am - Saturday, September 10, 2011

#9 Jeremy

I am looking to upgrade to a DSLR.  What versatile zoom lens would you recommend to pair with this camera if you could only afford 1 lens to pair with it?

9:54 pm - Tuesday, September 20, 2011

#10 Geren W. Mortensen, Jr.

You comment in the otherwise excellent review that there is no eye-start of the autofocus. The A35 can indeed do that, but the feature needs to be turned on. See page 40 of the manual.

3:47 pm - Tuesday, October 18, 2011

#11 G.Man

I’m looking at buying this camera to replace an old Minolta maxxum 5. I got a couple of lenses and a flah that I would like to keep using. This is the main reason I’m looking at the Sony. Is it worth it or would it be better to get another one with new lenses and try to sell the old ones?

6:03 am - Saturday, November 12, 2011

#12 Peter Tilbury

Have just mail ordered this DSLR. I also have 2 AF lenses, Minolta 28-80mm and Sigma 70-300mm. What will the equivalent focal lengths be in digital terms?
Also, I have a Maxxum 3500xi flash. Will this work with the a35? If so, will some flash program features be unavailable?
Thanks, Peter.

11:04 pm - Friday, November 18, 2011

#13 Barry

I have a 3500xi and there are problems with the Alphas. It does fit the shoe but the newer flashes work differently - something to do with flash pre-signalling. So I use a diffuser and bounce it, and manipulate the exposure (good thing it is Digital!). So don’t toss it but experiment. All the Minolta lenses are good, though. I even got an adapter to use the MC and MD lenses.

5:11 am - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#14 seamus

please someone advise me should i buy a35 had minolta film and have 35 105 lens old type dont want to part with it as still like new but not to sure about evf but with my indecision all entry levels of sony with optical viewfinder have gone jessops had a390 for 329 18 70 lens i am losing plot someone help me please losing the will to live lol any advice would be greatly appreciated

12:31 am - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#15 seamus

should i buy a35 had minolta film for 25 years scared i would miss optical viewfinder have got minolta 35 105 lens that i do not want to part with not many sonys with optical viewfinder left at competive price left thanks seamus

12:42 am - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#16 Peter

Seamus,
A35 has an optical view finder, if you mean a view finder that you put your eye to. In fact, you can set the camera through the software so that it automatically switches from the view screen to the optical view finder as you put your eye up to it. Brilliant!
The 35 - 105 Minolta lens should work with the A35 if it is an AF lens.

1:34 am - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#17 seamus

thanks peter but i know it has viewfinder but it is an evf some say not near as good as optical one but seems to be way sony is going with there mid range slrs think will just have to bite the bullet and buy a35

5:08 pm - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#18 Peter

Seamus,
EVF? Electronic View Finder?
Please explain how this is different from an optical viewfinder, for the digitally challenged like me?

11:31 pm - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#19 seamus

peter the evf is the same as the image you see on lcd whereas the optical viewfinder is what the lens sees it is clearer as what you see is same as looking at image with naked eye the evf relays image same as looking at tv most old school are still not convinced by the way have you bought a 35 maybe if you have you might e mail me thanks .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

10:12 pm - Sunday, December 4, 2011

#20 G.Man

Hi there. So the question is, a combo (body and basic lense) of this camera is only $70 to $100 more than just buying the body. Is it worth to keep the old AF Minolta lenses (28-80 and 75-300) and get just the body, or is it better to try to sell them (for peanuts, I know) and get the best camera combo in this price range?

1:22 pm - Monday, December 5, 2011

#21 seamus

thanks g man for your comments only thing my old lens 35 105 with macro gets very positive feedback from sites on google have had it 24 years jessops have offer on a 35 twin lens kit 18 55 55 200 at 500gpb not sure what that is in dollars

9:48 pm - Monday, December 5, 2011

#22 Barry

I wanted a 33 or 35 without a body but they don’t come that way in Canada. I have a 18-70 from my A300 so thought I didn’t need it, but apparently the new 18-55 is much better anyway. Hard for me to see the difference. I have a 28-80 from my film Stsi which is comparable, and an Xi 80-200 which is probably better. The Minoltas are certainly better than the cheap Sony kit lenses, but they are all all pretty good.

10:48 pm - Tuesday, December 6, 2011

#23 seamus

thanks to all for your comments have took the plunge and bought a35 getting delivered 10 12 2011 so will keep yous posted on how i get on by the way also getting 18 55 kit lens

1:02 am - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#24 Adam Walters

Ive upgraded from an olympus e410 to the sony a35 twin lens kit from jessops,

Pros;
the a35 blows the olympus out of the water, it is great for low light shooting, has an extended amount of presets such as sunset which really brings out some nice colours. Manual is easy and simple to use and the 7 frames a second setting is amazing you really wont miss a moment. Primary colour isolation is amazing so you can just show red and make everything else black and white, really great due to being able to film with it as well. Auto+ setting allows for the camera to automatically chose a preset to best suit the shot which works really well. Has a HDR setting which brings out best images from lightest and darkest shutter speeds which can then be stitched together for best image results.Film quality very good and unlike the a65 it doesn’t overheat. The TLR technology is great as you can see how over or under exposed an image is through the viewfinder, aswell as histograms and many focus points i think its around 15. Also the panoramic works well just takes a bit of getting used to but a nice function.

Cons;
There are a few down sides such as it is a small, light camera but this doesn’t bother me considering the features it contains makes it worth it. The telephoto zoom is sometimes a bit slow and you may miss a few shots with this. Bad lens range with sony but im not rich so wont be buying any of cannon or nikons £10,000 pound lenses any time soon so is fine for me. Only other downside is battery life not brilliant but what slr or tlr are these days and for only a 5er for a new battery on ebay i cant complain.

Overall would beyond recommend and would give it 10/10 for the price but if you are going to buy get it from jessops due to the twin lens deal well worth the money.
Here is my flickr if you want some example images;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/36519958@N03/

4:38 pm - Friday, February 3, 2012

#25 Chris

I bought my A35 for getting race photo’s of our team.I have taking photo’s in all sorts of different conditions as far as light,dust etc.I’ve taking some great photo’s.

2:28 am - Sunday, June 24, 2012

#26 Freddie

I love the camera and I am very new to it. It is very easy to use the one issue i have is taking night pictures. Most of the pictures i take at night come out blurred, i hope someone can help. thanks,.

4:14 pm - Thursday, August 23, 2012

#27 seamus

freddie when you say you take pictures at night you dont say if they are inside or out if hand held you would have to increase shutter speed and bump up your iso have you tried twilight settings have a35 myself i usually frame in viewfinder thst usually gives you good idea how well you are focussed overall think excellent camera for money like it for its compactness use canon for my work bit of beast in comparison see the future in a35 type cameras so hope your imagages get better

11:17 pm - Thursday, August 23, 2012

#28 Freddie

Your right sorry about that. The pictures usually are out doors at night.I have tried twighlight setting but they seem to still come out blurred. I love the camera otherwise and one of the major reasons why i choice it was because of the viewfinder, the other sony camera like the nex-5n didnt have it. which setting would you suggest for night pics? i also got the sal 55-200 lens which is great. Overall i love it this canera, pics comeout amazing. i uusually use no flash.

4:55 pm - Friday, August 24, 2012

#29 ray

I bought a battery grip for my a35 and it feels a lot better and looks great.

1:17 am - Monday, December 17, 2012

#30 ikball

hello i am sorry to say i have no available money

5:58 am - Thursday, September 19, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 16 megapixel, hdmi, sony, DSLR, 1080i, tilting, alpha, slt, 5.5fps, a35, Sony A35, slt-a35

Tracker Pixel for Entry