Sony A500 Review

4.5
February 15, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

15 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 complete link building

I have had my a500 for a few months and am very happy with my purchase. This is a great camera for someone wishing to switch from advanced point-and-shoot to full d-SLR. The menus are intuitive, and this camera is generally easy to use.

7:43 am - Tuesday, February 16, 2010

#2 Sky

“The second issue is also presumably a technical limitation of Sony’s Live View” - it’s not. Sensor is as suitable for video-recoding as Canikon sensors. In Manual Focus Check LV it works in exactly same way as Canon during video recoding, only it doesn’t save the data on memory card - yet it’s still there, a video stream, what you see on the screen.

Besides that - Sony is going to use this sensor in it’s “soon-to-be” ILC with video recoding, so… it’s not the sensor issue, it’s just that Sony finds this way of recoding a video not suitable for anything serious.

They promised as good video as in handycams, so there was not even slightest chance for that in A550.

11:32 am - Tuesday, February 16, 2010

#3 Konrad

Who can count, how many models of sony dslr was made within last 2 years?

5:39 pm - Wednesday, February 17, 2010

#4 peterk

Sounds interesting, but still not enough for upgrading from the A350. We’ll have to see what news will bring us not only the PMA, but also Photokina. I’m sure at Sony they have something hidden in the sleeve. Anyway, I think the best thing with the A500 (vs A350) is the usable high ISO, and (maybe) the HDR, while the lack of video capabilities doesn’t affect me at all.

7:24 pm - Wednesday, February 17, 2010

#5 tulicek

I strongly diasgree with the comment that the “‘Smart Teleconverter’ button” is uselss…. I am not sure what sort of photos the reviewer takes, but I can assure you that, if one is even just minimally interested in macro photography, the possibility to zoom in when manually focusing is very VERY welcome…  maybe, a bit more thinking before expressing hasty opinions about features would also be welcome…

11:02 pm - Thursday, February 18, 2010

#6 Dave

I’ve had an A500 since early December and having owned an A100, A200 and A300 have to say that it literally walks all over them, with the exception of the very biased and blinkered WDC every review I’ve seen praises the A500, which lets face it is miles better than an A380 which is just a few quid cheaper.   

Video mode ?, be honest how many D90 etc users actually shoot video, I’ve had video capable bridge and compact cameras for years and probably only shot less than 5 mins footage.  if you want to shoot video get a camcorder (bigger zoom better sound etc.etc.etc).

IQ wise I’d have to disagree with the review to some extent, you do have to tweak the settings slightly in order to get bright sharp images (much in the same way you had to with the Pentax K10d).

5fps or 4 fps in live view, which yes Nican fans is still “the best” live view system on the market, tiltable screen, 12mp sensor with great noise control, p.s to A350 owner; the A300 has better noise control than the A350 and yet never went above iso 800, I now regularly use iso 3200, wots not to like.

Downers: no MLU or dof preview, oh and as i found it fries (well strips the gearing) Sigma Lenses, my mint condition and looked after Sigma Apo DG lasted 2 weeks on my A500, which is why I no longer have a single Sigma lens.

12:36 pm - Friday, February 19, 2010

#7 rche

I have had the a500 a few months, and so far am very happy with it.  Does anyone know, however, if it is possible to save cropped images?  I have another small Sony camera, and this feature is great- zoom in from Playback, and save new image with high megapixels instead of losing them later.  Any advice is welcomed! 

Thanks.

11:50 am - Friday, March 19, 2010

#8 ?lubna

I think era of quality is ended and now is only marketing. Sony do this very well in my country.

10:23 pm - Thursday, March 25, 2010

#9 Matthew

This is my first DSLR, I have to say it is very easy to use, menus are great and all the feature buttons are easy to reach, I have had this camera for 3 weeks now and already creating some amazing pictures.

As with all SLR cameras I would recommend investing in a UV filter, Polorizing filter and tripod to begin with, this does help a lot and try to use the shutter/aperture setting rather than flash as this has created me some wounderful pictures in low light, I dare say better than the EOS 400d which I have borrowed in the past!

6:00 pm - Friday, October 15, 2010

#10 Ryan

I picked up the a500 after returning the a330 (due to the tiny grip). I am extremely happy with this camera. It takes good pictures and it is very comfortable to hold. I really debated on getting the a550 but after seeing them side by side, I really liked the look of the a500 better and frankly, while the a550’s lcd was sharp, the a500 really wasnt too bad. The LCD was bright and definetely a step up from the a330.

I had sonystyle price match B&H Photo for $539.99 for the A500 with the 18-55mm kit lens. I think for that price your getting a pretty good bang for your buck considering the basic nikon d3000 and canon rebel xs are around $500.

5:40 pm - Tuesday, October 26, 2010

#11 Rich

When investing in a DSLR, I looked for one that captured great images. I agree with Dave (#6); I would rather spend more on the imaging side of things, rather than have some of my cash be spent on what is, to me at any rate, a totally redundant video feature. My previous compact camera, which I have recently upgraded from, had video, but it was nothing more than a gimmick to me. It was used for less than 5 minutes in the three years I had it.

9:40 am - Saturday, January 22, 2011

#12 phyll

I just bought this a500 with theGSeries 300mm lens I have to say I am happy with the results.  My only fault with this camera is the very noisy shutter release.  My a100 isn’t this noisy.

4:04 pm - Saturday, February 5, 2011

#13 Ndodana Maposa

Can I change settings to remove the color mode and take photos in black and white using the A500? How do I do that?

10:41 pm - Saturday, July 14, 2012

#14 jhon

how to see shutter count a500

8:31 pm - Monday, October 22, 2012

#15 Randy Haugen

I have found this to be a great camera,lots of Fine lenses in Ebay that have the A mount,I bought a 50mm for 40 bucks that will beat about anything Canon has except the L series.Very underrated try one you will love it..No video who cares.

4:23 pm - Thursday, August 29, 2013

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, 12 megapixel, DSLR, tilting, alpha, CMOS, HDR, Sony, Live View, Sony A500, alpha a500, DSLRA500

Tracker Pixel for Entry