Sony A580 Review

4.5
January 18, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

28 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Derek

well, it is a great cam but I found the EVF of the A55v more usable than any of traditional OVF in APS-C camera such as this one.

and I believe the death of the OVF is coming soon.

try to free yourself from the small tinny tunnel view of the OVF with the fast LV AF of the A55V , you will see some really different world.

once you start shooting with the A55V , it is hard for you to go back to old traditional boring camera like this one or the D7000.

I really want Sony to release a A99v soon.

have a good one and a great review as usual.

9:02 am - Wednesday, January 19, 2011

#2 mazen

the pictures look less sharpened and blurry
may be out of focus or captured via shaky hands

3:51 am - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#3 H

i own this camera and it is my 2nd camera after my sony a300 which i owned for 2 years, the pics are awesome from it, the sensor is a great improvement but what I really hate in it is the coverage provided in OVF and LV, its 95%...i really hate this…video mode could had been better but on the whole this camera is good.

10:22 am - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#4 uly

great review and great camera

8:08 pm - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#5 eusony

“High Dynamic Range Optimiser (HDR) is Sony’s solution for capturing more contrast than a single exposure can handle by combining two exposures into one image. There are 6 different EV settings and an Auto option.”

Well, it seems you just copied A550 review, I think it’s 3 exposures with A580, 2 with A550.

8:22 pm - Friday, January 21, 2011

#6 Snapper

This is the first time I have visited your site and I think it is amazing! I have never seen such an in depth review of a camera in my life! I won’t bother with magazines anymore when your website gives such a thorough insight into a camera as this. I could almost feel & smell the camera. With regard to the A580, I don’t see how anyone would want any more from a camera than this.

3:22 am - Sunday, February 13, 2011

#7 Dale Fiorillo

Right on Snapper. I traded in my A350 w/kit lens for an A580 body as I had bought the Sony 16-105.
I bought Gary Friedmans $130 book, and 2 memorystick
hg pro hx 16Gb, and I still have not received the camera!! This is one awesome site, right up there with Alphamountworld. Dale.

10:30 pm - Sunday, February 20, 2011

#8 Jefferson Lotspeich

Waiting for my a580 to arrive (in 2 days! blast the weekend), but I’ve spent time with it and the a55 in testing. The a55 has a horrible battery life compared to the a580 (less than half as long, depending on use), thanks to that EVF that some of the readers are so jazzed about. What good is 10fps when your battery is dead, and you’re stuck in a tree trying to snap bird photos? As far as features go, I felt the a580 had a more professional array, though they are very similar. I would have liked to see the GPS stamping in the a580 as well, since I spend a lot of time shooting out and about.

Thanks for the review, and the a580 combines 3 images for its DRO. 1 auto, 1 overexposed, 1 underexposed.

9:10 am - Saturday, March 12, 2011

#9 nkalu

Thanks for this in-depth review of the a580. I was having difficulties deciding whether to buy the Sony a580 or a55, or the Nikon D5100, or the Canon Rebel T3i, but I had very little information about the a580 until now.
You site is great as well as your incite on cameras.

2:06 am - Friday, May 20, 2011

#10 Ramesh Mohan

Thank you for the in-depth review. First off, I was about to get the A55v after reading tons of reviews and tryouts in the camera shop. But one of my professional photographer friend wanted me to try this one out, the A580. Man! i could immediately bring out the difference. The A55v is still a great camera but it has 380 shots battery life time, on the other hand A580 has an incredible 1000+ shots. I am more of a photography guy, and i like to take pictures rather than camera. Moreover i think manual focus is what helps me improve my creativity and enthusiasm towards photography. Overall i would rate this camera over Canon 550D, 60D, 7D[because of the price] and Nikon 5100, 3100, D7000. I have personally operated on these machines and I would neutrally would wanna go for Sony a580. Its a masterpiece.. Good work Sony..

7:22 pm - Sunday, May 22, 2011

#11 Evan Donaldson

I just got my A580, and I am very impressed with thte quality and the value. The number of features, and the ease of use, make a non-pro enthusiast like me smile every time I pick it up. I can’t understand why Sony doesn’t have a bigger market share. Perhaps the 580 will go a long way towards fixing that!

5:54 am - Saturday, July 2, 2011

#12 H

I like this camera a lot, a great step-up from previous sony cameras no doubt but the reason sony has not got a big market share is because that compared to Nikon or Canon’s 160 lenses it has only got 96, the 96 its got some of them which are very important are very expensive compared to Nikon’s or Canon’s. The same goes for its other third-party accessories.

12:19 pm - Saturday, July 2, 2011

#13 Snapper

The reason that the Sony doesn’t sell more is the same reason that Pentax don’t sell more. The photographic press, in particular “What Digital Camera” which is where most potential buyers look first when trying to choose an SLR are totaly Canon/Nikon prejudiced. Any Canon or Nikon product gets a high rating as a matter of course and all other brands marked as “also rans”. Every month Canon and Nikon get many, many mentions, other brands comparitively few. This obviously boosts their sales which means all shops stock all their products and are reluctant to stock other brand DSLR’s. So it is a viscious circle.

11:29 pm - Sunday, July 3, 2011

#14 M Yee

Snapper, I agree with you. Granted canon and nikon make very good cameras, the other companies have closed the gap if not surpassed them in technology. Yet the magazines constantly push canon and nikon. Worse, I went to B&H to try the A580, A55, and NEX5 out and the salesman steered me towards Canon and Nikon without providing a valid reason. It’s this type of recommendation that keeps the other brands down in market share.

10:14 pm - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#15 fotojoe

i have been looking to upgrade my a300 which i have been very happy with,but i wanted more fps and was drawn toward the a55’s 10fps, but as has been previously mentioned battery life is terrible compared to a300 and a580, but the biggest drawback for me is the size of the a55’s body its tiny i could feel cramp coming on just holding it in the shop with a 50-500 sigma mounted on it,if sony had made it the same size as a580 i would have had serious problems choosing between the two but i am extremley pleased i went for the 580 and its 7fps although it doesnt autofocus as quick as a55 i am happy to use the a580 comfortable grip for a days shooting. nice site by the way :))

10:59 pm - Friday, July 22, 2011

#16 BillB

Great camera and if it could only take shots equal to my Canon EF with Kodachrome 25, then…. oh well!

4:52 pm - Saturday, November 12, 2011

#17 Bill Berit

Does anyone know which Lens Adaptor is best to use with the A580 to use my old Canon FD lens (small fortune tied up here)?

5:00 pm - Saturday, November 12, 2011

#18 dalefiorillo

Canon and Nikon are entrenched from many years of providing bodies and lenses that truly met stringent environmental requirements. Nikon even had the distinction of being the only camera allowed in weddings and courtrooms because of its quiet shutter. The advice I give beginners is to go to a pawnshop and buy the cheapest thing they have and shoot like crazy for a year without using auto-mode. In a year they should have the knowledge to make an educated purchase. If a friend asks me about a new camera I ask them to bring me a print-out of the specifications and we sit down and compare real world details. Prepare now, as the December onslaught is beginning!!

6:08 pm - Saturday, November 12, 2011

#19 Vivaz

I see only one disandvantage: AF illuminator - buil-in flash, but not infra red ray. I have had a290 with the same illuminator, it’s not very good deal.

9:32 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#20 Vivaz

I see only one disandvantage: AF illuminator - built-in flash. I have had a290 with the same illuminator, it’s not very great deal.

9:35 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#21 H

I just sold this on ebay went for half the price after owning it for 14 months

10:18 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#22 Vivaz

To H: Why?

6:06 pm - Wednesday, February 15, 2012

#23 Oleh

thanks for full review,
I have A580 & have to say this camera is for taking pictures, my previous A33 is for video - too much noise in iso 200 and higher !!!

6:30 am - Sunday, May 6, 2012

#24 Oldmn

great reviews,
this is the best camera with APS-C Sensor !!!

5:13 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#25 steve

I really like the A580, just as I’ve liked the F828, A100 and A900.  The pictures are very good and the images are near what I can get with the A900.  It’s a great backup, has builtin flash and video to if I want it.  I must however gotten one of the last ones manufactured as it was bought after it was removed from Sony’s website.  I have but one detraction:  my copy has a hair trigger and I just can’t seem to find the definite midpoint half way down.  I keep taking pictures before I’m ready.  None the less with the fast focus and all, they are nice, just not composed exactly the way I want.  Too bad the shutter button isn’t a little more definitive for me, or perhaps too bad I’m not a more sensitive guy.  I’m sure with gloves on I will never be able to use my copy well.

1:10 am - Thursday, July 12, 2012

#26 OutaFocus

I’ve had the a580 for 18 months now and still am fascinated by it’s features. For me, the OVF is the only way to go. I’ve owned

1:56 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#27 OutaFocus

Best all around camera I have ever owned. The image stabilization is simply fantastic. Panorama function is amazing. Availability of Zeiss lenses is a real advantage. The ability to use the older Minolta AF lenses is another plus.Too bad Sony decided to do away with OVF’s. I love the OVF! The optional battery/grip lets me shoot for weeks without recharging. The included Sony RAW processing software is really good.

2:09 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#28 Nik Watt

I was GIVEN as a replacement/upgrade, by Sony an A580.

Initially I thought this was great aftercare service (since Sony couldn’t identify the fault with a previous Sony).  I only ‘stuck’ with Sony because of the mount, as I have Konica Minolta lenses.

It’s the worst idea I’ve ever had - not least because a repair costing at least £140 to try to fix the fault on the screen isn’t guaranteed to fix it.

5:10 pm - Monday, June 30, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 16 megapixel, sony, full hd, DSLR, 1080i, tilting, digital SLR, 7fps, SLR, optical viewfinder, Sony A580, Sony A580 Review, a580

Tracker Pixel for Entry