Sony A6000 Review

5.0
April 22, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

21 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Fredy Ross

Totally lost as to why you would review without the kit lens. Just doesn’t make sense to me.

2:45 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#2 Scott

Great review Mark and BRAVO to you for using the 35FE for samples instead of the 16-50 kit.

4:10 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#3 Scott

Mark: were you able to find a level gauge?

4:26 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#4 mrbenji

Dual-axis digital level, huh?  This feature is not present on the A6000, as per multiple confirmed reports.  How many other examples of lazy cutting-and-pasting are there in this article?

5:20 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#5 Jotographer

It’s normal for any interchangable lens camera to review the body seperate from the lens when the consumer can buy the body seperately.  This is to purify the review.  I mean you can skip the kit lens and buy just the body and better lens.  So the review does’t have to be too integrated with the lens.  The body could be great and the kit lens could be suck and people wouldn’t be too confused about it.  That said, I can understand mr Ross point of view.  Most people buying the camera the first time, always buy a kit lens.  Then again a6000 is kinda a premium camera for those people.  I think it’s actually a better compromised, to leave the review as is, but add another page of review for the camera that paired with the kit lens.  Just a thought.

5:22 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#6 Mel Snyder

Why review the camera without the kit lens, indeed! No bravos from me.

You say it’s a consumer camera. Then why test it with a lens limey to be purchased by only a minuscule percentage of “consumers?”

The kit lens performs WAY beyond the skills of 90% of consumers and 99% of its most severe critics.

5:48 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#7 Pau Poquet

Hello,

First off, I love this website, it is a quick reference for cameras. One that I always check.

I am having a bit of a doubt… I have been waiting for this camera for a while now. I don’t know if it is worth the extra 300€ compared to a NEX-6 with the same kit lens. Nowadays you can find the NEX-6 almost everywhere for a great price.

Second, I would also like to know about the on screen level gauge, it is a great feature when using small tripods.

Thank you

6:05 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#8 Snope

Well, the review is fine. But I don´t see any improvements over the NEX6 beside higher resolution.
What is really a shame that Sony neglects the video section of their mirrorless line-up.
Don´t tell me to get a videocamera with small crappy sensor as competing cameras in this price range offer more options for recording video, like the Panasonic G6 and Canon with their DSLRs.
What the A6000 is missing:
- mic input -> NEX7 and even cheaper NEX models had it, dropping that was a bad decision(and their mic for the MI is crap - I tested it)
- also no audio level control - the AGC is terrible and leads to sound clipping

The lack of better audio features is not understandable. Especially considering that the video quality has improved as it doesn´t show that much moiré and aliasing as the NEX6.
Sony is missing a growing market here.

Also it makes no sense to drop the NEX name. For me it was synonymous with Sonys mirrorless cams.
Alpha sounds more like their old DSLRs.
It could also confuse people as there are still two different mounts.

6:17 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#9 Gary

When you say, “the A6000 is currently the best compact system camera for capturing fast moving subjects.” Is this overall with image quality weighing in? As former Nikon 1 owner and current Nex owner, I can say that the N1 system can easily track moving objects. In addition, it’s burst speed shred the A6000 every day of the week. Please elaborate on your statement.

6:32 pm - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#10 Low Budget Dave

I have to agree that you should make a disclaimer about the lens in each section. 

The prime lens, if typical, has a faster and more accurate autofocus than the kit lens.  So your statements about AF have been skewed by the manufacturer. 

I also find the color on the kit lens to be flat and over-processed.  Even the RAW files contain substantial distortion correction, making comparisons to other cameras problematic. 

If I were Nikon, I would send you the little S1 with the blazing fast F1.2 lens attached.

6:53 am - Wednesday, April 23, 2014

#11 Dsmeltz

Only problem I have is not that you used a different lens.  But that the price boxes do not show the proce for the tested product.  The price is for the camrea with the kit lens.  It should show the proce for the tested configuration.

12:01 pm - Wednesday, April 23, 2014

#12 Mike Voltin

Nobody wants to acknowledge that the king is wearing no clothes? Really? Not a single commenter realizes that this is not a real review but the recital of Sony’s marketing language and then some personal opinion of the reviewer?  Please read again the first couple paragraph of the conclusion or any other section. There absolutely no indication that the system was actually tested. You can find reviews of Sony a6000’s C-AF in different settings where it failed to track an object beyond the initial first two frames; reviewers actually post each frame and describe the process.  You can be confident that they actually did test the camera and are free to draw your own conclusions. Unfortunately, there is no indication that the camera was tested or how it was tested. It is just a discussion around an official Sony marketing language and few sample pics. It is sad that this site is turning into another fake review sites intended to draw traffic for ad revenues.

3:29 pm - Wednesday, April 23, 2014

#13 BlackBox

Sony NEX is a very WEIRD camera. Every camera maker out there (Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, Olympus, Samsung) have realized one very important thing - what people REALLY want from mirrorless is compactness. Yes, there are “enthusiasts” who want “a second camera”, but those geeks will carry a giraffe if you tell them it improves image quality.

Regular punters want those cameras to be SMALL. And their lenses, TOO! However, Sony’s lenses for the ex-NEX-renamed-Alpha-which-is-also-an-old-Minolta-A mount are bigger than most of their full-frame counterparts! As a result you get a very miniature camera… with a huge lens sticking out of it, which completely undermines the whole idea of compactness. “Here, this is the smallest watch in the world… and that over there is the 40-ton truck with the battery for it.”

And that’s the reason I never bought a NEX.

5:35 pm - Wednesday, April 23, 2014

#14 Scott

The Zeiss Touit 32/1.8 on the a6000 is DA BOMB!

10:56 pm - Thursday, May 1, 2014

#15 engell

This is a kit lens.. just the high tier.
sold as ILCE-6000z package, and yes its expensive.

12:23 pm - Friday, May 2, 2014

#16 kawika nui

An odd “Main Rivals” section.  You pit the a6000 (APS-C, 24mp) against Micro 4/3 (16mp), against Nikon 1” (14mp), and so on.  The only thing missing is a 12mp 1/2.3” P&S or two.  These odd matchups are way beyond apples and oranges; more like apples and turnips, or apples and leeks.  It’s like something Snapsort would dream up.  What on earth were you thinking?

5:39 am - Wednesday, May 21, 2014

#17 gango

sony a6000 vs. olympus e-m10 vs samsung nx30
can anyone help me choose which camera
each one has cons and pros

6:59 am - Wednesday, May 21, 2014

#18 Larry

Will/can Sony add back their excellent electronic leveling gauge from the NEX 6 o the a6000? It is almost essential with the new and wonderful Zeiss Touit 12mm, made for NEX cameras.

11:41 am - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#19 Kirk Bruner

Eight hundred dollars is not the price of a “consumer-focused camera”. Ordinary consumers are spending two hundred to five hundred dollars on cameras. They’re mostly buying P&S cameras.

3:37 am - Friday, July 25, 2014

#20 steve

Where is the dual axis level gauge you mentioned in the review????? you have reviewed this camera have’nt you ??????

8:37 am - Monday, July 28, 2014

#21 steveau

Where is this dual axis leveling gauge that you supossibly reviewed on this camera Mark Huh ????????????????????????????

8:59 am - Monday, July 28, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, hdmi, compact system camera, wi-fi, wireless, sony, mirrorless, csc, nfc, wi fi, 24 megapixel, flash, android, OLED, iphone, 11fps, playmemories, apps, Sony A6000, alpha 6000, a6000, Sony A6000 Review, a 6000

Tracker Pixel for Entry