Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300 Review

4.0
May 3, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

196 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Ertan

Very good camera with a terrible sensor. Also things that they left-out from HX200 are not very nice (GPS, much lower battery life).

1:18 pm - Friday, May 3, 2013

#2 Dan

The imagine quality does seem poor. I really think its the worst of the new batch of superzooms.

9:42 pm - Friday, May 3, 2013

#3 Hank

20 Megapixels all on that tiny sensor? Sony"s got their heads up their A55 Holes! That comes to over $22.00 Per Megapixel.

4:14 pm - Saturday, May 4, 2013

#4 Jag

This review would have been much more useful if you could have shown its performance at the highest end of the zoom - image stability etc. Whats the point of reviewing a camera that has one of the highest zooms in the parket (if not THE highest) and not showing how good the claim is?

10:37 am - Sunday, May 5, 2013

#5 imageCORE

What happens when you squeeze megapixels in a small area?? Any takers?? GRAIN!

I’ve really given up on Sony. .

10:41 am - Monday, May 6, 2013

#6 Rick Royer

Adjust your iso in manual mode and you won’t have a grain issue. Keep it on auto and you’ll get mediocre results

12:31 am - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#7 Rin

Horrible. Noise even at ISO 100. This is Sony? Hmmm…

8:11 am - Friday, May 10, 2013

#8 Aisse

My hx300 pictures

http://www.flickr.com/photos/aisse_gaertner/

6:24 pm - Saturday, May 11, 2013

#9 jack

Hi ,

  I am jack i am planing to buy sony dsc-hx 300 but i am little bit confuse about the video that look little brighter . looking some of the video sample form youtube.

  Is it adjustable if it is adjustable suggest me which one is batter for me hx-200v or hx-300, or cannon sx-50 hs.

i am not a photo-grapher but i need:
best quality image in any distance . Having perfect brightness and contrast.

Perfect full-hd video also Having perfect brightness and contrast. at any distance with zoom

please post you suggestion .

form jack

1:51 am - Wednesday, May 15, 2013

#10 sasan

I can’t download sample video
it opening 404 error page!
is there anybody has my problem? I need guide somebodys help please

3:25 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#11 gautam lakra

I disagree. This camera is much better than the canon, or Nikon.Pics posted by Aisse are just super, if these don’t convince you then what can !

6:10 am - Sunday, May 26, 2013

#12 wasim raja

without using burst mode, how many shots can i take in 5 seconds in auto mode? is it as fast as a dslr?

2:00 pm - Monday, May 27, 2013

#13 gautam lakra

Can some one please help , I have just bought the sony HX300 , and after reading the manual , I cannot raise the ISO settings to beyond 1600 , except in MR mode.

2:40 pm - Thursday, May 30, 2013

#14 Shubham Singhal

Please give your preference between Nikon Coolpix P520 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300. I am looking for better picture quality as top factor for consideration, and then zoom stabilization and cideo quality. What would a professional photographer like to buy out of these two?

8:50 am - Tuesday, June 4, 2013

#15 Paul Edwards

I must say the Aisse photos (see link above) are very nice. keep below 400 and you should be just fine. PE

3:48 pm - Monday, June 10, 2013

#16 Paul Edwards

a professional wouldn’t Mr Singhal!

3:52 pm - Monday, June 10, 2013

#17 Paul Edwards

JACK: There’s no such thing as the perfect bridge camera I dont think. They are all a compromise. keeping the ISO/ASa down below 400 is the key or else buy a DSLR/CSC camera.

I think the P510/520 is probably the best of the two - but the Nikon has no filter or lenshood thread - the HX300 does and thats important!

3:56 pm - Monday, June 10, 2013

#18 Paul Edwards

I must say , having seen these images Im a hell of a lot closer to buying this camera then I was even an hour ago! http://www.flickr.com/photos/aisse_gaertner/with/8664960096/

4:04 pm - Monday, June 10, 2013

#19 JAMES

Which is the better
1,sony hx300
2,panasonic lumix fz 200?
Help me pls.

12:30 pm - Saturday, June 22, 2013

#20 Paul Edwards

Technically the Panasonic is Best from a picture quality point of view.

if you look at Aisse’photos on Flickr you will see that the hx300 is still capable off taking very nice pictures - depends how important having a big lens is to you! PE

1:30 pm - Saturday, June 22, 2013

#21 Fred

I’m desperate…

I still can’t find the main reason to buy one of this three cameras:

-Sony hx300
-Canon sx50
-Panny…

I need to go on vacation before canon’s brand new cameras on september….otherwise defitenely I would buy a Canon, just for the image quality.

Any comments? please help me

1:39 pm - Saturday, June 22, 2013

#22 Paul Edwards

I thinks you will be happy with whatever you buy though the Panasonic has shortest zoom. You might also look at the Nikon P510/520.  The 520 recently won in a bridge camera lineup in a well known Photographic magazine!

2:10 pm - Saturday, June 22, 2013

#23 arpit mehta

hello I am getting grainy pictures when viewed at full resolution
my camera is Sony dsc hx300
I kept at the ISO around 100

2:24 pm - Sunday, June 23, 2013

#24 Paul Edwards

Don’t know why Mr Mehta. Do you mean when you zoom in on an image? Dont forget everything depends on the resolution of your computer if that’s what you are using. Any image will look poor if you zoom in on it even 35mm imagery.

3:42 pm - Sunday, June 23, 2013

#25 arpit mehta

no the image looks grainy even without zooming in
here is the URL
http://www.flickr.com/photos/97685421@N06/9099080361/
thank you for responding fast

3:26 am - Monday, June 24, 2013

#26 gautam lakra

The pics look fine to me !

6:35 am - Monday, June 24, 2013

#27 arpit mehta

did u view them at full resolution?

11:05 am - Monday, June 24, 2013

#28 Paul Edwards

Right Mr Mehta I have just looked at the EXIF data on your photo of the insect - in fact it says you took the photo at 640ASA on the program mode!!!  NOT 100!  You took it at F5.6 @640ASA (or ISO same thing) you need to make sure its on a lower ASA . In your image you dont seem to have much sunlight (makes the difference!) So re check your settings. IF the HX300 has a setting called ‘AUTO400’ or similar in program mode use that.

The camera will NOT then go over 400 ASA but it will use ANY setting between 100 and 400 - but not go over that. So, it might use 130ASA or 320ASA. in Your case a setting of at least 200ASA and a tripod would be useful!  Hope this helps. Paul Edwards

11:59 am - Monday, June 24, 2013

#29 Paul Edwards

Also Mr Mehta I see you have the sharpness set to ‘normal’ re set it to FINE. These cameras DO NOT work straight out of the box, the have to be set up! PE

12:01 pm - Monday, June 24, 2013

#30 Paul Edwards

http://www.photographyblog.com/?URL=http://www.flickr.com/photos/97685421@N06/9099080361/

These images are a very good example of what the HX300 is capable of!

12:02 pm - Monday, June 24, 2013

#31 gautam lakra

Like Mr Edwards , here says , at ISO 640 , they are astounding , more than acceptable. I have clicked some family potraits at 2500 also and they are fine too. Plz remember 13x19 prints are going to fine , anything larger , spend more money and get a semi pro DSLR.

12:17 pm - Monday, June 24, 2013

#32 Paul Edwards

Sorry, that last link was Mr mehtas image, this is the one I meant to link to… some excellent images taken with the HX300

http://www.photographyblog.com/?URL=http://www.flickr.com/photos/aisse_gaertner/with/8664960096/

keep below 400ISO/ASa and you should get some pretty good photos!

1:07 pm - Monday, June 24, 2013

#33 Paul Edwards

These two images - amazing!!!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/aisse_gaertner/8294968807/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/aisse_gaertner/8296020044/

Beautiful!!

1:11 pm - Monday, June 24, 2013

#34 Paul Edwards

a hell of a vista - how can you people say this camera is rubbish????

http://www.flickr.com/photos/aisse_gaertner/7540694794/

I just want to run out and buy it!

1:15 pm - Monday, June 24, 2013

#35 arpit mehta

thanks a lot Mr Paul
I will look into the settings

3:45 am - Tuesday, June 25, 2013

#36 Joe Prete

Paul,
Nobody’s calling it rubbish, but this is an area that Sony has not eagerly participated in, so surely there’s going to be a learning curve. They’ve got long list of competition, with three Fujifilm models, Nikon, Canon, and Panasonic to name a few others, all with long standing positive results. There’s also newcomers like Samsung who have almost as many patents pending in this area as Fujifilm does. Speaking of which, Fujifilm just entered into a new Sensor development with Panasonic. Many are waiting to see what that might be, because Panasonic has just released information about their OWN new sensor, that is already in development as we speak. By the way, I’m sure you know that Fujifilm is using the CMOS II 2/3 inch sensor in their HS50EXR. That sensor employs Phase Detection technology along with the existing Contrast Detection. For those who plan to wait a year or so, I’m sure they will be rewarded! Also, I wouldn’t underestimate Samsung just yet either.
... Joe Prete

3:04 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#37 Joe Prete

Correction:Fujifilm HS50EXR has 1/2 inch CMOS II Sensor with Phase Detection/Contrast Detection.

Fujifilm X-S1 has 2/3 inch Sensor.

Fujifilm SL1000 Sensor is comparable to other brands in size. 

... Joe Prete

3:26 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#38 gautam lakra

It’ so strange , a few years ago people became pixel crazy , the more the pixels better the camera , now the so called phographers , who have no no knowledge of optic physics ,are talking sensor size ! I just want to tell all people who are fond of this wonderful art , do not go into specifics too much, just go and take pics , it’s after all it’s you that matters , it’s not the machine !

4:09 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#39 gautam lakra

First of all , Canon is the largest company in the world that makes cameras, second is Nikon, and would you all believe , the third is Sony ! 10 years ago nobody knew about Sony , and now it is the THIRD largest in the world in CAMERAS, so ???

4:22 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#40 Paul Edwards

It’s a shame that the XS1 is marred by a lens that wobbles about in its mount!

do agree though - forget about the technology take pictures!!!

4:25 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#41 Joe Prete

Sensor size, Pixel size, Pixel Count and Optical Quality all work together to produce the results, so obviously, they all do matter.
They work together, and they all need to be in proper proportion and quality with each other in forming the final image results.
... Joe Prete

4:32 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#42 Joe Prete

Funny how NOKIA is never counted when people declare the world’s largest camera manufacturers. Anyone care to inform them?
... Joe

4:43 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#43 Joe Prete

Paul Edwards,
You had a defective X-S1 and you didn’t exchange it? Don’t say it’s in the line, because I know three people personally who are getting spectacular results with that camera. I admit, it wouldn’t be my choice, but at over $700.00 US They are still selling now, even with two lower cost S/Z Cameras available. What did you do with the camera if you didn’t exchange it? I’ve read your posts, that doesn’t sound like your usual informative entries.
... Joe Prete

4:57 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#44 Paul Edwards

Actually I dont own the xs1 but I did fancy it and it was on my shopping list. You can buy them brand new for under £400 GBP here in UK. I had one in my hand a few days ago in Dixon’s Travel - I Work at London airport - zoomed it right out and dye enough you could definitely move the whole lens up and side to side….  Pity really as I had a Fuji hs10 and won competition with that!

5:15 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#45 Joe Prete

Gautam Lakra,
You seem to have some very strong feelings, these Super Zoom Cameras are just pretty much Disposable Cameras that most of us upgrade every year or two. They never really retain a resale value, many drop like a stone the minute we start using them.
But tell me, on a real, full size sensor camera would you prefer Aliasing or an Antialiasing Filter?
... Joe

5:35 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#46 Joe Prete

Paul,
Got your message internal, sounds to me like you had a single defective piece with that X-S1. You obviously know Fujifilm’s quality, it does sound as if that camera has been dropped flat on it’s lens to do that. I have heard of these cameras being thrown, dropped and dunked in water and they still work fine. The US price is normally $799.00, but although not discontinued it has been on sale for $699.00 lately. There are quite a few guys at dpreview.com that use, and love using these cameras. The HS50EXR is the 5th in that series and the HDR is spectacular!
... Joe Prete

5:43 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#47 Joe Prete

The HX300 is holding a solid $498.00 here, despite what the retailers on line say. Lets hope that Sony put some of the same quality as they put into the RX100 and the RX1. Well, time will tell.
Hey, way to blog guys, we’ll get those numbers up yet!
I’ve got to pay some bills. Later.
... Joe Prete

5:52 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#48 Joe Prete

MARK,
Just wondering what you took the product images with. It’s got kind of a well used look on the body finish. Although it looks like serial number 0000202, no other markings on the bottom of the camera are clear enough to read.
... Joe Prete

10:14 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#49 gautam lakra

On a full frame , my choice would be not to use AA filter. Not using AA filter gives more detail , but having said that , it is personal choice of the photographer! Many full frame cameras have AA filters.

6:04 am - Friday, June 28, 2013

#50 sameh fouad

which is the best to buy regarding the view finder ,sharpness of the picture , image stability and quality of the video the Nikon coolpix P520 or Sony HX 300

6:59 am - Sunday, June 30, 2013

#51 Paul Edwards

I think there are more important factors - such as how fast is the lens????  Give me f2.8 to 5.6 any day against f3.5 to 6.3!!

And can it fit a lens hood and filters???

The Nikon ,great camera though it is - cannot fit lens hood or filters..could be a deal breaker for some folks.

1:50 pm - Sunday, June 30, 2013

#52 arpit mehta

hello
my lens barrel is slightly moving
my camera is Sony dschx300
is it supposed to be moving?
when the barrel is fully out that is at full zoom it is not moving.

5:47 am - Monday, July 1, 2013

#53 Joe Prete

Hi Arpit,
I saw this camera at the release, but didn’t handle it enough to to notice every detail. It seemed like very good Build Quality, but to be sure you should check with the manufacturer’s Tech Support Rep. There’s a toll free number with your papers, it’s best to find out now while it’s still new. The Dealer should have one on the shelf also. I would ask a few people to be sure. I think the only owner who writes in to this blog is Gautam, (check the posts above) He’s had it for a few weeks now and he’s very happy with it. I’m sure he knows it well by now, but try to describe the movement a little better. And remember, it may be within the normal tolerance for this unit. While you’re waiting, read the Owners Guide, there may be a notation about it in there.
... Joe Prete

7:12 pm - Monday, July 1, 2013

#54 gautam lakra

hello arpit , I do not think the lens barrel should move. call up the toll free number , I did to check out certain settings , they were very helpful .

2:55 am - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#55 Joe Prete

Arpit Mehta,
Well, there you have it. Gautam knows the camera well, and he checked things out carefully before he bought it. I think you should follow his advice as soon as possible. It’s something that we all worry about but it’s not going to go away by itself, okay
so deal with it ASAP. Keep us posted alright?
Good Luck,
... Joe Prete

4:53 am - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#56 gautam lakra

am on the look out for a budget dslr , am zeroing on the sony a 57, any suggestions?

6:06 am - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#57 Mike

Hi guys, looking for an ‘all rounder’ that takes a good shot, decent zoom. Choices are SX50 vs HX300…current local special is HX300 $699 (NZ dollars) vs SX50 $589.

Previously had a SX10, was very happy with what it did (unhappy with the annoying AA batteries where one seemed to go flat all the time leavin you stranded). Also own a HX20 to carry around and just looking for a larger one to be a little more creative with.

Opting for the SX50 simply because it is considerably cheaper! ;-) Thoughts…?

9:43 am - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#58 gautam lakra

In India Sony is cheaper by about 120 dollars. Just don’t understand the pricing of these companies !

12:23 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#59 gautam lakra

This is for you Mike ! I will try here to compare the 2 cameras for you, though I am not a pro.
1. Pros for Sony : More fun to use.
2. Better build quality.
3. Better in low light as it has a wider aperture at both ends.
4. Better Battery life.
5. Panorama Mode.
6. Higher ISO
7.More range on the shutter speed.
8. You can attach filters to it . Very important.
9. It’s auto modes are excellent.
10 Carl Zeiss lenz !
11. The view finder is usable.
Now the pros for the Canon.
1. Shoots in Raw too.
2. Hot shoe is there.
3. Vari angle screen , sony is a tiltable only.
Having said all that , the IQ is the same for both I feel !
Hope this helps !

2:54 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#60 gautam lakra

I forgot to add , the video on sony is way better and also takes 3D pics

2:58 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#61 Mike

Thank you Gautam!

That’s exactly the sort of thing I needed, and helps a lot! I am simply a hobbyist who wants something fun, I won’t use a hotshoe or raw, I love my HX20 so the Sony is the way to go I think! The extra $100 is nothing really if you are going to have a camera for a few years.

6:32 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#62 JOE PRETE

#57 Mike,
Sony’s HX300 is very much like the Canon SX50 HS, it seems that the sensor, image processor and software are the biggest differences. Canon found their way to reach 50X Zoom first, but other brands soon followed. The Canon Powershot is the longest running camera series. It features the DIGIC 5 Processor, HS CMOS Sensor, Six way Image Stabilization, Vari Angle LCD, Framing Assist Seek & Framing Assist Lock, 58 Smart Scenes, High Speed Burst, Full 1080P HD, RAW+JPEG imaging and more. At the release time, I already had several of their earlier models so I had confidence in this one too. I does not disappoint, but I often wonder how Canon themselves will surpass this model. This is not to say that others are not trying too. For me, this was one of dozens of my cameras. I use NIKON DSLR’s daily, but I’m seldom impressed with their Compact Zoom cameras. In the U.S., we can easily buy the Canon for $375.00 or even less if we try harder. So I think you should compare price along with features and availability. My opinion is that Fujifilm gives much more, for less money. They currently have two cameras in this bracket, and many just a step below it. A friend that is shooting great images with a faulty FZ200 is not willing to send it away for repair. He’s a smart man, but the risk far outweighs the benefit. It’s not often that these cameras have issues that can’t be fixed with a Firmware update, but it does happen. So visit their respective web sites and consider all that is involved before asking us which will be better. We are scattered, from many different locations. Believe me, we would tell you if we could! As you look into it further, check back and speak with others, so you can make an informed decision. Good Luck to you Mike,
... Joe Prete

7:40 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#63 Mike

Thanks Joe, appreciate the advice and comments.

It seems that the bridge market is the one that seems to be the most difficult to make a decision in, judging by all the comments following reviews!
I’ve been looking at quite a few reviews, comments etc over the past couple of months and came to the conclusion most will do their job in their specific field pretty damn well! I must say the comments following reviews by the group affectionately known as ‘pixel peepers’ do not help. Comparing these cameras with more expensive optioned DSLRs just confuses the situation and gives the impression all these cameras give awful photos, which is very unfair.
There are many like me who don’t want to muck about with lens changing, but just want a good all in one to take a decent photo, and won’t crop full, and won’t blow their photos up or scrutinise, they just want a camera that will take a nice pic and is fun! The comments on here are most helpful!
Both these cameras are on special from the usual NZ prices, down about $100 so I felt nows a good time to choose. I loved my SX10 (aside from the AA batteries) so I’m sure I would enjoy the Sx50. I love my pocket HX20, and I’m sure I would enjoy the HX300! I have opted to choose between these cameras for thei zoom as I like to take ‘moon’ photos, and thought this would be a great option to snap sports like the cricket when I go along!

Thanks to everyone, Regards Mike

12:19 am - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#64 Anubrata Sarkar

Which camera should I buy? nikon p520 or sony hx300. I know all the specification but afterall which one should I buy for best picture quality, best video and long durability by proper handling.only tell the camera name which will be the best among the better.

6:10 pm - Thursday, July 4, 2013

#65 Mike

Popped into the store that has a sale on…the HX300 looks nicer, feels nicer in the hand. But is $110 more.
Every site I look at seems to (slightly) prefer the SX50, but the vast majority admit the difference is very little between the two, with most simply pointing to RAW and hotshoe of the SX50 as an advantage.
The other options are of course the FZ200 and X-S1, both of which are $895.
Lol, you overthink this you can go insane! I will grab one in the weekend, forget the rest and just go and have some fun learning the features! ;-)

6:58 pm - Thursday, July 4, 2013

#66 Joe Prete

People who are asking for help rarely make specific demands about how the information is given.  “Grrr”
 
“Only tell the camera name which will be best”!

How could we even know what someone else “Should buy”

7:36 pm - Thursday, July 4, 2013

#67 gautam lakra

Mike do buy a UV filter if you opt for the sony, the size is 55mm, it will protect your lens from dust and accidental damage, I would also recommend a tripod , nothing fancy , I got the filter for 15 dollars and the tripod for 45. At 50 x zoom , a tripod is a really good idea.

12:49 am - Friday, July 5, 2013

#68 Joe Prete

Mike,
As much as I like Fujifilm cameras, the X-S1 is one I would never recommend. It handles like a tank and it is old technology. You will be sorry, I assure you. Fujifilm’s HS50EXR is the newest technology of all the Superzoom group of cameras.

It’s Phase Detection System is easily the fastest. It’s 1/2 inch sensor is the second generation, it’s CMOS II and it is unmatched by any other Super Zoom camera. Mike, a lens cap protects the lens, Putting an extra element outside the designed lens will cause light to bounce back an forth, degrading the image.

Retailers have been using that trick on ignorant photographers for years. Digital cameras have Filters within the software. Protect the lens, from what? The picture? Front elements are the cheapest and easiest to replace. They do have coating on there anyhow. Yeah, put a $12.00 Tiffen filter over a Leica lens. So damn stupid! Go over to http://www.dpreview.com and stop wasting your time here. The Forums will be full today.
... Joe Prete

2:12 am - Friday, July 5, 2013

#69 Joe Prete

A $15.00 filter over a Zeiss lens, that makes sense? That should actually improve the lens quality, just ask Zeiss!

2:30 am - Friday, July 5, 2013

#70 Joe Prete

Mike,
You actually had the SX50 HS in your hands, and you left without it.
The price wasn’t over inflated like the other brands? What about Amazon? They say they deliver anywhere!
At least look at the HS50EXR http://www.fujifilm.com/products/digital_cameras/s/finepix_hs50exr/

4:06 am - Friday, July 5, 2013

#71 Mike

Thanks heaps, Joe & Gautam. I was very tempted to buy one of them last night when I was shopping! I just popped in to have a look, but wanted to wait until this weekend rather than impulse it. The 50X lens is appealing, but I just wanted to check other options to ensure I’d be happy, I will have it for a while. Considering it is on a good deal, I’m likely to go with the SX50.
My father in law has a X-S1, he loves it, and I had a go myself and love the solid zoom. But otherwise the expense and bulk is not necessary for me really. He had the cheaper Fiju models and upgraded, tbh I did prefer using them, especially as a small guy with small hands! ;-)
The FZ200 is of course much talked about on line, so I do have to consider that, see what prices are around town. But most likely will stick with one of my original choices.
I do like the zoom ring on the HX300 (a friend has the previous 200 model)and just the feel. But that’s not to say I dislike the SX50s! And I have liked the sx range, and the price is the best going locally of all the zooms.
The ironic thing is that being an extreme amateur, mainly pointing and shooting with the odd tinker creatively, any of them will suit me! Like many in the same boat, you simply get overwhelmed with the choices, the contradicting reviews and comments online etc, and you simply end up confused.

I still have me old Cosina manual SLR in the cupboard from Art school days- Now THATS a camera! Could not bear to part with it! Maybe I’ll just get some film for that instead…?

Thanks again guys, feel free to add anything you think might be of use. I’m sure whichever I go for I will find excellent for what I want.

6:13 am - Friday, July 5, 2013

#72 Joe Prete

Mike,
Read some of my recent clippings on the Panasonic FZ200 Review comments section, or google them. There are some interesting notes on the SX50 HS Review Comments section too, on this site.
The X-S1 technology was over a year old when they put it into the camera a couple of years ago. Did you follow the link I left you above? You can come right to my email if you need to. It’s no secret
... Joe Prete

7:28 am - Friday, July 5, 2013

#73 Simon

I don’t know which one is funnier the Dealers that still get away with that trick, or the idiots that fall for it! Any fool should know that the lens goes through some very careful computerized designing, then some stringent testing, and then quality control inspections too. Some of the Worlds best optics like Nikon, Zeiss, Canon, Leica and Fujifilm to name a few, then they add a piece of cheap glass or Plastic to protect it.!! They would have designed it for nothing.  A chain is as strong as it’s weakest link. And these idiots spend all that money and add the weakest link, all this, by   themselves!!! And pay for it too. So stupid!! The tip off, should have been the $15.00 cost. That didn’t tell him anything? Maybe he was getting the idiot discount? A 55MM Filter of quality would cost Over a $100.00 over $200.00 For a Polarizer, but all the filters are inside a digital camera. Write to dpreview and tell them what you did. Maybe you should use a different name, so they don’t know it was you. PT Barnum said, there’s a sucker born every minute! I guess it was the $15.00 filter guy! Didn’t you get a lens cap to protect it. I guess it won’t matter much, people like this rarely take pictures, they just hold the camera like a dolly.

11:10 am - Friday, July 5, 2013

#75 Mike

Thanks Joe, I did follow the link, was not aware of this HS50exr, my father in law had an older one before going to his X-S1.
It looks great! Will certainly do a bit of homework on this one before purchase, as I do love the manual zooms on the Fujis. A quick look online tells me it’s around the $750 NZ.
So got my list to go out and look into tomorrow.
I would be prepared to hit $800NZ for a really decent one, but that would be about my limit I’d not go over.

12:49 pm - Friday, July 5, 2013

#76 gautam lakra

Simon , first of all you are a very rude man ! Secondly I was just giving a suggestion to Mike , there was no need to butt in. Thirdly , half baked knowledge is a stuptid thing. Many pros use filters to protect their lenses, and by attaching one , you should not persume that the said photographer is using it to shoot with it. And just for your information , here is alink as to why not protect your investment.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/cdp/member-reviews/A1IV7OT8S8AIQP/ref=cm_pdp_rev_title_3?ie=UTF8&sort_by=MostRecentReview#R36KYR6HVN92K1

2:30 pm - Friday, July 5, 2013

#77 gautam lakra

I hope you are using your real name , Simple Simon !The village idiot

2:38 pm - Friday, July 5, 2013

#78 gautam lakra

And this man bought a 9 dollar filter , does it make him more of an idiot !

2:46 pm - Friday, July 5, 2013

#79 Joe Prete

Mike,
Why are the Sony prices so inflated over there? This week, you can get it For $399.00 in the US. Is your pay scale equally inflated?
Can’t you get it on Amazon?
... Joe Prete

8:00 pm - Friday, July 5, 2013

#80 Mike

Lol, yes our prices are inflated quite horrendously Joe, in many import areas. In this age of the internet we can see that- And we also shock people with how expensive things can be here!
Sadly, our wages are not!
With Amazon, I do love amazon and buy a lot of books/cds/dvds from them, which has forced our retailers to compete in that regard. Unfortunately there is a restriction on things you can buy/what they will send…I guess something to do with the Corporates not wanting to compete with their own locally set prices. Once you click to buy the likes of a camera, or games console, when you try to checkout it tells you that you are unable to buy it from Amazon in your area of the World! Rather annoying! ;-)

On the subject, review for review, price for price, just can’t really go past the SX50 when all is said and done. I don’t mind paying a bit more should the results be dramatically different and better, but if not, it seems nuts not to go with best value!

Having said that, knowing me I’ll come back from shopping with something totally different, like a DSLR kit, or even a vege steamer!

10:08 pm - Friday, July 5, 2013

#81 gautam lakra

All you guys out there ,please see the link I am posting , this guy writes well , and is a super professional photgrapher , I don’t know , whether this post will be allowed or not , but you can email me at : .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

http://www.kenrockwell.com/links.htm#stores

3:22 pm - Saturday, July 6, 2013

#82 Joe Prete

Wow,
I remember when Ken Rockwell only took Perks from Nikon, they’ve been giving him cameras “to review” for at least 35 years.

Gautam,
Weren’t you the one posting about who takes the FRILLS from manufacturers to boast about their equipment? And it’s you showing the “King of Perks” I am very surprised. Even on the few Begger sites that he gives little information “for your kind donations”, he was always using a Nikon. I shoot Nikon, but I’m the first one to point out where they skimp on their cameras. And you can search, you will find me pointing out their mistakes.
Don’t take it personal Gautam, You weren’t in the US years ago
I don’t expect you to know this. But it is very true, to the point that nobody here even listens to Rockwell anymore. I guess now he’s using the web to reach new “Customers” I can scan some old “Articles” for you if you want. He has knowledge, but it’s clearly going to the highest bidder. I hope this doesn’t provoke any stupid comments, this is just a discussion here.
... Joe Prete

9:50 pm - Saturday, July 6, 2013

#83 Mike

Thank you guys, for your help and advice. It was much appreciated.
In the end I’ve opted for the SX50, and happy with that choice. Went back today and handled a few cameras, was happy with the SX50 feel and price. HX300 was still a very nice camera and would have been happy with that one as well I’m sure. I just opted for the one I was happy with, considerably cheaper than the others.

Aside from my pocket HX20 last year ( I still love that and won’t part with it), the last camera I bought was the SX10 years ago. How times change! No manual, not even a USB cord! You get the CD manual and USB was an ‘optional extra!’
I guess I shouldn’t grizzle too much as the SX50 was $200 cheaper than the price I bought the SX10 for…my old Olympus Mju was around the same back in the film days, and the Manual Cosina SLR was $550!
Already bought a USB cable off an online auction for $2, and might look around online for a ‘getting the most out of your SX50’ book that should double as a good manual without printing out the pdf!

Anyway, I thank you all once again. Can’t wait until I can get out doing what you should be doing in photography- Having fun and snapping pics rather than agonising over make the right purchase choice! ;-)

8:12 am - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#84 Joe Prete

Mike,
Email me so I can talk to you about the manual, and any other questions that you may have with the operation of the camera. I’ve got a few other tips that I’m sure that you’ll find useful like a perfect fitting wrist grip that allows for one handed operation. A $20.00 accessory that you’ll wonder why canon didn’t think of it themselves, and a perfect fitting case. If you need my email, look for the Nikon L810 review comments section. at question number 102 you’ll find my address.
... Joe Prete

10:09 am - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#85 Debbie Davison

I have just bought this camera and paid £272 on Flubit, and hubby has just bought the Canon PowerShot SX50 (for £252).
Both look comparable (zoom and features), so it will be interesting to see which is the best for our safari. 
There are features and specs I like on his more, but then there are some I prefer on the Sony!
For what I’ve paid I am happy.

10:00 pm - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#86 Joe Prete

Debbie Davidson,
Well, lucky you!
What you probably don’t realize is that a large amount of readers here, are from countries that are not yet doing very well. Many that I speak to are spending two or more months salary, on a camera that may be used, refurbished, reboxed or completely defective and their recourse - chances of repair or return are not good at all. Yes a few are wealthy enough to afford a Sony. I can only be happy for them, but continue to help those that can only dream about a camera like this. Good luck with both of your new cameras, but go elsewhere to brag about how well you are doing.
These people don’t need to hear it,
... Joe Prete

10:57 pm - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#87 Mike

Thanks Joe, will do.

I’m sure I will have questions that will emerge as I begin to use it. I’ve always enjoyed ‘snapshooting’ but never seriously got into being creative, even with the old manual SLR it was more a case of turn the arpeture until the little ‘traffic light’ light metre says green and fire! ;-) The good shots were more fluke than anything.
With this camera, I’m keen to learn it well and get more serious about thinking about photography, and the shots I’m taking.

Cheers, Mike

12:08 am - Monday, July 8, 2013

#88 Joe Prete

Mike,
Usually a call to Canon’s Customer service rep. explaining your printer problem will get you a copy of the Printed Owners Guide.
289 Pages of captivating reading, well, not, but most of it is essential, and some of it holds the secret to extremely creative images. Once the printer starts to jamb, it will never resume to normal unless the job is deleted. Remember to Register at this point. Canon actually wants you to succeed but they are complying with their conservation efforts. And yet only Sony is a completely green company, and they still manage to include the Full Guide. Go figure! If you get an authors guide, look for the Magic Lantern series, they have a laminated “Cheat Sheet” that folds to the size of a Business Card and contains enough information to bail you out. They cost $19.95 for DSLR’s some compact camera guides are $14.95 They are great books, but they will not replace an actual Owners Guide. Btw, they cover most popular cameras and have been doing these for many years. The Features “Zoom Focus Assist” and “Zoom Focus Lock” do need to be explained to use correctly. And do remember to use SDHC UHS-1 Speed class 10 with R/W rating of 20/60 or you will be frustrated while “Buffering”
... Joe Prete

5:47 am - Monday, July 8, 2013

#89 Debbie Davison

@Joe Prete
First of all, try getting my name right .... it’s not difficult, it’s right there in front of you :/

Secondly, I didn’t post to ‘brag’ as you so eloquently put it. Are only those financially challenged allowed to post on here?

I posted as I have bought this camera, and bearing in mind some on here are thinking about buying and cost is a factor when deciding, thought I would make the point that it can be bought for less money than some think (if you shop around).

Why the aggressive response to my post? Or are you just an aggressive person in general? Or are you a sexist prig?

I certainly am not wealthy, and the cameras my hubby and I bought are early Christmas gifts to each other. Is it a crime to comment that I have purchased this camera (or any other camera)?

I suggest you refrain from jumping on people less financially challenged, (or of the opposite sex) as ‘our’ comments are just as valid as yours!!

8:10 am - Monday, July 8, 2013

#90 Debbie Davison

Nice move Joe Prete ...

Deleting my comments because you don’t like them or can’t hack a woman on this page!!

Whya re my comments less valid than yours?

8:14 am - Monday, July 8, 2013

#91 gautam lakra

Love u for this Debbie. He had it coming ! Gets up from the wrong side every morning !

9:11 am - Monday, July 8, 2013

#92 Joe Prete

Debbie,
What is a “sexist prig”?
and don’t worry, after I go through the IP addresses I won’t delete everything, I’ll leave in the ones that say so much about you! You do it so well

Gautam, I’m glad, you finally found someone to love!
... Joe Prete

12:52 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#93 Joe Prete

Debbie,
If you didn’t just post to “BRAG” then why is this the first time that you wrote in? Just another strange coincidence I suppose. Was there any particular question, or was it just to tell us of your newest acquisitions that you just couldn’t keep to yourself?  Oh, I see, another coincidence….  How is Hubby, by the way? And I would have never guessed that you were a woman, the thought didn’t ever occur to me. Are you sure about that? Financially challenged? do you use that phrase often? I wonder why. Did you remember to buy SD Cards?

 

 


1:32 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#94 Debbie Davison

Oh dear Joe, did Mummy not love you when you were a baby? Why so much angst?

The reason I posted is because I came on this site to review the two cameras my hubby and I wished to purchase. Isn’t that what a review site is for?

Then having purchased the cameras, I thought I would post to advise by shopping around, one could get a better price than the site indicates.

I really don’t understand how you get off on being such a tw*t. I’ve met a few in my time, but it seems you feel safe being a keyboard warrior, so long as no-one comes knocking on your door I guess? Or should that be visiting your trailer-park :/

Never mind Joe, life’s too short, take a chill pill and accept that you’re not perfect, no-one is :)

My suggestion, take an anger management course, that’s if you can afford it of course, lol!!

1:52 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#95 Joe Prete

No Debbie,
I’m sorry, this is the camera review comments section, these comments should be pertaining to the actual review of the camera which is right in front of you, There is an actual open topic blog Forum, which you can find in the header, or at the bottom of the page, click on “FORUMS” and you will find live comments of a broad area of topics. You can say anything you like here, but it will be cleaned up and if it continues, your IP address can be blocked from further use. Then if you have an actual comment or question about the camera you may not be able to post it here. You don’t need to come here to brag, it’s for questions about the camera. You asked no questions, you bought it, then had to tell somebody. Most of the people here won’t see this camera until it’s discontinued. Some person may have had the money from a settlement, but paid a very large price for it. I do feel bad about that, but it has been better lately, I guess someone to ignite the anger helped.
Maybe you will find it in the forum. Btw, removing posts are better for you, leaving them on, will mean they will always be on the web somewhere. It may come back at the wrong time, and do more harm than good. And only you can have a typo, don’t you read what you write? How is Hubby?
Editor

2:29 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#96 gautam lakra

Hey Joe, we all know by now that you know all the specs of all cameras , so why don’t you show us your work instead of replying to all the comments here all the time. Should’nt you be clicking pictures , or it seems you don’t have anything better to do ?

2:57 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#97 Debbie Davison

No Joe, sorry ‘Editor’ :/

I posted in the ‘Comments’ section, and I do believe that is what I made .... a comment! It just says ‘Comments’, nothing else. I commented about the price, which is one of the factors when reviewing a camera is it not? Oops, another faux pas by your good self! :)

If calling yourself the Editor makes you feel a bigger and better ‘man’ (and I use the term man loosely), then good for you!

Grow up, stop acting like a tw*t, and stop threatening me! I couldn’t give a damn about your idle threats either, although I’m sure there are people who would be interested! Block me, ban me, do what you want ‘big man’ hahaha! Do you think little people like you scare me?

And try getting a humour transplant, Remember we’re all laughing AT you, not with you :)

Get a job, get a life and get educated .... you can’t be a jerk all your life surely? :/

3:01 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#98 Joe Prete

Go right ahead, keep it coming!

3:40 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#99 gautam lakra

ban me for all I care !

12:43 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#100 Joe Prete

... Okay, Will Do!

9:54 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, test, sony, super-zoom, cmos, 24mm, 10fps, super zoom, tilting, 20 megapixel, cybershot, panorama, 3D, 50x zoom, hx300, dsc-hx300, dsc hx300, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300 review