Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V Review

4.5
June 5, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

42 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Simon Lambert

Why are sony selling a “crippleware” version in the UK - no GPS what a ridiculous decision to make - Ive bought previous versions HX-5V and HX-20V BUT i will not be buying this version other than as a “grey” import.

This is one crazy marketing boob by Sony - the UK isn’t China we are allowed to use GPS here guys.

4:12 pm - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#2 Simon Lambert

Hopefully not a “censoring” of my comment which seems to have dissappeared.

It was - Why a “crippleware” version for the UK with no GPS??? Having bought previous models HX-5V and HX-20V This is an amazing boob by Sony marketing.

I would only buy this as a “grey” import to the UK as the GPS is a feature i rrequire on a travel camera - Sony in the UK we are not China - we are allowed and use GPS.

4:17 pm - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#3 Peter Bowers

I can see that my Comment on the Poor Grainy Image Quality has been removed?, Censoring whats all that about.

5:00 pm - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#4 moeskoetie

very bad noisy pictures.

7:26 pm - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#5 FTB

Why give the camera 4/5 for IQ when you admit “...image quality and wi-fi implementation leave something to be desired” ? How bad does IQ have to be to get less than 3, I can’t recall any camera getting 2.5 or less for IQ so IQ is effectively from 3 to 5 which is too narrow a range to be useful when comparing.

9:02 pm - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#6 Ted Hemberger

Found a pretty awesome Photography blog of Hawaii… check it http://hawaiiphotography.yo-rg.info

9:03 pm - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#7 Frank K

Don’t think they censor people, when they cant be bothered to ever remove links from scammers.

10:31 pm - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#8 Bruce Dunkle

I checked with Sony yesterday (June 5th) and a
customer service rep told me that the HX50V/B
doesn’t have a magnetic compass associated
with its GPS, so I don’t think your initial
comment about GPS with a compass is correct.

2:02 am - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#9 BlackBox

Nothing annoys me more than comments about “IQ” of travel zooms. It’s a camera the size of a pack of cigarettes with a sensor the size of a match head, with a 30x zoom lense made of plastic lenses and the price of a “genuine” Canon lens cap. It’s a camera for people who want to shoot a picture of “that nice church on the other side of the river”. And who don’t care about the “shape of pixels”. Don’t like it? MEGABYTE ME!

Think your “DSLR with a good lens” is better? No problem. Tomorrow morning, Okawango delta, getting there on foot, photographing crocodiles. We’ll see who brings home better pictures, more extremities and less sweaty clothes. Who’s up?

2:16 pm - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#10 Dave

A fairly good review, all things considered.  Did Sony write the first page of the review for you?  Or did you just get a new truckload of adjectives delivered, and wanted to make your website read like a product brochure?

3:29 pm - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#11 Warren Lyons

To sum it up in as few words as possible; a very good pocket camera but a mediocre $450.00 camera

9:06 pm - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#12 Edwin Davis

I found a cheaper price here! This camera blew my mind with it’s 30X Zooming power!!!
Check it out here : http://t.co/j19RPatDAX

2:28 pm - Saturday, June 8, 2013

#13 Clipping Path Asia

This I can say Image master simply looks and works good!

9:11 am - Wednesday, June 12, 2013

#14 Raffaele

Can anyone tell me best settings to take normal everyday photos, so the camera takes them quickly used model in shop and it took them very quickly mine on the other hand takes a bit longer.

7:52 pm - Monday, July 15, 2013

#15 John S

I like this size of camera to tuck in my belt pouch and head into the forest or sports event.  Since Sony can build an RX1 with full frame sensor, why can’t they build an HX50 with an APS-C sensor?  And add better aperture control while they are at it. 
20X would be fine for me with a sharper, faster lens.

5:52 pm - Saturday, August 3, 2013

#16 marco111

A very successful model. Super pictures. I love it.

7:49 pm - Wednesday, August 7, 2013

#17 RichardHC

Your sample images and 100X sample images have much less noise than the images I get on my new HX50V.
I’ll try different noise and sharpening options.
Other than the noise - which is disturbing even at 80 - the camera does have a fantastic zoom, excellent high dynamic range and colors.

5:30 am - Sunday, September 8, 2013

#18 kaleb larsen

i really like this cam.!-
Learning to use a camera, learn to understand its limitations.!-
“noice” what’s your problem.???

my first 24 photos taken, testing the cam in very low light conditions.!-

link.= hdr painterly overkill

http://www.panoramio.com/user/4419890

10:51 pm - Sunday, September 8, 2013

#19 Rob

This is an excellent camera. As long as you don’t expect DSLR IQ, shots are clear, even at full zoom. It feels very solid, like a real camera and not a toy. Low light performance is also outstanding. I give it 5 stars.

2:13 pm - Monday, December 9, 2013

#20 Apple

Flash does not pop up automatically as stated.  There is a button you have to press which opens pop-up flash.

9:32 am - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#21 Ken

Question: What effect, if any, would shooting photos and videos with the Cyber-shot DSC HX50V at 10 mp, rather than 20 mp, have on improving image quality and reducing noise? Professional quality answers from Mark Goldstein and others would be appreciated. If it were not for the 720 mm long zoom range, it seems I should not have bought this camera.

It would seem that the Panasonic Lumix DMC TZ40 would have been a better purchase, but its maximum zoom range is 480 mm.

I have a Panasonic Lumix DMC ZS7 with 12 mp lens that shoots much sharper, super crisp photos, with great clarity. This camera’s maximum zoom range is 300 mm. Its a 720p camera, while the two newer cameras above are both 1080p.

12:55 am - Friday, January 3, 2014

#22 Nigel Cummings

I had high hopes for the HX50 as ‘high end’ point and shoot, but the images I got from it were all smeary and full of jpeg and smoothing artefacts. I tried various combinations of sharpness/ISO settings, but even at the lowest ISO all I got ws grainy, smudgy images - even in bright sunlight. I’m convinced that I got a dud as I have seen so many good quality images from others who use this camera. Fortunately I got it changed for a HX10 which has a much smaller zoom range, but superbly sharp images.

1:24 pm - Thursday, January 9, 2014

#23 satyam

The hx50v is the world smallest 30x zoom camera it is verry good camera to use shoot the image in low light and the day

          I SUJEST U TO BUY THE SONY HX50v CEMARA


                            THANKS

5:19 am - Tuesday, February 25, 2014

#24 siouxzeq

I just bought this camera and then realized it doesn’t have an optical viewfinder (which I really prefer). Any suggestions as to a different camera? Or maybe there’s an accessory or something? Thanks!

3:02 pm - Monday, April 14, 2014

#25 Geoff

As a bit of novice,can anyone advise how to capture a zoomed image,also how to see the screen in bright sunlight,. Help!!

3:00 pm - Thursday, June 26, 2014

#26 Zoe Condon

Wow! It’s awesome blog post here…. really very interesting for reading…..

6:07 am - Saturday, July 19, 2014

#27 Nadia J. Jacobsen

It’s really a nice and helpful piece of information. I’m glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. I want to say it would supply up to !

6:14 am - Saturday, July 19, 2014

#28 cherrelle

Hi i have bought this camera a few months back and i am doing a lot of travelling. any picture that the sun is in is just ridiculous. terrible sun glare big red blodges all over my pictures. I have tried the sun setting and it is no different can anybody help? sony told me thats just what i should expect of a good camera. thanks

2:41 am - Wednesday, August 13, 2014

#29 Kalman Pataki

Hi. i’m thinking about to buy this camera but i’d like to capture 1 hour long Qi-Gong/ thai chi training movies with it . Is it good for that to? anyones advice pls?

12:46 pm - Saturday, August 23, 2014

#30 Dave

Kalman,  If you get a good deal on it, you should find the video quality to be pretty good for a micro camera, even for long shoots.  If you are paint full price, you might want to look at the Panny TZ40, or some other such newer camera in the same price range.

I had an older version of the camera, and found the resolution good, and no apparent limit to how long a movie you could take at max resolution.  The Sony video quality is competitive with anything at the same price, except for dedicated video cams.

The battery life is pretty good, but you may want to turn off the GPS to increase battery life.  I never tried shooting an hour long movie, but your only real fears are the size of the memory card, and the capacity of the battery.

6:51 pm - Saturday, August 23, 2014

#31 ChrisAustralia

Camera produces odd textures in thr jpeg images it creates.  A bit like pointillism in olden oil painting times.  Almost like there is a permanent hard wired algorithm for jpeg compression that is a compromise, or noise reduction gone haywire.  Anyone else?

10:48 am - Thursday, August 28, 2014

#32 Denise Novotny

This is the 3rd Sonly Cyber Shot I have owned.  Why 3 you ask?  I seem to have a water problem and exposed my previous cameras to the “elements”. I love this camera !  It’s very user friendly (all of them have been) - they take great pictures!  I travel a lot and like to take lots of pictures - I never worry with this camera!  Would recommend it for anyone who wants great pics when you aren’t a professional photographer.  I’m a fan of Sony!

7:32 pm - Thursday, August 28, 2014

#33 Rinu

I like to buy this cam.
Is it good for beginners?

2:42 am - Saturday, August 30, 2014

#34 ChrisAustralia

@rinu.  Yes, I would recommend this camera for beginners.

8:04 pm - Thursday, September 4, 2014

#35 Stan Tan

Hi, I bought this camera reading your review and in particular that it can take 15Mp stills while video recording. The camera does not seem to do that and I can’t find it anywhere in the instructions for it. How did you do it?

11:31 am - Friday, September 5, 2014

#36 Ian B

I bought an HX 50 to use alongside my Canon G16 when I need a long zoom. I think it would have been a better camera with 10MP instead of trying to squeeze in 20.  However the camera comes into its own in Superior Auto mode where it builds up an image from several.  It isn’t clear exactly how this works, but impression is that the images are of far better quality with less of an obvious noise floor.  Hence I will be using the G16 for manual shots and leaving the Sony on Auto.

6:43 am - Thursday, September 18, 2014

#37 Paul Edwards

I just purchased this camera the other day and as is normal on these occasions the weather closed down and clouded up - frustrating!

Initial impressions for me are about 8/9 out of 10, The main problem I found is trying to focus when using the zoom. Anyware from mid to max zoom focus is pretty hit-and-miss. But when it does work its great. I have taken some imressive hand-held max zoom images across our local lake at people fishing other side and was quite surprised at how good these looked and a lot of pix of my granchildren and flowers and a large fat macro spider - not bad. I actually want to replace my NEX5R with this camera…. I miss the flexibility - but not the size - of my old Fuji bridge camera which had the same size zoom range!!

cant wait for some nice sunny weather, blue skies and sunshine - but not this week according to the weather forcast!!!

4:09 pm - Monday, September 29, 2014

#38 Paul Edwards

No - I havnt noticed any serious noise in the pictures I have taken - I must say that the ’ intelligent ’ automatic modes work very well on this camera as others have mentioned.

Bit dissapointed that I cant use playmemories apps on this camera as you can on the HX60 as I have an account which I use on my NEX5R. But I purchased this camera for £189 GBP!  SO bit of a bargain.

4:15 pm - Monday, September 29, 2014

#39 Paul Edwards

KALEB your pictures are excellent and should shut up a number of folks moaning about this camera!!

4:23 pm - Monday, September 29, 2014

#40 Paul Edwards

some intitial shots from HX50

https://plus.google.com/photos/107193621487464636258/albums/6064529903949049217?authkey=CLWMu8nzg7ObCw

4:53 pm - Monday, September 29, 2014

#41 Paul Edwards

Initial first shots with my new HX50

https://plus.google.com/photos/107193621487464636258/albums/6064529903949049217?authkey=CLWMu8nzg7ObCw

4:55 pm - Monday, September 29, 2014

#42 Paul Edwards

here are some more images taken around Gatwick where I live. handheld (inc Moon!) testing out the amazing zoom. The ones of the rushour traffic are a very long way away!!

https://plus.google.com/photos/107193621487464636258/albums/6066023170179602273?authkey=CMvjwOmMjOTbxQE

5:44 pm - Friday, October 3, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, test, wi-fi, wireless, travel-zoom, wifi, travel, 24mm, 10fps, travel zoom, 20 megapixel, GPS, cybershot, panorama, 3D, 30x zoom, hx50, 720mm, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX50V Review, dsc-hx50v, dsc hx50v, hx50v, ony

Tracker Pixel for Entry