Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX9 Review

4.5
October 6, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 mazen

thank for the review
but i see its picture quality looks horrible
any alternative from other manufacturers will be much better
i am a sony fan and so disappointed now

11:22 pm - Wednesday, October 6, 2010

#2 SEO Vancouver

How can you say the picture quality looks horrible? Nothing wrong with Sony.

12:51 am - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#3 KDA Bookkeeping

Do you know when the TX9 will be available in Canada?

12:53 am - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#4 Dave

Full HD is 1080p not 1080i like it says in the review.

2:36 am - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#5 nick192

Pictures are taken in cloudy conditions. Picture quality is pretty good for this compact.

7:16 am - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#6 mani

good

good

11:27 am - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#7 wim

these sony camera’s are real gems when it comes to usability for the every day consumer. The automatic functions like auto+, isweep panorama and auto HDR are advantageous for non-photographers and they work in the best possible way. This is a point and shoot and you have to assess it that way as well.

Image quality is fine. It is in difficult lighting conditions that these camera’s really start to make the difference. The video quality is phenomenal.

Consider the superior wx5 as well. But beware of the low battery capacity and consider a spare.

bokehs.be

2:50 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#8 jateallmytea

bot this camera a month back.. nd its awesome !!
low light images are superb..the best a point nd shoot camera can produce !!

its worth every penny!!

7:27 pm - Friday, October 8, 2010

#9 jugdish

After taking this camera on a trip to Disney World, I can honestly say that it is the best all around point and shoot I have owned, with the added bonus of HD video that rivals my CX-12 video camera.  The images are crisp and clear, and most importantly the camera is small enough to take anywhere.  The only issue I have is slight barrel distortion on the edges when zoomed out.

1:24 am - Friday, October 15, 2010

#10 esma

Just bought it today. The image is awesome. Take a video, than can straightly view it on my hdtv. the image also clear and cool.. yeah…!!!

3:50 pm - Sunday, November 7, 2010

#11 Me

LOVE IT AMAZING QUALITY AND VERY GOOD CAM. HAVENT YET SEEN ANY BETTER. BOUGHT IT AT LAS VEGAS GOOD CAM.

2:41 am - Wednesday, March 2, 2011

#12 S V Swamy

Thanks for a detailed review and for the comparison with the rivals. I will be coming back to your blog for more research before I buy a compact camera for daily use.

1:29 pm - Monday, September 19, 2011

#13 pterosonus

I have owned this camera for over a year. It takes amazing low light shots and grat movies (I use a mini tripod). Very minimal shutter lag and is fast to write to card. Since new models have come out since, this can be had at a low price - like $100 or so.

10:12 pm - Friday, September 21, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, review, 12 megapixel, hdmi, beginner, sony, touch screen, 1080i, 10fps, 4x zoom, CMOS, 3.5 inch LCD, HDR, touch-screen. touchscreen, cybershot tx9, dsc-tx9, tx9, dsc-tx9 review, tx9 review, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX9 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry