Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W380 Review

3.0
March 26, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

23 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Yianni

What are manufacturers thinking with these new 14 megapixel pinhead sensors.

There’s so much NR on the sample images it’s not funny anymore.

If they continue doing what they’re doing images are going to look like water paintings with so much NR.

I’m sad to see that they haven’t put a cap on megapixels with these 1/2.3” sensors and annoyed that the average Joe still thinks having more megapixels is a good thing.

2:23 pm - Saturday, March 27, 2010

#2 op

Sad if the picture quality is as bad as you claim.

I was really thinking of buying this camera instead of wx1 because the latter’s lack for SD-support and thus the extra money needed to buy MS (and it’s compatibility issues of course).

Maybe I’ll have to turn to Ixus 120 or look for special deals for wx1 as it soon leaves the market.

4:42 pm - Sunday, March 28, 2010

#3 Miha

I don’t know why so many people are complaining about the price of Memorystick.

Comparison for 8GB flash card 30MB/s (on 28.3.2010):
SanDisk MemoryStick Pro-HG Duo Ultra = 37 EUR
SanDisk Extreme III 30MB/s SDHC 8GB, Class 6 = 35 EUR

Do the Math! ;)

5:24 pm - Sunday, March 28, 2010

#4 op

It’s just that we all already have those SDs laying around our homes. Thus the extra cost for 8GB MS is more like the whole 37€ mentioned in the above example. Sony as well as Olympus and Fuji have certainly noticed this because they are moving to SDs.

I think that having a lot of megapixels is about the same thing as to have a very big engine in your everyday car. You can’t use the potential it has but the downsides (higher maintenance/fuel costs) are still there. Nevertheless to many of us it’s important for some reason.

3:10 pm - Monday, March 29, 2010

#5 r4i sdhc

Wow, at last i got a review on this camera. On every site they have given only the technical details. By the way nice review, can you provide more details in photographers point of view – I mean picture modes, ISO settings, shutter speeds, zoom, picture quality under different situations?

10:35 am - Thursday, April 1, 2010

#6 Andy

I think camera not so bad. See my samples :
http://foto.mail.ru/list/andypost/SonyW380.
Click image and then “+” for original full size.

1:25 pm - Monday, April 12, 2010

#7 s_jose

Guys, pls have a look at W360 before you go for W380.. W360 is worth a pick.. The lens makes a looooooot of difference..

Do try 360/370/370 and then buy.. u can clearly makeout the difference in the picture quality.. i personally went for buying 380 but was not happy with its pictures.. So i bought W360…
(Also please do not be fooled by the camera adjustments done by the retail shopkeepers. They will try to sell the product with a higher MRP or for which they get more commission). I went to a Sony Center and picked. They gave a frank review about the lens…!

12:28 pm - Monday, April 26, 2010

#8 dehene

i bought W 380 sony cyber shot camera.iHATE ?T
because it has aworse image quality than sanyo   8 megapixel camera.Where is the 14 megapixel images? it has only 5,5 megabytes pictures but quality is very low

7:36 pm - Wednesday, May 19, 2010

#9 Am

dehene, more Megapixels doesn’t mean better quality.

4:11 am - Thursday, June 3, 2010

#10 nick

hey guys i bought this camera after lot of research and stuff on net. TO me it didnt disappoint me still it has very good twilight effect for night shots and auto image adjustment makes things easy for point n shoot so why u whine about so much if u just pay few bux and for handly slim size. If u want real pix n photography go to DSLRs.
To me i like this cam v much. I always keep in my pocket so i never miss any shot. specially awesome for couples.

7:55 am - Monday, June 14, 2010

#11 nout72

I checked the test pictures and compared them with similar cameras of different brands (which got 4 - 4,5 stars rating for image quality) and, honestly zoomed in at 100% resolution I didn’t find the images that much worse and looking at them as a whole, full screen at my 20 inch iMac some are actually better looking.

I find absolute (pin)sharpness and noise issues kinda overrated, to me exposure, color, contrast and depth are much more important.
If an image looks good fullscreen at a 20inch or 24 inch screen than it’s fine for me.

But I’ll admit that a camera in this price range at least must give you a hint of better quality in comparison with cheaper models.

4:31 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#12 dex

Pictures from this camera are really noisy in all but perfect light conditions. I totaly agree with PhotographyBLOG review. HD movies in low light are even worse than photos. I culdn’t see the difference between HD and VGA resolution - everything was so blury.
I changed DSC-W380 model to DSC-X5. It is more expensive, has just 10 mpx mattrix and makes MUCH BETTER noise free pictures and sharp movies.

5:52 pm - Wednesday, August 4, 2010

#13 Biggen

Great review.
I’m an owner of DSC-W380. It’s strength is low light photos. It performs very well without fash.
The macro mode is also good, and I frequently use the panorama function. Daylight photos could be better, sure. I’m not a pro or anything near, and I must admit that I was fooled by the MP-hype. Question: What about using the options 10MP or 5MP instead of 14,1MP? Would that improve the picture quality? I will try and see…

5:06 am - Tuesday, August 10, 2010

#14 Sash

Do not,I REPEAT do not buy this camera it has the worst image quality imaginable I’d give it 2 for image quality not even 2,5.
To get image with decent quality light conditions must be perfect so do not even try to shoot in poor light.Landscape images are poor as well.
This goes for videos as well VGA (640x480) clips are bad even in the good light conditions (clips look more like 320x240) and HD clips even in FINE mode are very bad in poor light conditions.When using zoom while capturing video camera is very often completely out of focus.
Even Nokia N95 takes better images.
My 5y old Canon A510 takes better images.
I’m never going to buy digital cameras from Sony ever again,only Canon.
Don’t believe me OK then go buy it and see for yourself you’ll realise that it was a complete waste of money.
Big FAIL from Sony…

1:21 pm - Sunday, August 15, 2010

#15 Suresh

Hey guys,
Yesterday I bought my w380. Its awesome. well fit in hand and nice compact and handy shape.

Picture quality is changing depend on lighting condition. but 85% of my pictures take within 3hrs are awesome.

Bad things are panorama mode support low resolution and some times dark area appear on left and right upper corners.

I give 90% and I love it. Dont think twice to buy this cam..
Have a nice day

7:49 am - Thursday, October 14, 2010

#16 Mat

is this camera better than the Casio EX-H15 or the Olympus 7040, they are the only cameras i have a choice of buying at the moment? any help will be much appreciated.

10:55 am - Tuesday, February 8, 2011

#17 Yuri Tanos

It’s more on the user’s capability not the technical side of the camera. There always be a better technical specifications from one to the other as long as point & shoot camera is concern. For me its more on how you will maximize the capability of the camera rather than taking note of what specification it have from one camera generation to other. Who the hell will take a picture that is as smaller as needle hole and it will shows the picture vibration problem. Camera is for taking pictures, it is best to use it on taking “A BIGGER PICTURE” so to speak. I go with Andy that it is not bad after all, some pictures for printing are now be edited and some DSLR photographers do this to show their appreciation as they saw it on their subjects. Guys, focus on the camera maximization capability. I am a proud owner of a lower version of W300s and people around me appreciates my camera shots together with the skill I develop using it I never fail.

9:16 am - Monday, February 14, 2011

#18 Yuri Tanos

It’s more on the user’s capability not the technical side of the camera. There always be a better technical specifications from one to the other as long as point & shoot camera is concern. For me its more on how you’ll maximize the capability of the camera rather than taking note of what specification it have from one camera generation to another. Who the hell will take a picture that is as smaller as needle hole and it will shows the picture vibration problem. Camera is for taking pictures, it is best to use it on taking “A BIGGER PICTURE” so to speak. I go with Andy that it is not bad after all, some pictures for printing are now be edited and some DSLR photographers do this to show their appreciation as they saw it on their subjects. Guys, focus on the camera maximization capability. I am a proud owner of a lower version of W300s and people around me appreciates my camera shots together with the skill I develop using it, I never fail.

9:27 am - Monday, February 14, 2011

#19 Manish

One week befor i bought sony DSC-W380. But whenever i m clicking images. and checking resolution images are not so clear. Its better to purchase 5MP camera from NOKIA mobile. Please help me to click sharper images from this Camera.If anybody know then please mail me details for click in clear and sharp in 14MP resolution. .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

8:47 pm - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#20 very good cam

Very good cam for simple use.

4:08 pm - Thursday, February 17, 2011

#21 W380 user

min shutter speed is 8 sec…go to scene selection>fireworks and set exposure bias to max.

1:31 pm - Saturday, May 7, 2011

#22 Letizia

Ho acquistato questa camera (ottima a mio avviso) per fare foto sub, alla prima immersione si è allagata e, non sembrando essere colpa della custodia, non mi è stata sostituita. Ha continuato a funzionare senza flasch e con altre limitazioni .Si è ri-allagata e, verificato che dipendeva dalla custodia quest’ultima mi è stata sostituita e la macchina RIPARATA. Sott’acqua ancora non riesco a fare foto con bei colori solo un’area in alto a destra viene illuminata il resto non riceve la luce del flash. Se qualcuno ha avuto problemi simili e ha una soluzione .... .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

1:33 pm - Tuesday, July 12, 2011

#23 Pete

You guys must have dropped your cameras - the W380 is magnificent - the images match those from a mid-price dSLR for detail and low noise.  Slow shot to shot time is the key weakness in this camera - not the image quality.

7:41 pm - Monday, September 12, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, wide-angle, 720p, sony, 2.7 inch LCD, 5x zoom, 14 megapixel, 24mm, cybershot, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W380 Review, 380, cybershot w380, dsc-w380, sony w380

Tracker Pixel for Entry