Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX10 Review

4.0
June 8, 2011 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

16 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Consumer Electronic Suppliers UK

NICE CAMERA ! ! !

11:48 am - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#2 Alex

I am considering buying the Sony WX10 or the Samsung WB2000.

The Sony WX10 was awarded 4 stars for image quality, while the Samsung WB2000 was awarded 4.5 stars for image quality by PhotographyBLOG.

Do you think the image quality of the Samsung WB2000 is significantly better?

Has anyone bought or compared these two cameras?

1:47 pm - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#3 Yianni

I see a ton of noise reduction/smearing even at low ISO. Images look like painting at 100% resolution :/

It’s more of the same from today’s compacts unfortunately.

4:15 am - Thursday, June 9, 2011

#4 Ace

This is a great camera and has come down in price which is a bonus! - http://amzn.to/kLZumx

8:22 am - Thursday, June 9, 2011

#5 Peter

This is a great camera and has come down in price which is a bonus! - amzn.to/kLZumx

8:24 am - Thursday, June 9, 2011

#6 Pavel

Unfortunately, I have to agree with Yannie, after zooming the pictures in, they look washed out a bit more than acceptable..

7:07 pm - Thursday, June 9, 2011

#7 Bee Jay

Viewed at full size the photos do look rather unnatural, but at screen size, or regular print size, this is a great camera. A decent 16MP compact camera, who would have thought it.

10:31 am - Friday, June 10, 2011

#8 Alex_Brazil

good camera, but is far from following an Olympus XZ-1 and a canon s95, Sony continues the fight to try to get near the image quality that produce these two ...

2:17 pm - Friday, June 10, 2011

#9 Bee Jay

Alex_Brazil

The XZ-1 & S95 take better low light images than the WZ10, helped by having higher aperture lenses. It does do well for a 16MP compact camera although personally I would have rathered they hadn’t have made it 16MP, 12MP would have created less noise at higher ISOs. Both the Olympus & Canon were released at a quite higher price though.

10:07 am - Tuesday, June 14, 2011

#10 David Cook

The detail of information and samples of pictures in this review and one other I’ve read on this blog, are extraordinary. I’ve decided to buy this camera. I have a Nikon D50 with a Nikkor 17-200mm lens that is fantastic. But it is a lot to lug around so I was looking to get one of these compact digitals that I can always have on hand to grab pictures on the spot. When I go on a special photo shoot for some nice landscape I’ll lug my Nikon SLR. Really, I’m just an 82 year old grandpa who loves photography. Thanks for all the effort on this blog.

4:58 am - Monday, July 11, 2011

#11 david munro

best little camera on the market for the price

2:20 am - Friday, March 23, 2012

#12 David Cook

After six months or so of use, I can affirm the value of this little camera. Oh, yes, I cashed in my Nikon D50 for a Nikon D3100 and a great macro lens. More beautiful photography!

10:29 pm - Friday, March 23, 2012

#13 Dealer Specialties

After daily use of 6 of these cameras, we have found that image quality for our purpose of taking pics of cars has given use better image quality for the price BUT the motorized lens has jammed on 4 of the 6 purchased. To be fair, we are taking upwards of 2-300/day outside in all kinds of enviornments. That is the only negative I have for this camera. I would rate it a 3 1/2 out of 5 only because of longevity of the camera for us.

5:40 pm - Tuesday, May 1, 2012

#14 Mladen

It makes lovely pics most of the time. And adding of the manual mode was a great idea by SONY, it does make a lot of difference.

Other than that this camera is sloooooooow. When you turn the dial to a new shooting setting feels like absolute ages you have to wait until you can shoot.

And as for movie mode button, you press it, and then look at a ‘standby’ message on the screen for about 2-3 seconds before it actually starts recording. Same as looking at ‘recording’ message on the screen after you finish recording, which sits there for about 4-5 seconds, meaning you got a long wait when shooting video-to-video.

If you need a camera with which you will be able to capture videos quickly after pressing the ON button, honestly, forget about this one.

And btw any kind of fast motion in 1080p AVHCD makes the videos suck. Honestly, the interlaced lines make you feel embarrased to show the video to anyone.

Just to mention that I got a 32gb 10x SDHC card inside.

All of these annoyances have become so anoying that I am seriously considering selling mine, unless Sony comes out with a magical firmware update.

10:03 pm - Thursday, May 17, 2012

#15 Marion Anderson

Downside of this camera is that when there is any decent light, I can’t see anything because of the reflection on the screen.  Time to bring back the little eye hole on cameras.

Also, with Windows Movie Maker, despite the Future Shop salesman’s “just plug it in and it will download” comment, it doesn’t download for editing.  So now I have to find help with that.

Videos and photos are great quality for an amateur photographer like me.

7:49 pm - Wednesday, August 1, 2012

#16 Bebot Cainong

I wont recommend this camera..it is laggard compared to my dependable WX1..response is slow..

1:02 am - Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, compact, 16 megapixel, beginner, full hd, 1080i, 2.8 inch LCD, 7x zoom, 7x, wx10, 7x lens, Sony DSC-WX10, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX10, dsc-wx10, Sony WX10

Tracker Pixel for Entry