Sony NEX-3 Review

4.0
September 10, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Dubai-photographer

Awesome little camera, always in my pocket

12:34 am - Saturday, September 11, 2010

#2 Tommy

Very nice review, but i have a question

you wrote :
“and there’s also a Bulb mode for even longer exposures, which is excellent news if you’re seriously interested in night photography”

How can i do this without a remote control ?
How can i start and stop the exposure in bulb mode ?
With the selftimer?

Would like to read some experiences from photographers who do long exposures with the nex-3.

kind regards
Tommy

4:21 pm - Saturday, September 11, 2010

#3 S.Agar

I was expecting more from the kit zoom lens. There are a few points that needs improvements in the next firmware as well.

1. A better zoom kit lens is necessary. resolution is less than what a 14MP camera sensor requires.
2. NEX-3 gives usually slightly over exposed images. RAW is excellent.
3. CA is much more than shown in the review.
But in general NEX-3 shines with my leica lenses, contrary to the GF-1 which I also tried.

you may see mey summarized comments with samples at:

http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/showthread.php?t=19425

Seyhun

11:29 pm - Sunday, September 12, 2010

#4 Escorts London

All round the great Camera as all the features are the best for the user.The lens Zooming and its clarity is the awesome one.A better zoom kit lens is necessary. resolution is less than what a 14MP camera sensor requires.

1:32 pm - Monday, September 13, 2010

#5 Palau Blue

I am very disappointed with the quality of the 18-200mm lens which I recently bought.  The 16mm pancake was adequate and I was hoping, with the size of the 18-200mm, there would be a chance it might be as good as the Nikon DX 18-200mm.  It does not even come close.

Sony should make a lot more effort, with their marketing expertise, to get more accessories to customers.  Right now, aside from the stereo microphone, accessories are very hard to come by.  It mught be nice to be able to buy a lens and body cap.

2:58 am - Thursday, September 23, 2010

#6 sd

my tiny helper

8:30 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#7 vanesa

is this better than the olympus epl1? what you think?

4:30 pm - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#8 marnix claus

I have the camera with double lens.
18-55 and 16 mm Prime wonderful.Camera.
pictures zoom lens.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/marnix_claus/sets/72157626414819231/

24 mm Prime.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/marnix_claus/sets/72157626442447509/

All in all super camera.

7:33 am - Monday, April 25, 2011

#9 hp coupon code

I expected more of the kit zoom. There are some points to be improved in the next firmware as well.

4:00 pm - Friday, October 21, 2011

#10 ECommerce Marketing

Sony is one of the most famous among the users and it has good customer response.

1:13 pm - Monday, September 3, 2012

#11 Govt jobs

That’s really awesome camera with lowest price..I recetly buy a new Camera of Nikon..If I do not bought that one then I will choose this one..

8:26 am - Friday, February 22, 2013

#12 Eleni

Does anybody knows which are the differences between sony nex 3nl and sony nex 3ny?

6:37 pm - Sunday, May 11, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, hdmi, sony, mirrorless, 14 megapixel, 1080i, 7fps, system camera, nex-3, nex 3, nex3, Sony NEX-3, Sony NEX-3 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry