Sony NEX-5N Review

4.5
October 31, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

27 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 chus

my camera, but I hope the analysis of the samsung nx200 to decide

11:03 pm - Monday, October 31, 2011

#2 danaceb

This camera is an gem. At first I actually kinda of hated it, inside assuming it was just a rehash of the NEX 5 with the newer sensor. However, all the work Sony has done to improve every last aspect of the system functionality down to a smoother shutter, for this camera is impressive. Olympus and Panasonic, should be lauded for recent efforts too as I’m also a very big fan of the new lenses and fast AF, though I am unapologetic believer than APS-C should be what defines EVIL as DSLRS all move to full frame as the tech gets cheaper.

3:58 am - Tuesday, November 1, 2011

#3 adsc

Was the trip (see sample images) sponsored by Sony? The pictures are great.

10:31 am - Tuesday, November 1, 2011

#4 Helen

Being a videography as well as photography fan I thought the NEX-5 would be my Holy Grail. The quality of the photos definitely matched up to my Sony Alpha DSLR however I was a little disappointed with the HD video which was fine when filming in a static position but struggled to keep focus when panning slowly. I upgraded to a SanDisk Extreme Pro SDHC Memory Card (16GB,45Mbps)which made a great improvement to the performance. The NEX-5N’s 60fps capability combined with a decent memory card should deliver some amazing HD results.

10:37 am - Tuesday, November 1, 2011

#5 Fred Shamootsin

It seems that the review of NEX5N and A65 somehow
got mixed up in your review (look under image
stabilisation and panorama example that was missing;under your image quality heading ).
Also , features like in-camera lens’abberations correction were not only covered in some detail with some examples (like what DPREVIEW.com have done ),but was not even mentioned in the review.
I give your review only a 3 .

5:09 pm - Tuesday, November 1, 2011

#6 Enio

I’m Own it, and I’m love it.
After read two tons of reviews, and similar videos on youtube, and finnaly prove for myself the excelent overal quality of this camera ,clearly this is the best choice of compact system camera to date. Period. Put an 35mm or 50mm f1.4 on it, and you have the power only see in +2000$ BigBoys DSRls.

5:24 pm - Tuesday, November 1, 2011

#7 derek

As a owner of NEX5n , A77V,A900 and EOS5Dmk2 ,  I can guarantee you guys the low ISO IQ of this camera (especially in DR and color depth departments), is almost as good as the A900 or the 5D2 and the high ISO is also not that bad (RAW only), a bit too much default NR from ISO400, though.

And there is literally no shutter lag with this camera , so the 10f/s is really 10f/sec and it is impressive….I guess as opposed to what danaceb seems to think ,I think FF is the one to die soon as APS-C gets this small and this good and MF is getting cheaper and cheaper , Canon and Pentax are ready to announce some cheap MF replacements and that may kill high-end 135mm FF.

so lets see which format will die out first.

6:55 am - Wednesday, November 2, 2011

#8 Jake

>It seems that the review of NEX5N and A65 somehow
got mixed up in your review (look under image
stabilisation and panorama example that was missing;under your image quality heading ).


Nothing missed here but you should know that this camera is at least as good as the D7000 and it is a pocketable camera.

I love it with my Sony A mount Zeiss primes and I am sure if IQ of this kinda cameras get this good , there are many current FF shooters who may want to check it out and may even go back to APS-C with this one or the NEX7.

So, imho, as opposed to many here , FF is the one to die out first and it is already the time for many of us to forget about all film terms such as FF , 135mm , SLR , RF ,etc, it is after an all digital gen camera made from scratch without any film influence.

And MFB is becoming cheaper and cheaper ,and Canon is ready to release something really cheap in this class next year, there is already quite cheap and good MFD body( the Pentax 645D ),so there is no more room for so-called FF.

BTW, I have this camera along with so called FFs.

7:05 am - Wednesday, November 2, 2011

#9 Peter Harris

These are wonderful cameras but let’s not get too frothy:  for pure resolution the larger sensor is still king.  It comes down to the lenses and physics.

8:31 pm - Thursday, November 3, 2011

#10 PINGALI SIVA SESHU BABU

Dear sir,

Every time introducing a new camera within a span of less than 5 years is unaffordable to the photographer enthusiasts. More over too many models are conusing the buyers. I am impressed with the JPEG COMPARISION to RAW.

It difficult to the beginer enthusist with heavey terminology.

seshu.

4:12 am - Friday, November 4, 2011

#11 shaun

I am a total beginner.When viewing the columns in the the enlarged thumbnails, the sides of the columns appear pixellated,jagged.Then when zooming an image area again, the edges are resolved straight.I thought pixellation occured the larger the image.I am viewing on a sony crt monitor.

1:36 pm - Sunday, November 6, 2011

#12 PINGALI SIVA SESHU BABU

IT IS TRUE TO SAY NO SCIENTIST CAN GO BEYOND PHYSICS. LATEST TECHNOLOGY AND MEGAPIXELS ARE NOTHING BUT GAMES.

SESHU

2:05 pm - Sunday, November 6, 2011

#13 eikei

I own this camera. Image quality is fantastic!! You can see some of my shots here http://www.flickr.com/photos/ankonim

3:23 pm - Sunday, November 6, 2011

#14 PINGALI SIVA SESHU BABU

I HAVE SEEN THE SHOTS. I TOO HAVE THE BEST SHOTS. ORDINARY PERSON SHOULD NOT BE CONFUSED WITH JARGON TOO MUCH. WITHIN 5 YEARS THEY CHANGE THE MODEL HAS NO MEANING.

4:03 pm - Sunday, November 6, 2011

#15 BABA

BABU, shut up!

9:16 pm - Sunday, November 6, 2011

#16 PINGALI SIVA SESHU BABU

I HAVE A SUITABLE ANSWER FOR YOU. YOU ARE A GENIOUS. BA BA BLCKSHEEP.

3:45 pm - Monday, November 7, 2011

#17 Apelles

Overall a good review, some minor thing you forgot to mention are-The “Help Guide”  button in the lower left hand corner is actually the soft key B setting which can be changed to Flash Mode (no need to go into menu) as well as any number of functions you choose, I Use mine for manual focus assist. With soft key C setting you can add five different functions, with Right key You can choose yet another, A total of 7 functions plus the touch screen adjustments for these functions, virtually negate going into menu. There are also 3 different lens compensation adjustments for chromatic aberration, distortion,and shading -aka vignetting. One fantastic thing about this camera are the wide variety of 3rd party adapters that let you use c-mount movie camera lenses, rangefinder lenses (Lieca M and screw mount, Ziess Contax pre-war) and any number of manual focus SLR mounts. One tip when ever I shoot at night in the city is to set white balance for incandescent- street lights. In addition to it’s excellent images and movies The NEX 5N is the smallest and most flexible camera I have owned

4:15 pm - Sunday, November 20, 2011

#18 ToonSpirit

Antishake mechanism is not built into the camera body ! This is a specification of selected lens.

10:43 am - Wednesday, December 21, 2011

#19 ToonSpirit

The antishake mechanism (Steadyshot) is not built into the camera body, this is a specification on selected lens

10:51 am - Wednesday, December 21, 2011

#20 Erik O

Excellent low-light high ISO performance!
The best low noise DSLR / CSC so far !!
Do see: http://www.flickr.com/photos/pixel4art/6556804839/in/photostream/

7:12 am - Saturday, December 24, 2011

#21 Roger

I’ve owned this camera for a few week now and its absolutely fantastic. I’ve always owned a compact before as I didn’t want to lug round an SLR. One tip I would give anyone else upgrading from a compact to a multi lense camera is to buy a Hama Lens Cleaning Pen. I didn’t realise how much dust can get onto the sensor when changing lenses all the time. So a friend recommended I get one of these as its small and ideal for my NEX.

2:20 pm - Wednesday, December 28, 2011

#22 Paul Bentley

This is a brilliant compact camera, with DSLR performance. Its blown away my Pentax K-7 which I loved ... until I bought this. Low level light performance, high ISO - this kills my beefy Pentax.
Here is a short video review of some of my fav features (so far)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5WAA0-kHoQ&feature=youtu.be
and an example of the excellent panoramic picture feature http://www.flickr.com/photos/8912948@N07/6679506087/ (just cropped a fraction and touched in photoshop).
This camera is a real camera, but stick it on auto mode and anyone could use it. Remarkable.

7:51 am - Thursday, January 12, 2012

#23 Trev

I have just bought this camera. It exudes quality at every level: The images it turns out, the build quality, understated design appeal. IT’S PROGRESSIVE, COOL AND WILL BE A CLASSIC.

The tiny body hides a plethora of creative features. Some to be frank a plain gimicky (Sunset/posterisation/toy camera etc). However there are also genuinely brilliant functions that will make radical improvements on most amateur’s photos. Probably the most appealing is the ‘background defocus’ function. This enables control the depth of field intuitively, real time with a scroll wheel. Also the ability to pick/spot focus on LCD, which is then tracked when the image is recomposed. These are function that are really intuitive and therefore will really come in use in the field.

Other genuine benefits are ability to control chromatic abberations, vignetting and barrel distortion in camera. All push the image towards a pro result.

Enthusiasts will find themselves asking a myriad of questions, such as what it ‘rich tone black and white’? (HDR black and white?) The instruction manual suplied does not explain how the many of the creative functions are achieved. This is a mystery since I thought this camera was aimed at people who are serious about their photography. Also on the face of it some of the creative function seem to be mutually exclusive for no apparent reason.

All this being said, the quality is astonishing and the Sony will no doubt push my photography to a different level, most importantly for me without feeling like a tourist/anorak photographer with a brick around the neck.

12:39 am - Tuesday, February 21, 2012

#24 Peter Harris

One other thing I’d like to mention- I think it’s a beautifully designed camera - really elegant.  The whole device is smaller than you imagine. What may seem, at first, like awkward proportions are, in person, ergonomic and lovely. 

In general it speaks to a digital device not a cloying reference to the past.  and indeed, it takes full advantage of digital possibilities (anti motion blur, panoraminc modes, soft buttons and dials). Only the curious menu system keeps it from absolute greatness - or maybe it emphasizes the greatness of the rest of the camera.

I know these things are a matter of taste but I don’t know where the russian tractor factory analogy fits.  My next google search will be for russian tractors - I might have missed a whole class of sleek modern vehicles.

6:03 am - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#25 avars

hows the battery life guys?

10:15 am - Wednesday, April 25, 2012

#26 Nancy

The battery life is for about 400+ shots.  I’ve owned mine for 5 days and I’ve had to recharge - but it recharges FAST.  I like the program for downloading my images as well… easy to use and easy to organize.  I love this camera, and it is small enough not to feel like a brick.  I love the fact the body isn’t full of complicated looking buttons and the flip screen is awesome.  I’ve carefully read the manual, experiemented, and in five days, I’m shooting like I’ve always wanted; controlling DOF, shutter speed, etc.  My old digital was awful for anything except crappy snapshots.  I am so very pleased with my purchase of the Sony NEX-5N

11:59 am - Thursday, May 24, 2012

#27 Andrew

The beat part of this camera is the ability to use older MF lenses, followed closely by the available EVF.

I have the 18-55 kit lens, AND NEVER USE IT.  Instead, I carry a 28mm f2.5 and a 58mm f1.4, both old MC Rokkor (Minolta) from the late 1960s (58mm) and mid 1970s (28mm).  I’ll likely sell the 28mm and get the Carl Zeiss 24mm, and eventually replace the 58mm f1.4 with the even faster (and optically better) 58mm f1.2.

I also own the A77 and a lens kit that extends from 11mm to 210mm zooms and with primes for portrait (85mm f1.4) and macro (100mm f2.8).  The large DSLR kit is wonderful and I always take it for photographic travels, but for casual use, the NEX5n is a far better tool.

11:57 pm - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, hdmi, compact system camera, sony, mirrorless, csc, 10fps, tilting, tilt, nex 5n, nex-5N, Sony NEX-5N, Sony NEX-5N Review, nex5n

Tracker Pixel for Entry