Sony Xperia Z Review

4.0
March 12, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Junnior_Reis

Technical Specifications Wrong And Incomplete !

Xperia Z Lens Aperture Is f/2.4 !

Size Image Sensor Is 1/3” !

Maximum Effective Pixels Resolution Is 12.7 Megapixels !

Please Correct It !!!

5:22 am - Wednesday, March 13, 2013

#2 Junnior_Reis

Technical Specifications Wrong And Incomplete !

Lens Aperture Is f/2.4 !

Size Image Sensor Is 1/3” !

Maximum Effective Pixels Resolution Is 12.7 Megapixels !

Please Correct It !!!

5:25 am - Wednesday, March 13, 2013

#3 Paul Edmunds

I have had the ‘Z’ for nealry 3 weeks now.  In some ways its very impressive, in others not so. Its true what they say about the battery longevity - if you want it to last turn off everything that updates (Gmail, Facebook, twitter etc) and turn down the screen brightness or if your taking it to work deffinitely take the charger too!  I am quite impressed with the camera - but WHY does it take so long to launch after you click on the app icon??? Picture quality is very good and even more so in low light situaltions… the exmore really helps and it also sharpens up images same time…

9:29 pm - Wednesday, March 13, 2013

#4 sudesh

Read more about Xperia Z : http://www.freewarebulk.com/2013/03/sony-xperi-z-water-resistant-smartphone.html

6:07 am - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#5 Paul Edwards

Had the ‘Zed’ almost a month now. We also have a couple of Samsung S3’s in the house and you cant help compare them. I think one of the things one notices about this phone is that its UI is very boring compared to the S3 - and most other Samsungs too - If it wasn’t for the colorful apps you can run of this phone and games too - it would be rather unexciting compared to the brilliant vibrant display of the S3. Things like gmail, text messaging section - no color at all… shame really because the Z has a very nice screen.

Downloaded films do look very good on this phone however, even better when connected to your widescreen (roll on 4G!) The camera is the best bit of this phone with HDR and the Exmor sensor you can can take some very good low light images without flash. This device will also automatically upload any images you take directly to photobucket, Google + ,facebook, instagram and dropbox!  so they will never get lost! 

A case is an absolute must - the Xperia z scratches VERY easily! so be warned, don’t skimp on a case or screen protectors!

4:01 am - Monday, March 25, 2013

#6 Amal Rjn

coooooooooooool

5:02 pm - Wednesday, May 8, 2013

#7 paul edwards

What you can do is go to google playstore and download a new UI! Look for ‘Launchers’They are mostly all free, right now my xperia Z looks like a windows 8 phone! Love it more now.

5:19 pm - Wednesday, May 8, 2013

#8 Paul Edwards

I think its true that the ‘Z’ isnt as good screen-wise as the Samsung super-phones,its still a jolly fine device though. Apart from connecting it to my flatscreen to watch HD films it also works very well as a WiFi hotspot, I often run a laptop and my granddaughters tablet off it no problem, easy to connect too.

11:57 am - Saturday, May 11, 2013

#9 Zhe

HI ,


I got neew sony experia z recently, but i cannot find crop option in the picture tool bar.

as it says we can crop a picture but why same has not given in my handset :(

8:28 am - Friday, September 6, 2013

#10 Paul Edwards

First of all make sure that you have the very latest firmware update using the Sony desktop companion connect via USB cable.

Goto the app store and look at the many photo editing software mostly all free,

To crop an onscreen image - any image - click the bottom menu bar click the double rectangle right hand side click on the left hand side of that and a number of icons will be shown including CLIP MANAGER. In older versions of the xperia X it was in the main power off button on the side - screen capture. Hope this helps

10:01 am - Friday, September 6, 2013

#11 Lakhan Rastogi

Hello everyone !
I owned Xperia Z about a month ago. I owned it for casual photography. I also don’t have enough knowledge about photography and camera.
I just wanted to ask that on the following link >>
http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/sony_xperia_z_review/sample_images/
there are a lot of sample images where all images have varying ISO and Shutter speeds. I found an option of controlling ISO in my camera app, but could not find the options for controlling shutter speed. Can anybody help me guide, how to do that as I was looking for trying Time Lapse with my phone camera.
Thanks
:)

5:30 pm - Friday, November 1, 2013

#12 Paul Edwards

No shutter control on the Zed only iso . Her can only be used on stationary objects and so on

5:43 pm - Friday, November 1, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 1080p, wide-angle, test, sony, 10fps, 28mm, GPS, smartphone, panorama, phone, cameraphone, 13 megapixel, xperia, sweep, 5 inch LCD, Sony Xperia Z Review, xperia z, z

Tracker Pixel for Entry