Sony World Photography Awards Winners Announced

April 21, 2016 | Zoltan Arva-Toth | Competitions | Comment |

The winners of the Sony World Photography Awards have just been announced. The awards included four competitions - Professional, Open, Youth and Student Focus. The Professional competition was divided into fourteen categories, and the winners are Amélie Labourdette (Architecture), Kirstin Schmitt (Candid), Julien Mauve (Conceptual), Maroesjka Lavigne (Landscape), Marcello Bonfanti (Portraiture), Alberto Alicata (Staged), Francesco Amorosino (Still Life), Jetmir Idrizi (Campaign), Asghar Khamseh (Contemporary Issues), Angelos Tzortzinis (Current Affairs), Espen Rasmussen (Daily Life), Kevin Frayer (Environment, People), Nikolai Linares (Sport). Asghar Khamseh also won the "L'Iris D'or - Photographer of the Year" award. The Open Photographer of the Year is Kei Nomiyana from Japan for his series, 'Enchanted Bamboo Lights.' Sam Delaware from the United States has been awarded the Youth Photographer of the Year title. RongRong & inri, the influential photographic husband and wife team who have shaped contemporary photography in China and beyond, were recognised for their Outstanding Contribution to Photography.

Photo: Kei Nomiyama, Open Photographer of the Year

Your Comments