Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM Review

April 5, 2011 | Matt Grayson | |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Fredy Ross

I have had this lens since it came out and still love it. Helps that the 500D add on lens fits so that I can take macros with it. Can’t understand though why micro adjust with my 7D doesn’t exist with this lens. Anybody know why that is?

5:25 pm - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#2 Fredy Ross

I have had this lens since it came out and love it. Just don’t understand why in my 7D I can’t do micro-adjust. Have taken a lot of macros with it as I have the canon 500D add-on lens.

5:30 pm - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#3 Wiley Hodges

I have owned this lens since 2005, and I find it to be the best ‘long-ish’ travel zoom in my bag. It’s great because it’s more discreet than a gigantic white L-series telezoom, and the image quality is excellent with a few caveats. One is that I have definitely seen the bullseye-like specular highlights in out-of-focus areas of some images. The other is that the lens is susceptible to flare, and the contrast can drop dramatically if the light is even close to behind the subject. That said, I get amazing images without backbreaking size and weight.

10:14 pm - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#4 PeterParker

Not a single bokeh shot in the samples. This is where the DO lens stinks by the way.

5:22 pm - Thursday, April 7, 2011

#5 Andrew

Has exceptional bokeh and can have a magic look to the pictures. One of the best I have yet seen. Great for people.

Not as sharp as the new 70-300 it is much smaller and lighter. It has a more rounded and old-fashion appears compared to the pixel sharpness and increased contrast of the newer 70-300L. It is a nice companion lens to the 24-105.

It does have problems shooting into the sun. More often than not the flare is picture destroying so back lite portraits or glowing sunsets are usually out.

3:23 am - Saturday, July 23, 2011

#6 Frans

I owned this DO lens now for the last 6 years and have had mixed success with it. On the 350d it worked well, on the 5D mk1 a great disappointment, on the 5dsr extremely sharp from 100mm up. The main problem with my lens is that it has a lot of vertical movement tending to bend towards the ground. This causes the images to become soft and foggy as the optical no longer are parallel to each other. By placing a thin piece of cardboard in the telescopic part of the lens prevents the lens tube from curving towards the ground thus make a huge improvement in sharpness. This 70-300DO lens is now sharper than the EF 70-200L with 1.4x II extender, although the EF 70-200L does show more contrast.

8:37 am - Friday, August 19, 2016

#7 Alain

I did not like this lens because of the difficulty to zoom in and out, requiring to aim it down to zoom in and up to zoom out. Total nonsense imho. Image quality is good though not exceptional. I prefer the L model.

2:27 pm - Monday, August 29, 2016

Entry Tags

lens, canon, zoom, telephoto, professional, pro, ef, image stabilised, IS, USM, canon 70-300mm review, 70-300mm, 70-300, Canon EF 70-300mm f4.5-5.6 DO IS USM Review, DO

Tracker Pixel for Entry