Canon EOS 70D Review

5.0
September 6, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

20 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 CHRIS V WILLIAMS

I found your review helpful and detailed enough for me. I have had my 70d for 72 hrs and agree with your points but since I use two 7Ds and shoot mainly birds and insects you may like to hear what I think…  Firstly, I think selling at RRP is as disappointing as is the move to fragile SD cards - there should be a CF slot +/- SD.  I also question whether images are as good as 7D but it seems to focus better with 400L and 300 LUIS lenses. I am also disappointed that you cannot Wi-Fi images in bulk to your computer given the habit of SD cards to break up… But - back to your review, we’d all like to see direct comparisons of images between 5D-111 and 6D as well as D7100. Food for thought, or are you [and AP] not allowed to do that?

9:52 am - Saturday, September 7, 2013

#2 Robert Sail Photography

Thank you for posting this detailed review.. Think I will go for the 70D now, will be an excellent second body for my wedding work.
Kind regards
Rob

2:16 pm - Saturday, September 7, 2013

#3 Hochzeitsfotograf

70D seems to be another promising camera from Canon. Product cycles get shorter and shorter in photography too, so one has to get a new body every two years to stay up to date…

2:25 pm - Saturday, September 7, 2013

#4 Frank

Image quality: 5 ???
Look around you and think ... ‘you cannot be serious’, like good old George said ...

2:45 pm - Saturday, September 7, 2013

#5 Mögel

Awesome and Congratulations! nice camera :)

5:34 am - Monday, September 9, 2013

#6 Husbesiktning

Thank you for posting this detailed review..

5:37 am - Monday, September 9, 2013

#7 Nuruddin

Great Camera :)

9:14 am - Monday, September 9, 2013

#8 SteveO

Hochzeitsfotograf - yours is a nOOb comment.

10:22 am - Monday, September 9, 2013

#9 Robert Baker

I think this is one of the best reviews I have read on this site. It seems to have covered everything about the camera in an easy to follow writing style and with enough commentary to know that the writer actually had the camera near. This wasn’t just a glorified re-write of a Canon press release.

I’d love to get this camera along side my 60D and see the differences.

5:58 pm - Monday, September 9, 2013

#10 Brian G

It’s all very well saying “The out-of-camera JPEGs are quite soft and at the default sharpening setting” but the jpg image samples posted here are simply dreadful.
They range from bad chromatic aberrations in many of the red ‘sculpture’ shots to the three yellow daisies, in which not a single thing in the picture is sharp - that’s not just soft, it’s simply out of focus.
A number are shot at f16, so you may be running into diffraction, causing softening of details.
I can only think that the particular 18-135 EF-S lens used for these tests is a stinker, or else you should brush up on your technique.
It would be interesting to see some images taken with a different (= better?) lens for comparison, otherwise I can only conclude that the “kit” 18-135 lens is one to be avoided.
A pity, since the rest of the camera seems to outperform the lens it is fitted with.

There are 70D reviews on other sites using the same type of lens in which the image samples are much sharper and have better contrast than the ones posted here.

7:27 am - Tuesday, September 10, 2013

#11 hussvamp

nice camera :)

1:29 pm - Wednesday, September 11, 2013

#12 Nick

Looks a good camera only thing kidding is dual card slots . If they stick to one it would be great if you could buy a grip with a second card slot as well as batteries

5:37 pm - Thursday, September 12, 2013

#13 DaveT

I traded in my 60D and bought the 70D. I shoot mainly photos and wanted something a little faster. I shoot 98 percent of the time with a Canon L 100-400 and a Tamron SP 70-300 lenses. After going outside and shooting some birds around the feeder and flowers I downloaded them and had no sharp images.  I then proceeded to change the micro adjustment for each lens, the 100=400 had to be set -20 to get a decent shot and the 70-300 I could not get any sharp images from. I returned to the camera shop and we tried the display camera and the images were still not as sharp as my 60D so they gave me my 60D back and refunded my money.  Outstanding service form this camera shop in Lexington Ky. This is not a dig at the 70D, it has a lot of great features over the 60D. I just want to tell anyone who has the chance to take their lenses with them if possible to check.

6:54 pm - Thursday, September 12, 2013

#14 Best DSLR Camera

this is the most wanted slr camera for 2013

11:42 am - Monday, September 16, 2013

#15 Ron

There are good things, but also costly disadvantages over my 5D Mkii. I mainly photograph birds, and I have with the 70D got some of the sharpest photos. Part of this is the smaller format and fast focusing compared with the 5D. My biggest disappointment is that I can no longer use the high quality third party flash that I use with the 5D. A lot of photographers use such flash and other specialized gear and may well be angry that Canon has changed its op system. Even worse, it suggests that the proposed 7D MkII will have similar issues. BE SURE THAT THE CAMERA IS COMPATIBLE with the rest of your gear or face the cost of replacing it. Video was good, but auto-focusing only good enough for slow pans and inadequate for shots with rather mobile bird groups. With LV use the camera is archaic. At half-press the camers leaves LV with a clunk, autofocuses and returns to LV with another clunk.
Clumsy, slow and quite useless.

6:03 am - Thursday, September 19, 2013

#16 Roy

What’s holding Canon back from introducing a new APSC camera that takes better pictures than the current lot instead of putting in a lot of useless features. If I wasn’t invested in lenses I’d switch to Sony

4:17 pm - Wednesday, October 16, 2013

#17 Mark

The 70d takes great photos at iso settings up to 1600 and good photos up to iso 3200. It is fast focusing and the video autofocus is better than anything I have ever used. I think that Canon and Nikon both keep the the high iso settings on their crop sensor cameras intentionally high. When you look at the quality of the latest Olympus and Fujifilm cameras at the iso’s above 1600, they are much better than Canon or Nikon. I guess if they made them better there would be no reason to buy their full frame cameras.

4:51 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#18 Evan Wallace

best beginner/entry dslr for your money

best price can be found by clicking on link

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DMS0GTC/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00DMS0GTC&linkCode=as2&tag=wallace0b-20

11:21 pm - Sunday, January 12, 2014

#19 pierre

no gps built in! big mistake in your review!!

9:23 am - Tuesday, March 11, 2014

#20 sökmotoroptimering

Génial et Bravo!

7:24 am - Thursday, September 18, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, hdmi, wi-fi, wireless, touch-screen, wifi, DSLR, touchscreen, tilting, touch, 20 megapixel, 7fps, vari-angle, stereo sound, Canon EOS 70D, EOS 70D, 19-point AF, 70D Review, ISO 25600, Canon 70D, Canon 70D Review, Canon EOS 70D Review, Dual-Pixel CMOS AF

Tracker Pixel for Entry