Canon PowerShot SX510 HS Review

4.0
November 15, 2013 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

27 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Roger John Driver

“it’s most likely that the SX510 HS isn’t in the Bridge section because of the lack of raw recording”


I thought that bridge cameras were defined by the inclusion of an evf - perhaps not?

9:11 am - Saturday, November 16, 2013

#2 mattgrayson

It’s not something to disregard. It didn’t spring to my mind when writing it, but it’s a worthwhile thought. It may be that there may be a number of features needed to class it as a bridge camera. :O)

2:26 pm - Monday, November 18, 2013

#3 Mad Hungarian

Canon is going Made in China. A sad day in photography.

1:17 pm - Tuesday, November 19, 2013

#4 Gare Bare

Can you comment briefly on the video quality and whether it shuts down during recording like the SX280 does? My SX280 still gives me problems, even with the new firmware, so I thought this might be a good replacement.  Thank you

4:54 pm - Tuesday, November 19, 2013

#5 Mac

Need beginners manual on SX510.  Have no knowledge of cameras -.  guide with came it with no good.  Shouldn’t know enof about cameras to buy this.  Isn’t there something all you tech data which Greek to me? 


Mac

10:30 pm - Saturday, December 7, 2013

#6 John English

Unless I’m mistaken there are no drivers available for Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks only for older operating systems.

4:01 pm - Friday, December 13, 2013

#7 Lupe

Is it possible to hook up a remote to this camera?

2:12 am - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#8 John English

It may be possible to hook up your remote but there is absolutely no way to find out because Canon doesn’t reply to questions. They’re out there in China and they don’t give a damn.

Look on the bright side. You now know you don’t want to buy anything from a company like this.

5:05 am - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#9 Gustavo Vasquez

Between canon sx510hs and canon sx280hs Which camera has better image quality and take better pictures? which takes better pictures in low light or at night? Thanks you.

5:30 am - Friday, December 20, 2013

#10 Roguevalgal

Too bad Canon decided to “go green” and not provide the customer with the entire 168 page User’s guide, just the “start up” guide.  They decided to let the consumer print out the 168 page guide, instead of them. I called Staples to see if I brought it in on the flashdrive - if they could print out the guide, but it’s copyrighted so they said no.

6:12 pm - Wednesday, January 1, 2014

#11 smk

nikon coolpix L820 or canon powershot sx510 hs? openion please…need help

11:20 pm - Sunday, January 12, 2014

#12 Phoenix

Need to decide between Nikon Coolpix L820 and Canon SX510HS. Guys help me out here…..

10:20 am - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#13 convict

I am also confused between Nikon Coolpix L820 and Canon SX510HS. Any suggestions, which is better and why ?

5:19 pm - Sunday, February 23, 2014

#14 YocoYur

Canon is better, I have Nikon L820 and it doesn`t catch Canon in the case of the image quality.

Also Nikon have issue too take NiMh batteries, it is very demanding what he want and what no. I have new pack of 2700 mAh Ansmann and it won`t take it :(

11:04 pm - Thursday, March 13, 2014

#15 kindleon

Canon PowerShot SX510 30x zoom

The Canon PowerShot SX510 HS has a 12.1 megapixel backlit CMOS sensor and 30x optical zoom lens, which is a 35mm equivalent of 24-720mm. The zoom can be extended to 60x with ZoomPlus and there is optical image stabilisation to help keep your images as sharp as possible. With a minimum focusing distance of 0cm you can get really close to your subject when shooting macros.

Read More : http://webcamerawebcamera.com/detail.php?id_detail=110

4:47 am - Saturday, May 3, 2014

#16 Raafi Rubayet

is Canon PowerShot SX510 HS made in China?
plz let me know.

9:06 pm - Wednesday, May 7, 2014

#17 Gulibo

Can it take screw on filters, if so what thread size?
Why there seem to be never any interest in the ability mount filters on bridge cameras reviews?  Being able to fit a polarising filter is so useful.

7:04 pm - Saturday, June 7, 2014

#18 Joseph

Hi Matt,
You’ve not specified the battery life for movie recording in “PRODUCT SPECS”.. Hope you’ll update it soon..

7:10 am - Saturday, June 21, 2014

#19 Yusuv

plz help,
i’m in confused between canon sx150hs and coolpix l820,,
can i improve the camera’s life with NiMh battery on l820?
sx150hs with 250 shots is really shorts.

5:14 pm - Monday, July 7, 2014

#20 R

capacity of sd card for sx50 hs camera… can 16gb or higher works on this?

4:00 am - Saturday, July 12, 2014

#21 Amaka

Please how do i change the language on my canon SX510HS from Japanese to English? I can’t change the settings cause of the language barrier. Thank you.

3:02 pm - Saturday, July 12, 2014

#22 Athen

Made in China?

9:15 am - Sunday, July 13, 2014

#23 Amaka

It’s made in China

9:53 am - Sunday, July 13, 2014

#24 ameet

I’m confused betn Nikon P530 & Canon SX510 ....
Which is better plz help.. ASAP

4:38 am - Sunday, July 20, 2014

#25 oldbob

I have no words to express my disappointment. By the time you get the shot set up by jungled settings life has passed you by. Had I not paid too much I’d smash it. Ah, to have back those memories Not captured. Canon should pay me back about 10 fold.

2:42 pm - Sunday, July 20, 2014

#26 Wing

I am going to Iceland to see the northern light in February 15. Will Canon SX510 be able to do the job of taking some photos of the light up sky.

7:56 am - Saturday, August 23, 2014

#27 THK

“is Canon PowerShot SX510 HS made in China?
plz let me know.”

Of course it’s made in China, 90% of the stuff today is made in China.

1:15 pm - Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 1080p, samples, 12 megapixel, test, hdmi, sample images, super-zoom, jpegs, canon, jpg, super zoom, jpgs, 3 inch, bridge, superzoom, 30x zoom, PowerShot, motion, journalist, 24-720mm, Canon PowerShot SX510 HS, Canon PowerShot SX510 HS Review, sx510, sx510 hs

Tracker Pixel for Entry