Fujifilm FinePix Real 3D W3 Review

4.0
October 25, 2010 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

31 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 sharon sedano

Can’t wain until the new professional cameras take the 3D step.  It will be amazing once that capability is available. It will change the way we look at our lives.

7:46 pm - Monday, October 25, 2010

#2 Matt Smith (PhotoSpherix)

I was working on a shot in the studio the other day and was trying to make a 360 product view into a 3d - 360 product view. It might be worth investing a little into the point and shoot to see if the concept will work.

I think I spent more time than the camera costs, just trying the idea.

9:06 pm - Monday, October 25, 2010

#3 massimo

I bought this camera last month. I don’t know how to modify the parallax: using the lever to the left, nothing happens. This lever works only in ‘play’ mode not in ‘rec’ mode. I try with and without the automatic parallax, nothing changed ...

any user with the same problem?

10:59 pm - Monday, October 25, 2010

#4 Avi Lewis

I’m surprised they don’t offer the option of a service to print stereo (stereopticon) cards.  With the availability now of a quality, folding stereopticon (the same one that comes with the Brian Wilson “A Village Lost in Time” book) I’d have thought it would have made a viable option.  Unlike the lenticular stereo printing process, which leaves a lot to be desired quality-wise, stereo cards can be viewed in 3-D with no loss of picture quality, and the 10 mp images should certainly be of high enough quality to make for fine veiwing.

12:48 am - Tuesday, October 26, 2010

#5 Alan Winston

Saying “if you’re not one of the lucky few to have a 3D ready TV, then, while you won’t be using the W3 to its full potential” is just silly. Anaglyphic images (red/blue glasses) and aligned stereo pairs are quite satisfactorily viewable in 3D on regular monitors or as prints.

Stereo photography has been around for over a hundred and fifty years, The resulting stereographs were hugely popular with the beneral public for several decades, and other formats, such as View-Master, retain nontrivial commercial popularity to the present day.

Amateur stereo photography with film cameras, paired digital cameras, or by moving a single-image film or digital camera sideways between exposures, has a long history and significant contemporary user base and web presence.

There has long been good software available for converting scanned or digital pairs of images to anaglyphic images or aligned stereo pairs (stereo viewers or “trained eyes”=“free-viewing”). Since the W1 was introduced, such software has been extended to take the Fuji format, and will work with the W3. See some of the many dedicated web sites such as stereo.jpn.org/eng/stphmkr/ and http://www.stereoscopy.com for much more information.

4:19 am - Tuesday, October 26, 2010

#6 John

I just bought a W3 the other day and it is a terrific product!
The 3D image on the back is unreal, with a little thought, you can make some eyepopping pictures.
When viewed on my Sony LED 3DTV the detail is really breathtaking, with hardly any crosstalk, a little flicker is visible but doesn’t annoy.
It is really easy to make videos that work in 3D but the 720p video is blocky. Also 3D movies seem to lack depth in comparison to the dazzling photo’s.
I have a class6 4gb sd card, and the longest 720p video i can make is only one minute, then it automatically stops, is this normal?
Every one who sees the 3D display on the back of this camera is blown away, and after hours of viewing the camera and TV in 3D, i have no headache and very little eyestrain.
This is my first digital camera that i have actually used for more than a day, and since my casio QV-10 i’ve owned heaps of them.

5:13 am - Tuesday, October 26, 2010

#7 KenJr

With regard to too few video minutes, it was pointed out in one user review that re-formating your memory card in the camera corrected the problem.

6:48 am - Tuesday, October 26, 2010

#8 kelsci

The sample pictures showed a lot if image realism(presence). It looks like a nifty camera. I wonder if it can shoot standard 720P video with its stereo mic setup.

10:05 am - Tuesday, October 26, 2010

#9 Mariaud Jacques

Bonjour
J’ai moi aussi un W3 et je réalise principalement des vidéos 720p
J’ai eu le W1 bon pour la photo mais mauvaise vidéo - 480p
J’apprécie la qualité du W3 - pour peu qu’en vidéo on stabilise la
bête avec un pied ou monopod
Tout n’ai pas positif

- manque une prise micro extérieur
- manque de sensibilité en vidéo
Après tout ce n’est qu’un APN
C’est un outil bloc note que j’ai toujours avec moi
Cordialement
Jacques

2:25 pm - Tuesday, October 26, 2010

#10 John

Thanks for the reply KenJr, but the first thing i did was format my SD Card in the camera.
I’m going to get a 16 or 32gb card and hopefully get some longer movies from that.
BTW, the short video that was posted in this review, had some effective 3D.

12:31 am - Wednesday, October 27, 2010

#11 KenJr

You’re welcome John.  By the way, before you buy more memory, here’s Fujifilm’s Finepix 3W specifications sheet that’s worth checking out.  On it there’s some pretty good detail on length of video vs. memory card size, etc.:

http://www.fujifilm.com/products/3d/camera/finepix_real3dw3/specifications/

2:03 am - Wednesday, October 27, 2010

#12 John

KenJr
I checked the spec page and i think 16gb will suffice,it will give 30 minutes of HD movie and heaps of HD pictures. I appreciate the link. And the price of an 8gb sdcard is so ridiculously cheap, i will get one as back-up.
The 720p video is much better on a bright and sunny day!
Next, i will look into getting some prints done, has anyone seen the lenticular prints that Fuji supplies?

5:01 am - Wednesday, October 27, 2010

#13 Anders Fagerström

This review is really bad. It’s not up to your standard. You miss the point. the only interesting is the comment from “john” it gives me the info I want: does the 3D images look great on a large screen? does it make usable 3D movies?
To enjoy 3D on large displays we will need the glasses that let our eys see two different pictures. this is a fact for a until computers and lasers can be made to project the imagesdirect on our retinas :-) a few years away I think.

8:21 am - Thursday, October 28, 2010

#14 David A Clifton

You review a stereoscopic camera and none of your sample images are stereo?  I know most people don’t have an auto-stereoscopic display, but some anaglyphs are called for.

Sheesh

(If they are here and I just missed them, disregard my ‘sheesh’.

4:22 am - Monday, November 1, 2010

#15 Robin

massimo
I can confirm that manual parallax control does not work in shooting mode but is fully functional in playback mode. Fuji support uk are aware of the problem and are reporting back to Fuji Japan.
The manual control in shooting mode was fully functional on the W1, and according to the operator manuals of both models should be identical. You will have to wait and see whether Japan issue a firmware upgrade in the future. If they do, it will be available on the Fuji global site.

3:17 pm - Thursday, November 4, 2010

#16 Ted Perkins

Is the HD movie format: Sequential, like Blu-ray vs. Side-by-side or Over-under? The latter two formats are 1/2 resolution where Sequential is full resolution - which I hope this camera is.

I don’t know what the Fuji website terminolgy means by “3D-AVI (stereo AVI with two image channels”.

10:55 pm - Thursday, November 11, 2010

#17 Ted Perkins

I now own one and have done a lot of HDMI output testing. The HDMI output is indeed Sequential when HD is selected in the Menu. This assumes the HDMI cable is version 1.4 and it is connected to a 3D display. The quality is not Blu-ray of course, but it is respectable - especially stills. The next version Movie mode should be 1920x1080 60i. It would also be nice if the HDMI output was “live” when in Camera mode, so it could be used as a “viewfinder” for previewing and during recording.
Overall, a true 3D still camera & camcorder for consumers and entry prosumers.

6:02 pm - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#18 Avi Lewis

Okay, Fuji don’t offer the service of printing umages suitable for viewing in aq stereopticon, but does anyone out there know if any of the printing services, like shutterfly or mpix, offer this?  Or, possibly, does anyone offer a simple template for home ink-jet printing to produce stereo cards?

3:01 pm - Friday, December 3, 2010

#19 Gary

Great review, nice website.

1:45 am - Tuesday, March 22, 2011

#20 Jack869

Great review….but somebody forgot attach mpo files.. :) , isnt that strange?  Hello wake up guys, this is 3d camera !!!

8:59 am - Friday, April 29, 2011

#21 3d stereo photography

use “stereophoto maker” to read in the mpo files, adjust the parallax and print anaglyph, side-by-side, cross-eyed, etc. For lenticulars, use SuperFlip to print interlaced images. both soft are free.

8:21 pm - Friday, June 3, 2011

#22 Carls Jr III

I don’t quite understand why I can’t find a reviewer that talks about conversion to a varying format, like analyph pink/cyan or red/blue, etc.
I guess its safe to assume from the lack of info, this means the camera cannot process and save analyph vidoe or images.
But you could still pull the dual images and have a 3rd party software that can convert to analyph?

7:42 pm - Thursday, June 16, 2011

#23 Atlantaguy

As someone has already pointed out, there are free software options online where you can create the old style red/blue 3D glasses type images from the Fuji’s pics, that you can share with anyone who owns some of those glasses. 

The only real disadvantage is the back real estate of the camera being so cramped due to the screen size, that you have to rest your thumb on one of the control dials instead of it having it’s own place to rest - making it a bit awkward to hold.

7:36 pm - Friday, July 15, 2011

#24 Cyrilo

I love the W3. I want to buy a 3D monitor to go with my existing desktop PC. The monitor only has a HDMI input-no USB so it seems I can only view mages directly from the camera. I am told by the makers of the 3D monitor, LG, that my PC is unlikely to have a graphics card inside that will handle the 3D files. So is there any kind of card reader that can output the 3D files to such a monitor? Using my son’s LG 3D TV was great because it has a USB port and allowed the use of a USB card reader to input the images and they were breathtaking. Will the still images from the W3 via an HDMI input be just as good as from the USB port? Any one got any ideas?
Thanks Cyril.

9:03 pm - Saturday, December 24, 2011

#25 3ddaddy

I just received my new W3 and it is very interesting and a bit disappointing at the same time. I had a LG Thrill 3D 4G and it was doing a good job of 3D. It also has the no glasses 3D but it will also upload directly to YouTube.  I didn’t read the reviews about the W3 close enough and now I find I am sort of “trapped” in my own little world. I can take and watch but cannot share.
It may be my lack of knowledge but what I really want is:

1. Take 3D videos.    OK
2. Edit like VideoPad
3. Upload to YouTube as anaglyph and/or
3. Burn a DVD that will play in any 3D disk player
4. Save the file to the 3D phone and play it.
% Save the phone 3D to the W3 and play it. They   both use the NO GLASSES display.
ARE WE THERE YET DADDY?

6:09 am - Sunday, January 8, 2012

#26 Peter

Please read my review on

http://review-fujifilmfinepixreal3d.weebly.com

2:29 pm - Thursday, January 19, 2012

#27 Jeff

I’ve had the W3 for about 6 months. Love it as I got a great deal on it. Takes really good pics outside. However, my 2 main issues:

1. The battery life is just horrible (no idea how this isn’t the #1 comment - unless i got a garbage battery) I’ve yet to get through 200 PICTURES without battery death..not cool at all. This is terrible when trying to record vids. That said…

2. Vids. What the heck? Yay!! I can take 6 minutes of high def video..with a 16g card. <—sarcasm. Luckily there is a 64g card in the works, possibly even available. Sooo best case scenario 24 minutes? Ugh.

12:22 am - Friday, June 29, 2012

#28 SlimAdy

Only owned the camera a few days and am blown away with the results - viewing via HDMI mini on a 50inch Panasonic 3DTV.

Very good quality 3D effect all round - just remember the basics (lighting/distance) and it is so automated makes taking great 3D photos as simply as any other standard 2D digital camera.

I have improved on the battery perfomance by doing a couple of basics steps in the settings. I never preview 3D on the screen itself and have lowered the brightness settings on the screen display. I also never walk around with the camera on/open - sounds so simply but have really increased battery life by been very strict with turning it on/off when taking a picture.

So far so good - now to track down some decent 3d movie editing software (happy for suggestions! Was thinking of Vegas 10 or some form of Adobe solution)

8:22 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#29 Gord Hunter

Have had one of these for a few months now and feel about the same as I did at age 17 with my first modern, that is, 35mm camera.  Everything I see presents photo possibilities.  This is a camera that does not get left behind. I could be described as a 3D superfan but I’m sure it could renew anyone’s interest in photography. That said, it is true that the video doesn’t seem to measure up to the quality of the stills, which is very high.

It is an advantage to have a 3D TV for viewing but found a PC monitor equally impressive, maybe more so.  (An incidental benefit was that it lead to the discovery of all the anaglyph 3D on Flickr - thousands of great photos)!  The original pricing of the camera (around $500)dissuaded me for a year or so but I luckily found it for less than half that at Newegg.ca, refurbished but indistinguishable from new.  Knowing the camera as I do now I would be willing to pay more.  If it’s true that Fuji doesn’t plan to continue its production, that’s unfortunate.  It might well deprive many of an unexpectedly positive experience.

11:23 pm - Wednesday, March 20, 2013

#30 David Kentsbeer

I have just received my Fuji 3D W3 and while 3D photos seem to look ok I have noticed that the right picture does not have as much contrast as the left picture and is a bit “milky”, does anyone know if this is normal or is my camera faulty ?

12:41 pm - Tuesday, April 29, 2014

#31 KenJr

Milky poor contrast pictures - left lens? .. Concentrate on not partially blocking your left lens with your finger. I’ve ruined several pictures that way.

1:57 pm - Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, hdmi, 10 megapixel, 3x zoom, 3D, stereoscopic, 3 dimensional, W3, Fujifilm FinePix Real 3D W3 Review, Fujifilm W3

Tracker Pixel for Entry