Fujifilm FinePix S9200 Review

April 18, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Philip Metcalfe

Excellent review - I am looking to a replacement for an old “first generation” Olympus 4 MP (!!!) C-765.  This would seem to fit the bill.  Particularly like the use of AAA batteries in all forms.  Appreciate the need to use small Li-ion batteries in small compact cameras but why not utilise the hollow space in the right hand grip to accommodate standard AAAs?
I get sick of my Li-ion batteries quickly loosing their charge and spares being a disproportionate cost.  Also cameras that can only charge in situ are a pain.  With this camera you can even use standard AAA from the corner shop.
The review comments about the truncated 97% image on the LCD screen and ELV.  Personally I think this has a major advantage.  I have been caught out several times when composing a picture to fill the frame only to find that when printing border less that the edges of the shot are lost.  Although I know this I still get caught out!  The “lost” 3% will compensate for this.

9:07 am - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#2 Philip Metcalfe

Correction to my earlier comment -  batteries should read “AA” not AAA.

9:11 am - Tuesday, April 22, 2014

#3 Blue

re: “The main drawback for the Fujifilm FinePix S9200 is unfortunately image quality - it’s simply too noisy at ISO 800 and above”, well Duh… The author’s review is a bit flawed and from a photographer’s point of view. We don’t expect flawless results when using an ISO over 100 and if possible when shooting film I personally prefer ISO 80 or lower. To gripe about the noise when ISO is at 400-1600 is the exact same thing as when printing film from ISO 400-1600, it becomes very grainy. For best quality, set the ISO at the lowest possible for less grain/noise and you’ll get great images. No digital camera will produce low to no noise when set at ISO 400+. You’d have to understand what ISO is and how it effects the output image in order to write a review based on it as an example of poor results. When printing from film, I didn’t expect to do enlargements from ISO 200 let alone 800 to be flawless. The higher the ISO, the more sensitive to light the film was, and thus the faster the shutter speed could go, but the trade off was, the higher the ISO, the grainier (noise) the image was. Subsequently the lower the ISO, the slower the shutter speed was but the higher the detail possible.

4:35 pm - Monday, December 29, 2014

#4 Blue

Also the reviewer pegged this camera as a, “bridge” camera. Not even Fujifilm pegged this model as a bridge camera because it is missing the one key component that is the minimum requirement to be called a ‘bridge’ camera. Well two, but one for sure, and the second can be solved using a reduction filter glued to the vignette spacing at the end of the lens barrel. The one key missing factor is the hot shoe. No hot shoe, not a, ‘bridge’ camera. A bridge camera is a point-n-shoot camera merged with a DSLR with features from both but not fully immersed. It is a mid-way camera with features and highlights of both. The S9200 has the feel of a DSLR, but with the exception of 3 minor DSLR features, it has none of the minimum requirements to be classified as a, “bridge” camera. So thus should be reviewed as a point-n-shoot, with some minor DSLR features (user set aperature, shutter speed and compensation controls).

4:45 pm - Monday, December 29, 2014

#5 Noel Green

Having read this review I thought that the camera could capture images in"raw” mode, but only .JPG is supported. If it can do raw images please tell me how????

11:58 am - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

#6 Blue

#Noel Green: neither the S9200 or S9400W can do RAW JPEG format. Perhaps you meant another model. There aren’t many Fujifilm Finepix Series that can shoot in RAW JPEG. None in the Z series (I checked). In the F series only the FinePix F900EXR can. In their H series some can but most can not. Even in their list on their website the only 4 of 5 camera’s can shoot in RAW JPEG. The SL1000, S1, then it skips a camera model(HS25EXR & HS28EXR). Then HS30EXR/HS33EXR and the model I finally decided to purchase after trying the S9200 for a week, the HS50EXR. Absolutely love it.

http://www.fujifilm.com/products/digital_cameras/finepix/

8:29 pm - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

#7 Blue

Correction: “Even in their list on their website the only 4 of 5 camera‚Äôs can shoot in RAW JPEG”. I meant 4 of 5 from the top of the HS series list. There are 29 models on that list, but only 4 of 5 from the top of the list shoot in RAW mode.

8:33 pm - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, photos, samples, images, test, wide-angle, hdmi, wi-fi, super-zoom, fujifilm, 24mm, cmos, 10fps, fuji, finepix, bridge, 60fps, bsi, sensor, 50x zoom, remote, 1200mm, s9200, Fujifilm FinePix S9200 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry