Kodak PixPro AZ521 Review

4.0
September 25, 2013 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Joe Prete

Excellent camera for the price.
...Joe Prete

1:27 pm - Wednesday, September 25, 2013

#2 Jason

Problem is no one has confidence in the Kodak name anymore.

3:05 pm - Wednesday, September 25, 2013

#3 Dan

What i want to know is how faithful are the colours to the Kodaks digital cameras of old. Has anyone done a proper comparison out there?
I do wish them well, it always nice to have more choice and see Kodak cameras again.

10:40 pm - Wednesday, September 25, 2013

#4 James

.....I’m surprised this camera wasn’t credited for now having the highest max. focal length of any camera to date…..

6:53 am - Thursday, September 26, 2013

#5 Salhenegger

When I opened the product specs for this camera I could not find any detailed information. Maybe it will be delivered soon?

2:27 am - Friday, September 27, 2013

#6 Jerry Kokich

Glad to see the Kodak name still lives!

8:02 pm - Monday, December 16, 2013

#7 Manoj

Good to see the brand again. In point and shoot range the images from kodak was far better than the brand name cameras like nikon canon and sony. On a side by side comparison canon ixus images dull will a similar range m series camera from kodak

12:23 am - Sunday, December 29, 2013

#8 Jerry Kokich

I agree, Manoj! I have a Kodak M1092 P&S that takes pictures that rival my old Nikon D80!

12:45 am - Sunday, December 29, 2013

#9 Rob Mac

In my opinion, many of these recent superzooms are virtually useless in bright light and long focal lengths due to to one simple omission - an Electronic Viewfinder!!

7:49 am - Friday, January 17, 2014

#10 dimitryushakov

as freelance photograper, i need to know how pictures compare with my fz740,
as to the zoom, this doesn’t worry me
also, i need to know about bat and charger:
what time takes to charge bat and if i can buy
a second bat
anybody has got reply?
i like Kodak
friend dimitry
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

12:45 am - Wednesday, January 29, 2014

#11 J Terry

I agree with previous comments by salheneger about the instructions.  Used Quick Start Guide, but later had a small problem.  Found instruction manual online (printed all pages) and reviewed for idea on how to resolve problem.  Does anyone know how to open the battery compartment when the listed method will not work ?  Is there a pin hole where I could use a paperclip to release the latch ?  Can’t reset the clock, remove memory card or batteries.  Thanks for any ideas.

6:40 pm - Monday, March 10, 2014

#12 Gridbald

@ Rob Mac.

Totally agree and even though the AZ521 is now £149,99 at Argus, no EVF = no sale but for those who can live without one, I think this camera will be a super bargain as it seems to perform well.

Waiting for the review of the forthcoming AZ651 which DOES have an EVF and if it will perform anything like the AZ521, then I’m in!

3:08 pm - Sunday, March 23, 2014

#13 wuss

bought this camera a few weeks ago to replace my Fuji s5500,great new camera apart from when on full zoom I cant get a clear picture(ordered a tripod to help)and miss the view finder but apart from that its nice and modern and even using have the zoom is awesome,

2:27 pm - Friday, May 9, 2014

#14 changing camera

Hello, does anybody Know which cameara will Take, and reproduce/print better color pictures. Between the CANON POWERSOT SX700 and the KODAK PIXPRO AZ 521?  I want to to get good, sharp focus clear “blown up big” prints.  then both have enough zoom for me.  (to much? can’t free hand hold the camera at more than 25x zoom or 30x zoom? without messing up the shot.)  As far as zoom goes, I think 20X will make me plenty happy.  I think ;-)

I am concerned about sharpness of focus, color quality, contrast etc.  I want to be able to produce the best pics/ prints)enlargments) that I can from a “point and shoot camera that I can.  Without Having to alter things in a “photo shop type of program.

I am sick of my panasonic ZS 7 inablity to handle contrasts of scenery, OK I don’t like that about all digital cameras, but some seem better at it and some worse.) THE ZS7 either gives me Grey/white skies, or a blue sky and Underexposed landscape/subjet.  It also does not do good with color variations .especially with a sunset. I you see “yellow, orange, red, Pink/violet” in a blue sky, the panasoic is only going to show you “2 colors” and they might be white and red, instead of yellow and red.  And maybe with a grey sky.
I think that my old Kodak Z760 produced much better color?  except it (and other digital cameras.) Could not reproduce purple??? And it has “no zoom”>

I Am Not sure If Photo Blog Uses the same ratings scale between camera styles.  Is a Image quality rating of 4 on a “toy, miniture, bridge SLR looking, point and shoot camera, the same picture quality as the rating of 4 on a straight out Point and shoot camera???  Does anyone know?

IN CONCLUSION I am trying to decice between THE CANON POWERSHOT SX700. maybe $250 US (WHICH IS acually over my budge)  Or the KODAK PIXPRO AZ 521.  SALE $199.99 US

I am not sure If I am willing to drag around the extra bulk and weight on a belt bag all of the time.  if the KODAK does not produce nociably better Color and Pictures. 

OR DOES anybody know of a camear that produces equal to, or better than picture quality, and good camera operation, of the 2 camears mentioned above, for $200 US or under???  I am willing to drop the optical zoom down 15x or 12x?  And the Megapixels do NOT need to be more than 10mp The goal is Good quality pics.( and nice 720 line video.) Not Megapixel count. Or Crazy high zoom. 

I currently cary around a pansonic ZS7 point and shoot camera in a bag on my belt, or in hand. I am afraid that the stuff in pockets, will destroy camera.
But IS KODAK TO MUCH TO CARY AROUND all the time for the same quality pic. Or does it produce NOTICABLY BETTER pictures? ... That make it “all worthwhile”? ....

Thank You for your assistance.

9:57 pm - Thursday, August 14, 2014

#15 Cahnging Camera

Hello, does anybody Know which camera will Take, and reproduce/print better color pictures. Between the CANON POWERSOT SX700 and the KODAK PIXPRO AZ 521?  I want to to get good, sharp focus clear “blown up big” prints.  Both cameras both have enough zoom for me.  (to much? can’t free hand hold the camera at more than 25x zoom or 30x zoom? without messing up the shot.)  As far as zoom goes, I think 20X will make me plenty happy.  I think ;-)

I am concerned about sharpness of focus, color quality, contrast etc.  I want to be able to produce the best pics/ prints)enlargments) that I can from a “point and shoot camera that I can.  Without Having to alter things in a “photo shop type of program.

I am sick of my panasonic ZS 7 inablity to handle contrasts of scenery, OK I don’t like that about all digital cameras, but some seem better at it and some worse.) THE ZS7 either gives me Grey/white skies, or a blue sky and Underexposed landscape/subjet.  It also does not do good with color variations .especially with a sunset. I you see “yellow, orange, red, Pink/violet” in a blue sky, the panasoic is only going to show you “2 colors” and they might be white and red, instead of yellow and red.  And maybe with a grey sky.
I think that my old Kodak Z760 produced much better color?  except it (and other digital cameras.) Could not reproduce purple??? And it has “no zoom”>

I Am Not sure If Photo Blog Uses the same ratings scale between camera styles.  Is a Image quality rating of 4 on a “toy, miniture, bridge SLR looking, point and shoot camera, the same picture quality as the rating of 4 on a straight out Point and shoot camera???  Does anyone know?

IN CONCLUSION I am trying to decice between THE CANON POWERSHOT SX700. maybe $250 US (WHICH IS acually over my budge)  Or the KODAK PIXPRO AZ 521.  SALE $199.99 US

I am not sure If I am willing to drag around the extra bulk and weight on a belt bag all of the time.  if the KODAK does not produce nociably better Color and Pictures. 

OR DOES anybody know of a camear that produces equal to, or better than picture quality, and good camera operation, of the 2 camears mentioned above, for $200 US or under???  I am willing to drop the optical zoom down 15x?  And the Megapixels do NOT need to be more than 10mp The goal is Good quality pics.( and nice 720 line video.) Not Megapixel count. Or Crazy high zoom. (although the zoom sounds nice! :-) I don’t think it will be “usable” without a tripod, that I do not hike around with.) 

I currently cary around a pansonic ZS7 point and shoot camera in a “little” bag on my belt, or in hand. (yep always, hiking scenery shot/ in town or in a house.) I am afraid that the stuff in pockets, will destroy camera.
But IS KODAK TO MUCH TO CARY AROUND all the time for the same quality pic? Or does it produce NOTICABLY BETTER pictures? ... That makes it “all worthwhile”? ....

Thank You for your assistance.

10:06 pm - Thursday, August 14, 2014

#16 Wondering

Does anybody know if Photography Blog uses a “sliding scale” on the camera image quality rating?
Between SLR camaras, Point and shoot cameras, and the “bridge/mini SLR, crossover” type cameras?
( like this kodak reviewed here.)

Would a “bridge camera” with a image quality rating of 4 be producing the same image qaulity as a point and shoot cameara? or would it be better?

Has anybody compared the Kodak Pixpro AZ521 to canon Powershot XS700?

Does the Kodak produce noticibly Better, more colorful, sharper focused, better contrast, Just plain noticiably better picture quality when compared to the canon?
Better enough to make up for the extra bulk/weight of the kodak?

Or is the picture quality of the Kodak the same, or Not as good as the canon?

8:16 am - Sunday, August 24, 2014

#17 fabio

They should back to restored a new survolted Z1012 best bridge ever done by Kodak

10:12 pm - Monday, September 15, 2014

#18 MR.Tomahawk

I bought this camera for 149$ with an extra battery,16gb card and carrying case as gifts.It was intented as a gift for my wife who is a very amateur photographer.When I tried it with very very low expectations I discovered to my amazement that the images where noticably better than my old Fujifilm supezoom camera,and my SonyHX300.To be fair the Sony can take very good images but you have to fidle a lot with it’s settings through what i find a completely unintuitive environment.And the images where excellent in low light conditions also(as far as superzooms go).By the way max shutter speed is 30 sec not 4sec as the review mentions…The only thing missing from this camera is the viewfinder but at 149$ I honesty feel like i stole this camera….

3:06 pm - Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, 16 megapixel, video, movie, super-zoom, 1920x1080, super zoom, wideangle, ultra-zoom, flash, mega-zoom, kodak, 20mm, fz70, fz72, az521, kodak az521, pixpro az521, 1248mm, 24-1248mm, pixpro, 52x

Tracker Pixel for Entry