Leica T Review

4.0
May 12, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jacopo Nardi

Thank you very much for another great and thorough review! I enjoy your reviews so much!

Lens quality is poor—purple fringing, lack of edge sharpness. But sadly,  the brand name “Leica” will be enough to sell this unsuccessful attempt.

4:27 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#2 Melanie

1st class build quality? NO
1st class image quality? NO
1st class optical / electronic viewfinder? NO

1st class price? YESSSSS

4:54 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#3 Fil

Well, for this kind of money, the camera should have been supplied with the very latest firmware that many less expensive cameras already have. It should have also been weather-sealed, since it really does not add much to the production price, while making it much more versatile.
Seems like Leica knows that anyone able to afford their cameras can also afford the person to hold an umbrella…
Let’s be real: hand-polishing is not an important part of camera-making. For the next model, maybe machine-polish for 5 minutes, but add Image Stabilisation and those ten really useful weather-proofing gaskets instead…

7:11 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#4 Jean Pierre

OMG, Leica disappoint down the line. It is incredible how Leica has lost its quality.
M-Serie is very good, but all other are even worst to the competition.
I cannot understand the management!
Maybe, they will come back with quality of the M-series!

7:24 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#5 Jay

Jean Pierre + Jaco:

The raws look excellent thru ISO 3200 with little fringing.

8:47 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#6 Hasi

Meh…..

12:47 am - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

#7 dan

If this were made by Panasonic and had a M43 mount it would be quite an exciting camera.
Although the body price is ‘Cheap’ for a Leica, the lenses are way too expensive.
Shame as I think the design is good.

10:50 am - Wednesday, May 14, 2014

#8 Tom

I have the New Leica T with newer Firmware and M-Adapter.
I love this apple-like camera.  My Apple iPhone 4S controls via Wifi the camera with the “Leica T”-App. very well.  I can now do with the 0,95 Noctilux 50 mm lens beautiful Selfies of me. No other camera can do this.
My Leica 35mm Summicron 2.0 on the Leica T is very scharp (52,5 mm KB).
I own an M9 with some M lenses and the Leica T.
That’s a perfect combination for me.
Both cameras take incredibly good pictures. I use my beloved Leica T only with M-lenses.

9:23 am - Friday, August 22, 2014

#9 Bruce

“... the new Leica T is only Leica’s fourth ever camera system, following on from the M, R and T.” There is a Leica S series as well.

5:55 am - Saturday, September 13, 2014

Entry Tags

review, 1080p, samples, compact system camera, test, jpeg, movie, mirrorless, touch-screen, touchscreen, jpg, touch screen, touch, raw, sample, 5fps, aps-c, leica, apple, 30fps, touch-sensitive, leica t, t, dng, unibody

Tracker Pixel for Entry