Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G Review

5.0
September 7, 2011 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JP

First line is a typo: “The AF-S 50mm f/1.8G from Nikon is a standard zoom lens…”
It’ not a zoom.

8:41 am - Thursday, September 8, 2011

#2 Bob

You really think that ehe main competition to a $120 Nikon prime is a wider, $1600 Nikon prime? Doesn’t seem right. How about Sigma’s 50/1.5 for $450? Or an older generation Nikon 50/1.8?

3:40 pm - Friday, September 9, 2011

#3 jeff14

what do you mean by the statement “The focus ring has no hard stops at either end of the range and common on newer lenses.”?

8:37 pm - Monday, September 12, 2011

#4 jeff14

what do you mean by “The focus ring has no hard stops at either end of the range but not unusual on modern lenses”?

8:39 pm - Monday, September 12, 2011

#5 gyeorgy lukacs

he means that the focus ring doesn’t physically stop when it’s at either end of its focus range. the ring will just keep going in the same direction, despite not having any further effect on focus. this is a common design characteristic with many modern consumer lenses.

cut the guy some slack. english isn’t his mother tongue, and he still writes it better than a good deal of native english-speakers.

6:37 am - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

#6 Abhinav

I am planning to buy one, above review will helped me alot

7:58 am - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

#7 jeff14

So the focus ring can be rotated 360 degrees? or can be turned from infinite to its end distance range?

9:18 am - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

#8 robert

how does this do at shooting indoor sports, such as basketball?

4:00 pm - Monday, September 26, 2011

#9 Tim Delaney

Thank you for your review. I received one of these lenses for Christmas and detected some front focus when shooting wide open. I didn’t know whether I should be concerned or not. From your comment, I think I can easily work around the issue.

Thanks again,

Tim
Stewiacke, NS CANADA

6:38 pm - Tuesday, January 3, 2012

#10 steve

Where can I find out about the various versions of this lens? G, ED, F, etc.  Confusing

12:25 am - Friday, February 22, 2013

#11 meredith

I love this little lens it’s wonderful simple to use . I use our for portraits and some landscapes. I use it mostly as my walk about lens on my Nikon D4

4:50 am - Friday, March 15, 2013

#12 Aperture

this was the lens that showed me what glass is?

6:56 am - Friday, May 3, 2013

#13 john donaldson

are the sample images full frame or in Nikon DX format

5:22 pm - Monday, April 7, 2014

Entry Tags

review, lens, prime, full frame, f1.8, 50mm, fx, dx, standard zoom, Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f1.8G Review, nikon 50mm, nikkor 50mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry