Nikon Coolpix L820 Review

4.0
May 22, 2013 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

249 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 JP

Mandar,
I just want you to know that the biggest difference in the Nikon L810 and the L820 is the Sensor. The L810 has a CCD Sensor, and the L820 has the much preferred CMOS Sensor, so what doest that change? Just about Everything except for the optics! This did fix more than 70% of the complaints against the L810 model. So in short, don’t try to save anything by buying the L810, it will be money lost. Buy the L820 with the CMOS Sensor!
... JP   ... Yes, but I’m only here for that one question!

7:41 pm - Tuesday, October 22, 2013

#102 PRAGATI SHUKLA

Vinay . i have just purchased NIkon L820 and i m satisfied .my suggestion is that NIKON is better than sony DSCH 200 but you can take look on Sony DSC 300 and do not pay more than 13500 if u r purchasing NIKON L820 OFFLINE. decide ur range and you can also take Nikon D5.

3:10 am - Wednesday, October 23, 2013

#103 Rahul

Leaving apart all the quality and stuff, i like to live Dangerously! so i m gonna do stock photography without a DSLR (ok i was kidding, i don’t like to live dangerously, it’s just that i am poor and cant spend more than 250$ or 14,000 indian rupees)

so tell me people find me the camera in thisrange with lowest noise and disturbance and leave rest on me !

TA-DA

and do help me !

6:05 pm - Sunday, October 27, 2013

#104 judith

I have been looking for a modest camera to replace my outdated one. After reading the reviews, and the nifo on this site have decided tomorrow i will go and buy one. Thank you for helping me make my mind up and look forward to many hours playing with the camera.

10:15 pm - Wednesday, October 30, 2013

#105 seby nb

can i take a background blur picture with my new L820 please let me know how thanks

6:17 am - Tuesday, November 5, 2013

#106 Felicia

Hi all,
Ive just bought this camera and was looking through the review. I noticed that in the sample images page there are photos with the same ISO but different shutter speed. Could someone tell me how this was achieved?

Thanks!

11:40 am - Sunday, November 17, 2013

#107 Carlos

Hello,
Did anyone else notice, that when making video with the Nikon L820 in FULL HD mode, sometimes there is a slight delay in the sound compared to the picture? Not always, sometimes its all OK, sometimes not. Perhaps shooting in 720p could help? Thanks for any help.

8:46 am - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#108 INDRAJIT NAYAK

hello joe..
i m confused with the nikon coolpix p520 and canon sx50 hs. I cant understand which one to buy. This is the first time i m going to buy a camera. I would prefer to buy the camera with good picture qualities. Would u help me out with which one should i go for????

4:21 pm - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#109 J.P.

Indrajit,
The Canon SX50 HS has the edge over the Nikon P520 in a few areas. The Zoom on the Nikon is a 42X and the Canon is a 50X that means 42, and 50 Times, so the Canon has 200mm more in focal length. Meaning you can Zoom in closer. The Canon is also better for action shots, like Sports or Wildlife. Both cameras are built with quality components, and both have a Viewfinder for proper viewing. (Many cameras depend on only the LCD panel for viewing and composing your image). Be aware that you are on the Nikon L820 review right now, and that can’t be compared with either of the models we are discussing. I think that making this one look like a real camera, is a dirty trick to play on people who are new to this, and totally unsuspecting. Become familiar with the model designations, because their call letters/numbers are often very similar, even within the same manufacturer. You are starting out on the right track, cost and availability may also factor into your decision. I would choose the Canon SX50 HS but the Nikon P520 would be a good second choice. ... Joe Prete

6:08 pm - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#110 Sharon

Can I change the lens out on the Nikon Coolpix L820, or is not an option on the Nikon version?

11:40 pm - Friday, November 29, 2013

#111 J.P.

Sharon,
This is an inexpensive, all in one Point & Shoot camera with a Zoom lens that ranges from Wide to Telephoto (23-675mm) The lens is meant to cover much used focal lengths but you can’t change it.
You shouldn’t have to pay any more than $200.00 for this camera.
Do you have any other questions? ... Joe Prete

11:58 pm - Friday, November 29, 2013

#112 aspireing photographer

hi joe
i was wondering if you could help me out i am a mom of a very active 9 month old boy so taking quick and good quality pictures is important also i love photography and will be using my future camera for family photos and all around snap happy.

i had just bought a canon sx500 is for 227 at staples on clearance it was kind of an impulsive move on my end because i was just eager to take pictures it being so close to christmas and all. and it fell to my disapointment. it took to long to snap a picture and if my son moved it would blur. so my question is,

is this the best im going to get in my under 300$ price range or is there better cameras more suitable to my preferences instead of just having a high zoom..wich is great but not a key factor i need. please please help me out so i know if i should take this camera back and if so what should i replace it with. thanks for your time and sorry for the long note!

ronnie

5:55 am - Saturday, November 30, 2013

#113 J.P.

Ronnie,
You can do much better at under $300.00 Yes, take it back. I can give you a list of several different models, but I don’t think Staples has that much of a selection. Will they credit you’re account? Staples is a great store, but you said Clearance, I don’t know if they’ll give you a credit to the store, or return the cash or a credit card charge.
I can check their web site, and give you a list here if you want. The camera you need will have a faster lens, and less Shutter Lag. You can also email me, find it at #77 on page one of this review. If I don’t hear from you, I’ll post it here within 10 hours. ... Joe Prete

7:07 am - Saturday, November 30, 2013

#114 KimC

Hello Joe!

I am trying to decide between the Nikon L820 and the Canon sx 170IS.

I need quality motion shots and quality low light shots to capture my playing nephews and my god daughters’ ballet recitals.

Kim

3:55 pm - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#115 J.P.

Kim,
Can you tell me if you’re in the U.S., if not, please tell me where you reside, and how much you can spend. Don’t forget that you will need an SDHC Memory card, and a case.  Cost, about $20.00 each.  Now are you trying to Freeze the Motion, or are you trying to show the movement by using a slow shutter speed? ... Joe Prete

7:17 pm - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#116 KimC

Hello Joe,

I’m in Canada. I’d like to spend no more than $200 on just the camera. Both the cameras I mentioned are priced around $169-$189 right now. I just want to be able to take decent shots of my nephews playing and my god daughters’ ballet recitals. For both print and FaceBook.

I have been leaning toward the Canon sx170is because your review of it was good for both movement and low light if I remember correctly.

Kim C

10:07 pm - Monday, December 2, 2013

#117 paul

ive   recently purchased the   nickon coolpix l1820 after   a few weeks well lets say ime impressed with this one   nice sharp pics greaT VIDIO QUALITY not even a murmour from the drive   that the zoom   goes out   doesnt pick that up like   the fuji film s4000 if you are prepared to it   and fiddle with the settings   on the   l1820 you will   be   amased at what pics   tou can get if at first you dont succed try   and try photography doesnt come to one in one day it take time ive allways used   finepix fuji film   yes i was happy untill i brought this one nickon l1820 just keep on trying with this one   some pple say its crAP ERM SORRY THEY HAVENT SPENT TIME WITH IT me ime happy and for the price who can moan at that

3:13 pm - Thursday, December 5, 2013

#118 J.P.

To Kim C., Ronnie and Sharon,
I’d like to help you, but the Pop-up ads are making an already difficult forum, nearly impossible for me to get through. And to write back and forth would take forever. One of my email addresses is on post #77 on page one of this comments section. If you still require assistance, you can write to me there. I can not reach you this way, my browser does not allow Pop -up Ads. I have tried to reply. This excessive advertising has caused many to seek other resources. I can be found at two of them, if you’d like to look, but the email would be much faster at this point. ... Joe Prete

6:28 pm - Thursday, December 5, 2013

#119 simba

it is good camera but in high zoom it always has the problem with little shake it goes out of focus

10:20 am - Friday, December 6, 2013

#120 ARNAB CHAKRABORTY

Could anyone please helpme, I want to know how to take a blury background pics in Nikon L820?

5:16 pm - Monday, December 9, 2013

#121 Harry

Arnab,
At the instant of exposure, have the background jump up and down really fast. Alternatively, you can also ask the background to move from side to side, but it must be at the exact time of exposure. This method will work with most cameras.

10:39 pm - Monday, December 9, 2013

#122 ARNAB CHAKRABORTY

Thanks Harry for your co-operation….. but I want to know if there any option in L820 to focus on any object and blur the background!

4:53 am - Tuesday, December 10, 2013

#123 J.P.

IN MOST CASES:
Set the camera to Aperture Priority or Manual Mode, and choose as wide an aperture as possible (ie. F1.8 - F2.8) and focus sharply on your subject. Your background will normally fall out of the field of focus (An effect that some call Bokeh).
.
IN THIS CASE:
Obviously this camera wouldn’t be the best choice for this effect, so your best option would be, to increase the distance between your subject and the background.
.
Setting it to Portrait mode might help.
.
Usually this effect is used to bring attention to your subject.  J.P.

9:02 am - Tuesday, December 10, 2013

#124 J.P.

ARNAB,
I’ve done some searching around for you, and I’ve found a camera that will easily produce the effect that you desire. It’s within the same price range, but higher than the camera you are considering. It is the Panasonic DMC-LX7 with a Leica F1.4-2.3 28-90mm Lens. It also has a larger 1/1.7” 10MP image sensor, that produces outstanding results. This is a High Quality, highly accurate camera. The Lowest price I’ve found on line is $278.00 It comes in Black or White. I recently ordered one of these for myself on Black Friday, at a lower price, but that was the lowest I believe we will see, but it was the camera, and not it’s price that led me to purchase it, I have wanted it for some time now. Rather than get the wrong camera for $200.00, it would be a better investment to get the right camera, at a slightly higher price.
... Joe Prete

10:49 pm - Tuesday, December 10, 2013

#125 ARNAB CHAKRABORTY

Thanx JP#, for ur kind co-operation… but have already bought Nikon L820. so next time I will remember ur advice .

4:37 am - Wednesday, December 11, 2013

#126 J.P.

Arnab,
What about return or exchange? You were planning to use it for Portrait Photography weren’t you? Now if you keep this camera, you are letting it dictate to you, what type of Photography you will be learning! Cheap Point & Shoot camera, not even suitable for children. 1) I don’t know how they get away with selling it, and
2) What makes people think they can get a decent camera for under$200.00 Common sense alone should tell them, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably isn’t! I guess the Big company wins another one. Who is to blame? The Consumer!!

8:18 am - Wednesday, December 11, 2013

#127 Kelvin

I want L820 at first, then I saw this S4900 of fujifilm at mall, and notice you haven’t made a review on that one.. which is better.. tnx

4:54 pm - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#128 J.P.

Kelvin,
There have been many complaints about the L820 camera, even the positive reviews talk about out of focus pictures. I couldn’t say that I recommend this camera, which is not a good example of the quality of Nikon cameras.

As for the Fujifilm S4900, I just did this about a month ago.  It was for a young woman in Australia, we were looking for the S8200, but I was told by Fuji Global that the S4500 was the same model for that area, then I found out that the Big Dealers can have models designated just for them, so after a lot of searching, I found the S4500 at Tesco Direct, a very large chain store that sells just about everything, but they couldn’t get many cameras at all.

She found Dick Smith Electronics, she was treated much better there, so she ordered it, but when it came is was labeled like this S4500/S4900. She’s a bright woman and she was able to match the specs, and the fact that it has a Viewfinder which eliminates many problems, but it won’t actually be opened until Christmas, 11 days from now. I guess you can tell that I tried very hard to find her a camera with the features she needs, but until she gets back to me, I won’t know if it was originally an S8200 series camera, or if it has the same features and quality.

What makes me wonder the most, is that the price is so low, like $129.00, (but I’ve seen the L820 for close to that price in the U.S. too). I had asked about the dollar conversion, but I guess she got busy, so I’ll have to wait. Maybe $129.00 Down under, is like $229 in U.S.? There’s the taxes that will be different too.

Lets start with this: Where you reside, What you need, How much you can spend, and What is available. If you can list the four answers, or as close as possible, we’ll give it a try.  Also, can you tell me how the Box was labeled? or the camera Model Number?
... Joe

6:06 pm - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#129 Raja Mussab

recently i went to buy this camera , but the shopkeepers kept confusing me not to buy this one .. they said “l320 and l820 have the almost same image quality, so why r u spending more money on l820” .. so is this true .. do they both have almost the same image and video quality?? suggestions needed admin. thank u

6:55 pm - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#130 J.P.

Raja,
Where are you located? The L320 was announced and reviewed in the U.S, early this year, but it never hit the stores! it was a shorter Zoom, like 25-550mm or so, and was probably better than the problematic L810/L820 Cameras. If you read my response to Kelvin just above you, I was suggesting that he avoid the L820, and he is looking at a Fujifilm model. I think you are not understanding the conversation, and you have a different issue. I suggest that you find what model you like, and don’t buy what the salesman is trying to sell you. They are concerned with their own situation, not yours!... Joe

7:21 pm - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#131 Kelvin

Thanks JP, upon searching, i dunno now what to buy..  i have a budget of $200-$300, and all i need is a starter camera. Good image, and long zoom, that’s what i need.. can you suggest some?

These are some of models i look for:
nikon P510
Fujifilm hs30exr

but if you could suggest some, it will be truly appreciated..
Thanks.

6:12 pm - Monday, December 16, 2013

#132 Kelvin

also add to the list are:
Canon sx510 hs
nikon p510

tnx

7:31 pm - Monday, December 16, 2013

#133 J.P.

Kelvin,
The Nikon P510 and the Fujifilm HS30EXR are Much better choices! The main difference between the two are- 
.
The Fujifilm HS30EXR has a Manual Zoom lens 24-720MM a larger (1/2 inch) Cmos sensor, and it shoots in Jpeg, Raw or Jpeg & Raw (all combinations), it has an *HDR mode (EXR).
.
The Nikon P510 has a Power Zoom lens 24-1000mm, a 1/2.3 inch Cmos sensor, it has GPS, it shoots Jpeg images.
.
Both are 16MP Compact DSLR style cameras, both have Lithium rechargeable batteries & image stabilization. Both have an actual Viewfinder and an LCD screen. Both are much better choices than you previously mentioned. How to tell which is right for you?
.
The HS30EXR is better for learning Photography, it’s choice of Jpeg & Raw give you the option to further process your images on a computer, whereas Jpeg are processed in the camera. The
Manual Zoom is also better for learning, and conserving battery power. It’s 1/2 inch sensor is larger & will give you better ISO performance & resolution. EXR Mode gives better *HDR images.
.
The Nikon P510 has a Longer (Power) Zoom lens, better for shooting Birds and Wildlife, it’s a more electronic camera that has several Pre-set modes. The Power Zoom will use the charge faster but it does have longer reach. The in-camera processing modes may be all that you need if you don’t plan on learning how to further process Raw images.

Both cameras give you the option of shooting ready to use Jpeg images right from the camera, Raw image processing is something you don’t have to use, unless you want to learn further processing techniques. Both cameras shoot movies and they have very similar modes. The Power Zoom can add it’s noise to a movie clip. With either one try to get Class (10) SDHC Cards so that the Buffering doesn’t slow you down in burst modes.
*HDR is High Dynamic Range. Prices should be very similar.
... Joe Prete

11:11 pm - Monday, December 16, 2013

#134 Kelvin

WOW, THANKS JOE FOR THAT ADVICE.. i was only concern on hs30exr, when i read the user review there are mix comments.. but that two are my choices as of now.. tnx tnx

3:09 am - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

#135 J.P.

Kelvin,
You will find mixed comments and reviews about even the most expensive cameras. No camera can be perfect for everyone, but either one of these will be fantastic for a new shooter. You can go to the manufacturers sites to view images of the cameras, and also images that were taken with them, go to http://www.nikon.com and www.fujifilm.com (these are the Global sites) Just Type the models into their respective search bars ie.. Finepix HS30EXR & Coolpix P510 and you will easily find them. You can also find the owners manuals, but don’t be intimidated, they are easy enough to learn. Don’t print it though, one will come with the camera.

You might want to look at some pictures at a site like flickr, go to http://www.flickr.com You can also enter the camera models at flickr to find pictures that were taken with each specific camera. Flickr is part of Yahoo.com You may want to open your own page there once you get your camera. It is free, and if you are a Yahoo user, they will already have your email information. Search, and you will find everything you need to get started. ... Joe Prete

4:54 am - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

#136 J.P.

Kelvin,
If it doesn’t show as a link, just type it into your browser.
http://www.fujifilm.com  Sorry bout that…. Joe

5:08 am - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

#137 Shaik

Hi All,

I want to buy my first camera, but got confused looking into various models.

Features i need:
Fast Auto focus, great image quality, Longer Zoom and Various auto scene modes.

Please suggest any one from the below Cameras:

Canon SX500
Canon sx510
Canon sx170
Nikon L820
Sony Cybershot WX150B

7:37 am - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

#138 Kelvin

JP, a friend of mine told me to go dslr, since the price of hs30 exr and p510 are a little lower to d3100 of nikon.. BTW i’m from philippines. You think that’s a good move?

12:25 pm - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

#139 J.P.

Kelvin,
I never mentioned DSLR models because you need a Body, you can get a good one for $500.00 theses days (ie Nikon D3200) but you only get an 18-55mm kit lens, to get the close up pictures like the cameras we’ve been talking about, you’ll need to spend $8,000.00 on a lens, just to reach the 1000mm equivalent on the NIKON P520. If you want to match the lens on the FUJI HS30EXR, you will still spend at least $7,000.00 on the lens,
and if you want to reach the 1200mm eq. of the Canon SX50 HS or the Sony HX300, you will spend $10,000.00 There is a difference in the sensor size, and these cameras reach an “equivalent to”, not an actual 35mm Full Frame SENSOR range.

You will spend many years building a DSLR kit to match what these cameras can do for $300.00-$500.00 US Dollars. Also, be forewarned, if you saw pictures By AISSE, or AMBIKA PANT, these guys have the Super Zoom Cameras that we’ve been talking about, but they also have a natural ability to shoot images, that sometimes can not be learned with years of schooling. Aisse’s last bird picture, about a week ago, is good enough to match most any Professional. He is quite skilled and he was fortunate enough to get a good HX300, He’s the only one, out of 12 that bought that camera, (just on this site) to get a good one. Also,
Sony is not easy to deal with, this was their first attempt at such a Super Zoom, they copied Canon, and they sent out cameras with loose lens assemblies, and at least 2 different Firmware versions. Read the comments right here and you’ll find many sad people that spent all their money on a cameras that are malfunctioning. Btw, Ambika’s camera was about $600.00, he has the Panasonic FZ-200, a great camera that is a copy of the LEICA V-LUX-4 ($899.00 U.S.) It has the same Leica Lens too. 

There is no cheap way to get this range with a DSLR, Most Pro’s don’t own lenses that long, *what you don’t understand is that these lens focal lengths, are “EQUIVALENTS” written like this
eqv. on the specs pages to hide it, if you ever tried to blow up one of those pictures, you would see more grain (noise) than you would believe, part of the trick to these cameras is the use of the   tiny sensor. On a full size print, the resolution from these cameras would make it an unprintable image. That is why I urged you to go with the Fujifilm HS30EXR, but if you want to spend more, they continue the line with the HS33EXR, HS35EXR and the HS50EXR All with larger sensors, the 2nd version of their EXR (EXR CMOS II sensor)  they also add PHASE DETECTION FOCUSING, along with the CONTRAST DETECTION so they focus much faster, and they are a full generation ahead of all the other brands that we discussed. Believe me, if there was a less expensive way, I would have told you about it. Also, you never told me that you were in he Philippines, I assumed you were in INDIA, where they have a limited selection. It was one of the first questions that I asked you! I asked what was available, and you gave me five different models, so that’s what we worked with.

Kelvin, I never told you to go DSLR, I really doubt that you have the ability, or the money to get involved with a kit that has so many components and usually takes years to put together.
Most of us rent Extremely large lenses, when we need them.

If you really need to see why these Super Zoom cameras can make (small) images that appear to have good resolution, look up sensor size, and compare a Full Frame 35mm/DSLR Sensor to the sensor that goes into the Nikon P510 or the Sony HX300 You will clearly see what a 36 X 24 mm sensor looks like, as compared to a 6.17 X 4.55 mm sensor. Full Frame is Roughly, 6 times larger than the Super Zoom Cameras sensor, as you can see in the raw numbers. The tiny sensor is a mere fraction of the size of a DSLR Sensor, and that is the major reason that these Super Zoom cameras “APPEAR” to get in so close to the subject, it all has to do with MAGNIFICATION, but you wouldn’t need to know this unless you plan on printing an 8 X 10 inch image, You would be fine putting your images on the web, again, just a fraction of the size of a real Print. This generation doesn’t really know this, because they never actually print their images. Most don’t even own a printer! You can see these sensor differences at Gizmag.com or Wikipedia or dozens of other sites. Maybe you should reread our conversation, because something has been lost along the way. I thought you were following, until I read this little post here. I think you should have left well enough alone, because it’s very easy to open up a can of worms!
Good Luck ... Joe Prete

7:47 pm - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

#140 J.P.

Kelvin,
Have you got it right now? Do you understand? I’ve got a little time if you have any questions. I’ll be here. ... Joe

9:20 pm - Saturday, December 21, 2013

#141 Huey

I wish the on/off button was located elsewhere, as I have a tendency to push on the speaker next to it, as it is larger than the off/on button is. 

I am new to this camera and have to unlearn the things I did with my old Canon Elf 300HS camera to become more proficient with the Nicon L820.

So far, it is an enjoyable camera, but I wish there were more YouTube videos on how to use all the buttons and such, instead of just unpackaging videos and reviews that really do nothing except to describe the readily apparent to begin with.

For the price, this is a camera that is great for a beginner who wants a more professional look to their photos or video and yet, still easy enough to use. So far, I am well satisfied with this camera and hope I remain so. The folk with the replies of, “it is just Nikon crap,” don’t really have a valued opinion for me, as they failed to really tell anyone why they came to that conclusion and what their opinion is actually based upon.

11:20 am - Monday, December 23, 2013

#142 J.P.

Huey,
Maybe you should go to Nikon’s own web page to seek the support you need? Go to http://www.nikonusa.com  then type model “Coolpix L820” into the search bar and select the “Service & Support” tab. You will need to select your location, as this is Nikon’s Global web site, but you should have no trouble finding answers to your questions there, no matter how simple the camera is. Btw, I imagine that is why there are few, if any youtube clips, as this is about as simple as cameras come. If you read your users guide, you would have found a toll free support line. Phone them from any area. You can ask them questions, it is their name stamped on it, regardless of where it was made.
Like anything else, you should get better the more you practice. Maybe then, you’ll make your own Youtube clip to upload. That is how they are submitted, usually by the users themselves.  Their tech support will answer your questions, but they will expect that you have already read the users guide. ... Joe Prete

3:46 pm - Monday, December 23, 2013

#143 Marsha

Hi I need help choosing a camera, I currently have a coolpix Nikon S4300 I travel a lot and I must say overall I am not satisfied with the majority of my picture quality the shutter takes too long to respond and under the best circumstance the picture still comes out with blurry edges. I was looking to upgrade to something with a little more features to purse &!expand as an amateur/recreational photography more but I do not want a camera as complicated as a SLR. I want a camera that takes good action shots & decent portraits with a relative decent zoom where quality doesn’t suffer while. I’m open to suggestions, these are what I’m considering I’m little all over the place.

Nikon L820
Sony cybershot DSC-HX300
Sony cybershot H300
Canon powershot SX50
Canon powershot SX510

2:20 pm - Tuesday, December 24, 2013

#144 Marsha

Also looking at Fuji fine pix HS50EXR

2:27 pm - Tuesday, December 24, 2013

#145 Igor

Hello J.P.
My question is the same as Eric’s.
I need a good model for travel and family photos and for easy using (as good as possible for this price).
“Eric
A) Nikon Coolpic L820
or
B) Olympus Stylus SZ-16 iHS”
I am from Russia and Canon PowerShot SX500 IS and
Fujifilm FinePix S4800 are also available for the same money in here. I have to buy something for New Year, so your answer is very important for me. Thanx!

5:14 pm - Wednesday, December 25, 2013

#146 J.P.

Marsha,
You have a few excellent choices there, I don’t see any problem at all with the Canon SX50 HS or the Sony DSC-HX300 (these are both 24-1200mm, the longest, of the Super Zoom cameras) or the Fujifilm HS50EXR (This one is 25-1000mm, and has a manual Zoom Lens, but that has a few benefits too, also a plus, it’s sensor is larger!) All are in the $400.00 (U.S) Price range. Note the correct Designations! ... Joe
.
Igor,
You are in a tougher spot, are there any other brands or models available? Maybe Fujifilm HS30EXR, or Fujifilm S8200? Can you give me a location to search? or list some others? I’ll try looking, but it would help to have some landmark. Also, can you estimate the $ Conversion? I don’t see an Eric on my log, is that from a different section on this site? Try to get back to me A.S.A.P.
... Joe Prete

6:13 pm - Wednesday, December 25, 2013

#147 Igor

J.P.
Eric was on the comments page 1.

I was trying to find Fujifilm with EVF/OVF, but I could not in my area. Something like Fujifilm FinePix SL310. Was it the right choice?
Fujifilm S8200 is not selling in Siberia yet.
Fujifilm HS30EXR is twice more expensive.

So, here’s the list of cameras I can buy:
Nikon CoolPix L820
Olympus SZ-16
Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ30
Nikon CoolPix S6600
Canon PowerShot SX500 IS
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-WX30
Nikon Coolpix L620
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TF1
Olympus SZ-15
Canon PowerShot SX210 IS
Panasonic Lumix DMC-XS3
Fujifilm FinePix S4800
Samsung Digimax WB250F

7:15 pm - Wednesday, December 25, 2013

#148 J.P.

Igor,
I’m finding much the same gear as is available in the USA, but I have no idea what the prices are. A site http://photosale.ru
has many Canon, Nikon, Panasonic & Fujifilm cameras that I recognize, but I have no idea without your location what is available to you. I saw your last input, and the Fujifilm S4800 is the only camera that may have an Optical Viewfinder, but the same camera has been relabeled by some retailers. I’ve been told that the S4500, S4800, S4900 Cameras were the same Fujifilm model S8200 camera that is sold in the USA, but I have no firsthand knowledge of this. If it is, that would be fine, but I can’t tell you tell you that for sure, as Fujifilm wasn’t that sure about it themselves. They confirmed that model numbers are changed for certain large retailers in different global locations.

Also, realize that the Eric that I see on page one, was from July, aside from being 5 months ago, I’ve spoken to & emailed hundreds of people since then. My memory isn’t that good!

It would be best for you to obtain some more model numbers, so we can have a better chance of getting a direct comparison. I see that the model designations are the same on several russian sites as they are here, so we would only have cost to compare.
I’ll look for that info on the S4800, and also check Siberia, but can you see if there are any more models, or tell me where you are finding these? The specs for the S8200 are 16.2Mp, 40X zoom, 24-960mm, a 1/2.3” BSI Cmos sensor 1080 HD Video. Try to compare this with the S4800 that you found.  ... J.P.

9:08 pm - Wednesday, December 25, 2013

#149 Igor

J.P.
Unfortunately, Fujifilm FinePix S4800 is not the same as S8200. It has almost the same characteristics, but no Viewfinder 100%.

I’ve got a reply from the shop, and they told me to choose between Nikon CoolPix L820, Olympus SZ-16 and Canon PowerShot SX500 IS, if I’m looking for the best available one.

Other option is Olympus SP-820UZ, it’s a little bit more expensive, but it’s OK.

Here’s the link to the list: http://www.ozon.ru/catalog/1133751/?price=390-7500&sort=price

This is the only on-line market which has retail shop in my town, so I can buy a camera any day before New Year. The list of products for my money is not very long, but it is what it is.

9:58 pm - Wednesday, December 25, 2013

#150 Kamani

Hi,
I just received this as a Christmas present and looking into all that this is capable of.  I was recently playing around with a Cannon rebel I believe the T3i that a friend was kind enough to lend me for a while and I was reminded just how much I love photography.  I guess this is a good step to getting back into it.  I was wondering what kind of accessories like lenses you would suggest for this?  I read somewhere that I could get some for this, but I’m not seeing where the lens even comes off.  ANY suggestions would be most helpful.  Thanks!

2:58 am - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#151 J.P.

Igor,
The Fujifilm S4800 is sold here through the Home Shopping Network (HSN.com). You are correct, there is no Viewfinder.

I found some real cameras at the store that you are dealing with. Of course they are more expensive, so if you just want a “Point & Shoot” camera and you want it now, I would go with the Canon over the others. Btw, the SX500 IS has it’s replacement already out, they’re just clearing out the stock now. They have the same list price, but the street price is higher for the newer SX510 HS.

Remember that without an Optical ViewFinder you’ll be holding the camera about 18 inches from your eyes. It’s not the easiest position, but since everyone was using their mobile phones to take pictures, they eliminated many Optical Viewfinders. It also saved lots of money for the manufacturers, though not so much for the buyers. Watch other people using the Point & Shoot cameras, so you won’t be surprised when you buy one. Holding the camera out so far has many disadvantages. That’s why the Viewfinders are slowly coming back. Fujifilm didn’t remove as many as the other brands, but they are in most Super Zooms.

There is another way to go, if you’re interested in Photography as Hobby/Amateur use. Something to use to get you started.
First, a compact to use for now, a surprisingly good inexpensive Compact camera that will fit in your pocket. You will learn quite a bit from this camera, and you’ll most likely want to keep it later on, Of course you can recover most of your money if you want to sell it. These are all from the link that you supplied.

Canon Powershot A1400 2100.00 py6 5X Zoom, 28-140mm has everything you’ll need to get started, while you save for a real nice Super Zoom camera. Here’s what I found there-

Nikon Coolpix P520 12490.00 py6
Canon Powershot SX50 HS 12990.00 py6
Fujifilm Finepix S8300 9190.00 py6
Fujifilm Finepix HS35EXR 10550.00 py6

Those money symbols are as close as I can come, we don’t have the same keys on our computers. They can be checked at that site. I hope this helps you, just remember that spending 50% or 60% of the money on a larger Point & Shoot camera may not be the solution for your Photography needs. Most important is the Viewfinder, but other differences come along with that. You may want to get creative with your camera, and you should know if that is a possibility with the camera that you purchase.

I get so many questions on this site, from people in the same situation that need some guidance. Okay Russia is a first for me, but I can see that Russia is getting the same quality gear as the USA, but you also get the same cheap cameras too. So there’s really not much difference.

You should also read the comments section of the Canon Powershot SX500 IS as that fits in the same group of cameras as this (Nikon Coolpix L820) camera. Both are also in the declining price stage also, although Nikon did not introduce a replacement yet. Also, take a look at these cameras at their respective sites.
... Joe Prete

3:31 am - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#152 J.P.

Kamini,
... STOP!!!
You are in the comments section of the Nikon Coolpix L820 review.
This is a Point & Shoot camera, it does not have interchangeable lenses. It is a complete assembly. Try not to disassemble it! It will not reassemble. Read the Guide! Don’t harm innocent cameras!
... Joe Prete

3:47 am - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#153 Igor

Thanx a lot, Joe!

I’ve just came back from my retailer shop, where I held the cameras in hands. I didn’t like Olympus and small ones like Canon Powershot A1400 at all, but I liked Nikon L820 and Canon SX500 both. So I will choose one.

As you mentioned on Canon PowerShot SX500 IS review blog, you’ve tried to post the full answer of why Canon is better than Nikon CoolPix L820, but it didn’t work out (“I wrote a detailed reply, but it never posted”). But could you tell me now, as experienced person, whats the point to choose Canon over Nikon if it has a rating (Image quality 3.5, Value for money 3.5) and Nikon has (Image quality 4, Value for money 4)?

There’s a small possibility that I would find some extra money in for a few days to buy Fujifilm FinePix S8300. The other ones are too expensive for me right now, right before the New Year.

9:16 am - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#154 Igor

Joe,
I mean, from what I found on sites that compares,
Nikon better in these aspects:
Higher resolution rear screen 921k dots (vs 461k dots)
Better light sensitivity by 1 f-stop 3,200 ISO (vs 1,600 ISO)
Better video capture 1080p 30fps (vs 720p 25fps)
Faster continuous shooting speed 8 shots per sec (vs 3 shots per sec)
Has panorama image capture and takes 3D photos (SX500 IS does not have both functions)

And Canon is just lighter and smaller.

10:33 am - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#155 J.P.

Igor,
I am sorry, you completely missed the point, the Canon A1400 was intended for temporary use, while you saved up for a much better camera, four of which were on the list in my message, and also available at the link that you supplied. None of those where the Nikon L820 or the Canon SX500 IS. I have no preference for brands, it’s the individual cameras that I am commenting on, and those two have received very negative feedback from the people that wrote in here, and at two other sites that I write at. My only suggestion for the Canon SX500 IS was if you were just looking for a quick and easy Point & Shoot model camera. That camera can be learned within an hour or so, by an average person. Not every function of the camera, but more than enough to get started taking pictures. I also told you about the updated version of it, the SX510 HS, at the same list price. The SX500 IS is now in the discounted group. Soon it’s replacement will take over. Just to touch on the Canon A1400, it is an excellent learning experience, and would help any beginner to learn the basics of Composition, Placement, Colours, Shapes, Sizes and Design.
That experience would be quite useful, and it can also surprise many people to see the pictures it can produce. Most people won’t want to part with it once they see how easy it is to tuck into a pocket without notice. And learning how to shoot Great images from such an inexpensive camera is a lesson in itself.
I never hear complaints about that camera, only surprised users.
I never even mentioned anything about the specifications that you just wrote about, I’m not sure where that came from all of a sudden, but it tells me that you can do this alone, I see that.
Good luck to you Igor,
... Joe Prete

11:46 am - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#156 J.P.

Igor,
Just a note on your missing message, that is common on every site, they monitor IP address, drop cookies and there are Moderators that check all the comments, if one goes right in, but then is gone, it means that the Moderator didn’t approve of it.
An IP address is an excellent identifier, sometimes it’s a public hot spot posting, but they get blocked or removed. It’s nothing against you, it could be anyone that it happens to, and there are dozens of reasons, but they have their rules. When someone types a long post, they could be wasting their time. That can be very frustrating, but there is nothing we can do about it. I don’t have anything to do with that. It’s also frustrating to put effort into someone’s issue, just to find out in the end that it never even posted. The post I entered just before this, didn’t get through as separate paragraphs, but got through as one large one. Go figure! Good luck to you Igor… ... Joe Prete

12:34 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#157 Igor

Joe,
First of all, thanx for your time.

Second is that I got it, about cheap camera for the later replacement. But I just didn’t like it, didn’t feel comfortable holding it – I’m not a fan of such a small devices. It can be a perfect camera, but designed not for me.  And I don’t need to save money right now; I just have to find the best possible camera I can buy with my money. It will be not a problem for me to buy much more expensive camera for the next summer holydays, if I need it. Maybe then you will help me too.

And here’s the link for comparison http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-PowerShot-SX500-IS-vs-Nikon-Coolpix-L820
I just wanted you to make some comments about it, cos I’m not so experienced in technical details, I don’t know how important they are for a usual user.

I will try to follow your advice about viewfinder and get Fujifilm. But if I would not, then Nikon or Canon… But updated one, Canon PowerShot SX510 HS is 11 330 00 руб which is twice more.

The last thing I want to ask is about Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-H300. I was confused about viewfinder in it: one site says it has it, second that it has not. I’ll be grateful for the answer.

PS.
I didn’t understand quite well the point of your last post about IT&IP;, but I hope everything’s OK)

12:51 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#158 J.P.

Igor,
An IP address is an identifier, it displays a number, the senders Location & carrier and it can easily be used to identify a Spammer or a troll (someone causing problems for a web site).

Some of this information is obtained by the system, and a post containing too many brands or links can easily be misread by the system, thereby causing ones hard work to be wasted. It does happen to all of us by mistake at some time or another, and we are having sort of a chat here, so we can easily be mislabeled &
removed. You said one post of yours wasn’t printed. That could have been important to your issue, but I never saw it. I just want you to understand, that is an obstacle that we all face here. I am not an employee, but I am known for handling these questions that come into several sites, and they trust me to handle them.

Next, I will not recommend the Canon SX500 IS, or the Nikon Coolpix L820, and I will not recommend either one, to anyone asking my opinion either. They do not satisfy my standards. The newer Canon SX510 HS is probably marginally better, but not good enough for me. Holding a camera 18 inches from your eyes is not acceptable in my book. Snapsort may make some comparisons, but I don’t put much faith in them either. The % based rating system at http://www.dpreview.com is a much better indicator, and the rating system here can be very misleading.

Just the other day, I said Hey Mark, let’s dump the rating system
and he again said no Joe. He won’t let me drive his Jaguar either, but I just think he’s just a cheap guy. (Obviously that was a joke!)

If you are going to use a site like Snapsort, you are going to find differences, so pick one and stick with it, but not both. Too many cooks in the kitchen, ya know? I don’t think much of it anyway, but they get many clicks, so they make good money. I prefer Mark’s style of reviews, but dpreview is much more thorough. (I can picture them tossing the L820’s & the SX500 IS cameras right into the dumpster after reviewing it).

All reviewers have to find something wrong with every camera, otherwise we wouldn’t need the reviewers at all. Try to keep that in mind, okay. Reading the specs on these cameras doesn’t carry much weight either, there is much more wrong, than is right.

One more thing, the fact that the A1400 Doesn’t feel good to you only adds to it’s value, the idea is to make the best images with an inexpensive, uncomfortable little camera, once you can do that, you’ll be much better prepared to choose your real camera. The students I teach this to also dislike it, but on collection day, none of them wants to part with it. They grow accustomed to them, even comfortable too! That is part of the point of the exercise. Many are offered more money for them as used cameras! You are a Student, I am a Teacher, did you think that we’d have the same point of view? That little camera will increase your possibilities once you buy your real camera.

The Sony HX300 is a top of the line Super Zoom camera, that has an Electronic/Optical Viewfinder. it is very much like the Canon SX50 HS. (actually, it is a copy) There were various complaints, but there are also some excellent models out there. I hope their quality control has been beefed up, but I still see the Canon Powershot SX50 HS as being the better camera, with better tech. support. Several people that bought them lost bad,$450.00 Bad!

I gotta go now, stop looking at all the specs, there is too much to learn before you can do that. You even said it yourself, you are close to the price to the Fujifilm S8300 so you’re understanding! 
At least stick to the four models that I listed, they are from your supplier, try them out over there, you’ll see they are worth the wait. See what the salesman have to say too.
Have a Good Day Igor. ... Joe Prete

2:48 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#159 Igor

Joe,
I understood the point in A1400 thing. Kinda like to drive old mechanic transmission piece of crap, just to learn what it’s like to be a real driver. And then get a new BMW)

Sorry, but I talked about Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-H300, not about more expensive HX300. H300 costs just like Fujifilm S8300, but I can’t find real info about EVF in it. So, if you will have some free time, please, try to search trusted information. I’ll be around here.

Anyways, thank you ones again, with best wishes.

3:29 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#160 WT

Can anyone tell me how to change the shutter speed on the L820?

7:50 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#161 J.P.

Igor,
You are probably referring to the DSC-H200A/B It’s a stripped down model with no viewfinder. 22-580mm Zoom. I think they had some extra parts over there, so they molded them into this model. It doesn’t do much, except leave you longing for a real camera. They all start with DSC, and the A/B thing designates refurbished. It’s way overpriced here at $149.00 When you see it, you’ll know what I mean by “Molded it together”  I’d love to see someone zooming out to 580mm, holding it out at arms length! Take care Igor. ... Joe Prete

9:53 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#162 J.P.

WT,
This is not a camera to make adjustments. It’s a very cheap
“Point & Shoot” camera, meaning that all you do, is point it, and shoot it! If you go outside on a bright day, and fire the shutter, the speed should be very fast, conversely if you go inside with dim lighting and fire the shutter, it should be quite slow. There is no adjustments to make, I don’t understand why you keep asking that question. With cameras, like most other things, you get what you pay for. Some (a few) people are very happy with this camera. ... Joe

10:57 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#163 Amanda

Just received the L820 for Christmas. Love the blog. Lots of information. Cant wait to get started!

11:34 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#164 Igor

J.P.
Hi, it’s me again.
I finally got money for Fujifilm S8300. But!
Now they offer Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ62 at the same price. Characteristics mostly the same, it also has viewfinder. But retailer says that the Leica brand is something really cool. I wanted to ask you about it, cos I never used it.
Now I’m kinda like lost in choices and waiting for your advice.

8:19 pm - Saturday, December 28, 2013

#165 Joe Prete

IGOR,
The Panasonic DMC-FZ60/62 has a 25-600mm lens. It’s maximum aperture F2.8 is only at 25mm (wide angle), once you zoom out, it drops to F5.2 (telephoto) F2.8 advantage is gone!

The great Leica lens you are thinking of is on the DMC-FZ200 (F2.8 is in Manual or Aperture Priority mode ONLY) and that is also only a 600mm lens as well. You were looking for a longer Zoom, weren’t you?

Igor, don’t take this the wrong way, but the way you are going back and forth, it seems that you are not ready to purchase a camera yet. That’s one of the reasons I suggested the other plan for you, the A1400 for now, it would give you the experience to make the right decision. I don’t want you to regret your purchase

Buyers remorse is a terrible feeling, and many people continue to shop after they’ve bought the camera, not to mention going back and forth with each trip to the camera shop. He is playing with you, can’t you see that? You started with a clear plan, now you’ve chopped half the lens off. What’s up with that? With this message, you are back to square one. That’s not the way you started, you were very specific in your needs, and I tried to get you everything you asked for. Have you considered that they have too many of some cameras in stock? or ordering the Fuji is a hassle for them, or maybe the profit margin is their issue?

Please, stop at this point and clear your mind. Then look at your list, see how many features you really want. Once you’ve done that, look at each camera, one at a time, and list Pro & Con for each model. If you’re interested in Birds and Wildlife, 600mm is not enough. You need closer to 1000mm, or you’ll be too close to your subjects. You don’t want to be close to wildlife! Consider your needs, and see which camera comes closest to them, and remember the price issue too. You came up with extra money very fast, (I hope it’s not credit card money)  Btw, the FZ60/62 is a discontinued model, I think you know that right?

Put this on paper, see how it looks to you, and I’ll be here when you’re ready. Don’t rush though, and don’t talk to that same guy.
The next time you go there, know what you want. Salesman play people all the time, then they joke about it to each other. I’m sure that the Panasonic is losing it’s value because it’s ended production, and they probably have them in stock.

The replacement model, the DMC-FZ70,  I remember that it had a lower list price! It’s a 60X zoom, but it starts at 20mm, so it reaches 1200mm at 60X. It sounded great until they came out with that specification. Who buys a Super Zoom for it’s wide angle? Take your time, okay, you’ll get it right.
...  Joe Prete

11:15 pm - Saturday, December 28, 2013

#166 Igor

Hi JP! Thank you, sir, so much!
I will buy Fuji tomorrow, it has all that I need, that’s for sure. And you don’t need to worry, cos I’m not crazy to spend credit card money for buying camera that I probably will soon replace with more expensive one, if there will be a reasons to do it.

I will go to the shop with my cousin, who also will buy a cam. He also needs advice from you. But he doesn’t need great zoom at all and hates this camera body type (bridge, that I like so much). He already got a cheap one, I think Samsung, and he is not satisfied. Now he wants to buy an also small one with rich functional, good foto quality to make beautiful fotos like panorama, portrait, wide angle, night visions, I guess something like this. More of an art, you know, I don’t know how to explain.
He is choosing between Nikon Coolpix P330 and Olympus XZ-10. Other models of this kind of cameras are not offered in here. So he’ll buy one of these, although he even likes it.
I don’t know how my questions deal with L820 thread, but hope that’s ok)

11:16 am - Monday, December 30, 2013

#167 Joe Prete

Hi Igor,
I am happy to hear that you’re okay now. I knew you would get it straight. That guy should be ashamed of himself, that’s now way to treat people. The advice that I give people on the blogs is the same as that, I would give my own family. I want you to succeed, and I have every confidence in you. I also think that you know much more than many beginners. You will get a feeling of satisfaction with every “keeper” that you shoot.  And we all select the best shots from our catches, I do take more time than many to take my shot, while others shoot a burst of images. It must come from so many years of shooting film, but those who just blast away, quickly learn to eliminate the bloopers right away, so I can’t say that they shoot wrong, just a little different.

I will do a comparison for your Cousin. I remember liking that P330, but for some reason it was never available here, but it will be easy, the specification page is here in my files. Once you get started, I can send you some basic instruction, and some links to educational material, written and video, and I can also add you to my distribution list of informational, and interesting material.

I can also give you some critique on your images if you want, and your cousin also. It’s quick and easy, I’ll either give you an email address to sent images to, or you tell me where you are posting them, and I’ll tell you the good, the bad, and what could have been better. It’s a quick way to learn, and I am careful with people’s feelings, so you need not worry. Oh, Please, just call me Joe, like my friends do! I should tell you, that your experience with the guy at the camera shop, is a very common one. There’s a young lady that I’ve been helping, and I really wish that I could go with her to see the clown that’s been giving her a hard time in the only camera shop that’s available where she lives, but like you, she is too far away.

I will get back to you on your cousins choice, but please make a note of the email address that I gave you. It’s only a temporary address, but from there we can get more direct. Although, I never send people away, we need to have each others contact info to get started. I will speak to you soon. ... Joe Prete

10:18 pm - Monday, December 30, 2013

#168 Igor

Joe
Thank you for your words! I will do my best with your help. Of course I will need some critique and advices, cos I’m just the beginner. If you lead me through the tons of material and instructions it’s gonna be the best way possible.
I looked up for e-mail address, but I think that you forgot to type it. So I send you a test message to e-mail address from your earlier post at the page 1.
Still waiting for your comparison of Nikon Coolpix P330 and Olympus XZ-10. I will also use it from time to time (I hope so, lol), so my own main question is: what’s more important for beautiful art-kinda-like fotos (blurry background etc), great 1/1.7 sensor of Nikon or great f/1.8 to 2.7 aperture of Olympus?
We’ll finally go to the shop this evening! Can’t wait))

8:48 am - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#169 Joe Prete

Igor,
Yes, your email did come in and I will send you out another email address for us to communicate with. The P330 and the
XZ-10 are two remarkably similar cameras! The Olympus XZ-10 seems to have the edge with:20% more shots per charge, slightly larger sensor, slightly longer focal length, and a “Touch Screen” 3 inch LCD & the Lens is a full F-Stop faster! It’s Price is also lower here, $80.00 U.S. Dollars lower, I don’t know if it’s also lower in your area. They came out at about the same time. The P330 has GPS if that means anything to you. Both cameras are capable of producing some very good quality images, but to me, just the faster lens on the XZ-10 was enough for me to choose the Olympus over the Nikon P330. Igor, you seem to be right on track so far, Very Good!  I will email you later in the day.
... Joe Prete

3:03 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#170 Joe Prete

@ Kelvin,
I’m just checking to see how you are doing, have you purchased your camera yet? Give me a shout, or email me at http://www.picture2remember@yahoo.com ... Joe

3:22 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#171 TravisS

I just picked up this camera this morning after doing some research.  Tell me if this is normal to you?  First thing, everything looked untouched when I opened it, but the batteries were already in the camera?  The camera wouldn’t power on because they were dead.  I thought this odd, but just put in some new ones and it turned on.  I’ve only taken about 20 pics inside my house with it.  But every pic has been blurry so far.  There is plenty of light, it focus’ in and looks like it’s right on, but then it turns out fuzzy. 

Do you think this might have been returned with an issue?

8:08 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#172 Joe Prete

Travis,
Bring it back, it was returned defective! You did research and ended up with the L820?.  Ask if you need help!  Was it the price?
... Joe Prete

8:18 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#173 TravisS

I was looking for something under $200 that was simple, but could work well to capture my kids.  It had good reviews and fit in my price range.  I will take it back, hopefully it’s just that one.

8:26 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#174 Joe Prete

TravisS,
Can you tell us what other camera choices you have? Are you in the U.S. ? is this one specific store that you’re dealing with? We can try to find the best camera for your money if you want, just fill us in a little bit. If you supply their URL I can search that retailer for you.
... Joe

8:45 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#175 TravisS

I am in the US, Portland area.  We have Best Buy, Walmart, Target, Costco, Radio Shack, Sears.  I bought this one at Radio Shack.  The other one I was seriously considering was the Canon SX500 IS.  They seemed pretty close.

8:55 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#176 Igor

Joe,
OK!

Happy New Year!!!

Best.

9:09 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#177 Joe Prete

TravisS,
You are just under the bracket for a decent camera. Do you want to blow $200.00, or buy a camera that will serve you for years to come? The Nikon P520 is at Best Buy for $349.95 that is $100.00 off! It’s also miles ahead of the L820, the P520 is a real camera.

That’s just an example, but I assure you that you will be happy with the camera. If you want I can select something in your price range, but I think you’ll see the difference when you unpack the camera. I haven’t bought from Radio Shack in years. It got to the point that I couldn’t trust them for electronics at all. Every purchase was already opened and used, if not by a customer, it was by the very employees that sold it to me. They earn a small salary, and a small commission, and they need both to just get by, but buying a laptop that was already opened takes all the security out of it, not to mention, that’s where you set your password, and get your set-up instructions. Then they try to say they can’t take back electronics! I would never recommend them
unless it’s for a cell phone, that is their main business now!

Whatever you buy, you are entitled to get a factory fresh pack, look at the cardboard tabs, you can easily see if it’s been opened
and even showing it, is using the component. Btw, a camera is a computer with a lens, so it should be treated that way. They should have one on display, and New Boxes in the stockroom.

If you want to find something for that price, I’ll look for it, but any of the other stores in your area will be fine. You can also email me, there’s an address on post #120. It would be faster if you need it today.  ...  Joe

9:48 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#178 TravisS

Thanks Joe.  Unfortunately we have to stay under the $200.  Just not able to spend any more than that at this time.  Really, all we wanted was something a little more capable than a point and shoot, but with a bit more upside.  We had a Panasonic Lumix we were happy with for years, but it died a couple months ago.  Been relying on cell phone camera’s and tired of blury low resolution shots of our kids.  They are always moving, so hard to get a decent shot on a phone. 

I have played a bit more with the camera.  It performed well outside, no issues at all.  It does ok with the flash on inside.  But seems like it shouldn’t be blurry just because the flash isn’t on in a well lit room with lots of windows?  I had tested the display model at Best Buy and it performed well without the flash.

I am in no way a professional, but have plenty of experience with point and shoots.

10:00 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#179 Joe Prete

TravisS,
That’s too bad, Best Buy has the Fujifilm S8200 for $229.00 The store was much brighter than a home would be, that’s why it worked okay there, but that’s sounds about right for this camera. There are   many comments like yours on this blog, and they carried over from the L810 despite changing the sensor in the camera. If you saw the Tiny hole they call an Aperture, you’d wonder how any light got through there at all. I’ll tell you this, the longer you wait, the harder it will be to return it.
Good Luck Travis, and Happy New Year ... Joe

10:24 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#180 TravisS

Thanks again Joe.  I think we will play around with this one til tomorrow and see if it’s more about learning it’s limitations and quirks or if we just need to look at something else.  I did find the Fuji listed at Costco’s site for $209 with a memory card and bag, so would certainly consider it.

10:35 pm - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#181 NITIN PATEL

IT IS A GOOD BUT YOU NEED TO IMPROVE IN BUILT

4:00 am - Thursday, January 2, 2014

#182 Chris B

I bought the Nikon L820 for Christmas and so far I am very satisfied with the results.  Exposure requires a little fine tuning every now and then.  I ‘was wondering if there is a setting to take a moving subject slightly blurred to show the appearance of speed or movement .  I realize this camera has no manual setting, but perhaps you know of a trick to fool the camera into thinking a slower shutter speed is ok.

7:12 am - Thursday, January 2, 2014

#183 faisal

coolpix 820 or canon powershot sx500 which is better
pls help me , am confused to select, give me advantages and disadvantages of these cameras

1:33 pm - Thursday, January 2, 2014

#184 paul

sooryy   sorry dont let me misslead any one   ive tryed   yes   great now lets get too thepoint of the image stabalisation bit IME VERY DISSAPOINTED   at the 30 time zoom   wat gives with this trypod   mounted camera   set the setting well only has a 10 sec setting shoot at the moon   yes its in view of course it is   now counting down   gets to   two seconds   dam the image as moved somwat well out the way i am not gonna sit there for 10 secs   at a time taking that pic with stabalisation   unless ya got a staedy finger   over that button do it   its not wat they say it was good for   30 x zoom   bit mived really very well disapointed   at that part but go ahead try it sport sen is good   i promise you that

5:54 pm - Thursday, January 2, 2014

#185 Daniel Clarke

I bought this one on the 1st in the Christmas/New Year sales for £119.99 from Argos. I’m just looking for something considerably better than my smartphone (Nexus 5), which this should be. Had to limit my budget to low 100’s, so something on sale, as I am currently unemployed (which is becoming very depressing, to say the least, as the months roll on without any job prospects). Was going to go for Fujifilm S4800 for £99.99 at first, then saw the Panasonic LZ30 for £129.99, then saw the Fujifilm S6800 for £129.99, then Nikon L820 for £119.99. It was a final stand-off between the Fujifilm S6800 and the Nikon L820. Made my decision after reading many reviews of both (but annoyingly couldn’t find a single site that has reviewed both). It seemed that the L820 had slightly better picture quality (found Techradar review of more expensive Fujifilm S8200 which had significantly more noisy low-light photos than L820, despite a more advanced lens and zoom) and a much smaller, more compact body and a significantly better LCD screen - but it lacks 1080i 60fps video, 480fps slow-mo and the manual controls for shutter/aperture which I don’t really have a need for anyway at this current time. Hope I made the right decision! First impressions are good so far. Only issue I found so far is the focus completely fails to lock on at high zoom levels in low lighting (which I hope won’t happen whenever I go to next musical gig, whenever that may be) other than that the pictures it takes look fine - love the zoom! The slow-mo video is gonna be a lot of fun too! Better camera than my smartphone for sure, that’s all I really need it for, I’m no professional photographer. From the specs it looks like it beats my Dad’s Panasonic LZ20 which took pretty good photos while they were on holiday so I have high hopes for this little gadget! It’s much more easy to impress people who have grown up with smartphone cameras rather than DSLR’s!

12:36 pm - Friday, January 3, 2014

#186 paul

not one too complain but does any one seem to have a problem when zooming out   with the l820 nikon coolpix model cos for some strange reason the barell seems loose and not long brought this model   is it a fault or is it just the design of this model

3:28 pm - Friday, January 3, 2014

#187 Joe Prete

To Igor,
I’ve tried several times to reply to your emails, each time they are bounced back by mailer deamon. I don’t know how your emails get out, but there’s no way for me to reach you at that address.
... Joe Prete

7:33 pm - Tuesday, January 7, 2014

#188 Joe Prete

Readers,
We’re just “Preaching to the Choir” here, on the L820 and L810 blogs. You really can get a great quality camera without spending any real money! If it looks a little like a Coolpix P520, it must be the same quality camera. Yes, just like a Coolpix P520 Camera!

8:06 pm - Tuesday, January 7, 2014

#189 Hindi Songs Karaoke

Bought this last month and having a wonderful experience, pictures are so impeccable!

8:41 pm - Monday, January 13, 2014

#190 Awesome

Hi Guys..!! I have planned to buy Nikon Coolpix L820 Camera. Is this camera i good for low light photography. Is the flash of this camera is good.Since i need good zoom(above 26X optical).I will be using this camera for casual photography for functions,party etc. so low light photograph should be good. So plz guide me guys and if u have any other camera suggestion within this range in Sony or Canon for low light.(Not FUJI.had bad experience with this company). Plz help…Thanks

7:12 am - Sunday, January 19, 2014

#191 Franklin

There’s one consistent thing I’ve discovered in most of the reviews generally online just like this one on Nikon Coolpix L820, the very product on review doesn’t get the best comments as various people who pass comments condemn the product and only few have the product. I would strike you to discover that the competing products like Canon, Fuji and Panasonic these other guys are recommending are equally condemned in other sites just like this one. Well as for me, I’ve reviewed over 7 different sites before deciding on buying L820 and when I got it, it beats most of my expectations. I knew what I was getting before I paid and I got what I paid for and I’m pleased to recommend it for an average photo-enthusiast out there. I must say also that without manual auto-focus, it’s quite stressful to focus easily with this camera. As for me basically all I wanted was a point and shoot with Full HD, Eye-Fi, SDXC compatibility, 3D ready and good zooming tendency. Very few cameras have all of these things together in this class of Compact Digital Camera. I got them all. Most of the brands and models all what these other guys are saying don’t have all these facilities at this same price tag.

11:13 pm - Sunday, January 19, 2014

#192 Joe Prete

Readers,
I think you should all realize that people are far more likely to post negative comments, rather than positive ones. Having said that, I think you should also realize that we all have our own standards for Photographic gear, and of course, so does Nikon.

With the recent introduction of the new Coolpix L830, we can soon toss this one into the can, along with it’s predecessors, the Coolpix L810 and the L820. Thank You Nikon, but even you knew that it could only get better from here, but we’ll take it, because we can’t bear to answer anymore complaints! For those of you who have a good functioning model, we are happy for you
and we will happily post your positive comments too, but we can’t force you to write in to a blog, so we will wait a little longer for your positive L810 or L820 comments. As for the upcoming Coolpix L830 review, we can’t wait! ... Joe Prete

12:05 am - Monday, January 20, 2014

#193 paul

shame we cant post pick`s from the l820 nikon and go from there big shame realy but ime getting there with this one got some great shots from it fast moving vehicles stills of horses water running birds   scardie birds i call them flowing rivers that come out milky brilliant   now to the universe and back decided to just go out to 28x zoom on this model and yes ive got some good shots of the moon jupitor venus subjuects with blured background` s.you dont have to do much really with the setting. exposure easy just turn it down on the right on the dial simples .get some outstanding picks in macro and thats of the moon aswell. ime starting to enjoy it just dont stand in fornt of a fast moving truck with this one ive added a link   for some of the shots ive been working on have a look if you like them comment thats what the l820 nickon coolpix it`s worth a try what ya gotta loose

12:08 pm - Monday, January 20, 2014

#194 Joe Prete

Readers,
Click on Paul’s name to see his pictures, at his facebook page.
... Joe

1:55 pm - Monday, January 20, 2014

#195 paul

thanks   Joe Prete   that will give some insight to pple asking about the nickon l820 coolpix model hope that will help them out better to understand   the quality of picks you can gethttps://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/t1/1479368_524683437628290_900093501_n.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/t1/s403x403/1532072_546177645478869_41450784_n.jpg

9:24 pm - Monday, January 20, 2014

#196 tonmoy paul

can anyone give me a suggestion??

i am confused between nikon coolpix s9300, L820 and fujifilm finepix sl310…. which one will be best option???

5:41 pm - Sunday, January 26, 2014

#197 JOE PRETE

Tonmoy,
The closest model Fujifilm camera to what you have listed is the
SL300 (now discontinued in many areas) but still, the clear leader!

6:36 pm - Sunday, January 26, 2014

#198 tonmoy paul

joe,

you recommend me to get Fujifilm Finepix sl310??

12:43 am - Monday, January 27, 2014

#199 Prabu v

iam interested in buying nikon coolpix l820 is this is right choice
aim really confused to buy because i am not an professional camera man this is for my home use baby videos & stills is this right choice or not please please answer me thank you

10:49 am - Tuesday, January 28, 2014

#200 Joe Prete

Prabu,
What are they down to, about $69.00 now? Did you read the comments? What, two people got ones that actually worked?
Why that’s close to 2%    They were probably refurbished!

Look at the pictures they sent in. They may be happy because they have very low standards and they realize that you can’t expect much from a camera like this. Thousands of cameras on this site, and this is what your kids are worth to you!
Videos and stills, really?  Jokes are supposed to be funny.

Try to remember this phrase “BUYER- BEWARE”

11:22 am - Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, nikon, super-zoom, coolpix, bridge, 26x zoom, AA battery, Nikon Coolpix L820 Review, nikon l820, coolpix l820, l820

Tracker Pixel for Entry