Olympus SH-1 Review

June 23, 2014 | Zoltan Arva-Toth | |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dan

Wow what terrible image quality!

8:06 am - Tuesday, June 24, 2014

#2 djmuzi

never thought Olympus could do oil painting LOL

11:44 am - Wednesday, July 30, 2014

#3 Suraj Singh

Nikon and Canon, beware !!! Olympus is coming.

10:49 am - Wednesday, October 8, 2014

#4 Navy Davey

Oly is my moniker for it, and Oly does great with some tough subjects like jet airplanes coming in for a landing crosswise, with its Autofocus tracking and multiple shots quickly.
  The 24X zoom is great all around, for birds and far objects.
  It focuses VERY quickly.
Previous comment about terrible image quality is unfounded IMHO. I get clear sharp images at max resolution of 16 megapixels. Maybe he has his camera set at low res. I am pleased and very glad I opted to buy this camera, and in WHITE! My 4th digital camera.

5:47 pm - Wednesday, April 15, 2015

#5 angelo

This camera replaced a SH 50. so I may be biased. But no camera regardless of brand comes anywhere near this product. It is far superior to anything Canon makes for example. And feature for feature this camera is far above it’s competitors,

8:05 am - Wednesday, May 6, 2015

#6 Navy Davey

The Image Stabilization (IS) works really nicely also, forgot to mention it previously.
More experiences with this Oly on Night mode is great. Interval sets are fun for clouds, oncoming storm, plants growing, and fast mown lawn, and the camera plays the intervals back as a speeded up movie. Vivid mode provides really saturated colors if that’s your bag. Superwide takes in a landscape or 180 wide wall-to-wall. Gads, the options just go on and on. Download the free SH-1 MANUAL to see a page full of options this SH-1 CAMERA PROVIDES.

7:36 pm - Wednesday, May 6, 2015

#7 djmuzi

New model has been reviewed as well. No more oil painting ...

8:04 pm - Wednesday, May 6, 2015

#8 angelo

Tried it with some night time shots last night with excellent results.  I couldn’t be happier and highly recommend this camera,  or the just released SH 2 which is basically the same camera.

8:01 am - Thursday, May 7, 2015

#9 Navy Davey

Hi Angelo, yes, night photos are swell with this camera. Oh, I must make a disclaimer here-I have no connection/relationship with any mfr so am totally unbiased.
  My only slight improvement would be to the Intervals to have less than the 10 second minimum timing; need 1 sec, 2 sec, 3 sec, 5 second settings. 10 seconds between shots is too long for many applications such as traffic, airplanes, birds, industrial, et al.
Selfies are hilarious in the superwide ultra closeup mode.
  One more mode that would be nice is to snap a shot whenever motion is sensed only in the prefocused zone. Like animals or people or birds entering the scene. SLR cameras have had this option for 25 years or more.

5:53 pm - Thursday, May 7, 2015

#10 angelo

Actually I believe that’s been taken care of in the just released SH2.
I was going to wait for the SH 2, but at $300 AUD I paid for this camera as compared to around $400-500 for the new version, it was an easy choice to make for me.

6:08 am - Friday, May 8, 2015

#11 Navy Davey

Angelo,  cannot find the motion sense mode on the SH-2 manual download so I do not think that mode is available on the SH-2 nor my SH-1.
  I now have used also the Fisheye and Panorama and burst modes and find them useful too. Taking 16 frames in a row very fast is just like an oldtime movie during playback and one frame is always the best one. Black and white mode too. And the mode that gives muted colors is interesting. I love this white Olympus SH-1 camera more all the time.

3:04 pm - Monday, May 25, 2015

#12 Navy Davey

Oh, the batteries from my old Olympus 1010 camera also work in this camera so I now have 4 batteries for this SH-1 camera. Oly.

3:05 pm - Monday, May 25, 2015

#13 Navy Davey

Experimented with the Panorama mode now, and I stood up against a wal and got both edges of the wall and the subject in one frame, so more than 90 degree coverage! WOW!
  Fisheye I like.
  Reflection mode is amusing, ditto Pale BW and Vivid settings.
  The Intervals option setting I like and have used a fair amount of times, but it could use improvement though-less than 10 seconds between shots. Maybe the camera computer needs that long to process images. Maybe at lower resolution.
  I shoot everything at maximum resolution, 16 megapixels. 32 GB memory card takes a really long time to fill up, even with videos. Yes, camera supports 32GB memory card.
  Next I want to view the videos on HD.

4:08 pm - Monday, June 22, 2015

#14 Navy Davey

  Just shot 300+ shots on a vacation to the opposite coast, camera flawless.
  Tried settings of BW, Fisheye, Panorama, flash, no flash, lots of zooming, Landscape, and other modes.
  Several Sunset photos that looked super in person were throw aways onscreen,  but later discovered there is a special setting for those, must try that. Taken from airplane window. Above storm clouds over Texas. Some 3d stereo aerial thunder storm cloud photos turned out cool.
  I still like this camera lot after a few months. Has not let me down. Do carry spare battery/batteries.

4:15 pm - Monday, June 22, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, test, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, wi-fi, wireless, wifi, olympus, travel-zoom, travel, touchscreen, touch, travel zoom, 25mm, 24x zoom, 11fps, sh-1, Olympus SH-1 Review, sh 1

Tracker Pixel for Entry